Naitanui a likely target for GWS

Don't think he will be tempted by the money even if he was born in Western Sydney. Pretty sure he moved here very early so its not like hes got close friends persuading him to go there. His family lives here and from all reports hes very close to his family so he would want to stay close to them. He's also extremely level headed and I cant see him being swayed by money no matter how tempting. His friends and closet family are here and I think he would enjoy the Eagles environment with all the young boys and friendships hes now made with them. Cant see him wanting to go especially not before he wins a flag with us. I get the feeling he would want to finish what he and the team are working towards before ever deciding to leave. Maybe a Gary Ablett situation but can't see it happening when Greater Western Sydney come into the comp. He was also a West Coast Eagles supporter yeh?

Also, I found this quote interesting for those who said we should have signed him up earlier during the season.
"Nisbett did not rule out a new deal for Naitanui sooner rather than later but it was more likely to be secured after this season."

The article it is from says that they wanted to sign Nic up after the season to decide on money etc for his performances to date.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/ea...n-long-term-deal/story-e6frg1wu-1225835140747

Don't think he will be tempted by the money even if he was born in Western Sydney. Pretty sure he moved here very early so its not like hes got close friends persuading him to go there. His family lives here and from all reports hes very close to his family so he would want to stay close to them. He's also extremely level headed and I cant see him being swayed by money no matter how tempting. His friends and closet family are here and I think he would enjoy the Eagles environment with all the young boys and friendships hes now made with them. Cant see him wanting to go especially not before he wins a flag with us. I get the feeling he would want to finish what he and the team are working towards before ever deciding to leave. Maybe a Gary Ablett situation but can't see it happening when Greater Western Sydney come into the comp. He was also a West Coast Eagles supporter yeh?

He also has an involvement with the Swan Districts Football Club and their initiatives.

I don't think he'd leave and quite frankly, we'd be stupid to not throw money at him if it was required.

He is unproven and therefore a risk... they would be stupid to make him their prime target.

However they will target him... any recruiter worth their salt would. It will bump up his price big time, though.

Karmichael Hunt and Israel Folau (spelling) mean anything to you?

Naita would put thousands of bumbs on seats, especially if the apparent growing fijian population in WS is true. He would be there marketing dream.

Karmichael Hunt and Israel Folau (spelling) mean anything to you?

Naita would put thousands of bumbs on seats, especially if the apparent growing fijian population in WS is true. He would be there marketing dream.

Think you will find that G ABLETT was GC's prime target. No point having marketable players if you get your bum's kicked every week. Winning games from the start is/will be the number 1 priority as the draft concessions testify.

Also, I found this quote interesting for those who said we should have signed him up earlier during the season.

The article it is from says that they wanted to sign Nic up after the season to decide on money etc for his performances to date.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/ea...n-long-term-deal/story-e6frg1wu-1225835140747

Posted this on the Hansen thread as well but I can see the club sorting out its list by the end of the PSD, seeing how much if any room it has left in the 2011 salary cap and look to increasing NN's 2011 pay packet as a sign up bonus of sorts to get a long term 3>4 year deal signed.

Its the one card the Eagles have that GWS don't, we can pay him more in 2011.:thumbsu:

I agree, he doesn't strike me as a money hungry player but at the end of the day he will be a very well off player where ever he ends up. I'm sure the Eagles will look after him. Its increadible how much property prices have dropped in Perth recently.;):D

Up his 2011 contract from $220k to $420 > $450 and then pay him another $1.5m > $1.8m over the next 3 years 2012 >2015 plus marketing and she'll be right.:thumbsu:

The guy is a freak granted but he can't play football full stop. Having him in the team for 22+ games on the hope that just maybe he might do something doesn't make sense to me. He needs to improve his consistancy and become a solid contributor.

I keep hearing people say 'but he's still learning the game', if he's still learning the game then why the hell is he playing at the elite level??

I can occasionally hit the stumps with a cricket ball does that mean I should get a game for Australia?
Slightly agree,

But Nat had a better year than Cox, bigger impact, we lost a few games when Muppet Woosh turned to the old Man Cox instead.

The worst part about these articles is reading this claim we're having salary cap problems. I hope that's just speculation, because the worst team in the comp should always have plenty of room in their cap.. their is usually a reason you're the worst, over paying under-performing players is just fail.
They will need to start loosening up coxy and kerrys salarys, I wonder where the rest of the cash is going?

Out of contract (iirc) at the end of 2011 season.
The guys BOLDED will probably be released at the end of this current contract.

Adam Selwood Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in June 2008.
Andrew Embley – Signed a 2-year deal (2010, 2011) in July 2009.
Ashley Hansen - Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in May 2008.
Beau Waters – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in March 2008.
Brad Ebert - Signed a 2-year contract extension (2010, 2011) on top of his 2 year rookie contract, in June 2009.
Brad Sheppard - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Brett Jones – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in May 2008.
Dean Cox - Signed a 4-year deal (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011) in February 2008.
Eric Mackenzie - Signed 2-year contract (2010, 2011) a contract in June 2009.
Gerrick Weedon - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Koby Stevens - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Mark Nicoski – Signed a 2-year deal (2010, 2011) in October 2009.
Matt Priddis – Signed a 2-year deal (2010, 2011) in August 2009.
Mitchell Brown - Signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) in June 2009.
Nicholas Naitanui - Believed to have signed a 1-year contract extension on top of 2 year rookie contract (2009, 2010, 2011) in June 2009.
Patrick McGinnity - Signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) in September 2009.
Ryan Neates - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Shannon Hurn – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in April 2008.
Tim Houlihan - Signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) in September 2009.
Quinten Lynch – Signed a 1-year deal (2011) in September 2010.

So thats Jones, Hansen, Lynch, Nicoski and McGinnity.
Plus I think Embley may sign a 1 year contract (performance based)
Mitch Brown may be the other that could go as well if he doesnt become a more consistant player.
Cox, A.Selwood and Priddis may also have their salaries reduced to more performance based dollars, Rather then the top dollar long contracts they are on atm.
Between these guys we will open our salary cap up and give us more room to offer guys like Naitanui, Shuey, LeCras and Kennedy increased salary's on their contract extentions.

We wont have any worries.:cool::thumbsu:

When the articles start reporting WC is losing players because of salary cap issues i'll care. We could talk forever about what ifs....
Until Naita or Lecras come out and say "i'm leaving"...... I won't believe it.

WC is a popular club - there will always be some reporter writing about the club

Adam Selwood – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in June 2008.
Andrew Embley – Signed a 2-year deal (2010, 2011) in July 2009.
Ashley Hansen - Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in May 2008.
Beau Waters – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in March 2008.
Brad Ebert - Signed a 2-year contract extension (2010, 2011) on top of his 2 year rookie contract, in June 2009.
Brad Sheppard - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Brett Jones – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in May 2008.
Dean Cox - Signed a 4-year deal (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011) in February 2008.
Eric Mackenzie - Signed 2-year contract (2010, 2011) a contract in June 2009.
Gerrick Weedon - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Koby Stevens - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Mark Nicoski – Signed a 2-year deal (2010, 2011) in October 2009.
Matt Priddis – Signed a 2-year deal (2010, 2011) in August 2009.
Mitchell Brown - Signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) in June 2009.
Nicholas Naitanui - Believed to have signed a 1-year contract extension on top of 2 year rookie contract (2009, 2010, 2011) in June 2009.
Patrick McGinnity - Signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) in September 2009.
Ryan Neates - Believed to have signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) when drafted.
Shannon Hurn – Signed a 3-year deal (2009, 2010, 2011) in April 2008.
Tim Houlihan - Signed a 2-year contract (2010, 2011) in September 2009.
Quinten Lynch – Signed a 1-year deal (2011) in September 2010.

Houlihan was delisted...

While i'd be glad for GWS to take him, he'll never leave and I can't see the Eagles letting him go.

Can't believe the supporters who believe he's going to stay at the Eagles... just because.

Sure he's young, at the start of his career, and said he's committed to the club, but that means sweet F.A.

The club hasn't been smart with list management in recent years; Hansen, Nicoski, and Embley are all contracted to the club, while they delist some promising talent in Houlihan, who could easily be drafted by another club.

Reality is our future remainds in the hands of the likes of Le Cras, Nic Nat, Shuey and Sheppard.

Their the sort of players the club needs to be offering the best contracts to, while Masten, Ebert, Swift have to prove themself and earn their keep.

Can't believe the supporters who believe he's going to stay at the Eagles... just because.

Sure he's young, at the start of his career, and said he's committed to the club, but that means sweet F.A.

The club hasn't been smart with list management in recent years; Hansen, Nicoski, and Embley are all contracted to the club, while they delist some promising talent in Houlihan, who could easily be drafted by another club.

Reality is our future remainds in the hands of the likes of Le Cras, Nic Nat, Shuey and Sheppard.

Their the sort of players the club needs to be offering the best contracts to, while Masten, Ebert, Swift have to prove themself and earn their keep.

Well you would hope that if the lad made a serious commitment when drafted he has the moral fibre to honour that. It was reported that NN when interviewed he was very firm in his request for the Eagles to draft him. By doing so he has been able to remain in Perth with family and friends. That has to count for something.

Regarding $$$$, there is no way we can match GWS. We can pay him more in 2011 as I've already posted and also up his salary to $500 > $600 > $700 over the following 3 years. Those are very, very good pay packets for a developing player in their early 20's.

I have no doubt NN will get a big slice of our marketing allowance and off field I'm sure he will be well advised in what property investments would net him fantastic above average returns.;)

The the young bloke just wants as much money as he can get as fast as he can get it, he will go to GWS.

the difference between nick nat and ablett jnr is that nick nat is yet to prove himself as a star.

whether he is willing to assume the position of one of the comp's highest paid players, before establishing himself as a star player, is doubtful.

that, along with the fact that he is a local, makes the GWS move less likely. besides, when you the marquee player for WCE, i don't think money will be an issue.

I almost moved to the gold coast a year or two ago.... Who wouldn't want to live their.

GWS don't really have a target which is worrying for them. Dane Swan or James Bartel ain't that big a prize.

It's not that fantastic IMO. Pretty tacky, lots of w***ers too.

Name me a place that doesn't have w***ers?

The Gold Coast =/= Surfers Paradise. The 'tacky' is very easy to avoid. I lived in Palm Beach/Tugun area for about ten years and it was great. These rich bastards will be living on canals and shit, it would be a tremendous lifestyle. Pretty much everything you want, as long as you like that climate.

Father Jack;19539996[B said:
]Name me a place that doesn't have w***ers?[/B]

The Gold Coast =/= Surfers Paradise. The 'tacky' is very easy to avoid. I lived in Palm Beach/Tugun area for about ten years and it was great. These rich bastards will be living on canals and shit, it would be a tremendous lifestyle.
Pretty much everything you want, as long as you like that climate.

Bunnings Warehouse

Well you would hope that if the lad made a serious commitment when drafted he has the moral fibre to honour that.

Mate all 17 year olds who have just made their dream come true, will say almost anything in the moment.

I wouldn't hold on to too much of what they say, there are plenty of cases against your argument.

Just to remind everyone of what Naita said on the eagles website of march this year. " I love playing footy in my home state. It's easy and i enjoy it... not going anywhere." Still lives at home and as far as i can tell seems to be happy playing for eagles and in Perth. Yes the situation can change but i'm pretty confident that Home is where his heart is. Ablett jr wants to play with bro, brown was dicked by his team last trade period, bock had issues with adelaide after incidents, risca wanted out and so did brennan because from all reports Voss is a dick and hargrave is from north and kraks wasn't getting much love at port. All in all there were other factors for why players went to GC. Roo Pav and others who were happy stayed just my opinion but i think there is some validity to what i say.

Mate all 17 year olds who have just made their dream come true, will say almost anything in the moment.

I wouldn't hold on to too much of what they say, there are plenty of cases against your argument.

And there are plenty of example of players staying in their home town instead of moving interstate chasing a bigger pay cheque.

A lot of old WAFL players didn't move to Victoria. David Swallow at Norths knocked back bigger dollars from GWS as he was happy at Norths. Plenty of established players remained with their clubs instead of going to GC Suns. It would be interesting to know one day how many knock backs the Suns got and from who?

As I've already posted NN will be a very wealthy bloke when he hangs up those boots no matter where he plays. The Eagles and its power brokers / private sector sponsors will ensure he is very well looked after. If its good enough for Calrton / Visy / Judd then its good enough for the Eagles and NN.

Name me a place that doesn't have w***ers?

The Gold Coast =/= Surfers Paradise. The 'tacky' is very easy to avoid. I lived in Palm Beach/Tugun area for about ten years and it was great. These rich bastards will be living on canals and shit, it would be a tremendous lifestyle. Pretty much everything you want, as long as you like that climate.
Fair enough.