Name the KPF/KPD you'd like us to get with our first pick

Neither of them are defenders.

You'd be looking at the likes of Zak Jones and James Battersby around the first/second round. Has been a bit of talk linking us to Steven Edwards later in the draft. Otherwise, I like Josh Waldhuter as a Spurr clone. And Brenden Abbott would be worth a punt as a rookie.

Where's Waldhuter been? Liked him a couple of years ago

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Saw that Marsh is just one centimetre shorter than McCarthy. Id be happy with either, but thinking Marshs speed makes him my preferred candidate.

Would like us to take a 'true' taller KPF with one of our other picks to compliment Marsh though.

This looks the same as last year, we need to trade for a pick in the 20's so we can get a KPF :)

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-29/unpredictable-draft-expected

A consistent view is that clubs will start to draft on a needs basis earlier than before, meaning a number of taller prospects could be taken in the 20s and early 30s, even though they may not be the best available player.

Your one too

Yes, but any waterman worth his salt appreciates wave riding regardless of the equipment.

Anyway, if McCarthy isn't available i like the sound of Gardiner or maybe even Jake Kolodjashnij though descriptions by various pundits have me thinking of Zac Dawson in how he plays (not really a kicker)

Mmm, can't be bothered learning to stand up on a surfboard, definite attitude problem.
Would be better off with a flaky club like gws or the eagles.
Ross wouldn't appreciate ball draggers.

Yes, but any waterman worth his salt appreciates wave riding regardless of the equipment.

Anyway, if McCarthy isn't available i like the sound of Gardiner or maybe even Jake Kolodjashnij though descriptions by various pundits have me thinking of Zac Dawson in how he plays (not really a kicker)

Whatever helps you sleep at night to make yourself feel relevant. Most boogie boarders are pointless except for the few top guys that can actually stand up as well!

Back on topic Im actually hoping somehow Acres falls to our pick getting a KPF isn't the be all and end all for our first pick! From the past few years when everyone was crying out for the Shaws's and Kersten's with our picks you've got to take into account that we will still have a pretty good war chest. These guys have had a few years development in them and more than likely bulked up so it's feasible that we could poach a few of them with money and the go home factor. If we are still in the top four the next few years our picks will be late first round so we probably won't be giving too much up for them. It could work out perfectly if we get best available this year and then intice someone like McCarthy back in a couple of years- by then he might have learned to find his feet over near the Goldie :p

McCarthy. If he's gone, then I pray we don't burn a first rounder on a tall... go best available.

If said best available ends up being Acres, then all my Christmases will have come at once. But I reckon Geelong will snatch him if he's still around, before we get a look in. Maybe Acres can discover some attitude problems... get in a punch-up or something. Worked for the Slime.

McCarthy. If he's gone, then I pray we don't burn a first rounder on a tall... go best available.

If said best available ends up being Acres, then all my Christmases will have come at once. But I reckon Geelong will snatch him if he's still around, before we get a look in. Maybe Acres can discover some attitude problems... get in a punch-up or something. Worked for the Slime.

Been thinking hard about this one. I reckon I might change my Nostradamus guess, because I honestly think our list has nowhere to go but up. I've been spruiking it all year, but this time I believe it. This will be our 'Tall Draft'. By my reckoning we'll go KPD, KPF, KPD and change (ie. a 190cm-odd utility, assuming we use our 4th pick).

We are too far down the order in a really shallow looking draft to get anyone close to 'best available' at 17 IMO. Also, our depth in the KPP stocks is virtually non-existent past Scos.

So she'll be a tall one. Everyone will be happy, then Merry Christmas and onto next year.

Whatever helps you sleep at night to make yourself feel relevant. Most boogie boarders are pointless except for the few top guys that can actually stand up as well!

Back on topic Im actually hoping somehow Acres falls to our pick getting a KPF isn't the be all and end all for our first pick! From the past few years when everyone was crying out for the Shaws's and Kersten's with our picks you've got to take into account that we will still have a pretty good war chest. These guys have had a few years development in them and more than likely bulked up so it's feasible that we could poach a few of them with money and the go home factor. If we are still in the top four the next few years our picks will be late first round so we probably won't be giving too much up for them. It could work out perfectly if we get best available this year and then intice someone like McCarthy back in a couple of years- by then he might have learned to find his feet over near the Goldie :p

I agree with you about Acres. If the recruiting team has a choice between what they think is a speculative key position player or a player they think will be a gun midfielder I hope we go with a gun midfielder with our first pick and then two speculative key position players with our next two picks. Acres is also a 190cm mid and his addition to our list would add further depth to our growing list of tall mids. I know the attention on our site has focused on recruiting key position players, but on the other big footy club sites plenty of fan what more tall mids to match teams like the Dockers. This draft is very thin on talls with only three kp's players in what appears to be the top 20 talented players in the draft. Why not add to what is slowly becoming a team of athletic tall, athletic mids, who can dominate at clearances and also outrun the opposition. To me Acres still fills a need if we want to dominate outher teams midfields.

Name the KPF/KPD you'd like us to get with our first pick