Naitanui a likely target for GWS

No worries - I do respect your opinion and am happy to debate/converse these issues with you. The examples you have providied illustarte your point very well. I just think the whole "woe is me" attitude open us up to being viewed as sooks which I don't want. Rather we should be "okay it's not the best turn out for us - but **** 'em we're gonna win anyways". None the less I do agree with you about the points you've made above to an extent.

1. It's really not gonna make much of a difference other than another home game - which used to mean another win a few years back, but not so much now. But really if we wanna be the best we must be able to win anywhere - including the MCG in October (feels weird saying October :))

2. Could not agree with you more on the whole chartered flight issue. Is a joke and we should really have our own plane.

3. Well that may not be the best turn out for us, but we need to adapt regardless of what is thrown at us - and whinging (not that you are) is not gonna help us. Again it should be a "what doesn't kill us only makes us stronger" attitude.

But in saying that, I know that the view of favourtism to Victoria or the new clubs can be frustrating, but there isn't much we can do about it (other than discuss it on a forum :))

Regarding point 2 and the chartered flight thing I'd be interested to know if the AFL or our club has crunched the numbers as to how much it would cost. I mean its not just us who would use it, so would Freo and possibly so could other teams flying to Perth. I'm fairly sure we could fill the plane with supporters travelling away as well, how good would that be.:thumbsu:

TBH it would be interesting to see how much a smaller custom made aircraft for athletes would cost. These planes exist for soccer clubs in Europe already and I'd bet a body part they also exist in the US. You would want QANTAS or VIRGIN to own and operate them, or the AFL to own it and then the current sponsor to operate it. It could be then leased out to other sporting teams in the AFL off season or even mid week.

Regarding point 2 and the chartered flight thing I'd be interested to know if the AFL or our club has crunched the numbers as to how much it would cost. I mean its not just us who would use it, so would Freo and possibly so could other teams flying to Perth. I'm fairly sure we could fill the plane with supporters travelling away as well, how good would that be.:thumbsu:

TBH it would be interesting to see how much a smaller custom made aircraft for athletes would cost. These planes exist for soccer clubs in Europe already and I'd bet a body part they also exist in the US. You would want QANTAS or VIRGIN to own and operate them, or the AFL to own it and then the current sponsor to operate it. It could be then leased out to other sporting teams in the AFL off season or even mid week.

Yeah I know it's not related to the thread - but this is the ONE thing I would be willing to share with Freo and other sporting clubs. Couldn't agree more with what you've said.

Do you accept that NN is worth marketing dollars on top of his football dollars?

If so how much is he worth as a marketing tool?

Also how do you rate him against similar players (ruckmen) of a similar age?

And the next obvious question how do you rate him against more mature rucks? Example Ryder - he had a poor 2010 IMO and also seems to play very well in patches but seriously lacks consistancy.

yes mate of course he is worth Marketing dollars, it's just not something I care to much about when I talk about footballers. And marketing dollars should still not put a kid with potential in the payment status of the likes of Judd, Cousins, Cox. 150k to play and 100k for marketing. That sounds about right in my view as it is today.
And again as this is all hypothetical just not sure how we could even talk about figures like 700K.
Lets say he has a breakout year this year and runs 6th in the brownlow, wins the Eagles Best and Fairest etc etc, well then the goal posts have changed.

Again I am not knocking Nic and I still don't see where I have knocked him at all? He rates nicely against other ruckman his own age but again it still does not change where he is at today in his development.

As for rating him against Ryder well today if I had a choice of one or the other to play next weekend I would take Ryder every day of the week. But Ryder has been around a little longer and has had to shoulder some greater responsability than Nic in his early days and has had to develop quicker.
Do i think Nic has the ability to surpass him as a player? Definitely and more than likely he will hopefully.

The game today is about the young players and we all know that, but we should not as the public get lost in actually what they are doing on the field with what they could possibly do.

When I watch a game of football I walk away happy we have won, or sad we have lost. If someone asks me who played well I give an opinion based on what I just watched for the last 2 hours, I don't take into account that it is someones 3rd game or their 200th game.

This is why the word star and champion get bandied around so freely today when it is not warranted or earned.
Like the next bloke I am happy to talk about players potential, but ultimately you can only really discuss today what happens on the field today, do you not think that is fair?

That's fair enough. I rate NN very highly. Imo he is bordering star status and I think he will prove a lot of people wrong next season. For what he is doing at his age is unbelievable.

I don't think he will prove anyone wrong next year Pat, if he does become next season or the year later the player we all think he could then that is great and we know it will take some time.

When he does become that player then I would have no issue paying him his appropriate worth. I just couldn't pay him that until he gets there, thats all.

If you don't pay Naitanui those dollars to keep him, who do you pay them to? Glass, Cox, Embley and Kerr will either be retired or on reduced contracts.

I can't see anyone else who demands big dollars.

This is a second year ruckman who has just finished top 5 in our club best and fairest and was in the top 10 of the AFLCA player of the year before injury struck.

He's easily our best prospect and the most probable next star.

Losing him will only set us back further.

If you don't pay Naitanui those dollars to keep him, who do you pay them to? Glass, Cox, Embley and Kerr will either be retired or on reduced contracts.

This is a second year ruckman who has just finished top 5 in our club best and fairest and was in the top 10 of the AFLCA player of the year before injury struck.

Actually not a bad point.

Kennedy and Le cras are the two obvious ones who deserve to get paid decent coin, Le Cras has earned it and Kennedy is just getting better and better.

Shuey even though he hasn't earned it yet certainly has the capacity to be a big earner but he falls into the same bracket as NN, hasn't really delivered yet.

The fact we must pay a minimum of 92.5% of the cap with quite a few older guys out of contract / arguably in their final year which us leaves us with a very young list with no standout young guns demanding big pay packets.

So who do we pay overs to?

I agree it would be a setback, and I think we should throw what we can at him, but in all reality if it boiled down to $$$ we just could not compete with GWS.
I would also say he is our best prospect as well but we have a lot of young talent that could yet prove to be stars. Who knows in a year or 2 if Masten, Swift, Shuey, Sheppard, Ebert, Gaff, Darling or Strijk will become stars.
Even if all of that lot just show decent improvement they are going to require increases in pay. This on top of possible improvement from Kennedy.
I understand we will lose Glass, Cox, Kerr reasonably soon, but think that (hoping) more than 3 on that list will require good money because they are performing.
If they start performing to where they were selected in the draft then a few (like Geelong) are going to have to take pay cuts to stay together.
When you are building a young talented list (which the Eagles are attempting to do) I think you have to be careful how much you start paying 1 young star compared to the next in line.

I agree it would be a setback, and I think we should throw what we can at him, but in all reality if it boiled down to $$$ we just could not compete with GWS.
I would also say he is our best prospect as well but we have a lot of young talent that could yet prove to be stars. Who knows in a year or 2 if Masten, Swift, Shuey, Sheppard, Ebert, Gaff, Darling or Strijk will become stars.
Even if all of that lot just show decent improvement they are going to require increases in pay. This on top of possible improvement from Kennedy.
I understand we will lose Glass, Cox, Kerr reasonably soon, but think that (hoping) more than 3 on that list will require good money because they are performing.
If they start performing to where they were selected in the draft then a few (like Geelong) are going to have to take pay cuts to stay together.
When you are building a young talented list (which the Eagles are attempting to do) I think you have to be careful how much you start paying 1 young star compared to the next in line.

Fair points but all we need is 2/3 years of pay to find for him and it looks like it will be available.

At the end of that period we will either...
a ) Know if he is worth that amount and he would have likely been given it anyway, or
b ) If he isn't worth that amount, decrease his contract and the threat from GWS and other expanded-cap franchises is no longer applicable.

Ultimately we'd need to pay him overs for a couple of years but at the end of that period he's either where he would have been or we decrease the contract with much less outside threat.

Fair points but all we need is 2/3 years of pay to find for him and it looks like it will be available.

At the end of that period we will either...
a ) Know if he is worth that amount and he would have likely been given it anyway, or
b ) If he isn't worth that amount, decrease his contract and the threat from GWS and other expanded-cap franchises is no longer applicable.

Ultimately we'd need to pay him overs for a couple of years but at the end of that period he's either where he would have been or we decrease the contract with much less outside threat.

Yep good point.

In a desperate bid to thwart new AFL club Greater Western Sydney from poaching the imposing 20-year-old, Eagles officials have made an initial offer on a lucrative deal beyond next season.

But despite the most encouraging talks so far on a new deal, Naitanui has baulked at confirming an extension with his home club.

Is it Naitanui has baulked? Or his agent has told him to wait a bit longer??

If he is not signed by the start of the season, I would hold grave hopes for his future with us. He should have been signed to a longer term deal when we drafted him. I still think he'll re-sign though. He'll be a rich man at either club.

Is it Naitanui has baulked? Or his agent has told him to wait a bit longer??

If he is not signed by the start of the season, I would hold grave hopes for his future with us. He should have been signed to a longer term deal when we drafted him. I still think he'll re-sign though. He'll be a rich man at either club.
They like having it both ways.

They say in the same article that e has baulked and yet it's the most productive discussions yet.

Oh, and Paul Connors is a ****wit

They like having it both ways.

They say in the same article that e has baulked and yet it's the most productive discussions yet.

Oh, and Paul Connors is a ****wit

Isn't that the worst thing about this whole thing. There is probably only one worse player agent he could have (from our perspective at least)...

Rumors are that GWS have already signed a player potentially equal to Ablett in status and ability.

I don't like the sound of potentially means it may be a young unproven player....Sooner we hear Naitanui has signed a new contract the better, If he isn't signed by the start of the season I'd be worried.

Rumors are that GWS have already signed a player potentially equal to Ablett in status and ability.

I don't like the sound of potentially means it may be a young unproven player....Sooner we hear Naitanui has signed a new contract the better, If he isn't signed by the start of the season I'd be worried.

I reckon it'll be swan.

Equal to Ablett in status and ability?

Well that narrows it down a tad.:D

This is not Naitanui then.

I'm wondering if Sam Mitchell will make a move, he's been pushed aside as the captain at the Hawks and there was plenty of whispers about him falling out with the players.

Swan would be the obvious name but who esle has the status and ability of Ablett?

Bartell?
Cooney? - I though he re-signed with the Dogs in 2010.

I'm hoping Mitch Clarke gets lured to GWS, will help keep them away from NN and Freo won't nab him either.

If I had just signed Naitanui and watched his highlight reel i would use the words "potentially as good as Ablett"....

It would have been such a sick feeling to lose him. Ablett was much like losing Judd and Cousins, devastating.... but to lose Naitanui at such a young age and when we are at the bottom would be as bad as it gets.