Nominate an old TV series

When I was little I loved "the Goodies".. I haven't seen an ep. since and I don't think I'd want to. Re-watching shows from your childhood really kill the idealistic memories you had of them.

I'll never forget seeing an old video of "Sooty and friends" (you know, the puppet show with Sweep the dog and some dumb panda?) and seeing the guys bloody hand/arm sticking out from under the puppets. Killed them for me for life :(

Originally posted by Fat Pizza
...with Kid Curry & Hannibal Hayes! I used to love this too. I wonder whether it was really as good as I remember it.

The Banana Splits were good fun too.

I sure wish the governor would let a few more people in on our secret!!! lol

And yeah!!! Banana Splits with DANGER ISLAND!!!

Samurai (with SHINTARO)!! *Note MUST have original poor english dubbing to go with it*

The Courtship of Eddie's Father.

The Magician

The Hulk

My Favourite Martian (and yea, I'm a Bill Bixby fan)! :)

Kung-Fu (really kinda surprised nobody mentioned this one.. was huge in the 70's).

Rin-tin-tin

Topper

Callan

Minder

Randall & Hopkirk (Deceased)

Sigmund and the Sea Monsters (anothe Sid and Marty Kroft production along the lines of H.R Puff'n'stuff).

ISIS

The littlest Hobo (starring London).

It's about Time (the two astronauts that end up in a caveman time period).

Gilligans Island. I mean come on.. Mary-Anne in those shorts is always worthwhile watching.

Honeymooners

Dad's Army

Porridge/Open all Hours

the Tomorrow People

COUNTDOWN (have to be on Sunday at 6pm to feel right though).

Sounds (with Donny Sutherland) at 9am on Saturday for the same reasons as COUNTDOWN! :)

Literally heaps of UK sitcoms everyone I know has either never heard about, 'It takes a worried Man, Shelly, Pig in the Middle, Dear John, Citizen Smith'.

Likely Lads / Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads

Just Good Friends (hmm Jan Francis...)

Some Mothers Do 'Ave 'Em

Steptoe and Son

Hancock's Half Hour

Yes Minister / Yes Prime Minister

Very good current update on the BBC website about the history of Brit sitcoms,
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sitcom/top100.shtml

My Name MacGooly, what's yours?

Birds in the Bush (to see if it was really THAT bad.. fella's were quite nice from memory)!

The Fantastic Journey

I Claudius

Rich Man, Poor Man

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (the Jeremy Brett series).

Home Sweet Home (it was 'Hey Dad' before 'Hey Dad')!

The Prisoner and Invaders somebody else mentioned, both good shows. Throw in 'the Outer Limits' and 'Twilight Zone' as well.

World of Sport. Life is NOT the same without the Woodchop, the tug'o'war and of course the fifteen minute Pelaco shirt ad's. :(

League Teams. Funnier than the Footy Show ever was and they did it in a third of the time while getting the actual teams out as well!

The Winners. Good footy reviews straight after the game!!! Such a novel concept, so simple and direct. What do we get now.. unfunny comedians and no bloody idea! :mad:

Oh and the majority of the shows would have to be watched on a 14 inch black and white portable TV (with one broken or at least bent antenna).

Otherwise, it just would'nt be the same! ;)

Great list, Grendel. You sound like someone (like me) over 40:).

Kung Fu - yes, how could I forget. Every kid wanted to do those sidekicks in slow-motion, falling on their arse. "Ahh, Grasshopper!"

The Littlest Hobo: touching little effort. Loved that dog (German Shepherd), always felt sorry for the little fella.

Rich Man, Poor Man: Was this the very first mini-series on Australian TV, even before "Roots" (there's another for you!). I reckon it was. It led me to read my very first "real" book (well, I thought so at the time), and was surprised to find the series stayed pretty true to the book. Loved that Falconetti character, heh what? Was this Nick Nolte's first major part? (The poor brother?)

World of Sport: Must viewing with the Sunday roast. Also had the bowls segment with John Dobbie/Doug Ring, the cycling and the footy comp where the contestants had to stab-pass, drop-kick and long kick, whoa!

Cheers!

Originally posted by Grendel
Kung-Fu (really kinda surprised nobody mentioned this one
was huge in the 70's).

The littlest Hobo (starring London).

Rich Man, Poor Man

World of Sport. Life is NOT the same without the Woodchop, the tug'o'war and of course the fifteen minute Pelaco shirt ad's. :(

G'day Gren, same problem I have, going out on a city perv and just choosing one sheila, or TV program.....;)

anyway....... have you been buying the Samurai DVD's as the come onto the market?

classic stuff, my 13 year old son laughs himself silly watching them, saying they are soooooooo stupid

loved "It's About Time" with Imogen Coco

always figured there's hundreds of American/chinese wandering the USA badlands kicking arse..:D

and the Irwin Allen shows, "Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea", "Lost in Space", "Time Tunnel" & "Land of the Giants"

Nominate an old TV series