News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Opinion of someone who understands that the league doesn't need another team due to the following reasons

• Depth of talent
  • Funding of clubs like GWS and Gold Coast already a drain on the league, this another one that will need to be drip fed
  • A bye round, further dilutes the fixture unless its changed to everyone playing each other once
  • Sponsorship dollars, where is it coming from? Further dilution of this as well
  • Where has another sporting team worked in Tassie? Don't sight the NBL, their stadium holds 4,800
  • Lack of support for teams playing down there now, the crowds both North and the Hawks get are embarassing, hardly a town screaming out for a footy team, Canberra gets more and has a larger population

There is zero need for this team other than nostalgia and "oh yeah Tassie play it they deserve one" everyone in the media, including Taswegians (none of which live there anymore) can come up with one reason why this is needed other than "Oh they deserve one"

Can you give me a better reason?
Clarkson has actually made on of the best arguments for why Tassie needs a team.

Because without it not enough development is happening in Tassie. Our NGA is a joke and why should we take it seriously when its obviously a second thought by the AFL to even give us access to one.

We don't get access to Tassie kids, only academy eligible ones. Migrants and blackfellas - in Tassie. That's a small number of people.

WE don't have any incentive to treat Tassie like we used to treat our country zones.

Clarkson made the point about his home town and how when zones ended and the draft started a town that three VFL players in under a decade suddenly never had another player make it that far. he said that now that tassie has a team, and local interest it will mean that resources go into development and kids in tassie have a reason to try to play for their state and a clear pathway (like the zones then u19s) to get drafted. There's plenty of footy talent in the state and it should be able to provide at least 30 players on its list after a decade.

That's good for the sport cos it may mean more than 30 players. There may be 60 players available over the decade good eough to play AFLK but they might not all stay in Tassie. Its one thing the AFL has got right because it taps into the same level of support that we have for our club while the rest of the game goes the way of US franchises and their lack of soul.

I like the theory. The fact its not been tried points to there being some problems. Reminds me of James Brayshaw's white knight concept. Never got that off the ground as Caro regularly reminded him.
Im confident the club would have more than 10,000 members/households that could and would contribute $1,000 a year to support some sort of passive income model.

Especially if we were facing financial issues.

The model works when:

A) Contributors do not expect their commitment back
B) Funds are used to produce low risk passive income ie basic interest

Im confident the club would have more than 10,000 members/households that could and would contribute $1,000 a year to support some sort of passive income model.

Especially if we were facing financial issues.

The model works when:

A) Contributors do not expect their commitment back
B) Funds are used to produce low risk passive income ie basic interest

Look, I'm up for it personally, I'm lucky enough that I could afford this. A lot of families and especially those paying rent or a mortgage probably couldn't.

Nevertheless, I agree that your model is superior to the JB white knight model in that this is not a loan and it is not going to be invested in risky shares.

Look, I'm up for it personally, I'm lucky enough that I could afford this. A lot of families and especially those paying rent or a mortgage probably couldn't.

Nevertheless, I agree that your model is superior to the JB white knight model in that this is not a loan and it is not going to be invested in risky shares.
This would be a “break glass” situation if the incoming Tassie team turned our finances upside.

Sure $1000 a year is a big ask for many and understandable in todays world.

Could play with the variables to achieve the same goal per year.

Would the club have 1,000 members that could part with $10k a year for four years? Or 5,000 members at $2k?

I’d be going without for a few years to support a model if the club depended on it for survival as would many others.

A "sample" of the stuff I've been working on.....

#breaking: Warner Bros have confirmed they will permit the use of the name 'Tasmanian Devils' for our state's new AFL team, according to Seven!

They say the Tasmanian Devil is an 'iconic Looney Tunes character' and Warner Brothers 'appreciates the AFL's acknowledgement and respect' of their trademark, explaining they are looking forward to a "happy solution" shortly.

#breaking: Warner Bros have confirmed they will permit the use of the name 'Tasmanian Devils' for our state's new AFL team, according to Seven!

They say the Tasmanian Devil is an 'iconic Looney Tunes character' and Warner Brothers 'appreciates the AFL's acknowledgement and respect' of their trademark, explaining they are looking forward to a "happy solution" shortly.

Excellent, I really hope that's true. Will be interesting to know what the "happy solution" is ,as I doubt they're doing it out of the goodness of their hearts. That said, I doubt it's anything too outrageous, might just be some marketing tie ins or something.

Tasmanian Liberal Government in minority as backbenchers quit​

There is uncertainty over the future of Tasmania’s AFL team and stadium after two Liberal backbenchers quit the party to sit as independents.

David KillickJon Tuxworth

May 12, 2023 - 11:48AM
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/t.../cb73f9ab460afa866052d9dfa0a8d235#share-tools
Tasmania’s Liberal government is in minority after two backbenchers announced they have quit the party to sit as independents. Picture: Jon Tuxworth

Tasmania​

Tasmania’s Liberal government is in minority after two backbenchers announced they have quit the party to sit as independents.
Member for Bass Lara Alexander and Member for Lyons John Tucker announced their defection at 11am this morning.
They say they are unhappy about the AFL stadium proposal and that the government has “lost its way”.
“We’re here to announce that today we have written to the Liberal Party submitting our resignation both as party members and members of the Parliamentary Liberal Party. We have also resigned from all parliamentary positions, including membership of parliamentary committees.
“We intend to continue to serve our respective electorates, Lyons and Bass, as independent members, sitting on the crossbench.
‘We recognise that this is a step of great significance to the Liberal Party, to the Government, to the Parliament, and to the Tasmanian community.
“While we are moving to the crossbenches, we have assured the Premier that we will guarantee supply for the upcoming State Budget, to fund government operations for the next 12 months.
‘The proposed AFL stadium in Hobart was the trigger issue for us; however, it is much more than that. The stadium plan is the most obvious example of a government, which has lost its way.
“It is considered by most Tasmanians to be a tone-deaf government in denial, prioritising the unreasonable demands of the ‘haves’ ahead of the basic needs of the ‘have-nots’.”

Premier Jeremy Rockliff is expected to hold a press conference reacting to the development this afternoon.
The Liberals currently hold 13 of the 25 seats in the House of Assembly and will hold 11 after the announcement.
Labor has nine including member for Franklin David O’Byrne and the Greens two — and there are now three independents.
It will also likely leave the government without enough backbenchers to perform parliamentary roles and would point towards the strong likelihood of an early election.
Parliament is not due to sit again until May 16 — which is Budget week.
Legislation increasing the size of the Lower House to 35 seats passed recently — making it easier for independent and minority party candidates and harder for the Liberals to cling to power.
Ms Alexander received 511 primary votes at the 2021 state election and entered parliament on a recount as the member for Bass in March 2022 after the departure of Sarah Courtney.
She is currently the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for State Development Construction and Housing and Government Whip
Mr Tucker entered parliament in March 2019. He is the Deputy speaker and Chair of Committees.
AFL chief Gillon McLachlan told 3AW radio in Melbourne that he was confident the stadium would still go ahead regardless of changes in government or changes to government.
“We’ve got a binding agreement. Big decisions are difficult. All I’d say to everyone, and I’ve said this repeatedly, it’s an incredible deal for football, for Tasmania,” he said.
“Adelaide Oval was as unpopular or had as much opposition and now it’s the pride of South Australia.
“I have absolute conviction a stadium and an AFL team will do that for the state.”

THEIR RESIGNATION STATEMENT IN FULL:
“We’re here to announce that today we have written to the Liberal Party submitting our resignation both as party members and members of the Parliamentary Liberal Party. We have also resigned from all parliamentary positions, including membership of parliamentary committees. We intend to continue to serve our respective electorates, Lyons and Bass, as independent members, sitting on the crossbench.
“We recognise that this is a step of great significance to the Liberal Party, to the government, to the parliament, and to the Tasmanian community.
“While we are moving to the crossbenches, we have assured the Premier that we will guarantee supply for the upcoming State Budget, to fund government operations for the next 12 months.
The proposed AFL stadium in Hobart was the trigger issue for us; however, it is much more than that. The stadium plan is the most obvious example of a government, which has lost its way.
“It is considered by most Tasmanians to be a tone-deaf government in denial, prioritising the unreasonable demands of the ‘haves’ ahead of the basic needs of the ‘have-nots’.
“The biggest issue facing Tasmanians today is the spiralling cost of living. For 120,000 Tasmanians struggling to survive on incomes, which are at or below the poverty line; particularly those who are homeless. It is, and has been for some time, a real crisis. Many Tasmanians are battling to meet the rising cost of food, mortgages, rent, as well as many other costs of living expenses that we face every day. The Premier is fiddling with luxuries, while Tasmania yearns for action on needs.
“The debt situation is hugely important – not just because of the size of the debt itself but because of the opportunity cost that debt servicing will soak up for years, if not generations to come. The potential risk to taxpayers from this undertaking is so significant that everything must be on the table and the parliament, as representatives of the people, must be front and centre.
“The government stopped listening. It is not listening to the community, the Liberal Party, federal Liberal members and senators; and it is certainly not consulting or listening to backbenchers.
“Our move to the cross benches as independents will certainly enhance the power of the parliament and it will allow thorough scrutiny of the stadium project. The first requirement is total transparency together with a rigorous assessment process, with a thorough assessment of the risks and opportunity cost.
“That means full disclosure to all Members of both Houses of all relevant information from the start of this process, including minutes, correspondence, agreements, and contracts signed or exchanged with the AFL, the Australian government, or other parties.
“It is our responsibility to represent the community and to ensure the government is following an appropriate and fully transparent process. All Tasmanians must have confidence in the process so that they can consider the proposed AFL stadium through the lens of the true cost to build it, the true cost to maintain the stadium, the actual risks and opportunity costs as well as the potential benefits of moving beyond our two existing stadiums, both of which currently have near the capacity of what is proposed.
“Under our plan the government will have the opportunity and the responsibility to demonstrate the validity of its claims that the proposed stadium is essential. It must prove its position that it will unleash a wave of new economic activity, which will fund essential services like health and housing.
“This is an issue of vital importance to the community. Most Tasmanians want to see a Tasmanian team in the AFL. However, an equally large majority question the need for a new stadium at a cost of $750m and climbing on an all to regular basis.
“We also expect the government to agree to full transparency and parliamentary oversight of the Marinus link and Battery of the Nation project, and associated works, through forensic assessment by the parliament of these initiatives as Projects of State Significance. It appears the Australian government has decided that the states will carry the liabilities for energy developments, which means Tasmanians, either directly through government or through energy businesses, could be on the hook for billions of dollars for the proposed Marinus link and development projects associated with the renewable energy transition.
“As it stands now, we are witnessing the proposed accumulation of billions of dollars of debt, which the state cannot afford, and future generations will have to pay back.
“Our plan means parliament, rather than the minority government, will remain sovereign and it will have the final say on the stadium, Marinus Link, and the Battery of the Nation.
“It is important to note the forensic scrutiny we expect is designed to ensure rigorous assessment. It is not designed to kill any of these projects.”

Tasmanian backbench Liberals feeling left out seeing all their mainland colleagues slacking off as opposition losers so they decide to blow up the one remaining Liberal Government in the country.
It’s the perennial north-south divide in Tassie - anything in Hobart the north coast has to oppose

Gil made a point, emphasising the words 'conditions' when he announced the licence has been approved for Tas. No doubt in my mind the agreement they've signed clearly states that if the stadium does not go ahead, the licence is cancelled. Possible too, that any costs the AFL incur till the time of cancellation would be paid by Tas Govt. Could well be other penalties attached to cancellation also - such as never to be awarded again...

If I recall correctly the Tas Govt. has refused to make the agreement public.

Compromise was accepted and all are happy...😅😅😅 tasmainian Devils jumper.jpg

I recall MC'ing an event quite a few years ago where a speaker was talking about sporting names like kangaroos, saints etc. He spoke about how both the Demons and Bombers would need to change their names to attract new members with the Demons a strong negative because of the satanic, evil connection of the name. Reckons it is costing them members, especially amongst migrant communities who would not associate themselves with anything devilish. Interesting to see Tassie go down this path although I really can't think of an alternative. I suppose they aren't the ridiculously names jack jumpers, probably the worst sporting name of all time.

I recall MC'ing an event quite a few years ago where a speaker was talking about sporting names like kangaroos, saints etc. He spoke about how both the Demons would need to change their names to attract new members with the Demons a strong negative because of the satanic, evil connection of the name. Reckons it is costing them members, especially amongst migrant communities who would not associate themselves with anything devilish. Interesting to see Tassie go down this path although I really can't think of an alternative. I suppose they aren't the ridiculously names jack jumpers, probably the worst sporting name of all time.
"Turbo Chooks" it is then.......

I recall MC'ing an event quite a few years ago where a speaker was talking about sporting names like kangaroos, saints etc. He spoke about how both the Demons and Bombers would need to change their names to attract new members with the Demons a strong negative because of the satanic, evil connection of the name. Reckons it is costing them members, especially amongst migrant communities who would not associate themselves with anything devilish. Interesting to see Tassie go down this path although I really can't think of an alternative. I suppose they aren't the ridiculously names jack jumpers, probably the worst sporting name of all time.
Membership up by 50% in two years.

Satanic vibes or not, I reckon winning a flag might help with that membership thing.

Sorry, just thinking about this more than I should.

Isn't the world's biggest sports franchise known as the Red Devils? Doesn't seem to have hurt them much...

Sorry, just thinking about this more than I should.

Isn't the world's biggest sports franchise known as the Red Devils? Doesn't seem to have hurt them much...
Not agreeing with it - just saying. Was an interesting presentation. About the same time there was media chatter about Essendon dropping the bombers label for obvious reasons.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)