NFNL Div 2 discussion 2023

The reserves comp breathed a sigh of relief seeing the back of Eltham.

Big off season for Panther. A couple of retirees I’d imagine and more VFL time for their young guns they’ll need to go pretty hard at some A grade recruits.

Who steps up to match the Creekers?
Whittlesea

Herald Sun

Finnbar Maley inspired Eltham to a drought-breaking NFNL Division 2 premiership​

Eltham is going back to the top after claiming a drought-breaking premiership with a crushing win over Diamond Creek.

For the first time in 21 years, Eltham is premier.

Saturday was redemption day as the Panthers erased last year’s grand final defeat with dominant 41-point win over Diamond Creek in the NFNL Division 2 decider at Preston City Oval.

It’s the club’s first senior flag since 2002, winning the double as the reserves saluted, and earns it a return to the top flight for the first time since 2017.

Miserly against Preston’s notorious wind and explosive with it, a six-goal fourth quarter put a cherry on the 12.13 (85) to 6.8 (44) triumph.

VFL-listed young gun Finnbar Maley was inspiration, marking almost everything in sight and finishing with six goals in a standout best-on-ground display.

In a feisty clash, that saw a number of spot-fires, Eltham was able to harness the emotion and dial up the pressure on the Creekers.

First-year coach Tim Bongetti said the team had come in with a gameplan and executed to perfection.

“Unbelievable, we had belief, the belief set the tone,” Bongetti said.

“We wanted the make them feel comfortable.

“They’ve had it, on merit, their way all year and making them uncomfortable, under pressure, would only benefit us.

“Our best quarters of footy have come against the wind, we played Thomastown a few weeks back and moved the ball better than we did going with the wind, so we just lowered the eyes, kept hitting up, keep finding the right options.”

Diamond Creek had the wind at its back in the first quarter but was unable to capitalise, taking until the 25th minute to finally kick the first goal of the game.

Footscray VFL-listed star Ewen Macpherson showed his class to snap truly and give his team a seven-point lead at quarter-time.

While held goalless, Eltham limited the damage and Maley finally got it on the board 10 minutes into the second term.

Billy Bedford was yellow carded in the aftermath after reacting to Bongetti’s niggle.

Maley would kick another two in an outstanding quarter, while semi-final match-winner Jason McCormick and Darcy Vallance also hit the scoreboard.

Trailing by 29 points at the half, Diamond Creek needed a response in the third term.

However, it was quickly on the back foot as Maley again found himself in the right spot at the right time, marking a swirling high-ball and kicking truly just three minutes in.

Returning from injury, Jacob Booth kicked his first goal of the day and Jayden Walker followed it but it was all the Creekers could manage, reducing the margin to 22 points.

Needing a miracle comeback against the wind, Diamond Creek starting the fourth term strongly but couldn’t hit the scoreboard.

For the third time, Maley got the breakthrough, kicking his fifth goal after another acrobatic contested mark.

It was the party time for Eltham as boom off-season recruit Jesse Donaldson kicked a “worldie” from deep in the pocket, banana-ing the ball through much to the crowd’s delight.

Ruckman Tom Goodwin won the critical duel with Nick Barro, while Lane Sinclair and Josh Merkel were brilliant in defence and Mikael Avramov was prolific throughout.

However, Maley was a clear standout.

“He was the card I had up my sleeve, being able to throw him out in finals,” Bongetti said.

“To be honest, I reckon that’s the last game he’s played at the Eltham footy club.

“The kid’s got that much ability and that much up-side, if he can get into a professional program then anything can happen.”

The only negative for Eltham, a dislocated shoulder to Luke Wachinger in the first quarter but after a quick trip to hospital he returned to collect his premiership medallion.

The win also marks a remarkable turnaround for Bongetti.

Sacked by East Keilor last season he took the reins from mentor Robert Hyde and is now a two-time NFNL premiership player and the first playing premiership coach since Ricky Dyson led Bundoora to the Division 1 title in 2017.

“It’s unbelievable, I was crying as soon as the siren went,” he said.

“How 12 months can change your life, you get sacked from a job and you get to take over something.

“We’ve changed the outcome of this football club and where it goes now, the pathway is there for the new kids coming through.”

For Diamond Creek, Macpherson, Booth, Brenton Keating and Jai Norman were strong contributors.

The Creekers lost Daniel Jarvis (calf) and Andrew Elward (concussion) before half-time.

However, the club didn’t go home empty-handed, winning the under-19s premiership with a 20-point win over South Morang.

Meanwhile, Eltham’s reserves cruised to a 67-point triumph over Thomastown.

The Panthers hopes of a premiership treble remain alive with the club’s under-19s playing a Division 1 preliminary final on Sunday.

The reserves comp breathed a sigh of relief seeing the back of Eltham.

Big off season for Panther. A couple of retirees I’d imagine and more VFL time for their young guns they’ll need to go pretty hard at some A grade recruits.

Who steps up to match the Creekers?

Eltham Reserves have gone 84 and 8 in the last 5 seasons, winning three flags. Only losing the 2019 flag due to Fitzroy playing their senior side in the reserves throughout the finals.

A very well coached and drilled team.

Congrats! It’s not goodbye but see you soon, like this time next year 🤣🤣

But well done Panther’s, they aren’t easy to win 👏👏
Couldn’t care if we got double rep
Eltham Reserves have gone 84 and 8 in the last 5 seasons, winning three flags. Only losing the 2019 flag due to Fitzroy playing their senior side in the reserves throughout the finals.

A very well coached and drilled team.
Our under 19s now into the Division 1 GF too. Great depth and youth going into next year

Well done to Diamo under 19's and the Eltham senior teams yesterday - All of them were far too good on the day.
Wasnt it great to see so many Thommo supporters at the game yesterday supporting their reserves team - You would think so but then the game started and Thommo football Club was on full display.
Ferals on and off the field - Isnt this the club that had a player suspended for life this season and now facing civil proceedings? Isnt this the club that had their coach walk out on the club disgusted by the culture of the joint amongst other things?
At half time Thommo supporters tried to punch on with Eltham AND Diamo supporters!!! The chant from the supporters at the umpires during the last quarter summed up their team - cheap & gutless.
On the biggest day for DIV 2 football Thommo displayed their brand for everyone to see (I was told this morning that umpires put in a complaint against the Thommo spectators)

Well done to Diamo under 19's and the Eltham senior teams yesterday - All of them were far too good on the day.
Wasnt it great to see so many Thommo supporters at the game yesterday supporting their reserves team - You would think so but then the game started and Thommo football Club was on full display.
Ferals on and off the field - Isnt this the club that had a player suspended for life this season and now facing civil proceedings? Isnt this the club that had their coach walk out on the club disgusted by the culture of the joint amongst other things?
At half time Thommo supporters tried to punch on with Eltham AND Diamo supporters!!! The chant from the supporters at the umpires during the last quarter summed up their team - cheap & gutless.
On the biggest day for DIV 2 football Thommo displayed their brand for everyone to see (I was told this morning that umpires put in a complaint against the Thommo spectators)

It was great to see them there in mass supporting their team but yeah things got a little out of hand, it was probably lucky the second half was a one-way street and not a close game. I may be biased but the umpiring had nothing to do with Eltham Ressies winning.

So where are the League Officials when this sort of thing is going on? Keep the Clubs accountable!!!
They put out a Memo this year about spectator/parent/ volunteer behaviour at Junior games and that people would be held accountable and or Clubs fined.
I have read here about feral crowd/ supporter behaviour in all divisions these last few weeks and never ever hear a single thing about the spineless NFNL doing anything about it. Even reading an official allegedly ranted at Umpires last week at Whittlesea.
It’s not that hard to put Clubs that continually play up on bonds or whatever to get them to try and reign in brain dead school principal type supporters from causing chaos.

You are a flog who takes any chance to have a dig at thomo. If i remember correctly you are the same bloke who said thomo committee didn't want an under 19s? Well they won a flag in year one you goose. Dont see any comments about that. And you talking about the same coach who was there yesterday in thomo gear supporting the club?

The supporters at no point got involved in the mallee at half time. In fact I'm sure only an Eltham player got yellow carded who started the whole thing. But keep digging.

Find me a club in the nfnl whose supporters don't bag umpires.

I'll finish as I started you are a flog. Get a life.

It was great to see them there in mass supporting their team but yeah things got a little out of hand, it was probably lucky the second half was a one-way street and not a close game. I may be biased but the umpiring had nothing to do with Eltham Ressies winning.
I think everyone involved at Thomastown agrees with your last line. Can't help what others who are casules think.

You are a flog who takes any chance to have a dig at thomo. If i remember correctly you are the same bloke who said thomo committee didn't want an under 19s? Well they won a flag in year one you goose. Dont see any comments about that. And you talking about the same coach who was there yesterday in thomo gear supporting the club?

The supporters at no point got involved in the mallee at half time. In fact I'm sure only an Eltham player got yellow carded who started the whole thing. But keep digging.

Find me a club in the nfnl whose supporters don't bag umpires.

I'll finish as I started you are a flog. Get a life.
Ouch you are so hurtful
Call it as I see it - Your coach was there in Thommo gear was he - Why did he leave if he is so committed to your club?? Your president was forced to apologise to NFNL officials & umpires about the conduct of Thommo supporters - Fact! FLOG
Great work by Thommo bringing in under 19"s - Hope the culture they are coming in to is a good one
Dont know the yellow card count - Dont care flog but I am betting double Thommo to the other mob FLOG

Ouch you are so hurtful
Call it as I see it - Your coach was there in Thommo gear was he - Why did he leave if he is so committed to your club?? Your president was forced to apologise to NFNL officials & umpires about the conduct of Thommo supporters - Fact! FLOG
Great work by Thommo bringing in under 19"s - Hope the culture they are coming in to is a good one
Dont know the yellow card count - Dont care flog but I am betting double Thommo to the other mob FLOG
Great insight . Maybe it was someone who was involved then sacked then appointed last couple of coaches to be defensive 🤷🏻‍♂️

I will tell you something about cops - Taught to smell out sh$t holes and move on from there very quickly whilst they implode - Good cop the ex Thommo coach

Surprised he took the job to be honest. Seems odd though that he jumped ship midway through year. Is that a wake Up call that is needed for the club? They are always thereabouts , if they had steady coaching panel rather than sack them and some walk i think that they would be a lot more consistant on field. They need to really sort out their off field as it always seems to be an issue. Too many got too much to say resulting in resignations / sackings and from what has been posted here ordinary form Saturday in crowd. ( Im only going on what I have heard I wasnt there )

He coached the full season

Shhh don't let the truth ruin bigfooty gossip. And apparently the Sunday crowds were angels, nothing at all said towards umpires. I must have been dreaming cause im sure i heard the usual crap. I guess it's only a Thomastown obligation to police the finals crowd and control everyone's behaviour and comments.

Can we see St Mary’s, Thomastown, Watsonia, Northcote Park or Panton Hill recruit and become a genuine contender?

Eltham destroyed Whittlesea in a practice match so unless they can recruit I don’t think they’ll instantly be a dominant force (I still expect they’ll make top 3)

Can we see St Mary’s, Thomastown, Watsonia, Northcote Park or Panton Hill recruit and become a genuine contender?

Eltham destroyed Whittlesea in a practice match so unless they can recruit I don’t think they’ll instantly be a dominant force (I still expect they’ll make top 3)
I’m interested to see how Whittlesea go.
Things look to be in place that’s for sure and they like Eltham do enjoy being in Div 2.
They have a very young list but I expect them to be right up there if not next year the year after.
The big question is if they get back into Div 1 in 2-3 years, does history repeat itself??
It has a few times.
As with Eltham.
Straight back down and the Club implodes and they start again.
Eltham need to seriously recruit and stay in Div 1 this time.
A Club that size with $ and support from council, facilities etc has to be in Div 1.
If Clubs like Macleod, Banyule, WPL can survive long term, Eltham have no excuses.

I’m interested to see how Whittlesea go.
Things look to be in place that’s for sure and they like Eltham do enjoy being in Div 2.
They have a very young list but I expect them to be right up there if not next year the year after.
The big question is if they get back into Div 1 in 2-3 years, does history repeat itself??
It has a few times.
As with Eltham.
Straight back down and the Club implodes and they start again.
Eltham need to seriously recruit and stay in Div 1 this time.
A Club that size with $ and support from council, facilities etc has to be in Div 1.
If Clubs like Macleod, Banyule, WPL can survive long term, Eltham have no excuses.
Yep Elthams recruitment team has their work cut out in the off season no doubt, depending who doesn’t go around again. Banyule basically had a free pass with Whittlesea being so poor. I can’t see any easy beats at this stage in D1.

I reckon WPL could be under the gun. Do Eltham have juniors playing senior footy in Div 1 elsewhere …. Would there be any likely to return?

I said this last year & I’ll say it again. It seems like winning the Div 2 premiership, is the most negative or, unwanted Premiership to win! The game barely finishes & already, those who not aligned with that Club (in this case Eltham), spit out the usual comments of, “they’ll struggle next year”, “they’ll be straight back down”, etc. The same was said about Banyule last year.
I’m certain that a Club like Eltham, have already gotten to work to prepare for next year & will fancy their chances of staying up.
The other down side of the Div 2 GF, is the loser is always branded with the tag of “we/they weren’t ready to go up”.

I said this last year & I’ll say it again. It seems like winning the Div 2 premiership, is the most negative or, unwanted Premiership to win! The game barely finishes & already, those who not aligned with that Club (in this case Eltham), spit out the usual comments of, “they’ll struggle next year”, “they’ll be straight back down”, etc. The same was said about Banyule last year.
I’m certain that a Club like Eltham, have already gotten to work to prepare for next year & will fancy their chances of staying up.
The other down side of the Div 2 GF, is the loser is always branded with the tag of “we/they weren’t ready to go up”.

Any side that makes the giant step from D2 to D1 has their work cut out to survive. But it can be done as it has many times. It’s not being negative or saying the flags unwanted 👍

Wouldn’t be reading into the practise match scores, both teams would have had players out but whittlesea definitely did and also had a coach starting out with a new group that ultimately was to big of a step up for him.
They’ll be top 2 no worries, Diamo will be the benchmark but I wouldn’t be sleeping on Whittlesea. Look what they did in the last 2 rounds, they hit the front in the 3rd qtr of both games once they actually had a coach that gave them some sort of direction to follow. Both North and Greensy were playing for finals positions so they weren’t dead rubbers and were beaten 5 goals and 4 respectively.

They have kept basically everyone(far cry from last season) and from all reports there might be a bit of an influx of players coming in and/or returning to the club in this offseason.

They have clearly gone down the path of prioritising coaching and development which can only hold the club in a great position for the future.

Top 2 lock

Talking after the win on Saturday, I heard they already have recruits lined up, which if true will get them off to a good start and should see them hit the ground running.

Obviously will have great depth making the journey up a division, provided there two’s and thirds don’t get heavily poached on the promise of a later start and some cash in a lower division.

I think if you look at Eltham's history its a fair comment to make.
If they are more prepared this time, and they should be well that's good. As i said, a club that size should be permanently in Div 1

NFNL Div 2 discussion 2023