NFNL Div 3 2019

Does anyone actually care about the on field stuff ? Isn’t it why you follow a club or the league? I follow this forum for a bit of a laugh every now and then. But fair dinkum if your a coach or a club committee member and you take anything said on here to heart your a fool. It’s garbage.
If anybody wants to have a crack at answering my next ... go for it !!
1. Who wins the granny and why? Which club is best placed to make an impact in D2 next year,
2. Of the sides likely to be in the 4, who are each teams top 3 guys and why? in terms of importance to their side getting the win on the day.

Stop crapping on about each sides coaches. It’s D3.. Alistair Clarkson isn’t kicking around and I’m sure nobody sets out to have an unsuccessful year .. but it’s a competition and that’s what’s gonna happen for some clubs.

I love the on field battles, listening to each interchange area, how coaching groups and players react at certain times, how various sides shape and transition their ball, and who has plans B,C, and D when challenged (not many teams appear they can truly adjust more than once in Div.3)

1. I like Panton Hill myself. Personally I’d love Kilmore to pinch it but realistically I think we are still a fraction shy of being ready in a Div.2 sense, whereas Panton Hill and Laurimar maybe a bit more ready resource wise.

2. McIntyre has given a real experienced aspect to Kilmore behind the ball. Finally the Blues are equipped to now handle a big oppo Fwd, and Steve knowing when it’s time to play tempo, play safe and when it’s time to move the ball quickly. Skidmores polish can still have a fair say on how deep they can contest, on his day 14-15 touches is enough to really impact so much, be it quality inside F50 hit ups or hitting the scoreboard himself ... one to watch if the grounsa firm up to fast tracks.
Whilst youngsters Ryall, Topham, aid Irons and co amazingly well between the arcs, Kilmores point of difference (if fit) come finals could very well be Scott Swindells type for me. Fast leading, high marking, good finisher generally too ... rarely outmarked which again has nippy forwards like Binion, Skidmore and the like in the game a lot.

Anyway hope this gets some action footy banter going for ya Ro :thumbsu:

I love the on field battles, listening to each interchange area, how coaching groups and players react at certain times, how various sides shape and transition their ball, and who has plans B,C, and D when challenged (not many teams appear they can truly adjust more than once in Div.3)

1. I like Panton Hill myself. Personally I’d love Kilmore to pinch it but realistically I think we are still a fraction shy of being ready in a Div.2 sense, whereas Panton Hill and Laurimar maybe a bit more ready resource wise.

2. McIntyre has given a real experienced aspect to Kilmore behind the ball. Finally the Blues are equipped to now handle a big oppo Fwd, and Steve knowing when it’s time to play tempo, play safe and when it’s time to move the ball quickly. Skidmores polish can still have a fair say on how deep they can contest, on his day 14-15 touches is enough to really impact so much, be it quality inside F50 hit ups or hitting the scoreboard himself ... one to watch if the grounsa firm up to fast tracks.
Whilst youngsters Ryall, Topham, aid Irons and co amazingly well between the arcs, Kilmores point of difference (if fit) come finals could very well be Scott Swindells type for me. Fast leading, high marking, good finisher generally too ... rarely outmarked which again has nippy forwards like Binion, Skidmore and the like in the game a lot.

Good on you Doona, enjoyed your reply & I’ll watch out for those guys come finals.

Does anyone actually care about the on field stuff ? Isn’t it why you follow a club or the league? I follow this forum for a bit of a laugh every now and then. But fair dinkum if your a coach or a club committee member and you take anything said on here to heart your a fool. It’s garbage.
If anybody wants to have a crack at answering my next ... go for it !!
1. Who wins the granny and why? Which club is best placed to make an impact in D2 next year,
2. Of the sides likely to be in the 4, who are each teams top 3 guys and why? in terms of importance to their side getting the win on the day.

Stop crapping on about each sides coaches. It’s D3.. Alistair Clarkson isn’t kicking around and I’m sure nobody sets out to have an unsuccessful year .. but it’s a competition and that’s what’s gonna happen for some clubs.
Have to say Laurimar is the best placed to “grow” and be successful in D2. What a great effort starting from nothing to end up in D2 if they make it.

Panton Hill without 19s and juniors probably have a ceiling. Sure with enough money you can get to D1 but I dunno if they have it.

Please popo stick to thomo and focus on getting the 19s up and running

Bertybeetle

Im not involved with any club so get facts right pal. Wouldn't be fair on the bloke who you think i am .. Im not keen on coaching or involved with any club anyways im sure still assume Berty so good luck with that ..

I couldn’t agree anymore Doona, Kilmore are extremely exciting to watch I’ll be looking forward to seeing Chris Ryall on the dryer track at whittlesea however the one kid I reckon has serious x-factor is Cooney especially if Swindells gets back from injury because it frees him up to float dangerously between the middle and forward. I think they are in the best position to succeed in d2 but would have to rely on a few ex juniors possibly returning. There is a few a handy ones running around for whittlesea and Craigieburn every 2nd week

Panton Hill are in a better position to win this year and if they keep there side together they could be competitive in d2 but i don’t think they can be sustainable.

Thoughts on the talk going around that wallan are possibly heading back to the NFNL?
They would be hard to beat if they were to start in 3rd division.

I couldn’t agree anymore Doona, Kilmore are extremely exciting to watch I’ll be looking forward to seeing Chris Ryall on the dryer track at whittlesea however the one kid I reckon has serious x-factor is Cooney especially if Swindells gets back from injury because it frees him up to float dangerously between the middle and forward. I think they are in the best position to succeed in d2 but would have to rely on a few ex juniors possibly returning. There is a few a handy ones running around for whittlesea and Craigieburn every 2nd week

Panton Hill are in a better position to win this year and if they keep there side together they could be competitive in d2 but i don’t think they can be sustainable.
Won’t get an argument here regarding Cooney, some of his running patterns unfortunately are a level above at times because the ball cant get in his area as quick as his mind sees space open up.
Agree also re: Div.2 and the locals playing at neighbouring clubs.
If that was to happen and it’s purely standard driven as to why some currently seek their footy elsewhere then it would be great to get a few of them lads back home.

Was standing with a couple of our junior dads a fortnight ago and at the start of second half vs West we counted 14 of the 18 on the field as having once represented the club at underage level.

Thoughts on the talk going around that wallan are possibly heading back to the NFNL?
Not necessarily as I’m of the belief that a number of the current playing list will be free of their signed contracts as they signed thinking it was for RDFL football, not to mention the difference in salary caps which they would have to trim back significantly too.

And that’s if it even eventuates beyond some information gathering

Yes Dicko, I also have heard these whispers. The current Wallan side would quite possibly be flag favourites if they came over to Div 3 NFNL, but you have to consider the salary cap. I believe the current cap in the RDFL is $125,000, if they come over to the NFNL, they will need to fit their list under the $90,000 cap for Div 3. If that was the case, I imagine they would find it hard to retain their current list if they were going to drop $$$ with match payments.

Quite a number of topics of late have had me confused to be truthful, on another one must say it was great to see the Lalor prez swing thru North Heidelberg on Saturday, assuming to see Leigh Gray inducted into their Hall of Fame.
Just another way this fella not only sells his club ... but himself too, coz at the end of the day many lifelong friends, peers and mentors are forged via all our respective local footy journeys.

Leigh Gray. Wow what a player he was. Absolute superstar in local footy.

Would be great to see them back in the competition. Juniors and Seniors all apart of the NFNL. I watched them a few weeks back against Rupertswood and they were very impressive but not strong enough to beat RUPO, Wallan apprantly had a few out and a couple coming back from injury. Corey McGrinlay is a star!! beautifully balanced HBF with a lethal left leg. No 17s in the junior comp which will hurt their 19s if the come back into the comp.

League should be working hard to bring new clubs in. In the next 5 years I’d say at least 1 club will fall over and not necessarily from division 3.

Are their any VAFA clubs in the northern suburbs who may be suitable?

League should be working hard to bring new clubs in. In the next 5 years I’d say at least 1 club will fall over and not necessarily from division 3.

I think the obvious would be a return of Parkside or possibly old paradians and Bullen could be viable options

Should the league be looking at widening their vision and looking at clubs like Coburg Districts, West Coburg, Northern Saints as they fall not to far away from West Preston ground and are still in the northern zone. I don't think we need to just look in the banyule Council zone. Besides Coburg Districts ground the other two grounds are in great condition.
I think the obvious would be a return of Parkside or possibly old paradians and Bullen could be viable options

Financial, Northern to expensive, can tell by the 100k + in fines they dish out every year.
Parkside left the NFL due to their juniors mainly being made up of private school boys who’s parents thought by going to the VAFA they would be playing against the big private school clubs but when you’re stuck in D3 and D4 that ain’t ever happening! Juniors have too much power at Parkside they run the whole show and they pushed the move and now they get to watch there kids playing a terrible standard of footy with about 20 other supporters. Parkside would finish last in NFL Div 3

Quite a number of topics of late have had me confused to be truthful, on another one must say it was great to see the Lalor prez swing thru North Heidelberg on Saturday, assuming to see Leigh Gray inducted into their Hall of Fame.
Just another way this fella not only sells his club ... but himself too, coz at the end of the day many lifelong friends, peers and mentors are forged via all our respective local footy journeys.
Yeah, we've been close mates for many years, forged a friendship when North and Lalor were bitter rivals and now 20 years later we've seen each others wedding from the bridal table (sort of), kids be born and run around together, families have holidays, etc, etc...
He's a great mate and lots of terrific people at the Kennel - I hope the next generation appreciates the friendships that endure WAY past some formal contract or ego driven agendas... In closing though, i never saw him play a good game of anything and towled him up as a tagger at Shelly St (his brother copped a fair bork in a particular ressies game also)... hahaha... Can you pass the mustard please sir...!

Panton Hill 130 points over Reservoir
Mernda 7 points over the Ninja Turtles
Kilmore 42 points over Lalor
Power 9 points to end South Morang year.

Mernda to have all 3 sides to play finals.

heard Ivanhoe AFC have some supporters who would like to push for this move - they have some quality ex juniors playing Northern Div 1,2&3.