News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Latest news on push for a Tasmanian team

The AFL says a stadium is the last hurdle for a Tasmanian team to clear — and we’re finally clearer about the list concessions the league’s 19th team would likely be afforded.
Jon Ralph
@RalphyHeraldSun
September 20, 2022 - 10:36AM

The AFL will seek to fill in a $375 million black hole in stadium funding before it approves a 19th licence as the Tasmanian government increased its commitment by $44 million on Monday.

AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan said on Monday the league believed there should be a 19th team in the competition, having delivered a compelling briefing to the league’s chief executives and presidents.

A decision on the new team is now months away, but the Tasmanian government lifted its $10 million a year commitment over a decade to $12 million over 12 years, with an increased $60 million for a high performance complex.

McLachlan’s message was that the AFL can afford a Tasmanian team and had proved beyond doubt every one of the 11 workstreams that constitute the bid – except for the stadium deal.

But the league says it must fully resolve the stadium issue, including its design and feasibility, before the AFL and clubs make a definitive decision on approving a new franchise.

McLachlan committed to remaining as AFL chief executive until that deal was brokered, but with the Tasmanian state government contributing only $375 million of an expected $750 million build for a Macquarie Point covered-roof stadium, there is no solution yet for the extra money.

The league confirmed it had yet to approach the federal government about funding the rest of the stadium and would not do so until it had a stadium plan that worked.

So, while Monday’s announcement is another step forward for Tasmania on many fronts, the league wants to land the 19th licence with all 11 workstreams fully guaranteed.

Asked whether the AFL would only grant a licence once the stadium deal was fully funded, McLachlan replied: “My articulation is we need a stadium to make it work, and we will work with the state government to get this done.

“We won’t do this until everyone believes it is the right deal for football. We have presented the case we think it is,” he said.

“The final piece is the stadium, and those discussions are ongoing, and we are confident we can resolve that issue to the satisfaction of all parties.

“(The AFL) and Tasmania agree a new stadium is important to the success of a new club and the Tasmanian economy. The federal government has made no commitment at this time and we haven’t asked them to make a commitment.

“We won’t seek their support until we have worked on the stadium’s design and feasibility. We have agreed to work together with the state government to solve the issue.”

AFL clubs will be given two or three weeks to go back to their boards with a full financial package before coming back with further questions.

Power clubs including Collingwood on Monday asked the league if they would fully fund any uptick in the total player payments as a condition of the new 19th licence, with strong questioning from the Pies and Sydney in the 90-minute meeting.

Under the AFL’s plan the Tasmanian team would have access to priority picks it could trade for players as well as a Tasmanian football academy which would provide a pipeline for local players.

The league has proposed to hand players sign-on bonuses to attract mature-age talent rather than giving the team an increased salary cap in its early years.

McLachlan said the proposal was for a Tasmanian team to come into operation by 2027, but it could be pushed back in line with the opening of a new stadium.

Asked if the AFL was closer to a 19th licence, McLachlan made clear the briefing was a positive step.

“I think we are closer because we have put a position to the presidents with pretty definitive stuff. Funding arrangements, a vision for the stadium, economics. This is a significant step forward that is encouraging for Tasmanians.”

I'm (reasonably) confident Tas will (finally) get a team.

To think GC and "GWS" (of all places!) have a licence before is and was a disgrace.

The location of the ground is perfect if built, so let's see what happens,.

To me as a Tasmanian I believe it should happen (already should have) but I don't trust anything the AFL says so no hopes up whatsoever.

I'm (reasonably) confident Tas will (finally) get a team.

To think GC and "GWS" (of all places!) have a licence before is and was a disgrace.

The location of the ground is perfect if built, so let's see what happens,.

To me as a Tasmanian I believe it should happen (already should have) but I don't trust anything the AFL says so no hopes up whatsoever.

I'm curious, what will you do if they do get a team? would you stick with North or support the new Tas team?

Fair question mate.

Donkey (Val Keating) asked me this a few years back.

North would continue to be my 1 side as it's over 30 years now- but I won't shy away from the fact I'd fully support the Tasmanian team as well, both financially and in attendance as it's home and way (way) overdue.

Fair question mate.

Donkey (Val Keating) asked me this a few years back.

North would continue to be my 1 side as it's over 30 years now- but I won't shy away from the fact I'd fully support the Tasmanian team as well, both financially and in attendance as it's home and way (way) overdue.

Mr Chop or Mr Keating thank you.

Whether the numbers stack up is of course debatable, but I'd like to think the vast majority of footy supporters (including us) hope Tasmania do get a licence.

I think it's time and North can play all home games in Vic.

Win/Win!

It will be nice to have a new team to play twice yearly including the Mother's Day timeslot whilst Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton et al continue their usual twice yearly rub and tugs.

AFL 2023 fixture news: Hawthorn, North Melbourne request games in Tasmania
www.heraldsun.com.au

The AFL wants to schedule four home games each for Hawthorn and North Melbourne in Tasmania next year in-line with the two clubs’ fixture requests for 2023.

Tasmania has threatened to withdraw its support for AFL games in the state unless it is given its own team as part of an AFL licence from 2027.
Clubs widely expect the Tasmania team to receive the green light pending final details of the club’s finances and new stadium build.
With the 2023 fixture set to be released in the next four to six weeks, the league is again planning to play four Hawthorn games in Launceston and four North Melbourne matches in Hobart next season.
The two clubs on Thursday confirmed they had requested the clashes in the Apple Aisle as they work to renew agreements with the Tasmanian Government to play there next year.
It would be a win for both clubs, who have had strong commercial deals to play home games in Tasmania, with Hawthorn raking in as much as $4 million a year from the arrangement.
About half of that is made up of sponsorship money and the other half is made up from gate takings (about $500,000 per match) from playing at University of Tasmania Stadium in Launceston.
The Hawks have strong connections in Tasmania with about 9000 members from its 22-year association.
North Melbourne wants to play more games in Hobart next season. Picture: Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images
Hawthorn bosses have continued talks with the Tasmanian Government in recent months while the AFL has worked to secure league-wide support for a 19th licence in Tasmania.
An AFL spokesman said the league continued to hold productive discussions on the new team and new stadium.
“A potential 19th license for Tasmania is an important and major piece of work and requires consultation with many stakeholders,” the spokesman said.
“This work is a priority, and it continues.
“As we said post the commission meeting in September, the AFL and the Tasmanian Government agree that a new stadium is important to the success of a new club and the Tasmanian economy – and we agree that we will solve that together.”
North Melbourne is in the final stages of talks on a new deal with Spirit of Tasmania after clinching a new deal with major sponsor Mazda.
But the Kangaroos will be desperate to improve their on-field performances at Blundstone Arena after losing their four games there in 2022 by an average 48 points a match.
New coach Alastair Clarkson will return to the club on Tuesday after temporarily standing down due to the Hawthorn report and AFL investigation about treatment of Hawks’ players under his watch.
https://supercoach.heraldsun.com.au/bbl
News Corp revealed last month clubs were supportive of the list build model for Tasmania which will see the new club forced to trade out a large chunk of its top draft picks for established talent.
It will ensure Tasmania receives a big injection of mature-age talent while the rest of the clubs across the competition will not be shut out from the first round of the drafts when Tasmania enters the competition in 2027.
Mature-age players could receive sign-on fees to make the move to Tasmania amid debate about whether the new club will be able to lure talent away from the mainland.
But Tasmanian supporters have scoffed at those claims and believe the state has shown a long history of developing its own top-end talent

I know I'm biased but I absolutely believe Tasmania deserves it's own team.

Stadium issue/location/funding should be sorted one way or another.

From a North point of view it should also work out for the best.

Win/win scenario.

As per the above, please listen to me.

Victorians have concerns over how a Tassie team can be viable, how it can affect drafting and talent, whether AFL funding g is fair etc etc.

It's all completely irrelevant as if a Tasmanian team fails it only hurts two parties - the AFL and the Tasmanian State Government (and Federal Government depending if they fund also)

A Tasmanian team being started solves many of the issues North supporters have so I encourage each and every one of you to be right behind the Tasmanian licence.

It will only benefit you so pass to as many people as possible so Tasmania gets more support with the underlying reason being it actually benefits you by Tasmania getting that very overdue AFL licence.

Cheers.

MLC

Ugh, just get out of Tassie. It's not our fortress anymore if we can't have a big forward take contested marks with the wind.

Would we much rather have 20k at Marvel cheering our boys than 8k rocking up to Blundstone? The answer is obvious.

Get rid of Tassie and the supporters will show up. 7 home games and 4 replacements doesn't cut it when home games end up being so far away from each other. It just absolutely kills the vibe after a great win.

Imagine beating Richmond at Marvel then realising the next game is in Tassie. Hype gone. Give the members what they want.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)