News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Everyone has an axe to grind somewhere. For Wilson, it's us.

For whatever reason, as our ex-president said, she wants us to fail so badly she can taste it.

It doesn't even annoy me anymore. It's so boring, so predictable, so obsessive and so illogical that no one, within NMFC or outside, takes any notice.

It’s a genuine psychological problem.

Don't anyone misunderstand my view on this because I don't want to see any club re-located/merged. I know all too well what that feels like.

And for what it is worth I also strongly believe they deserve to have their own standalone club.

BUT

Why when people like Caroline Wilson talk relocation, why is it always us? Why not the Saints with their $13.8 million of debt? Surely the Saints should be judged as a basket case ahead of any other Victorian club.

And arguably if you look at this list they have a far greater connection to Tasmania than we do.

It frustrates me too Hori. We are the default relocate club whenever these discussions arise and it never stops. Every friggin year. We have to build membership as that would be our best weapon against relocation speculation.

North obviously don't want to relocate and Tas definitely won't accept a relocated team.

Its a new licence or not at all.

Everyone has an axe to grind somewhere. For Wilson, it's us.

For whatever reason, as our ex-president said, she wants us to fail so badly she can taste it.

It doesn't even annoy me anymore. It's so boring, so predictable, so obsessive and so illogical that no one, within NMFC or outside, takes any notice.

I still have mates who don't really follow footy religiously that will contact me occasionally when articles like this get put out, all full of concern like "are North really relocating?? I saw an article on Facebook/heard a news story/saw in the paper that you might be moving to Tassie. Wow you guys must be a shambles!"

No matter how calmly I explain to them that it is bullshit, the mere fact that they heard it from 'official' sources (The Age is a big newspaper/this FB page has a lot of likes etc. so they wouldn't write something about sport that is untrue!) means there is always that doubt in their minds because they would have nfi who the likes of Caroline Wilson are and the personal vendettas they have against our club.

So to say that nobody takes any notice really isn't correct. This sort of narrative inevitably filters through to the general public at large who are only tangentially aware of Norths position in the greater AFL landscape, and thus influences their opinion of us. As long as this shit continues we are doing nothing but attempting to fill up a kiddie pool with water whilst letting people poke holes in the side.

I still have mates who don't really follow footy religiously that will contact me occasionally when articles like this get put out, all full of concern like "are North really relocating?? I saw an article on Facebook/heard a news story/saw in the paper that you might be moving to Tassie. Wow you guys must be a shambles!"

No matter how calmly I explain to them that it is bullshit, the mere fact that they heard it from 'official' sources (The Age is a big newspaper/this FB page has a lot of likes etc. so they wouldn't write something about sport that is untrue!) means there is always that doubt in their minds because they would have nfi who the likes of Caroline Wilson are and the personal vendettas they have against our club.

So to say that nobody takes any notice really isn't correct. This sort of narrative inevitably filters through to the general public at large who are only tangentially aware of Norths position in the greater AFL landscape, and thus influences their opinion of us. As long as this sh*t continues we are doing nothing but attempting to fill up a kiddie pool with water whilst letting people poke holes in the side.

Fantastic post.

I completely agree as those who are genuinely up to speed know it's absurd but your "casual" AFL follower are very easily led.

I hear it all the time as many just assume the "professional" commentators and journalists like Wilson must know what is true. I mean, it's their job.

To be honest it's also quite understandable as many aren't invested enough to question it.

Fantastic post.

I completely agree as those who are genuinely up to speed know it's absurd but your "casual" AFL follower are very easily led.

I hear it all the time as many just assume the "professional" commentators and journalists like Wilson must know what is true. I mean, it's their job.

To be honest it's also quite understandable as many aren't invested enough to question it.
I’ll give you “To be Honest.” Hand Over $250 to the club to prove your honesty. The perfect opportunity is there for you. The NMFC Player Sponsorship we contribute on this Forum. Enough of the Horseshit and Avoidance. It’s Time. Do something for the NMFC or forever be known as a Fraud. A pro Tasmanian shill wanting to Highjack the NMFC. :stern look

God here we go again..........my personal troll.

I will pay $250 to a worthy cause for BF and I'll decide where it goes, not you. I've said no to Sponsorship previously but organise a catch up of great posters (meaning not you).

Highjack the NMFC for Tassie.......just lol when I've posted the complete opposite. Absurd even for you.

So to say that nobody takes any notice really isn't correct. This sort of narrative inevitably filters through to the general public at large who are only tangentially aware of Norths position in the greater AFL landscape, and thus influences their opinion of us. As long as this sh*t continues we are doing nothing but attempting to fill up a kiddie pool with water whilst letting people poke holes in the side.

Fair enough. I'll amend my statement to "nobody takes any notice" to "nobody who matters takes any notice." I don't care what 'the greater AFL landscape' or your mates, or mine, think and I don't think NMFC or the AFL do either. NMFC can't do anything to stop it so, why worry about things you can't control? The more Caro goes on about this stuff, the more she will look stupid when it doesn't happen.

North obviously don't want to relocate and Tas definitely won't accept a relocated team.

Its a new licence or not at all.

Just because a few pre-CTE Fox Footy panellists have suggested that the competition can't handle a new licence and it must be a relocated team because reasons, Caro has jumped on that bandwagon and everyone forgot to ask Tasmania or North Melbourne. As you say, neither party wants the crack that these idiots are smoking.

God here we go again..........my personal troll.

I will pay $250 to a worthy cause for BF and I'll decide where it goes, not you. I've said no to Sponsorship previously but organise a catch up of great posters (meaning not you).

Highjack the NMFC for Tassie.......just lol when I've posted the complete opposite. Absurd even for you.
Yeah Right. There won’t be no catch up. You won’t be spending $250 on anybody. Here is a perfect opportunity to contribute to the club via BigFooty. For fellow posters to see that you’re legit. But you won’t do it. Full of words but lacking substance. You’re a Fraud! Your views are meaningless on this Forum. :stern look

Fair enough. I'll amend my statement to "nobody takes any notice" to "nobody who matters takes any notice." I don't care what 'the greater AFL landscape' or your mates, or mine, think and I don't think NMFC or the AFL do either. NMFC can't do anything to stop it so, why worry about things you can't control? The more Caro goes on about this stuff, the more she will look stupid when it doesn't happen.

It matters when we are currently the smallest club in Melbourne trying to build our membership base.

It doesn't matter when by the end of this year we'll have no debt, when other, supposedly 'bigger' clubs will have an 8-digit debt and be drawing on extensive assistance from the AFL just to remain in existence.

Yeah Right. There won’t be no catch up. You won’t be spending $250 on anybody. Here is a perfect opportunity to contribute to the club via BigFooty. For fellow posters to see that you’re legit. But you won’t do it. Full of words but lacking substance. You’re a Fraud! Your views are meaningless on this Forum. :stern look

Yes there will be a catch up. I'd hope as many as possible attend, hence the thread.

I have no interest in Player Sponsorship so no it isn't going there.

Well I'm sorry you feel that way on my views but no worries.

Just because a few pre-CTE Fox Footy panellists have suggested that the competition can't handle a new licence and it must be a relocated team because reasons, Caro has jumped on that bandwagon and everyone forgot to ask Tasmania or North Melbourne. As you say, neither party wants the crack that these idiots are smoking.

Absolutely spot on.

I wouldn't underestimate the effect of 'those that don't matter" thinking we're in the shitter and destined to be shipped and shopped off. It artificially limits the prospective fan base (why get invested in a team that everyone knows is going to get moved?), which is going to outright affect our bottom line, and it would also arguably have a flow on effect when it comes to finding sponsors. Any artificially limitation on our supporter base is going to affect the our sponsorship deals. Do you want to sponsor a team with 40k members or a team with 50? How much money do you offer the team with 40k vs the team with 50k? Also, how many regular, low information, Joe Blows would be working at these companies in the first place, and simply dismiss the idea of sponsoring us because of the beliefs they've formed from the media they've consumed?

At the end of the day if people don't think we have a future, then they won't want to be involved with us. Caro's bullshit, and the dozen articles from competitors that are spawned by it, might not have any direct effect on our situation but it sure as shit has an indirect one. This shouldn't be simply looked at as a case of preventing us from being shipped off to Tasmania, it should be a case of putting an end to a pervasive and insidious narrative that limits our financial position and the freedom that comes with a larger budget.

Yes there will be a catch up. I'd hope as many as possible attend hence the thread.

I have no interest in Player Sponsorship so no it isn't going there.

Well I'm sorry you feel that way on my views.

Looking forward to the meet up when a suitable timeslot exists.
LOL. When is this catch up happening? 2069? Why the need for a catch up? This Forum is the Catch Up. So like I said. You’re a Fraud. Any sensible minded person will realise that. There is no substance to your word. Want to prove that there is? Tip the money in this Forum’s Player Sponsorship. :stern look

It doesn't matter when by the end of this year we'll have no debt, when other, supposedly 'bigger' clubs will have an 8-digit debt and be drawing on extensive assistance from the AFL just to remain in existence.

Which is fantastic.

St Kilda are $12m in debt and have just passed 50k members while we are on 35k and have stagnated since 2016.
Which of these clubs gets routinely talked down in the media and subject to relocation talk on a yearly basis?

LOL. When is this catch up happening? 2069? Why the need for a catch up? This Forum is the Catch Up. So like I said. You’re a Fraud. Any sensible minded person will realise that. There is no substance to your word. Want to prove that there is? Tip the money in this Forum’s Player Sponsorship. :stern look

Well others have shown great interest in a catch up as do I.

Be fantastic to all go to a game and enjoy North......hope a Sat arvo.

I'll decide where my money goes not some faceless person online who abuses me behind a shield.

I wouldn't underestimate the effect of 'those that don't matter" thinking we're in the shitter and destined to be shipped and shopped off. It artificially limits the prospective fan base (why get invested in a team that everyone knows is going to get moved?), which is going to outright affect our bottom line, and it would also arguably have a flow on effect when it comes to finding sponsors. Any artificially limitation on our supporter base is going to affect the our sponsorship deals. Do you want to sponsor a team with 40k members or a team with 50? How much money do you offer the team with 40k vs the team with 50k? Also, how many regular, low information, Joe Blows would be working at these companies in the first place, and simply dismiss the idea of sponsoring us because of the beliefs they've formed from the media they've consumed?

At the end of the day if people don't think we have a future, then they won't want to be involved with us. Caro's bullshit, and the dozen articles from competitors that are spawned by it, might not have any direct effect on our situation but it sure as sh*t has an indirect one. This shouldn't be simply looked at as a case of preventing us from being shipped off to Tasmania, it should be a case of putting an end to a pervasive and insidious narrative that limits our financial position and the freedom that comes with a larger budget.

You articulated my point perfectly.
We have historically always been able to compare ourselves to other small clubs, but in the modern day the reality is they are growing with a growing population and we are starting to get left behind due in no small part to how our prospects are portrayed in the media.

At the end of the day if people don't think we have a future, then they won't want to be involved with us. Caro's bullshit, and the dozen articles from competitors that are spawned by it, might not have any direct effect on our situation but it sure as sh*t has an indirect one. This shouldn't be simply looked at as a case of preventing us from being shipped off to Tasmania, it should be a case of putting an end to a pervasive and insidious narrative that limits our financial position and the freedom that comes with a larger budget.
It's time for Ben or Ben to sit in front of a fox camera with her and set her straight.
I would be asking where this information has come from.
Why if as we have stated on numerous occasions before we are not relocating does she still persist with this.
Why when Tasmanian has clearly stated they want a stand alone team, not negotiable.
Why when as of 2022 we should have 0 debt and will start building on our assets.
When a whole precinct has been built around our club, bringing to AFL and new diverse rang of supporters.
Why does she continue to push this agenda.
I would come out and publicly offer to work with her to sort out these problems she has with North. IMO

Caroline Wilson's article is both funny and predictable. We say we are not interested in more than 4 games in Tasmaania and Kennett has not ruled out Hawthorn relocating to Tasmania and yet her article runs with "Tasmanian push may put focus on North Melbourne.

She knows the AFL has no power to force relocation and she states "In a turning point that has shifted the focus back onto North Melbourne – although the Kangaroos remain adamant they will never relocate." She can't help but to stick the boot in.

In bad news for Tasmania, she says a significant number of club chiefs are against expanding the competition to 19 teams in the wake of savage cuts to the game forced by the pandemic.

Hawthorn wont relocate either, Kennett will string them along and then screw them, at least we are being honest about where we stand.
1615721447954.gif

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)