NFNL 2023 Div 1 discussion

How do you know the league is paying rep coaches?

Rep football is a waste of time and money, it should be scraped regardless . Best kids play knights and that’s that.
Agree rep footy should be scrapped but even the Knights is a waste of time these days, they hardly play and its majority of times mates mates that get selected. Let the kids ( Under 16 and Upwards ) go out and play against men. Toughen them up and that will stop the egos kicking in then from parents that think their kid is the best.

Wouldn't be a bad thing at all, but the system is there so 18 yr old boys/girls can potentially live out their dreams and get drafted, as we know, very very little do.
Im sure there always has been and always will be kids getting preferential treatment because their Dads know someone in the system. Never going to stop that, if you don't get selected, build your resilience and try to get better.
But these Rep Footy Conflicts of Interest are purely $ driven by these individuals.

I would not at all be surprised to see them move to Knights level and in fact some already are, if you know the answers to who coaches the knights and who else they actually work for, who some selectors are and who else they work for, then you know what i am saying.

Wouldn't be a bad thing at all, but the system is there so 18 yr old boys/girls can potentially live out their dreams and get drafted, as we know, very very little do.
Im sure there always has been and always will be kids getting preferential treatment because their Dads know someone in the system. Never going to stop that, if you don't get selected, build your resilience and try to get better.
But these Rep Footy Conflicts of Interest are purely $ driven by these individuals.

I would not at all be surprised to see them move to Knights level and in fact some already are, if you know the answers to who coaches the knights and who else they actually work for, who some selectors are and who else they work for, then you know what i am saying.
Problem is that the ones that dont get drafted go back to wherever they go and play and use the ' I was at knights ' so they expect 1. $$$$ 2. Guaranteed games and to be fair the majority are no good or up to Senior level anyway . But according to the parents they are so good. Well if they were that good they wouldnt be playing local footy they would be at VFL etc.

Did you get a response from AFL Vic Tigertime??
Got a mate to email your post on Monday - Let you know when I hear something but I will find a way to give you the feedback outside this forum.
Those wanting to deflect from the real issues you have raised and had the balls to name people, as have other posters, will focus on your kid missing out as your only motivation - They probably did not even read your post or have another agenda??

Problem is that the ones that dont get drafted go back to wherever they go and play and use the ' I was at knights ' so they expect 1. $$$$ 2. Guaranteed games and to be fair the majority are no good or up to Senior level anyway . But according to the parents they are so good. Well if they were that good they wouldnt be playing local footy they would be at VFL etc.
yep very true!

Might be interesting to look back to last year at Kinghts and the coaching upheaval that happened………..

As requested here are some stats after round 14.

1. Heidelberg 12-1-1
Games to play: Hurst (a) Mac (h) WPL (a) Ban (h)
Players used: 42
Played all 14 games: Gedi, Andrew, Wilson & Bunker
Times in best:Wilson 10 & Sier 8
Leading goalkickers: Barzen 28 & Sier 16
10+ goals: 4 players

2. Montmorency 10-2-2
Games to play: Mac (a) WPL (h) Ban (a) Nth Heid (H)
Players used: 39
All 14 games: Binion, Sleep, Robinson, Seiter, Fitzgerald
Times in best: Binion 11 & Lentini 9
Leading goalkickers: Fitzgerald 61 & Hill 16
10+ goalkickers: 4

3. Nth Heidelberg 9-5
Games to play: Ban (a), GB (h) Whitt (h) Mont (a)
All 14 games: B White, Bell, Whitnall, J Brown, Crosbie, Hamiliton & Dillion
Times in best: Murphy 9 & Hogan 8
Leading goalkickers: Daw 38 & Chircop 26
10+ goalkickers: 9

4.Bundoora 9-5
Games to play: GB (a) Hurst (h) Mac (a) WPL (h)
Players used: 38
All 14 games: Younan, Davies, Proctor, East & Collins
Times in best: East 8 Collins & McEvoy 7
Leading goalkickers: McEvoy 25 & Maruff 18
10+ goalkickers: 6

5. Hurstbridge 7-6-1
Games to play: Heid (h) Bun (a) GB (a) Mac (h)
Players used:37
All 14 games: Jordan, Fitzgerald, McCabe, Taylor, Richards, M Wild & Cookson
Times in best: M Wild & Cookson 7
Leading goalkickers: Naylor 45 & Jordan 27
10+ goalkickers: 3

6. Greensborough 7-7
Games to play: Bun (h) Nth Heid (a) Hurst (h) Whitt (h)
Players used:38
All 14 games: Seivers, Stella’s, Luke, Andronaco, Smith, Haynes,Garrard
Times in best: Seivers 9 & Andronaco, Johnston 8
Leading goalkickers: Garrard 19 & D Ferronato & Luke 18
10+ goalkickers: 5

7. Macleod 6-8
Games to play: Mont(h) Heid(a) Bun(h) Hurst(a)
Players used: 41
All 14 games: H Manuel, K Manuel, McKeown, Latina
Times in best: K Manuel 10 & D Barden 8
Leading goalkickers: Hurley 30 & Martin 23

8. Banyule 4-10
Games to play: Nth Heid(h) Whitt(a) Mont(h) Heid(a)
All 14 games: Farchione, Langford & Mayne
Times in best:D McDonald & Jones 8
Leading goalkickers: V Blackmore-Moore 21 & Langford 20

9. West Preston 4-10
Games to play: Whitt(h) Mont(a) Heid(h) Bun(a)
All 14 games: A Ferderico, Maloney, McMahon
Times in best: A Ferderico 10 & Ryall 8
Leading goalkickers: Saad 26 & Yassine 16

10. Whittlesea 0-14
Games to play: WPL(a) Ban(h) Nth Heid(a) GB (a)
All 14 games: Prestopino, C Taplin, Eid, M Dyson & M Taplin
Times in best: Tennent 7 Andrews 6
Leading goalkickers: Prestopino 18 & Murphy 10
10+ goalkickers: 2

Super, thanks for sharing.

2 teams have used 42 players, 1st and last!

North Heidelberg have lots of 10+ goal scorers, I think this is a state that highlights how hard they are to stop when they get a run on.

As requested here are some stats after round 14.

1. Heidelberg 12-1-1
Games to play: Hurst (a) Mac (h) WPL (a) Ban (h)
Played all 14 games: Gedi, Andrew, Wilson & Bunker
Times in best:Wilson 10 & Sier 8
Leading goalkickers: Barzen 28 & Sier 16
10+ goals: 4 players

2. Montmorency 10-2-2
Games to play: Mac (a) WPL (h) Ban (a) Nth Heid (H)
All 14 games: Binion, Sleep, Robinson, Seiter, Fitzgerald
Times in best: Binion 11 & Lentini 9
Leading goalkickers: Fitzgerald 61 & Hill 16

3. Nth Heidelberg 9-5
Games to play: Ban (a), GB (h) Whitt (h) Mont (a)
All 14 games: B White, Bell, Whitnall, J Brown, Crosbie, Hamiliton & Dillion
Times in best: Murphy 9 & Hogan 8
Leading goalkickers: Daw 38 & Chircop 26
10+ goalkickers: 9

4.Bundoora 9-5
Games to play: GB (a) Hurst (h) Mac (a) WPL (h)
All 14 games: Younan, Davies, Proctor, East & Collins
Times in best: East 8 Collins & McEvoy 7
Leading goalkickers: McEvoy 25 & Maruff 18
10+ goalkickers: 6

5. Hurstbridge 7-6-1
Games to play: Heid (h) Bun (a) GB (a) Mac (h)
Players used:37
All 14 games: Jordan, Fitzgerald, McCabe, Taylor, Richards, M Wild & Cookson
Times in best: M Wild & Cookson 7
Leading goalkickers: Naylor 45 & Jordan 27

6. Greensborough 7-7
Games to play: Bun (h) Nth Heid (a) Hurst (h) Whitt (h)
All 14 games: Seivers, Stella’s, Luke, Andronaco, Smith, Haynes,Garrard
Times in best: Seivers 9 & Andronaco, Johnston 8
Leading goalkickers: Garrard 19 & D Ferronato & Luke 18
10+ goalkickers: 5

7. Macleod 6-8
Games to play: Mont(h) Heid(a) Bun(h) Hurst(a)
Players used: 41
All 14 games: H Manuel, K Manuel, McKeown, Latina
Times in best: K Manuel 10 & D Barden 8
Leading goalkickers: Hurley 30 & Martin 23

8. Banyule 4-10
Games to play: Nth Heid(h) Whitt(a) Mont(h) Heid(a)
All 14 games: Farchione, Langford & Mayne
Times in best:D McDonald & Jones 8
Leading goalkickers: V Blackmore-Moore 21 & Langford 20

9. West Preston 4-10
Games to play: Whitt(h) Mont(a) Heid(h) Bun(a)
All 14 games: A Ferderico, Maloney, McMahon
Times in best: A Ferderico 10 & Ryall 8
Leading goalkickers: Saad 26 & Yassine 16

10. Whittlesea 0-14
Games to play: WPL(a) Ban(h) Nth Heid(a) GB (a)
All 14 games: Prestopino, C Taplin, Eid, M Dyson & M Taplin
Times in best: Tennent 7 Andrews 6
Leading goalkickers: Prestopino 18 & Murphy 10
10+ goalkickers: 2
Great job!! Really interesting information

TigerTime123 no probs at all
Round 17 game between Greensborough vs Hurstbridge will decide 5th position.

Hursty have Heid and Bun in next 2 weeks.
Greensborough have Bun and Nth Heid
On form can’t see either winning in next 2 weeks
Last round they both should win with Macleod and Whittlesea so round 17 game is huge and the draw means it won’t come down to percentage.

Super job, they’re building nicely the Bridges. Reckon they’ll nab the Bergs next week and give themselves a red hot crack at finals.
Had a great year, but no chance they are beating Heidelberg, who are close to full strength now. They struggled against Mont and North. But may still sneak into the finals over Greensborough. Big game against them in a few weeks.

Didn't struggle against Mont, drew at home kicked themselves out of it & leading in last qtr last week

Scouts from NAB league clubs look at rep games.

SWOOPINGTIME
Yeah absolutely they would, I would think they would focus on the u15 teams though given their next step would be into those U16 squads.
Hence why these people have set up these businesses and influence selections, they hold an easy pathway into these squads, as long as you pay $$ or go to the required school.

Went to watch East Keilor v Strathmore on the weekend, those that follow Edfl, where do you think the Heid, Monts, Bundoora and North sit in relation to the top teams in that league.
The game was very scrappy, maybe the windy conditions made it so, but for a 3rd v 5 it was a hard watch at times.
Just interested in others opinions.
Fair to say Chris Stewart still goes very well.

Any others watch DC v Eltham on the weekend, would either team be competitive in div 1 next year
they would both beat Whittlesea, apart from that they would maybe pinch a game or 3 from teams but i dont think they would be too "competitive" with the big boys without serious recruiting.
IMO

Any others watch DC v Eltham on the weekend, would either team be competitive in div 1 next year
Id say out of the 2 that Creek are more up to it than Eltham. Eltham though on a big ground it would be better to chip around and go nowhere where as Creek went direct when the time was right and were more polished with their skills.
Creek have the youth on their side where as Eltham are on the older scale and from what I saw Saturday they need to improve alot in the next 6 or 7 weeks to be holding that Cup up.

NFNL 2023 Div 1 discussion