Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Football Thread XVI

Kennett is somehow even worse I'd say. Everyone knows Sheedy is a senile Hird devotee. Kennett is actively making a horrendous situation even worse for the club.

Hawthorn: 'Hey AFL, some really bad s**t happened here a while ago but we've got s**t sorted now so maybe don't penalise us too harshly'
Kennett: 'What do you mean they let those black people have an opinion? Stop complaining.'

how was this bit

Jeff: i wouldn't call this a crisis
Reporter, really?
Jeff: when i was premier, a gas plant exploded and people died, that was a crisis
Reporter: so cause nobody died its not a crisis?

Dig up jeff!

I've been waiting for people to make this point ever since the Clarkson story broke. It seems to me there's only marginal escape from a football club. If you're away from your support network and you struggle to establish a new one (And I'd add, "the club" shouldn't count), then I can see the problems. even the off-season is incredibly long (I'd love a comparison to non Aus sports, it seems to me Aus. sports have off-seasons that are much longer). If some of the Hawks players requested a trade for "personal" or "family" reasons, I wonder what the responses would have been.

No doubt it's a tough riddle to solve. but in this case, if Horne-Francis was up front with North before the draft, like Perkins was with non-Victorian clubs, then I struggle to blame him. (I can still blame him for choosing his last name though......)

I don't think it's so much the off-seasons are longer in Aus (especially compared to the US), it's that club run pre-seasons are so much longer.
NHL season runs (Oct-Apr with the last finals game played by mid June), NFL runs Sept-Jan with Superbowl in early Feb).
They're both roughly bracketing an AFL season (Mar-Aug, finals in Sept), the difference is that once American sports players finish their season they head home and do their own off-season training until camps open 4-6 weeks before the new season.
AFL players get around 6-8 weeks off and then do team based training for a pre-season that lasts 4 months.

I'm assuming the clubs would be against the idea of players going home from Sept until the Mid-Jan and being left up to their own devices and responsible for their own fitness, but might be something that helps the players

Jeez North are in a *en s**t spot... Clarkson, JHF out, they reckon Thomas could want out too.

Gone from high to low very quickly.
They should review the draft assistance thing I think.

Completely different thing to have the coach of the century and everyone wanting to go there 3 weeks ago to where they are now.

Although what does that mean if they get PP and then Clarkson comes back? 🤔

I don't think it's so much the off-seasons are longer in Aus (especially compared to the US), it's that club run pre-seasons are so much longer.
NHL season runs (Oct-Apr with the last finals game played by mid June), NFL runs Sept-Jan with Superbowl in early Feb).
They're both roughly bracketing an AFL season (Mar-Aug, finals in Sept), the difference is that once American sports players finish their season they head home and do their own off-season training until camps open 4-6 weeks before the new season.
AFL players get around 6-8 weeks off and then do team based training for a pre-season that lasts 4 months.

I'm assuming the clubs would be against the idea of players going home from Sept until the Mid-Jan and being left up to their own devices and responsible for their own fitness, but might be something that helps the players
In America the draftees are also a bit older 21-23yo. They've also already been exposed nationally in college, although i guess most leave home and go interstate to play college from 18-19.

True for the NFL (and MLB, NBA I think). NHL gets a lot of Canadians in particular coming to the league as 18 year olds (draft age), but most of them are used to living away from home since 16 in billet families while playing in the CHL, so they are conditioned somewhat.
They also all get paid a heap more as rookies, which likely helps!

They also generally get paid enough to bring their whole family with them if necessary too, particularly at the pointy end of the draft

Yep yep, sorry that's what I meant. yeah for the NHL, players out of the playoffs head home in early April and basically don't come back until September. Many of them train together in their home bases and ideally come back in good condition, and if they don't, well...

AFL clubs, being the controlling beasts that they are, would hate this. They're probably not too fond of even the current 'break' players get. (which typically includes a mandated club event in the B&F). Maybe not starting pre-season until January wouldn't be the silver bullet, but equally, I'm not convinced we have a nearly 4 month pre-season for real reason beyond control.

how was this bit

Jeff: i wouldn't call this a crisis
Reporter, really?
Jeff: when i was premier, a gas plant exploded and people died, that was a crisis
Reporter: so cause nobody died its not a crisis?

Dig up jeff!
Arguably, someone did die.

Completely different thing to have the coach of the century and everyone wanting to go there 3 weeks ago to where they are now.

she's a spy! - lets get her!!

Jeez North are in a *en s**t spot... Clarkson, JHF out, they reckon Thomas could want out too.

Gone from high to low very quickly.
Billy Crystal Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

Kennett is somehow even worse I'd say. Everyone knows Sheedy is a senile Hird devotee. Kennett is actively making a horrendous situation even worse for the club.

Hawthorn: 'Hey AFL, some really bad s**t happened here a while ago but we've got s**t sorted now so maybe don't penalise us too harshly'
Kennett: 'What do you mean they let those black people have an opinion? Stop complaining.'

I think the difference between Sheedy and Kennett is that Sheedy often has his tongue planted in his cheek when making a statement, Kennett normally has his foot there.

It will likely get revisited next year, pending what happens with Clarko. It's a stronger draft too so an additional couple of good picks will go a long way.

Gold Coast got that state-league priority assistance with Carlton in 2018 before they got the much bigger package (pick 1, 11, 19 etc) a year or two later.
I imagine the Norf package this year is close to the former, and if Clarko is gone for good then a much bigger package will likely be discussed next year.

Damn, that aged well...and fast. You should never spruik, especially if you're at rock bottom.
It's aged poorly but these are quite exceptional circumstances they've found themselves in, which no one beyond the reviewers at Hawthorn could have predicted. Spruiking the crap out of it is Phase 2 of Plan A, in the hopes of landing a few more big fish to go with it.

It will likely get revisited next year, pending what happens with Clarko. It's a stronger draft too so an additional couple of good picks will go a long way.

Gold Coast got that state-league priority assistance with Carlton in 2018 before they got the much bigger package (pick 1, 11, 19 etc) a year or two later.
I imagine the Norf package this year is close to the former, and if Clarko is gone for good then a much bigger package will likely be discussed next year.
What is the point of sending them a heap of want-away kids? And due to a coaching issue rather than a talent on the list issue?

It's aged poorly but these are quite exceptional circumstances they've found themselves in, which no one beyond the reviewers at Hawthorn could have predicted. Spruiking the crap out of it is Phase 2 of Plan A, in the hopes of landing a few more big fish to go with it.
Oh, I feel for the club. Some of the supporters aren't exactly covering themselves in glory, though.

Yes people are not robots, but literally all other professional sports people deal with some sort of sacrifice moving to all parts of the world to ply their trade, yet afl players can’t handle living 1 hour away from family.
I would live in an igloo in Alaska if it meant being paid just $300k to play footy. However I know that not everyone would and the family dynamic has changed a lot. It is different in the USA as most of their players are drafted out of college so even if they get picked in their freshman year they have been away from family and the money they make generally allows them to move family with them.
It does not matter how it is done anywhere else. He wants to be in Adelaide. The same as Archie wanted to be in Melbourne. It is how it is for some.
I can live away from my family but my wife does not want to live away from hers.
It is not black and white . You do not have to get it. You are not living their life and dealing with their issues.

I would live in an igloo in Alaska if it meant being paid just $300k to play footy. However I know that not everyone would and the family dynamic has changed a lot. It is different in the USA as most of their players are drafted out of college so even if they get picked in their freshman year they have been away from family and the money they make generally allows them to move family with them.
It does not matter how it is done anywhere else. He wants to be in Adelaide. The same as Archie wanted to be in Melbourne. It is how it is for some.
I can live away from my family but my wife does not want to live away from hers.
It is not black and white . You do not have to get it. You are not living their life and dealing with their issues.
How is it different in America, half the kids move across to the other side of the country at 18 to the college they get accepted into on a scholarship. So that’s literally the same thing, and most of them never make it to the nfl or nba to make a living off it.

It's not the same thing.

If you get a scholarship to play sport in the US you normally have more than one offer. The kids who move interstate in intercollegiate sports are generally the highly sought after ones. If you go interstate, it's because you want to and you can pick the place you think will support you best.

In that situation, you actually get to choose where you play, and if you don't like it after a year you can enter the transfer portal and change colleges provided another one is open to having you.
It's literally the opposite of getting drafted, where you have no choice of where to go for 2 years.