Opinion Non-Crows AFL 4: The Centre Cannot Hold

Rucci’s opinions on both Port and Crows shouldnt even be given the tinniest drop of respect..

So full of his massive bias its not funny.

How’s the fu*head two days out from the AFLW grand final writing up an article about Erin Phillips possibly moving to Port next year.. the flog hasnt got a ****** clue what Erin is or isnt gonna do.. hes just so desperate to not see the crows as a club win anything at any level he’s gonna fo anything he can to try and destablise things..
If Erin wants to go, finish her stellar sporting career at her dad's club, it is a nice story.

But I wonder if she remembers how they trotted her out and used her as PR in resigning Wingard and their other "stars".

Slap a black and white jumper on her and ask her to smile for the cameras. With Port having no intention of wanting an AFLW team.

They are only getting one because the AFL want all 18 clubs to get one.

Our club fought to get that team. Has treated it seriously and the success we have had is a product to how profesional we have treated AFLW.

Hopefully her legacy is not tarnished being used as a PR stooge at a club not really taking that league seriously.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I see that Hinkley said last night that had their 5-6 debutant for the year.

Sounds like a bit of poetic licence to me.

The debutant was Trent Dumont.

Kane Cornes talking about how good Port have been in defence is surely an attempt to keep his brother in a job.

Who takes over from Hinkley when he goes mid season? Montgomery I presume? I don't think Bass would want it.

Kane Cornes talking about how good Port have been in defence is surely an attempt to keep his brother in a job.

Who takes over from Hinkley when he goes mid season? Montgomery I presume? I don't think Bass would want it.

I mean, they’re mad if they’re not going after Clarkson, are they not?

Imagine your last win coming in August last year.
I think flashcrow GrommoT we need a Live Clock on this.

Today its been 224 days and counting since Port last achieved a win back in August 27th 2021.

$$$$$$$

Plus Clarko has an opportunity to build a club from the ground up in Tasmania.

I bet that is a much more interesting job than saving Port or Gold Coast for that matter.

$$$$$$$

Plus Clarko has an opportunity to build a club from the ground up in Tasmania.

I bet that is a much more interesting job than saving Port or Gold Coast for that matter.

Just from where, are Port ever going to be able to get $1.8mill+ (according to Ralph) per year, to sentence Clarkson to a coaching stint?

Coupla points in response here..
1) they cant afford Clarkson
2) they cant afford Clarkson
3) they simply cannot afford Clarkson
4) Clarkson wont be looking to coach a team thats in need of a full rebuild, he’ll instead go to a club like the Suns who look like they are already on the way up and he still can ask for, and get, a heap more concessions from the AFL to help out because he knows the AFL want success for the Suns…
or
he will go start a whole new club in Tassie with all the trimmings like a million good draft picks to play with and the ability to steal other clubs top players..
5) Clarkson will command a top dollar salary, probably highest paid in the league.. did I mention Port are broke and $15m in debt?.. thus cant afford him?

Coupla points in response here..
1) they cant afford Clarkson
2) they cant afford Clarkson
3) they simply cannot afford Clarkson
4) Clarkson wont be looking to coach a team thats in need of a full rebuild, he’ll instead go to a club like the Suns who look like they are already on the way up and he still can ask for, and get, a heap more concessions from the AFL to help out because he knows the AFL want success for the Suns…
or
he will go start a whole new club in Tassie with all the trimmings like a million good draft picks to play with and the ability to steal other clubs top players..
5) Clarkson will command a top dollar salary, probably highest paid in the league.. did I mention Port are broke and $15m in debt?.. thus cant afford him?

Honestly I reckon if they want him bad enough…

We’ve seen that sort of thing happen so many times.

All of the great coaches have at some point been coaxed back into an unlikely job… I honestly can’t think of one that hasn’t.

All I’m saying is don’t rule it out!

What was the crowd number last night? It didn't look great for a 'blockbuster', stand alone, Thursday night game.

Now, I'm not saying it to smash Port (they are doing a good job of doing that to themselves). Instead I'm noting a consistent theme occurring across the AFL, with crowds down everywhere.
In SA we obviously have a LOT of people with Covid or in isolation. That is going to make it tough. BUT, I also think the cost of living issues are having an impact, along with a very real tiredness at how corrupt the VFL is.

I think we are going to see a lot more poor crowds this year.

I genuinely dont think the Dees really tried, they did enough to score multiple goals ini a row, blow Port away and then eased it in till the siren.
They look to be a side that knows they're good, and are just playing out time until the business end of the year arrives.

All their games so far this year they have been keeping teams at an arms length. They do enough to win without exerting themselves too much.

Gee you have a short memory.

Port were average and their forward entries were disgusting (bomb it to Mayes?), but you're forgetting just how bad we were in 2020.
Spot on, we were like witches hats for the majority of the year in 2020, snuck in some late wins thanks to some favourable fixturing.

I can't say I've seen any team look as bad as we did that year, except maybe Port in 2011 or 2012 when they lost 2 games in a row by 300+ points total.

A pathetic 4,000 at GWS/GC last week in Sydney and they handed out free tickets like confetti I've been told.

Covid is definitely having an effect on crowds, people are very cautious about crowds and strangers

Spot on, we were like witches hats for the majority of the year in 2020, snuck in some late wins thanks to some favourable fixturing.

I can't say I've seen any team look as bad as we did that year, except maybe Port in 2011 or 2012 when they lost 2 games in a row by 300+ points total.
North 2021 was up there. Had some late improvement like us in 2020.

My favourite thing about the 'Sack Hinkley!' brigade, is the thought process behind it.

'We have a premiership list, it's just Hinkley that is causing us to play badly!' - hmmm, are you so sure?

It's easy to point to a coach and blame him, because it is only one issue that can be addressed with one move (sack the coach).

Yes he is surely an issue, however it sweeps under the rug all of the other issues they have.

Their senior players have overperformed, and are regressing/ageing/about to retire. Their 'young guns' started strong but have stagnated or regressed.

Their 'successful' years of 2020 and 2021 came in Covid years, with reduced quarters, less rounds, changed rules, and significant loss of 'home ground advantage' to other teams.

Even in those years, they could only beat up on bad teams - they couldn't win against top 8 sides, and were humiliated against top 4 sides. Add to that the incredibly easy draw they were given.

They are hanging on the Hinkley excuse because they know he won't be sacked, and they have their excuse. They can just ignore the other issues which are currently sending the club off a cliff.

And I'll be honest, I am very happy about it.

No AO crowd has even cracked the 40,000 mark this year.

The other three crowds were 28,000, 30,000, 39,000. Perfect weather all three.
The Freo game wasn't perfect weather... was bloody stinking hot! I spent the first quarter in my seat and the rest of the game standing up the back out of the sun lest my pasty white skin get cooked worse than Port's season.

A pathetic 4,000 at GWS/GC last week in Sydney and they handed out free tickets like confetti I've been told.

Covid is definitely having an effect on crowds, people are very cautious about crowds and strangers
Port were also offering a buy one-get one free for last nights game.

My favourite thing about the 'Sack Hinkley!' brigade, is the thought process behind it.

'We have a premiership list, it's just Hinkley that is causing us to play badly!' - hmmm, are you so sure?

It's easy to point to a coach and blame him, because it is but one issue that can be addressed with one move (sack the coach).

Yes he is surely an issue, however it sweeps under the rug all of the other issues they have.

Their senior players have overperformed, and are regressing/ageing/about to retire. Their 'young guns' started strong but have stagnated or regressed.

Their 'successful' years of 2020 and 2021 came in Covid years, with reduced quarters, less rounds, changed rules, and significant loss of 'home ground advantage' to other teams.

Even in those years, they could only beat up on bad teams - they couldn't win against top 8 sides, and were humiliated against top 4 sides. Add to that the incredibly easy draw they were given.

They are hanging on the Hinkley excuse because they know he won't be sacked, and they have their excuse. They can just ignore the other issues which are currently sending the club off a cliff.

And I'll be honest, I am very happy about it.

What I find hilarious is the rhetoric that they have such a great list, a 'Premiership List' if you will. However, the same rhetoric has been trotted out this year that the reason for their shitness is that they have injuries to key personnel.

The idea behind a 'Premiership List' is to have the depth and quality to absorb the impact of injuries throughout a season and continue on towards winning each week.

Their list is putrid. We talk about having list cloggers on our list, however they have a number of cloggers.

Ken quote from presser: we were playing the game we wanted to play… but we weren’t scoring goals. Surely he's just taking the pi$$ right now