Opinion Non-Crows AFL 11

He literally used the one example where it is good. Please provide your reasoning as to why winning a dead rubber is a better outcome than getting a better draft pick.
The number 1 pick is almost the most overrated thing in the AFL. Setting a team up to lose a game in a professional sporting organisation is a poor way to start a winning culture.

The good news is that North Melbourne / West Coast will be able to settle the argument once and for all.

Both rubbish. One has Harley Reid, the other refused to tank to get him.

Who climbs out of the mire first?

The number 1 pick is almost the most overrated thing in the AFL. Setting a team up to lose a game in a professional sporting organisation is a poor way to start a winning culture.

A touch easier to turn 1 into 4 and 15 than it is to turn 4 into 4 and 15. A $100 note doesn't buy me a better medium Big Mac meal than a $50 note, but I sure like the change better.

The good news is that North Melbourne / West Coast will be able to settle the argument once and for all.

If North can't after the number of top picks they've had AND supposedly the greatest coach of the modern era......

If you're tanking for pick 1, you don't have a winning culture. You can always wait one game to start and having the best pick wouldn't hurt. Those games are often pretty worthless anyway. You either get a game where only one team is really committed to winning, or you get two dud teams just going through the motions until the year ends.

Unless winning the dead rubber would hurt Port Adelaide in some way, there is no reason not to tank.

Yeh, understanding value is very odd.
It's not about that at all.

Firstly, how many times has the number 1 pick been traded in its history ?? This is despite the number 1 pick rarely being the best player in that draft.

Secondly, anyone using a $100 note to buy a Big Mac meal has an enormous ego issue.

This is after you've admitted to liking the Sunday Footy Show, Kane Cornes, BT and Dewayne Russell.

Not a good afternoon for you.

Well the Roos have had a two year start - Roos have been garbage since 2000 whilst West Coast since 2022.

Yeah it's one thing for supporters or even admin to think "Yeah we'd be better off losing." But sportspeople are elite sportspeople because they have a desire to win. A lot of them play sport because they love to win and hate to lose.

If you went with supporter logic, why try in the last game when you're bottom? Why try at all if you're not going to win the flag? I guarantee we're not going to win the flag this year, so why bother trying to win 10-12 games? Why not just lose them all?

Where did I ever say “why bother winning 10-12 games”?

I was specifically referring to the last game of the year where you have the no 1 pick, why would you both to bust your guts to see your no 1 pick suddenly become a no 4 pick. Someone says its a “losing culture” but totally ignores the rest of the year where you sucked totally. Again, I’m referring to the last game where you have secured the no 1 pick.

No 1 pick gives you more flexibility and not in just the first round but in all subsequent rounds.

Firstly, how many times has the number 1 pick been traded in its history ?? This is despite the number 1 pick rarely being the best player in that draft.

Secondly, anyone using a $100 note to buy a Big Mac meal has an enormous ego issue.

This is after you've admitted to liking the Sunday Footy Show, Kane Cornes, BT and Dewayne Russell.

Think over recent years, say past 8 years or so, the no 1 pick (other than Nick Daicos and he was father son) have been pretty bloody handy.

Of course they have.

But the difference between Pick 1 and 5 isnt a big deal MOST of the time.

IMO the biggest issue isn't so much setting up a team to lose a few more games, it's the fact we continue to reward it.

Of course they have.

But the difference between Pick 1 and 5 isnt a big deal MOST of the time.

IMO the biggest issue isn't so much setting up a team to lose a few more games, it's the fact we continue to reward it.

The AFL reward it because they are afraid teams will falter. When I say teams we all know Melbourne based teams. Now they have made a rod for their back because its not something that can easily be changed without clubs crying foul. I do think the AFL should state that the 2029 draft is the final one and from there a lottery system will be implemented.

You can’t have it both ways, if you reckon the pick is overrated then you can trade it. But then you say it doesn’t get traded, wonder why? And it’s certainly not about lack of offers for it.

And the maccas thing was an analogy, heard of those? Here’s a tip I buy those meals with neither $100 or $50 notes, who even attends a counter these days.

I think if you tried a little less hard, you’d do a fair bit better.

And surely if you end up with a $100 note you’re entitled to use it anywhere. It’s not exactly a lot of money these days, weird you think there’d be ego involved.

It's happened again. Almost every year, someone from the Pear franchise predicts a premiership in the coming season. This year, it's Footsteps Rozee.
January premiers. Whoopydoo.

On SM-A256E using BigFooty.com mobile app
They must be struggling for membership numbers, have seen puff pieces the last few nights on the news - Rozee, Francou,.....

Where did I ever say “why bother winning 10-12 games”?

I was specifically referring to the last game of the year where you have the no 1 pick, why would you both to bust your guts to see your no 1 pick suddenly become a no 4 pick. Someone says its a “losing culture” but totally ignores the rest of the year where you sucked totally. Again, I’m referring to the last game where you have secured the no 1 pick.

No 1 pick gives you more flexibility and not in just the first round but in all subsequent rounds.
You aren't going to build that winning culture in the last game of the season anyway.

Exhibit A

Jordan Gallucci scores 4 goals

Opinion Non-Crows AFL 11