North pushing for 1 home game in Perth

We are trying to beat 15 other clubs to win the flag.

So we go to one of those clubs on our knees and compromise our fixture for cash. What a ridiculously inferior thing to do. That's far worse than Canberra or the Gold Coast.

As Sam Newman said last night, "Why don't you just play all of them over there". If we aren't North Melbourne, we are the Kangaroos. -3 votes for JB at the next board election from my memberships.

We are trying to beat 15 other clubs to win the flag.

No. We are trying get get a fair go from the AFL. The bottom line is the bottom line. Can't win a premiership without cash. Ask Carlton.
Then we might as well pack up and go now, because the gap between the haves and have nots is only going to increase (that's not to say we won't be able to make a profit, we just won't be anywhere near the wealthier clubs).

What crap anyway. The men pictured below had guts, something the majority of people involved with the club in 2009 lack.
50990716.jpg

1999_01.jpg

I would much rather us pursue the idea of playing some home games in Geelong.

We could have North Ballarat playing in the curtain raiser which would hopefully encourage the Ballarat people to attend.

The games would be against interstate teams and I know that Geelong is keen to have other games played down there.

Geelong is a nonsense. We can't get 15K to a ground in the middle of the city.

I'll ask this: we play Fremantle in round 10 with a 2-8 record on a wet and windy day. How many do you reckon we'd get going down to Geelong considering that crowd at Docklands?

Is it a short term solution? How do you know? Once again, the supporters have been left in the dark. If they explain the situation to us and they might be surprised with how we react to it. As I said, there's a lot of trust in this admin - they could just about sell anything to us. But I'd rather hear it from Euge than Hutchy on the Footy Show.

But anyway, my comment about it being a short-term solution was more to do with wondering what our long-term plan is to grow our membership base. Are we developing plans to culivate Werribee? North Ballarat? Broady?

Richmond has a summer training base at Craigieburn. Melbourne has forged a deal with Casey. St Kilda are heading to Frankston. Hawthorn moved their home to Waverley. These are all moves that should reap long-term pay offs. What are we doing?

I have full trust in this administration. It's probably because a) they saved this club and b) we are now a members owned club which means we could vote the board out if they let us down.

Hmmmmm, this is one almighty backflip from what Euge said about selling games interstate a few weeks ago:

http://roobeauty.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/aroccas-stadium-tiers/

I don't like this idea at all.

Making it a marque fixture means means we'll be locking ourselves into a long term deal to sell a game to Perth every year, and take a home game away from the heartland. This doesn't sound like a short term solution to me. It wont be long before West Coast gets going again, and we'll be handing them over 4 points aswell.

This deal sucks, and goes against everything this admin has stood for in Melbourne. Selling games interstate is the same tired old buisness model the previous admin used to keep this club afloat. Surely we've moved on from that and can find some alternative ideas to bring in the doh.
Mate I dont like it either.:thumbsdown:

If it was only for next year then OK. Gives the AFL time to do up Princess Park or sort out the Stadium Deal Rot at Idiot Stadium. Then at least for next year we dont get totally screwed by our current Stadium Deal.

Also it has to be said that the AFL will only allow us to play in the West as long as this Stadium Deals rot hasn't been sorted. Or so I assume.

But having said that let me say this so I'll say it again. Ring 1300 Temp Fences and Cyclone Fence Arden St. Get 10 Grand there and make 300,000 odd thousand in the least. You'd only have to do it for games against Freo and Port.:thumbsu: A taste of surbaban football once again in the AFL.:thumbsu:

Euge make it happen.

I have full trust in this administration. It's probably because a) they saved this club and b) we are now a members owned club which means we could vote the board out if they let us down.

Ah the voice of reason. Correct on both fronts. Buy a membership, it now gives you a say. Great incentive that one. :thumbsu:

Then we might as well pack up and go now, because the gap between the haves and have nots is only going to increase (that's not to say we won't be able to make a profit, we just won't be anywhere near the wealthier clubs).

What crap anyway. The men pictured below had guts, something the majority of people involved with the club in 2009 lack.

Funny you should show premiership pictures from the 90's. You realise that when we won our last premiership, we had played four home games in Sydney (incl. one against Sydney), right?

Geelong is a nonsense. We can't get 15K to a ground in the middle of the city.

I'll ask this: we play Fremantle in round 10 with a 2-8 record on a wet and windy day. How many do you reckon we'd get going down to Geelong considering that crowd at Docklands?

Yes I agree that we are struggling to get 15k to the Docklands.

However I would prefer us to play 2 or 3 home games in Geelong where we could make 300k for a crowd of 15k than playing a home game in Perth against the Eagles or Fremantle.

I would back us to win these games as the players don't have to break their routine and fly 4 hours across the country to play a team on it's home ground.

The aim of any team is to make money but there is also points at stake. The only way to make finals and win premierships is to win as many games as possible.

So I would rather the North Melbourne Football club play 11 home games in Victoria than play 10 home games in Victoria and 1 home game in WA thus giving the WA teams 12 home games.

How will BF be if we miss the finals by 4 points from a WA team and we played and lost a home game at Subi.

Funny you should show premiership pictures from the 90's. You realise that when we won our last premiership, we had played four home games in Sydney (incl. one against Sydney), right?
I was more referring to the fact that we won the flags despite our financial situation.

That was the 90's. This is now. JB and his board have a mandate to play 11 home games in Melbourne. That's the basis that I purchased my 2nd and 3rd memberships on - and I'm sure there are many more who would say the same.

Longterm, I'd rather see 11 home games in Melbourne. If we have to do this for short-term financial reasons, I can live with it.

As for the argument we are sacrificing 4 points : about time our team learned how to win on the road. Collingwood (for example) are pretty good at it, no reason why we can't be.

Yes I agree that we are struggling to get 15k to the Docklands.

However I would prefer us to play 2 or 3 home games in Geelong where we could make 300k for a crowd of 15k than playing a home game in Perth against the Eagles or Fremantle.

I would back us to win these games as the players don't have to break their routine and fly 4 hours across the country to play a team on it's home ground.

The aim of any team is to make money but there is also points at stake. The only way to make finals and win premierships is to win as many games as possible.

So I would rather the North Melbourne Football club play 11 home games in Victoria than play 10 home games in Victoria and 1 home game in WA thus giving the WA teams 12 home games.

How will BF be if we miss the finals by 4 points from a WA team and we played and lost a home game at Subi.

I agree with all of that except the notion we'd get 15K to Skilled Stadium. We can't get that figure a few Malcolm Blight barrels from our heartland.

There was barely 20K at the Geelong-North game!

Euge has flip flopped all over this issue.

Sorry for the 'double-post' (posted in the other thread, before seeing this one.)

Firstly, as a WA-based supporter, I'm rapt that this is back on the cards, and, by the sounds of it, a chance to succeed. :)

Thanks to Etihad intransigence we now have the support of Demetriou who was previously opposed, based on sour grapes over our rejection of the GC offer. It would seem that is now a lesser evil to AD.

Most of all, well done to Eugene for continually 'working the angles'. I am not sure that some people realise just how precarious our survival will be until 30K+ membership numbers can be taken for granted, attendances rise and there is some change in the stadium deal, either with Etihad or via compensation from the AFL.

While, in an ideal world, this would never be contemplated, the truth is that we need to eek out as much financial advantage as possible, at worst to avoid making loses, and at best, to make profits that remove our debt. Debt reduction must be the goal. Until that time we are vulnerable.

I feel like singing an aria (of sorts) "Euge... makes it happen!" :thumbsu:

I was more referring to the fact that we won the flags despite our financial situation.

That was the 90's. This is now. JB and his board have a mandate to play 11 home games in Melbourne. That's the basis that I purchased my 2nd and 3rd memberships on - and I'm sure there are many more who would say the same.

lol man it means we get to see an extra game over here!! thats joi. we only play over here once this year and its hectic to get into against the eagles.

i also dunt get the travelling thing?? the WA sides have to travel every 2nd week while say collingwood hardly ever travel.
do u guys have that little faith that we will automatically lose just bcoz we have to travel for 1 extra game of the year.
think this year we only travel over here once. some years we have had to do it twice.
if we play a home game here we will probably still only have to travel over here twice. i dont think it will make much of a difference

lol man it means we get to see an extra game over here!! thats joi. we only play over here once this year and its hectic to get into against the eagles.

i also dunt get the travelling thing?? the WA sides have to travel every 2nd week while say collingwood hardly ever travel.
do u guys have that little faith that we will automatically lose just bcoz we have to travel for 1 extra game of the year.
think this year we only travel over here once. some years we have had to do it twice.
if we play a home game here we will probably still only have to travel over here twice. i don't think it will make much of a difference

See that's the issue. It isn't the off field stuff that's worrying when we do this, people are scared because we are so shit when we play interstate and say that we will give the 4 points automatically.:rolleyes:

Please bring the days when we never feared playing anywhere.

The 90's when we spend money we didn't have to let the next admin "take care of it".:cool:

I hope North members get first choice of seats and we stick the eagles fans up in the nose bleed section of the grand stand like we have to do.:eek:

far out anyone who questions this deal has lost their marbles.!! 1xgame =$600 000 +

I doubt we'll ever make more than $100 000 a game playing Jihad Stadium..ever!! Of course that would be $1.1 mil over a season as home side revenue.

I say a 10 yr deal for $600 000 + , for one game a year is fanbloodytastic. Its one thing selling 3 or 4 games and playing in front of 10 people for a total of 1.2 mil. But a sell out crowd and that amount of cash = SUCCESS!!

Agree , it could become a marquee game, we have alot of support in WA.

See that's the issue. It isn't the off field stuff that's worrying when we do this, people are scared because we are so shit when we play interstate and say that we will give the 4 points automatically.:rolleyes:

Please bring the days when we never feared playing anywhere.

lol i know. some peasants r saying it's the same as paying to lose a game.

**** off, its the eagles they aint nothing special. saying ur not going to win bcoz its at another teams homeground is just plain ****n stupid

North pushing for 1 home game in Perth