Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

A mate & I (mont supporters) strolled down to watch the Bund v Dogs game.

Dogs play better in the dry from what i have seen. They didnt seem to have as much speed today. Bundoora did give up a huge lead in the 3rd, i think both teams kicked 8 goals each in separate quarters?

I cant see Bundoora being a threat in the finals if dogs, mont and heidelberg are full strength.

By the way, whats with Bundoora supporters paying out on clubs who beat them during the year and aren't around to give it back & calling Saul Caddy fat whenever hes 150m over the other side of the ground, yet when hes in front of the club house.. everyones quiet... lol?
I see some people on here still dont rate bundoora. they have beaten north heidelberg twice now and yet they still wont be a threat in finals. north were at full strength apart from one player. bundoora had 7 ones players out and are playing a great running brand of football. what do they have to do to get some respect. maybe north should worry about just getting there first before thinking about what they are going to do in the finals. Bundoora are 3 games clear of north and 2 of mont. surely they are favourites for second. give credit where credit is due sometimes.

Dogs play better in the dry from what i have seen. They didnt seem to have as much speed today. Bundoora did give up a huge lead in the 3rd, i think both teams kicked 8 goals each in separate quarters?

How many cans did you sink young fella:confused:?.From where I was standing it seemed pretty dry to me.mmmmmmmmm I guess were all different

I was out having a kick each break and the ground was like mud except in really grassy patches over the back. North on a day when there hasn't been any recent rain and even a little sun is when they storm ahead. Some players seemed really slow compared to normal. Maybe it was the cans...:D

I see some people on here still dont rate bundoora. they have beaten north heidelberg twice now and yet they still wont be a threat in finals. north were at full strength apart from one player. bundoora had 7 ones players out and are playing a great running brand of football. what do they have to do to get some respect. maybe north should worry about just getting there first before thinking about what they are going to do in the finals. Bundoora are 3 games clear of north and 2 of mont. surely they are favourites for second. give credit where credit is due sometimes.

Don't get me wrong, Bundoora definitely have a good side. I just wasn't convinced on Sat. Maybe with those additional players back in, the 3rd qtr blowout would not have happened and they might have stormed all over the dogs.

What an outstanding game of local footy was Bundy v Doggies. I have seen these two play two almost identical games this year where not one player has given up at any stage no matter what the lead or no matter what direction the game is leading. A sensational third quarter by Norf and an absolute clinic by Harvey was matched by the undermanned efforts of Bundoora in the last. Bundy lost Shaw at the first bounce and still managed to maintain there running game. Three big forwards has certainly made the difference for bundoora and they should easily finish as the second best side in the home and away rounds.:rolleyes:

I arrived at Yulong a little late, however wanted to confirm the situation with Saul and his elbow early in the game. Was it Brayden that he collected, or was it another player that caught the pointy end of the arm?

No I think Saul was just reaching for a bag of chips from the canteen:D
Braydens was in a contest at the first bounce from a knee to the thigh. bad corkie and may even miss this week.
What is going on with the fixturing, Bundoora play four at home in a row, and I think west play seven away in a row???
How can that happen?

my tips 4 this week northcote park heidelberg north mont and of course bundoora go bulls

Mini-final at Sydney Cres tomorrow,loser most likely relinqueshes the opportunity to compete in september.Should be a cracker and with wet conditions forecast could be a game reminiscent of the nineties betweeen the great rivals.

Originally Posted by bobo99
my tips 4 this week northcote park heidelberg north mont and of course bundoora go bulls

Best 5 sides in comp vs Lower 5 sides....

Surely 1 will upset this week.

Yes, sure looks like a good winters day for local football tomorrow. And as for any upsets, well, let's see:
The windswept Yulong oval will not be a very pleasant place for Greensborough with my pre-season grand final favourites Bundoora expected to show their local rival in Greensborough how wet weather football is played. A huge loss for Greensborough in Mitchell Anderson. Bundoora to win by around 60 points.
The Match-of-the-Day is certainly out in the ferral confines of Sydney Cres where the loss of the human tundra in Big Lance will severely restrict the Lalor goal scoring. Exepect North Heidelberg to be smarting after last weeks loss and take their frustrations out on the home side. North to win by around 27 points.
With teams hot on their heels for a finals spot Northcote Park really need to put Eltham away at Westgarth Street. Eltham have a terribel record at this venue and tomorrow wont improve it. Northcote to win by around 45 points.
As I've said previously, Thomastown are the worst team ever to grace Div.1 and won't have any answers to a Montmorency side also keen to build for the finals series. Even without the little ground thug, Montmorency should be able to win by around 100 points.
It's another nothing season for West Preston and all they'll probably shut up show early tomorrow against premiership favourites Heidelberg. Heidelberg to win by around 50 points.
Stay dry tomorrow my friends.

Mini-final at Sydney Cres tomorrow,loser most likely relinqueshes the opportunity to compete in september.Should be a cracker and with wet conditions forecast could be a game reminiscent of the nineties betweeen the great rivals.

with big lance pulling up lame after last week the bloods may struggle,however this is a great chance for the highly paid under performed shepard to repay some of his hard earned.he must fire for the bloods to stay in touch for this year.

in my book big lance has performed better this year than last lets hope we can squeeze a couple more seasons out the the big man yet

Best 5 sides in comp vs Lower 5 sides....

Surely 1 will upset this week.

Upset ?

Surely no one is upset that the Panthers got home over the front running Cougars ?

Very good side are Northcote Park but very undisciplined. Probably this part of their game cost them most today, but the young Panthers were just terrific.

Surely no one is upset that the Panthers got home over the front running Cougars ?
Very good result for Monty and North. Northcote now in danger of missing the finals

My predications for round 18
Heidelberg 18 0
Bundy 15 3
Monty 12 6
North 11 7
Northcote 10 8
Lalor 9 9
Greeny 6 12
West 5 13
Eltham 4 14
Thomastown 0 18

Very good result for Monty and North. Northcote now in danger of missing the finals

My predications for round 18
Heidelberg 18 0
Bundy 15 3
Monty 12 6
North 11 7
Northcote 10 8
Lalor 9 9
Greeny 6 12
West 5 13
Eltham 4 14
Thomastown 0 18

seen one of the greatest FLOGS running around the valley for a while.NO 5
at then kennell.Runs around imitating hulk hogan but plays and looks more like BUTTERBEAN.

seen one of the greatest FLOGS running around the valley for a while.NO 5
at then kennell.Runs around imitating hulk hogan but plays and looks more like BUTTERBEAN.
hey egg how would a goose like urself comment wat have ever done the only thing u ever done has played with ur 8 day all day long u leave our mick nolan alone and worry about ur own side fool :mad:

Interesting to note that another coach has been suspended for umpire abuse.
How would you players deal with a coach that regularly gets suspended for umpire abuse?
I'm sure the coach wouldn't cop it from a player.
Let's put the boot on the other foot.
What would you as a playing group, fighting for a finals spot, do?

Interesting to note that another coach has been suspended for umpire abuse.
How would you players deal with a coach that regularly gets supended for umpire abuse?
I'm sure the coach wouldn't cop it from a player.
Let's put the boot on the other foot.
What would you do?

The umpiring on Saturday was attrocious and they influenced the result of the game. Some umpires need to put away their whistle more often.

What's the story with West Preston this season? Can anybody fill me in because they have picked up a heap of new blokes but can't get a win?