• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Northern FL Division 2 - 2011 Pt 1

anyone know how Mernda are travelling, crisis talkes during the week and v/pres resigns, perhaps things not so good after the lamaro departure?:eek:
Mernda are just gettin their shit togather b4 the start of the season.same as every other year.Lamaro who ????
has potential to be a pretty good club this year ,with a lot of new heads around. :):thumbsu:

Who do you think will go up? I can see several, Arkus the new bloke who has NEVER played before, should get a shot. Matty Mc should looks Ok, Curlis has kicked a few and doing OK in the ruck, Beau will go up, whats your call?
its lookin like we might just have a winning team on our hands .noaha looks ok too .with volpy hittin hard they gunna be hard beat in the center clearances..:Da bit like curren on a nasty day :cool:
will we see eggy back at rec res ? ;)
will hadie stay or go ?:confused:
why is morang training on our ground @ laurima ?:(

its lookin like we might just have a winning team on our hands .noaha looks ok too .with volpy hittin hard they gunna be hard beat in the center clearances..:Da bit like curren on a nasty day :cool:
Our ground is at Schotters Rd and will be for a LONG time. Plenty of money about to be spent so the rumours tell me.

Who do you think will go up? I can see several, Arkus the new bloke who has NEVER played before, should get a shot. Matty Mc should looks Ok, Curlis has kicked a few and doing OK in the ruck, Beau will go up, whats your call?

sounds like the usual names in the 2s, the new faces and young blokes like shannon and adam who are 19s but impressed in the 2s, good 2 c the faces of big jase matty mc and shags back after a season or 2 off!! nice young core at mernda by the looks of things, may surprise a few ppl

Surely you are being sarcastic?....how can you look like being a winning team with 2 practice match losses????:confused:
1 of which a Belting of 100 points!.

All these players you mention are just hacks,Its all Mernda has left a bunch of players rejected from other clubs.
Anyone with some talent opened there eyes and left,the club has been left to a president who has failed miserably!.
Mernda will be a Doormat of division 2 this year and i cannot wait to rub it in your faces!

The only difference between Mernda and Watsonia is atleast you guys sound like you have some youth coming through.....But go preach that to South Morang!:eek:
So i wouldnt worry about Morang being on Laurimars ovals id worry about the thunder eventually taking over your "Growth Areas",& id worry about the long road ahead because its a long road back from Div 3

hey jax hows ruining violet-town going?? must be a bit concerned with some of your recruits il presidente , on your shoulders if it all goes to shit.. saw a couple at our 1st prac match not sure there fully commited to v/t... yes its going to be a tough year for the demons , BUT thats what happens when coaches/players ( all on good $$$ and all had made a commitment) walk.. its sad because mernda would have pushed for div.1. if all had stayed on board , and our 35kids under 21 had improved as they will..) but thats the thing about mernda we'll bounce back , we always do .. hope u lose the granny by a point & then fold next year .. thats KARMA.... goodluck jax #13 but should but more time into your club than worry about any1 elses..

Shit buddy thats a bit harsh hey:D

Looking at the latest clearances in the NFL website even if it is only as at the first of Feb

Dest Source
Diamond Creek 10 38 -28
Epping 18 29 -11
Fitzroy Stars 5 5 0
Hurstbridge 16 8 8
Lalor 20 20 0
Lower Plenty 25 10 15
Mernda 15 29 -14
Thomastown 27 14 13

Acknowledge there are likely a few juniors included in therse figures for some clubs but it appears overall DC, Mernda and Epping are undergoing some restructuring this year.

As always there is the argument about quantity vs quality but in local footy arguments can be made for both.

Epping and Mernda have been discussed on this thread but not a lot about the large numbers leaving Diamond Creek.

Lower and Thommo appeard to have done OK - anyone think these numbers will shift dramatically before the start of the season?

Looking at the latest clearances in the NFL website even if it is only as at the first of Feb

Dest Source
Diamond Creek 10 38 -28
Epping 18 29 -11
Fitzroy Stars 5 5 0
Hurstbridge 16 8 8
Lalor 20 20 0
Lower Plenty 25 10 15
Mernda 15 29 -14
Thomastown 27 14 13

Acknowledge there are likely a few juniors included in therse figures for some clubs but it appears overall DC, Mernda and Epping are undergoing some restructuring this year.

As always there is the argument about quantity vs quality but in local footy arguments can be made for both.

Epping and Mernda have been discussed on this thread but not a lot about the large numbers leaving Diamond Creek.

Lower and Thommo appeard to have done OK - anyone think these numbers will shift dramatically before the start of the season?

From a Lower perspective, alot of those ins are Research Juniors. However there are some definate quality players there and alot of the outs are Ressie type players who have not been around the club for a while! I`d imagine Thommo have a similar situation with the ins as well.

Surely you are being sarcastic?....how can you look like being a winning team with 2 practice match losses????:confused:

All these players you mention are just hacks,Its all Mernda has left a bunch of players rejected from other clubs.
Anyone with some talent opened there eyes and left,the club has been left to a president who has failed miserably!.
Mernda will be a Doormat of division 2 this year and i cannot wait to rub it in your faces!

The only difference between Mernda and Watsonia is atleast you guys sound like you have some youth coming through.....But go preach that to South Morang!:eek:
So i wouldnt worry about Morang being on Laurimars ovals id worry about the thunder eventually taking over your "Growth Areas",& id worry about the long road ahead because its a long road back from Div 3
Im new to mernda football club and since i have been there i have found the mernda football club a good club to be around with young blokes showing signs to be good players and will only get better with age.i see they have lost alot of players but that will give the young blokes a chance to play senior footy.
i dont think they will be a doormat as you say they. With youth you get something different every week.
The players from other clubs that you refer to maybe just wanted a change from there old club as you did when you left mernda.
in saying that i would like to know what you get out of bagging clubs?
As people do read big footy when looking for a new club to go to and they have to read the rubbish you put on here

cheers byronb

Im new to mernda football club and since i have been there i have found the mernda football club a good club to be around with young blokes showing signs to be good players and will only get better with age.i see they have lost alot of players but that will give the young blokes a chance to play senior footy.
its ppl like this that make a club good to b around

Gees JOEY, for a newbie with 9 posts to your credit you have a lot of mouth.
Grow up, suck some of the information in, and be nice to your mum and dad.

Gees JOEY, for a newbie with 9 posts to your credit you have a lot of mouth.
Grow up, suck some of the information in, and be nice to your mum and dad.

Since when does this forum need a certain amount of posts to qualify?
Who cares if its 9 or 900?...My point is valid big mouth or not. :D

- 2 practice matches and 2 losses?...where is the "winning team"?

-You havent even played finals since "08" where you finished 6th(you wouldnt even qualify for finals nowdays!!! :eek:)

-You have had a different 5 senior coaches in 5 years? :confused:.

-Your ground surface caused you to forfeit a game last year?(probably another 3 or 4 games this year!) :mad:

I just get sick of hearing the same old Mernda rubbish every season (We will be top 4 blah blah blah!)...Mernda you have to go back to the drawing boards and start again.Nobody is buying your story that you are still competitive and leaving it to kids to try to help your club survive doesnt work.
*South Morang
*Hurstbridge
*Watsonia

Im not saying the blokes left down there are bad guys (There really good blokes actually!).But they are either not good enough to play anywhere else,or washed up old has beens...or simply not that good to begin with!
...Big Mouth or Not....These facts not even your Vice Presidant can forge:thumbsdown: :D:D:D

A couple of points for your consideration.
[a] We dont have any old hacks, only young blokes, the oldest would be 24 ish.
The ground issue is long resolved, there will not be any forfeited games this year.
Lets just get into the season and then see how things pan out, good to see you get on with the blokes at Schotters Rd.

-You havent even played finals since "08" where you finished 6th(you wouldnt even qualify for finals nowdays!!! :eek:)

-Your ground surface caused you to forfeit a game last year?(probably another 3 or 4 games this year!) :mad:

I just get sick of hearing the same old Mernda rubbish every season (We will be top 4 blah blah blah!)...Mernda you have to go back to the drawing boards and start again.Nobody is buying your story that you are still competitive and leaving it to kids to try to help your club survive doesnt work.
*South Morang
*Hurstbridge
*Watsonia

Im not saying the blokes left down there are bad guys (There really good blokes actually!).But they are either not good enough to play anywhere else,or washed up old has beens...or simply not that good to begin with!
...Big Mouth or Not....These facts not even your Vice Presidant can forge:thumbsdown: :D:D:D

Word travells fast, not a smart thing for the EX vice president to play around with club minutes as he pleases. Must be the reason for his departure from Mernda l would think..;) I wonder if steppinup thinks that these wrong doings are acceptable in his beloved Mernda? These are the things that ruin clubs not coaches changing clubs as you alluded to in a previos post...

your all a bunch of peanuts all this whinging about mernda blah blah, i play there, and do so because its a great club to be around, blokes there are just legends no w***ers involved part from beau lowry, just kidding mate, myself like the rest of the boys enjoy playing with good mates having a laugh, all the players who left who cares the younge blokes are fun to be around they have got talent, probly need a couple of years on the juice, n the blokes who left will come back, if you dont play for mernda worry about your own club, we will enjoy ours

Well said young fella. Its local footy . Good luck to you and your club for season 2011.:thumbsu:

Hahahaha...very true and funny!:thumbsu:
Beau Lowry A.K.A Matty Rees? yeh - fair wanka hahah... nah ur alright mate!! :D
I been there 3 years now i still like it! -and yeh heaps of my friends left to Violet town or Bundy but were all still mates with them!...sure they will be back one day and they know they are welcome back anytime!
The younger guys are great! They are good people and have a crack!

and thats just the reason we should have local sporting clubs:) . so if u cant say the same about your clubs leave ours alone:mad:

*South Morang
*Hurstbridge
*Watsonia

G'Day Jumping Joey,

Now that you've had a go at an entire club why don't you get from behind your keyboard, go down and tell the blokes at Mernda what you think of them personally... It's all a bit too easy to sit behind an alias and throw stones... The guys down there are a great bunch of fellas and the dealings i have had with them have been first class... Culture is not purchased bud and Mernda has their focus. From what i can tell Curley, Trent and the rest of the crew are doing a great job with the obvious hurdles they have... send your resume through to Lalor mate, love to see your credentials, sounds like you have it all sorted from an operational stand point... Sure I’ll hear another crap response from you in the near future... Lalor Prez.

Were off to Torquay tomorrow, a beautiful part of the world.
No major injurys so far so hoping for a better year than last years run of injured players.
Bring on R1 :thumbsu:

may have to start showing mernda some more love with your other son back to the club! any chance of les coming also?