• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

NFL Div 3 - Season 2012

Mernda will go on their merry and smash Watsonia, will be a big party week in Sept when they take out both the One's and two's flags.
Resa will beat Parkside comfortably, the aging Parkside legs will not be able to keep up with Resa
Panton Hill even with their depleted side will easily beat West

Mernda will go on their merry and smash Watsonia, will be a big party week in Sept when they take out both the One's and two's flags.
Resa will beat Parkside comfortably, the aging Parkside legs will not be able to keep up with Resa
Panton Hill even with their depleted side will easily beat West
i agree with always happy except it will be a bit closer then you think against west, there gutsy

Watsonia vs Mernda - The red-hot premiership favourites should be able to dispose of the Saints comfortably here.
Reservoir vs Parkside - The Devils going for three-in-a-row may find the rested Mustags just way too difficult.
West Heidelberg vs Panton HIll - Any other team, well maybe a couple, may have had a chance at taking the injury-depleated Redbacks, but not the Hawks.
St Mary's - Bye. - Opportunity for the Lower Burra Saints to regroup and reflect after three successive losses.

G'Day lads and ladies - Seems the NFL have got their twitter account up and running, it was quite informative with Score updates from around the grounds - Fantastic stuff Sam, the guys at NFL media are really doing a fantastic job, the more we can all get behind them the better informed we will all be. Massive thanks to the guys around the grounds that helped out every week with @whowonnfl - G.Mills West Preston, D.Brady Bundoora, J.Willcott Diamo, Northcote park scorer and D,McNeice, Lower plenty media manager and Brutal, Thomastown twitter account, St.Marys twitter account, Coutta up at Hurstbridge, Julianne at Epping, Brad at Reservoir, J.Cheers at West, The Fridge at North, Zac at Monty, M.Lovett at Macleod, quite a few other cameo rolls bobbed up from time to time and last but not least my Panther Partner D.Crane... Think it was something that the local footy supporter was asking for and with your help it has sparked the NFL to re-launch their account - Please get behind the guys at the NFL Media and support them with information as you have for Sports Support - Visiting quite a few different competitions on any given weekend i can honestly say they are doing an outstanding job. Clubs are all competeting for the same silverware but theres no reason why we can't all help build the competition together. Lets Support the guys at @northernnfl - Sports Support will have a few other local ideas bobbing up so stay tuned.

Bit sloppy but we got the win in the end by 85 points, Aquilina was great with a half dozen, but we weren't exactly great from the second quarter onwards. Still, a win is a win and we take on West for the Les Butterworth Trophy next week.
Ugly selfish football by a few players who disobeyed willo's instructions. Need to start getting the team thing happening.

Exactly and given we play Reservoir in a couple of weeks, if we do that we won't win. We need to play the team game instead of worrying about getting a kick.

Being down by 10 goals at quarter time didnt help but the boys fought it out. Lost the last three quarters by about four goals so if we can carry that sort of hardness at the footy against St Mary's this week, we'll be a sniff. Playing better structured, contested football under Dean.

Panton Hill a shell of the side they were, they will feel real down with th expectations they had for a premiership year snuffed out now by a rampant Mernda, last chance to show they are still the real deal against Reservoir at home, in a very tight one, Resa.

Mernda will pulverise West in the Ones and two's, is the Premiership Merchanidise for both sides being printed/made?

St Mary's who i think can make the GF against Mernda, will easily account for Watsonia.

It is now Oh Hum in D3, just waiting for the finals to see Mernda take out the double.

Panton Hill a shell of the side they were, they will feel real down with th expectations they had for a premiership year snuffed out now by a rampant Mernda, last chance to show they are still the real deal against Reservoir at home, in a very tight one, Resa.

Mernda will pulverise West in the Ones and two's, is the Premiership Merchanidise for both sides being printed/made?

St Mary's who i think can make the GF against Mernda, will easily account for Watsonia.

It is now Oh Hum in D3, just waiting for the finals to see Mernda take out the double.
AH, whilst I like your optimism, we still have a few games against the top 3 sides which can still go either way.
we cant take any of them lightly.

Once Panton Hill get their best players back anything can happen. It's certainly not over yet - we saw what Panton Hill are capable of in round two. Having said that the 100 point win will give us a little psychological edge. I would have us as favorites just at this stage.

PANTON HILL V Reservoir - I don't want either side to win. Panton Hill because they keep pace with us, Reservoir because it will give them confidence heading into our meeting next week. Damn.

MERNDA V Heidelberg West - I don't see Heidelberg coming too close, we will be too strong.

ST MARY'S V Watsonia - St Mary's will be too good here.

Panton Hill vs Reservoir - Another boatload of chances for the Redbacks again this week but they should be able to handle the Mustangs.
Mernda vs West Heidelberg - Could get very ugly for the Hawks if the Demons don't start dreaming of the premiership cup ahead.
St Mary's vs Watsonia - Battle of teh Sainters with the lower Burra boys needing to keep winning if tey want to play finals.
Parkside - Bye.

Ressa must be starting to hear footsteps. Another hard game coming up, and on their own turf. Mernda will relish playing on their ground. We had some players in the 2's who are close to getting a senior game. Depth aplenty up at Schotters Rd.

Flag...... Ressa came up and "inspected" the ground during the week and claimed it was unsafe..... Ground was in great condition come saturday..... Not sure bout footsteps but with the amount of injuries up the Hill any wonder they wanted to get PH on a bigger ground....
Panton hills ground is an embarresment due to its weird size and shape, its like playing on a beach ball. There should be some sort of standards that the NFL could determine.

The Panton Hill ground was once a good 20 yards shorter than it is now, and the goals didn't even face one another (and that's not talking about the facilities they had), so compared to what it was, how it now is 100 % better.

A lot of the grounds would be bog heaps due to the amount of traffic they have on them, plus the wet winter this year, and Mernda's ground's more susceptable to being chopped up because of the black, clay soil in the area (great for cricket pitches, but not so good for wintersport).

Anyway, having them not train on the ground for a while will do the grounds in the area some good, and hopefully a few frost free days might help the grass along.

Rained every day last week. A lot of grounds are wet at the moment. But big news about to be revealed on Merndas new home ground situation.

Wet?
You're kidding, right?

I've been playing footy for ten years and have never come across a ground that bad.
It wasn't 'wet.' Gumboots were required to navigate that terrible terrain; Completely unplayable.

You would think in such vast amounts of nothing, finding a half decent patch of grass wouldn't be a terribly difficult task.

For the record, every other ground I have seen/played on has been fine, including Panton Hill.

Don't get me wrong, I don't expect an "MCG playing surface". But I do expect, well grass would be a start.

NFL Div 3 - Season 2012