Northern Football League Division 1 - Part II

and kings concussion was from a much more dubios incident than a head clash....

Well I must have been watching a different game. I'm sure slim can comment further but there looked to be nothing in it. PM Boof if you're keen and he will sell you a copy of the game for a reasonable price.

umpires a bloody disgrace!! half of those cards were not warranted at all!!dont support either team but bloomin hell how can such a dominant side as heidelberg always come away with the goods from the umpys!! it happend last year in the granny too, heidelberg were given everything. im not saying they wouldnt win anyway because they would, the bergers are the best side out there, but for fairness sake give the other teams a chance! surely that skinny dork umpire couldnt get the granny after his performance today!!:thumbsdown:

Totally agree. As a neutral observer not from this league, the tall skinny umpire was terrible. Thought he was an AFL umpire paying every slight infringement he could see right from the start. Very frustrating to watch him. The other guy seemed ok to me.

In reality, umpires has no impact on the result. Heidelberg just too good. Emergency umpire could not wait to get involved down between the two benches..jeez what a tool.

Great hard game of finals footy. Both sides hit hard. Glad I was in the stands.

Sage must have injuries as had no impact early as he normally does and from what i am told he played in runners!!!!!
Can't vouch for the weekend's game FTF, but I was at the Greensborough / Mont game and remarked the exact same thing to a mate who was with me. They weren't "runner-looking" footy boots either, they were your garden variety running shoes. Seemed odd for a H&A game, seems even more odd for a massive final. Maybe needs extra special padding to keep that cannon of a left leg in working order.

How did Watto go ? (he's my wife's cousin). Quality player and quality fella too.

Can't vouch for the weekend's game FTF, but I was at the Greensborough / Mont game and remarked the exact same thing to a mate who was with me. They weren't "runner-looking" footy boots either, they were your garden variety running shoes. Seemed odd for a H&A game, seems even more odd for a massive final. Maybe needs extra special padding to keep that cannon of a left leg in working order.

How did Watto go ? (he's my wife's cousin). Quality player and quality fella too.
Watto was the recipient of one of the four hundred red and yellow cards issued on Saturday. Mont set the tone with the big (but fair) hit on Jake Williams early in the first quarter then proceeded to lose the plot and ultimately the game.

Was in the vicinity of two officials from the Ovens & Murray League who were visiting to watch the suposed NFL "showcase" and instead witnessed a circus. Felt obliged at 3/4 time to offer them their 12 bucks back. The last quarter was an embarassment and a stain on the game with Heidelberg basically doing a training drill across their half back line against what was left of the Mont side.

The final stage will be played out at the tribunal this week with NFL officials already employing bully boy tactics re any available video tape and it goes without saying there will be claim and counter claim over who was responsible etc etc etc.

Umpires = FAIL
NFL = FAIL

Im not a bad judge once again MONT CHOKED
choked mate get in the real world. Look at the half time score was close until they played with 15. Even then Mont managed to hold them to a pretty respectable score.

2 players knocked out. Plenty of players given red cards sent off for nothing all who will be cleared. 15 players left on. It was the umpires fault.

The card system is this biggest load of crap. Mont were given stupid cards which left them with 15 players. It should be the same as the afl. Report then investigated. What happened to innocent until proven guilty.

We all know why the card system was brought in to stop teams bashing the other team and getting multiple reports and being allowed to play out the game.

But come on anyone who saw the game know that it was a joke.

eg. A monty player was done for Striking the umpire! Total accident. What a joke. He was not allowed to take further part in the game. The case will be thrown out but doesn't help them now does it.

Does anyone know what, if any, official reports were to come from Saturday's main game??

Or are we still awaiting the Monday Arvo Match Review Committee live from the Lower Plenty Hotel bar room to decide on what charges are to be laid!

Lots of crap talk here about umpires this and umpires that, but surely players have to just adapt to what crap is dished up and just play the footy.

Back when I was a lad, the team that wanted it most got it most and the umpires interpretations were mostly irrelevant to the end result. Have things changed in recent years??

choked mate get in the real world. Look at the half time score was close until they played with 15. Even then Mont managed to hold them to a pretty respectable score.

2 players knocked out. Plenty of players given red cards sent off for nothing all who will be cleared. 15 players left on. It was the umpires fault.

The card system is this biggest load of crap. Mont were given stupid cards which left them with 15 players. It should be the same as the afl. Report then investigated. What happened to innocent until proven guilty.

We all know why the card system was brought in to stop teams bashing the other team and getting multiple reports and being allowed to play out the game.

But come on anyone who saw the game know that it was a joke.

eg. A monty player was done for Striking the umpire! Total accident. What a joke. He was not allowed to take further part in the game. The case will be thrown out but doesn't help them now does it.

Word is, that Mont have a secret contingency in place should they get over the Olympic Village Hoods this week.

Apparaently they are to recall disgraced Olympian Taekwandoist - Matt Cellotti to bolster their Fighting ranks along with his even more disgracefull Cuban buddy - Angel Matos to take care of any unwarranted over officialdom. :D

260xStory.jpg

Does anyone know what, if any, official reports were to come from Saturday's main game??

Back when I was a lad, the team that wanted it most got it most and the umpires interpretations were mostly irrelevant to the end result. Have things changed in recent years??

KA

Only one confirmed immediately post game was for the (alleged) contact with the umpire by the Mont player. Suspect both teams are awaiting the usual e-mail today from NFL central demanding surrender of video footage or risk incarceration in Guantanamo Bay.

Agree players should adapt to the style and interpretations of the umpires. I can honestly say however, that in over 40 years of involvement in sport as a player, official, coach, spectator and parent, I have never seen such a confusing, unprofessional, panic ridden, over zealous display of officiating as I witnessed on Saturday.

Despite all the advances the NFL has made, Saturday's debacle was a major step backwards and, if the rumours are true, will only strengthen to Tiger's resolve to move across the river.

I can honestly say however, that in over 40 years of involvement in sport as a player, official, coach, spectator and parent, I have never seen such a confusing, unprofessional, panic ridden, over zealous display of officiating as I witnessed on Saturday.

Couldn't agree more, the worst officiated game I've ever seen. The cards were thrown around willy nilly, the game was threatening to get out of control and basic skill errors. There was one particular decision where the ball came off the hands of the pack and went to a Heidelberg player who claimed a mark and it was paid! :eek: I think the ump was the only one at the game who thought it was a grab!

Still, looking forward to this Saturday, North Heidelberg are always tough, I'll bet they were disappointed to see Monty blokes getting carded and carried off all day!

Despite all the advances the NFL has made, Saturday's debacle was a major step backwards and, if the rumours are true, will only strengthen to Tiger's resolve to move across the river.

Thanks A.E,

but in absolute all Honesty - do you think that the EFL are all that different than the NFL or is it just a case of the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence??

Obviously they (EFL) are somewhat more advanced in their professionalism both at the League & Club level, but surely you still need to give NFL a chance. Things can /will change but not necessarily overnight - we all know that.

The NFL is a much strrr... strr... strr ...strrr ...strr ... stronger forcewith the likes of Heidelberg ( I hate having to say that, even if it is true), and in many ways we are all indebted to Heidelberg in helping turn the old DV around.

But there comes a time when you need to decide (as a club) are you in or are out! I personally hope you blokes stay in but I am (as no doubt many others are too) sick and tired of the "I want my Bat and Ball and are going" attitude.

Anyway, just so you know - Umpires suck no matter where you play. so NFL is not different to many other leagues. It should strengthen the Tiger's resolve to make the NFL better!

Agree players should adapt to the style and interpretations of the umpires. I can honestly say however, that in over 40 years of involvement in sport as a player, official, coach, spectator and parent, I have never seen such a confusing, unprofessional, panic ridden, over zealous display of officiating as I witnessed on Saturday.

Hit the nail on the head. Mainly the tall skinny one was out of his depth.
At the same time, the game did threaten to get out of hand a couple of times..on a knife edge for a while.

Don't know if it was a major debacle, but it did damage the leagues branding in the eyes of a few. Surely the players and the umpires take equal share in that though?

Umpire incident was a complete accident from where I stood. Looked like he fainted to us.

Thanks A.E,

but in absolute all Honesty - do you think that the EFL are all that different than the NFL or is it just a case of the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence??

Obviously they (EFL) are somewhat more advanced in their professionalism both at the League & Club level, but surely you still need to give NFL a chance. Things can /will change but not necessarily overnight - we all know that.

The NFL is a much strrr... strr... strr ...strrr ...strr ... stronger forcewith the likes of Heidelberg ( I hate having to say that, even if it is true), and in many ways we are all indebted to Heidelberg in helping turn the old DV around.

But there comes a time when you need to decide (as a club) are you in or are out! I personally hope you blokes stay in but I am (as no doubt many others are too) sick and tired of the "I want my Bat and Ball and are going" attitude.

Anyway, just so you know - Umpires suck no matter where you play. so NFL is not different to many other leagues. It should strengthen the Tiger's resolve to make the NFL better!
Had a similar discussion post game Saturday with an old buddy now aligned with Macleod. Agree that all are sick of the "club who cried Wolf " syndrome and Heidelberg need to put up or shut up once and for all.

The reality is that every club's time in the sun eventually comes to pass however the more pertinent question is the NFL genuinely committed to on-going improvement? Instead of showcasing the two best teams in the league, last Saturday's game was a poor advertisement for the NFL brand.

Mont did not choke. They simply reacted instead of responding to the pressure of which the consequences in turn caused the umpires to over control the game. Humans being human.

I believe it’s unreasonable to ultimately blame the League administrators for the perceived misgivings of humans being human. Forgive me if I’m standing on any-ones ideological corns but the reality is our League is a very small fish in a very large bowl with very limited finances.

Regards

ps … It is my view Mont have nothing to worry about in relation to any arising Tribunal matters bar maybe 1. And that’s a big maybe.

Umpire incident was a complete accident from where I stood. Looked like he fainted to us.

EXACTLY. And he was given a red card for that. Thats why this card system doesnt work. An 100% innocent player is sent off for the whole game.

Im surpised the umps are still alive i thought they would have been bashed in the car park by mont to be honest.

All i hope is mont wins and we see a fair contest.

Whats the story with King and Sagey getting knocked out. This happened last time they played bergers as well. Seems funny how monts 2 best players get knocked out both games. I heard that gay king hit King behind play. I dont expect any bergers supporters to admit this but any independent know the story.

Or are we still awaiting the Monday Arvo Match Review Committee live from the Lower Plenty Hotel bar room to decide on what charges are to be laid?

From NFL Website:

6:30pm T1 D Attard Montmorency Att. to strike B Harvey Heidelberg D1 / AC Black

7:15pm T1 M Neill Montmorency Misconduct C Black D1 / A C Kamolins

No set penalties so i'm assuming these are the only 2 reports.

Disappointing to hear the game panned out as it did, would have been great to see the two best teams go at it one on one for a full four quarters.

Perhaps only 2 reports indicates that there is some justification to the comments here about the over the top conduct of the umpires in relation to cards- certainly would appear that way anyway and creates a massive disadvantage......:cool::confused:

But as it stands the Bergers are in another one and we can only hope come GF day someone can stand up to the challenge (....and knock em off!):D

Can somebody explain to me Monts best players. How the hell did M.Neill and as somebody else put it Dizzy "statless" Stanley get in? Stanley would no doubt have featured in Triple M's worst on ground votes and Neill was unsighted, partly due to being sent off but to be honest didn't notice him even when on the park. If someone has a view would love to hear it?

On a lighter note, if anybody watched the reserves game I think its fair to say we may have a contender for the Grand prize on almost football legends with the goal a Mont player kicked during the last quarter. UNBELIEVEABLE!

two weeks to go. i love reading all this rubbish.a side beaten by heaps and of course its nothing to do with dills who show no brains . it cant be us its the umpires.it wasnt the dill standing over jake sticking his finger in his face, na he didnt start the rubbish. it wasnt his elbow. get with it , its over for ya. i hope kingy and sagey are ok. heard one monty player complain about the ground, he wasnt sure what the green stuff on the ground was.finals at stkilda beach next year???. go tiges two weeks to go.

I said bergers played better... I think people with down syndrome should not be given a key board to type random crap, especially when they cannot read and start to ramble. I was disappointed with the umps, does not say i want to take them out for walk along st.kilda beach. I'll leave that one to you.

wow wee what a weekend!!! good win, but not a great spectacle for the supporters of both clubs, although I talked to someone who hadn't seen a local game in years and he reckons he will never again pay to watch AFL when he can get this kind of entertainment in a local game.

IN respect to Daniel Kings concussion, I think you will find that Irish had concussion also, and it was an accidental clash of heads, anyone who feels differently about it, might explain the dribble on here over the past couple of days, obviously you have clashed heads intentionally a couple of times too often.

Should make for an interesting game next saturday...

wow wee what a weekend!!! good win, but not a great spectacle for the supporters of both clubs, although I talked to someone who hadn't seen a local game in years and he reckons he will never again pay to watch AFL when he can get this kind of entertainment in a local game.

IN respect to Daniel Kings concussion, I think you will find that Irish had concussion also, and it was an accidental clash of heads, anyone who feels differently about it, might explain the dribble on here over the past couple of days, obviously you have clashed heads intentionally a couple of times too often.

Should make for an interesting game next saturday...

Let me tell you fatty, it was no clash of heads with your irishman:thumbsdown:

That collision between the umpire and the Mont player was mind boggling to say the least. Total confusion from everybody that was there at the ground?:confused:
I have tried to avoid being too critical of the umpires all year but the standard of todays match was very poor and if this is the best the NFL can produce for a final then its a bloody embarassment for this competition.:thumbsdown:
No doubt this half wit Yellowman will get on here defending these dills and preaching to everyone how hard a job they have but this season i have seen some awful umpiring displays with too many of these umpires simply OVER umpiring games.
Agree with your comments Parade Boy, it was like the umpires thought that the crowd was there to watch them(Especially the skinny bloke who is rated by some as #1).In all my years following DVFL/Nfl i have never heard umpires booed off the ground as they were after Saturday's game. While i am in no way saying that the result would have been different,it was all set up for a cracking second half until the yellows were continually handed out. Does anybody have the final count of how many cards were handed out as i have never seen anything like this before.