Mega Thread New Stadium

Re: New Stadium - Time for Cautious Optimism?

Fair enough, must be some shocking ground there. The piling @ buswood wouldnt be what makes it so much more expensive, i think it would more so be the additional infrastructure. The tran station, access roads etc. For night life, it IS really close to east perth if they were to improve a link between the two that might be another option for nightlife rather than the Cas. When you play golf @ Buswood, you can literally see just across the river into the Royal St inlet.

One of the main reasons i liked it away from Subi was so we can have more night matches etc without the Subi home-owners having a cry. I liked the east perth idea, but thought that was even worse than Burswood. Why was that idea sunk?

I believe the main sticking point with the East Perth site is the size of the footprint. I think we could get a Docklands stadium on there - but not a ground the size of Subi

I think East Perth's biggest problem is it doesn't have a power player backing it (Subi Council and WAFC for Kitchener and Packers for Burswood). There is no one selling East Perth.

And Drox you're not alone underestimating the cost of foundations, but the $300mill will be the minimum for preparing that site, its a former swap and landfill tip. Foundations account for around 20% for the total construction costs on an ideal site. 50% is certainly not unheard of.

originally Packer was willing to GIVE the required land to the WAFC if they built the stadium there. As opposed to buying land anywhere else. this would be offset against the additional construction costs, (doubt it was $250 million, reference? ) But yeah, if it was the catalyst to knock down Burswood and rebuild a nice entertainment precent maybe, but I think Burswood is a hole, and I am a Docker bogan.

I swear, the first Gov't to commit to a football stadium gets my vote. they are clueless atm.

I dont think Subi is the answer. it is horrible getting in and out with 40k people add another 20 - 30 thousand, and the place will just be a joke. Burswood has the best infrastructure, but worst atmosphere.

They won't be buying any significant land at any of the other sites, only the Subi proposal requires the purchasing of a small amount of land. Otherwise, all the land is already owned by the Government.

They can't knock down the dome either unless the conditions of Burswood's licence are changed (which requires them to have a multi-purpose indoor stadium).

I have no issue with transportation in Subi. I always find a free spot within a 5 minute walk of the ground in a few minutes. With a small investment it could be made better to get in and out. Having said that, I think East Perth is a good option too, provided that whole area is turned into a tourist precinct with shiteloads of parking, more transportation options, shops, museums, pubs, restaurants, etc. Having all that on the river would be great with the old powerhouse as the WA Museum.

I believe the main sticking point with the East Perth site is the size of the footprint. I think we could get a Docklands stadium on there - but not a ground the size of Subi

Sink some of the railway and Graham Farmer Fwy and surely there would be plenty of space...

I don't think it's a width issue - so the freeway is irrelevant.

But the railway and east parade would need to be sunk.

I've mentioned before i reckon that area is the perfect one to build a sporting precinct. We'd then have the WACA, Gloucester Park NIB and the new stadium all fairly close, with the tennis centre just over the river. Belmont Park would be there too until it's bowled over.

Sinking the railway would allow pubs/restaurants to open up as well and make it an attractive area to frequent.

The domes already getting knocked down and the land redeveloped into resi...

Claisebrooke south of GFF is the best option.

There's no space south of GFF as far as I was aware, the only spot would be north on the old power station

The area that would be used for the new stadium is currently the golf course.

That's burswood though. Claisebrook is the other side of the river - and aside from the railways sheds, which wouldn't be big enough if moved, I can't see anywhere big enough to house a stadium.

Sorry missed the bit about claisebrook and your right the only spot there is where the power station is and afaik its already now under development for something else. Also the footprint there just isn't big enough as far as im concerned for a north/south stadium with parking and such as well.

Sinking the railway is not cheap, though

Would be at least no more expensive than the $300m for Burswood and would increase the available land around there. This would allow them to extend the "Northbridge" link all the way up to the river, with shops, offices, apartments and entertainment taking the place of ugly roads and railways. :thumbsu:

Still, point taken if you are looking to save cash, you would be building it at Kitchener, no contest.

Sorry missed the bit about claisebrook and your right the only spot there is where the power station is and afaik its already now under development for something else. Also the footprint there just isn't big enough as far as im concerned for a north/south stadium with parking and such as well.

The WA Museum, also on hold by Barnett.

Still, point taken if you are looking to save cash, you would be building it at Kitchener, no contest.
Which is why they are, I suspect.

Try and park your car on Kitchener Park - you can't do it - due to the damage it does to the roots of the old trees.

No probs though ripping them out and building a stadium.

Personally - i'm sick of Subi council - it's the main reason I want it goneski from that area

Goneski from Subi & the oval reverts to the Subi Council - what is the cost to WA footy?

That would all depend on what happens with the new stadium - and what clout the WAFC has over proceedings.

Is it council land though? It was my understanding it was state land..... happy to be proved wrong though.

I'm all for the East Perth Option with a redeveloped East Perth powerstation as a cultural and/or entertainment facility like cafe's, bars and a museum. Image taking the ferry to the footy or for the corporates, wining and dining on leasure craft on the swan then to the game.

As Barnett has finally said (thank god), "The (John) Langoulant report is there and is still relevant. We will use that".

cdps2.jpg

Here's a good thread which has followed the Stadium issues for a few years
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=477421

That would all depend on what happens with the new stadium - and what clout the WAFC has over proceedings.

Is it council land though? It was my understanding it was state land..... happy to be proved wrong though.

Isn't it on like a 99 year lease to the WAFC from the state government with something like 85-90 years left on it?

There's no space south of GFF as far as I was aware, the only spot would be north on the old power station

See the last page of that Skyscraper thread linked already.

Burswood gaining traction or is this just the pollies putting a toe in the water of public opinion.

I dont really care where its built as long as WA footy have management control.

I'd also like to see the WAFC put pressure on the the AFL to 6 more games a season in WA - if its good enough for the Pies & Bombers to play 18/19 games a year in Melbourne, 15 a year in WA for both the Dockers & the Eagles should not be a problem & extra revenue for the new stadium would strengthen the WAFCs claims for managerial control.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/stadium-for-burswood/story-e6frg13u-1225992852943

Burswood gaining traction or is this just the pollies putting a toe in the water of public opinion.

I dont really care where its built as long as WA footy have management control.

I'd also like to see the WAFC put pressure on the the AFL to 6 more games a season in WA - if its good enough for the Pies & Bombers to play 18/19 games a year in Melbourne, 15 a year in WA for both the Dockers & the Eagles should not be a problem & extra revenue for the new stadium would strengthen the WAFCs claims for managerial control.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/stadium-for-burswood/story-e6frg13u-1225992852943
Please let the Burswood option be true

70,000 seat World Class Stadium. Together with Cafe & Shopping Precint all on the River, ala Melb Style near the Crown.

Hopefully Underground Train to the Staduim and give the Casino a much needed facelift.

Maybe i'm all turned around on Barnett now. I think Burswood would be fantastic site for a stadium. Subi has had a great run as WA's home of football, it's time to give another town a go. It's ironic that Burswood played such a big role in the foundation of the West Coast Eagles now they will be associated with it again possibly.

Mega Thread New Stadium