No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 3

I can’t dislike Haynes. Pure bravery, admirable footballer.

Been a star for a long long time. Starting to get media recognition now. Still don't understand why teams let him play loose so readily. I'm no coach but I'd be having someone play an accountable role on him for sure.

I can’t dislike Haynes. Pure bravery, admirable footballer.

I watched him and Moore go about it with absolute envy today. If we are ever to land the White Whale at our club I'd want it to be one of these two.

Absolute guns.

I'm trying to find a positive. How about this one:

If we can get the inevitable GWS premiership out of the way this year it'll be that much sooner that the AFL stops pampering its project team. The longer they remain flagless the longer we'll spend gnashing our teeth at the handouts they get and the longer it'll be before there's any hint of a return to an egalitarian approach to running footy.

The worst part is that the only player I'd want to win a flag that plays for those flogs is Ward, and he's not playing.

Reckon if someone had a button to end the world, tonight might be a good night to press it
Send a message to ScoMo. He's having dinner with someone who might be able to help.
Actually, probably no need...

The worst part is that the only player I'd want to win a flag that plays for those flogs is Ward, and he's not playing.

Haynes and Tomlinson pretty likeable. Kelly too.

I’d hate for them to win next week, but they deserve to be there. Collingwood shat the bed today, so did Brisbane last week although to a lesser extent.

Sorry, but anyone on here who thinks this is a good result or is happy for Leon Cameron can GTFO. I hope Tigers set a new GF winning margin record, Dustin kicks 8 and nabs 45+, and even happy to see Tom Lynch kick 10. And I ain’t no fan of Richmond.

Glad someone feels the same as me. They’re trying to ram this story down our throats about how they’ve risen from tragedy to be on the verge of glorious triumph. I hope they get the smacking of all smackings.

True, but this also an argument to support just how unfairly gifted this plastic franchise has been. They've haemorrhaged first round draft picks to other clubs, and have several more missing from today's game. And yet more just step up. Like a production line. Compared to everyone else in the competition, it's almost impossible to truly test their depth.
Whilst there is truth in this it can't be denied that culture plays a massive part.

Have a look at some of the sides the Gold Coast Suns were rolling out halfway through 2014 when they peaked at 3rd on the ladder.

Ablett, Lynch, O'Meara, Bennell, Prestia, Dixon, May, Thompson, Matera, Day, Swallow, Harbrow, etc

5yrs later the Suns remain irrelevant whilst the Giants are anything but.

I know a lot of you guys hate him, but credit to Leon Cameron, completely outcoached his 3 counterparts for three weeks running. Had a plan to counteract Grundy today and it worked a treat. Couldn’t see them winning next week, but they, with us, the only teams to make a grand final from 6th or worse! Saying that, I hope Richmond bury them next week 😁

I think if 1000 people saw the touched off the boot vision 990 would’ve come to the same conclusion. Disgusting. Absolutely f***ing disgusting that an afl appointed official couldn’t see the fingers go back. Criminal, and the pies don’t come close without that. Gws should not have been subjected to that shit.

Hate to be a tin foil hatter but they tried as hard as they could to not overturn the next one too on the goal line. They made their jobs harder by zooming on a pixelated image.

At best, incompetent hacks that should be fired and frick off out of our game. At worst, well... do the afl have the benefit of the doubt here really?

GWS started the finals series with a plan to neutralise our dominant midfield. The one that had put them to the sword just a few weeks earlier in Rd 22. It worked a treat. It wasn't just de Boer playing the hard tag. It was everybody chipping in and playing unsociable football. Scragging, niggling, sitting on players after the tackle, slowing the game down. Some of course didn't need a second invitation to play that way (no names needed).

It worked so well they did it again the following week against the Lions and they just squeaked home with a late goal.

Faced with Collingwood's midfield, rated among the best in the AFL, it was a no-brainer to do the same thing, even without their chief enforcer. Did Buckley not see it coming? Or was he just powerless to stop them? Perhaps the weather conditions favoured the scrapping, spoiling style of the Giants better than the Magpies. In any case they did the job again today.

So Hardwick surely knows what's coming for his midfield next Saturday. What will his counter-plan be? I don't think it's good enough just to say we'll play our own game and let them worry about us. That's probably what Beveridge, Fagan and Buckley all thought.

Disclaimer: I'm not saying GWS doesn't also have talent. They have ridiculous amounts of it, but they have hitherto underperformed. It just seems now that they've become united like never before by being the tough guys that everybody loves to hate. They're playing with a passion and a level of determination that I can't say I've noticed before when they've bullied weaker teams but failed against the classy ones at the business end of the season.

If Leon Cameron planned it all like that then he's to be congratulated on getting the results. More likely he planned bits of it and the rest sort of fell into place. Either way you can't argue with those results - they're in the GF. He has saved his career and might even have a premiership medallion in a week's time.

For the good of the game (as well as for other fairly obvious reasons) I hope the Tigers can overcome the Giants' stifling, mauling style of play. We know how every year clubs look at the previous year's premiers and says "now how could we implement a game style like that?" If that happened we would have the most unwatchable season ever in 2020.

I’d be more worried about Mummy. He’s going to go on a rampage that will make Alistair Lynch’s 10 week suspension look small.

Which brings me to one of my major issues with footy - how can a professional team sport not have a red card/yellow card/sin bin/technical foul (or whatever you want to call it) in this day and age?

It may be an unpopular opinion, but it’s ridiculous that teams get effectively punished twice for offences committed against them. Freo lose Brayshaw for that game and many weeks afterwards after the Gaff hit, but Gaff gets to play the game out - disadvantaging Freo. Then he gets rubbed out for weeks which only benefits WC opponents, who are now more likely to beat WC, which disadvantages Freo too because they’re in competition with those teams but had to play WC one man down and with Gaff still on the field.

If Mumford concusses Nankervis in the first five minutes next week - or vice versa - the team committing the offence gets a massive benefit. Ludicrous.

OMG Whatever will I do if Dangerfield wins the Brownlow? I might just give up footy forever.

Embrace gambling. It’s not pretty, but chuck 50 bucks on him and if he wins you have some nice spending money. If he doesn’t you’re happy being 50 bucks down because at least Dangerfield missed a GF again and also lost the Brownlow.

Which brings me to one of my major issues with footy - how can a professional team sport not have a red card/yellow card/sin bin/technical foul (or whatever you want to call it) in this day and age?

It may be an unpopular opinion, but it’s ridiculous that teams get effectively punished twice for offences committed against them. Freo lose Brayshaw for that game and many weeks afterwards after the Gaff hit, but Gaff gets to play the game out - disadvantaging Freo. Then he gets rubbed out for weeks which only benefits WC opponents, who are now more likely to beat WC, which disadvantages Freo too because they’re in competition with those teams but had to play WC one man down and with Gaff still on the field.

If Mumford concusses Nankervis in the first five minutes next week - or vice versa - the team committing the offence gets a massive benefit. Ludicrous.
It used to happen a bit in the 80s. I remember Dipper going rampant early in one GF. Who cares if you miss the first few games of the following season if you managed to take out a couple of key opposition players and you now have a premiership medallion hanging on your wall?

So for a while after that the AFL instituted a policy that players would get double (or longer) suspensions for any offence committed in a GF. It seemed to work for a bit but I'm not sure the policy still applies. Anyway it hardly matters if you can get off with a fine these days for the sort of things that Toby Gr... no don't start me on that again.

I think it's a legitimate risk in a GF and naive to think that no-one will try it. A red card option has been floated before but opponents have argued about incorrect send-offs and the unfair impact that might have on a side. The logical counter is a sin-bin for a standard duration of 10 minutes for a first offence (with provision for a permanent send-off for the rare Hall-Staker type of incident). It's a strong disincentive for any coach or player to transgress but short enough not to ruin a game completely if it was the wrong call. There could even be the option of an umpire seeking a video confirmation if needed.

Can't see the AFL doing it spontaneously though. They'd only do it in response to a particularly cyncial act of thuggery and even then there are so many nothing-to-see-here types in the media that control the public debate that it probably still wouldn't happen.