Yes it was widely reported Clarkson wouldn't work with or for Amarfio. Wanted to choose who he worked for (nothing like picking your own boss!).She gave Clarkson too much power. She knifed their black CEO Ben Amarfio because Clarkson wanted it. She is all in.
Your last paragraph is a bit "different". Freo are a football club and the goal is to win a premiership, the players on the list should be those who are considered to be the ones most likely to form the team who can deliver that premiership.i reckon its true.
they say an early warning sign of abuse (or as a result of abuse) is the perpetrator isolating the person from people can help them. so yeah, i think its abuse and it should be in court if true.
but, i also wish to know a lot more. like who else knew, these thing have a habit of leaking out into playing groups,..etc.
also pople are saying this will get swept under the carpet. i respectfully disagree. this shares much more in common with the essedon drug saga now. the severity of the crime means outside forces will get involved and thus the afl will be forced to actually do something.
People are talking about its potential to impact other clubs. I think it already has, this is a part of a much more broader reckoning with the past. so hawthorn are coping it, as are north and brisbane, adelaide several years ago, collingwood last year.
i finished uni and got a job in northern australia i have been up here a while now. ill be frank, the town compared to where i grew up has more than a few social problems, rapes, crimes, violence,..etc. thus i wish to talk about how a few people have raised some ideas around the nuances of potentially having family members who are bad influences. sometimes its true, but ultimately you've gotta take the person you know at face value and trust them. trust that people rise above that.
another thing i've gotta raise is the idea of severing bonds because its good for them. i also disagree with this notion. even if the person has a parent who steals from them,..etc. they will still love them.
so no, isolation from people you yearn for isnt going to work. The idea that it would brings up comparison with the stolen generation and it also shows a wilful lack of understanding of human nature.
One of the things that always stood out to me is that although freo are a young club we have the most indigenous games played in the league. ive always wondered if this should be a point of pride for freo or an indictment upon the rest of the league. i think upon reflection, its an indictment upon the rest of the league and it shows that this view of modern times have changed is a load of tripe.
I think the point more is thankfully mainly in the past but clubs have actually avoided selecting people on skin colour where as Freo have just taken who they thought was best.Your last paragraph is a bit "different". Freo are a football club and the goal is to win a premiership, the players on the list should be those who are considered to be the ones most likely to form the team who can deliver that premiership.
I'm not sure tabulating skin colour data of the list comes into it sorry.
Unlike ex-Hawthorn assistant Adam Simpson who is on the record with a preference for private school boys.I think the point more is thankfully mainly in the past but clubs have actually avoided selecting people on skin colour where as Freo have just taken who they thought was best.
Amarfio was always a dud. Sacked by Cricket Australia and was only made North CEO because he's best mates with James Brayshaw.She gave Clarkson too much power. She knifed their black CEO Ben Amarfio because Clarkson wanted it. She is all in.
Shane is an eternal heartbreak for mine. Tragedy all round.Wish I could say we were squeaky clean.
Had a bit to do with Shane Yarran's family and they were disappointed in the lack of communication and support.
However, many other Indigenous ex-players have said they loved our club to pieces.
The shocking revelations just keep on coming. James Brayshaw has a mate??? That is just unbelievable.Amarfio was always a dud. Sacked by Cricket Australia and was only made North CEO because he's best mates with James Brayshaw.
Was Amarfio the one who they claimed made his assistant cook him breakfast?Amarfio was always a dud. Sacked by Cricket Australia and was only made North CEO because he's best mates with James Brayshaw.
Yep, Amarfio would have been gone whoever she brought in.Amarfio was always a dud. Sacked by Cricket Australia and was only made North CEO because he's best mates with James Brayshaw.
Brayshaw wasn't at the club when Amarfio was appointed?Amarfio was always a dud. Sacked by Cricket Australia and was only made North CEO because he's best mates with James Brayshaw.
I'm confused? What are you saying?
somewhere, in a public toilet Wayne Carey is breathing in....a sigh of relief. He got off lightly in amongst this shitfest pile-on
It's all good, I misinterpreted your post. No problems here.
No worries. Internet posts get misinterpreted all the time. Easy to do.It's all good, I misinterpreted your post. No problems here.
No current season stats available
Indigenous players no doubt have many extra challenges and whist the club would have always appeared to have been pretty good in doing their best with this I'm sure they could get a lot better. But also I think the individual has to take their share of the blame, as they say sometimes you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink.Throughout all this I wonder if there was more we could have done for players like Josh Simpson.
I don't want to come across as placing blame or insinuate anything, more just thinking even a club like ours with a rich history of indigenous culture and support clearly has work to do to bridge the gap.
Mundy stated that Clayton Collard was one of the most talented players he'd ever seen on our list. Imagine if there was more done 30+ years ago that could've made progress more smoothly even 10-15(?) or so years ago when he was on our list.
Again, not placing blame or trying to start an argument. I just think this sort of stuff highlights just how far the AFL in general needs to get their sh*t together and support different people and cultures.
Care factor 0For the love of all that is sacred, why couldn't Freddy be running in the Grand Final Sprint?!!!!
Can somebody speak to Karl Worner's chances?
i think kram replied with the general gist of it. basically it shows how much of the comp avoided selecting indigenous players. also freo with its comparative lack of support facilities doing so much is something that should be celebrated. but, also not really because why should you celebrate something that should be normal.Your last paragraph is a bit "different". Freo are a football club and the goal is to win a premiership, the players on the list should be those who are considered to be the ones most likely to form the team who can deliver that premiership.
I'm not sure tabulating skin colour data of the list comes into it sorry.
No chanceFor the love of all that is sacred, why couldn't Freddy be running in the Grand Final Sprint?!!!!
Can somebody speak to Karl Worner's chances?
Fair enough, I was just changing the subject for a moment. I didn't mean to diminish the severity of the horrible situation that has eventuated.Care factor 0