Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

Aren't Symes and Eaton new to the club this year.. So technically also top ups…hmm.. lots of top ups…

Anyway I agree with most of what you say … apart from the professionalism -but that's a good thing - I don't think you see too many AFL/VFL Presidents screaming the kind of abuse TB was dishing out to certain Mont player on the weekend .. But like I said - that's a good thing .. that's local footy

Anyway where is that big slow awkward Irish bloke gone this year? :p

I knew I should have re-read before posting...Symes and Eaton - first year players fair enough, but we have had this discussion before that the nucleous of the team have been there a long time and continue to get the job done week in week out...

I think that Irish bloke was suppossed to be travelling around the world this year but he only got as far as Perth and then headed south to Bunbury... Playing with a club called Carey Park...so at least the Big Footy faithful can unite in supporting one cause...Carey Park's ambition to go back to back for the first time in their history, currently unbeaten let's hope it stays that way...

Get on board... http://careyparkfc.com.au/

gay, tennant, rogers, nolan, o'brien, morrison, shepard, king all would be ahead of currie. not saying he hasnt had a decent year.

Yes, you are quite right. They are all very good players.

But discount the ruckmen and the half forward flankers amongst them, and Cuz still lays geniune claim to the CHF position.

Of course this is just my opinion.

Just as a matter of interest, are there any anal retentive people out there ( statisticians / league officials / pricks with too much time on there hands - other than the usual BF dribblers) able to give a brief summary of the Number of Offences/ Reports /Tribunal charges / Weeks given during this season.

I'm pretty sure, as in most years, Eltham won't figure at all prominently in this, but I would be intersted to see who the badboy or least disciplined clubs are.

(cue the violins for Monty as the most picked on :D)

Just as a matter of interest, are there any anal retentive people out there ( statisticians / league officials / pricks with too much time on there hands - other than the usual BF dribblers) able to give a brief summary of the Number of Offences/ Reports /Tribunal charges / Weeks given during this season.

I'm pretty sure, as in most years, Eltham won't figure at all prominently in this, but I would be intersted to see who the badboy or least disciplined clubs are.

(cue the violins for Monty as the most picked on :D)

Nah not MOnt

I reckon North H would be up there -I think they've had Green, the big ruckman Florance (?) and Wright all take penalites at different stages

From memory we've only had the one (no prize for guessing who)

What about in years past??

The two Ciavola boys given 16 weeks for the same incident has to be up there as some sort of record. I refer to it as "elbowgate" - (not trivialising the injury KA)

Noted the publish date and comments of Have Your Say.

http://blogs.news.com.au/heraldsun/robynriley/index.php/heraldsun/comments/let_wonthaggi_power_play/

Heidelberg just simply go away. Problem solved. I don't think so!

boof, to be honest mate, who ever you are. everyone is sick of your garbage and heidelberg in these forums. do you play or are you just a supporter of the club? because i dont think you realise that you don't know as much as you think you do about the club. a friend of mine who is involved with a player from the club was told by this player that if the club is to move to the eastern league over a dozen of the boys would move clubs, no one cares about clicking on the link to your website, its just a local football club website like any other club. yeh so what, your club has more money, better players, more winning streaks than any other club, get over it mate its just local football your head is stuck so far up your arse its getting beyond a joke...goodnaught!

boof is the fatman who does the video for them, he is 40, lives at home with his mum and has not had a root he has not paid for. All clubs have there nuff nuff supporters and boof is there's or to quote all the players drinking at the swan hotel," he is a f@#cking pest"

boof, to be honest mate...

I'm grateful for your negative positive feedback.

boof is the fatman who does the video for them, he is 40, lives at home with his mum and has not had a root he has not paid for. All clubs have there nuff nuff supporters and boof is there's or to quote all the players drinking at the swan hotel," he is a f@#cking pest"

Forgive boys if I'm a pest.

boof, to be honest mate, who ever you are. everyone is sick of your garbage and heidelberg in these forums. do you play or are you just a supporter of the club? because i dont think you realise that you don't know as much as you think you do about the club. a friend of mine who is involved with a player from the club was told by this player that if the club is to move to the eastern league over a dozen of the boys would move clubs, no one cares about clicking on the link to your website, its just a local football club website like any other club. yeh so what, your club has more money, better players, more winning streaks than any other club, get over it mate its just local football your head is stuck so far up your arse its getting beyond a joke...goodnaught!

Covergirl, Heidelberg are not moving to Eastern. You have brought it up several times now so I just want to clear it up. In 2006 we were accepted by the EFL but were ultimately stopped by the combined efforts of Football Victoria and the former DVFL hierarchy. I think you will find that the "dozen" players you speak of would be seconds players with maybe one or two exceptions. If anything a move to another league would only encourage other Northern league players to join Heidelberg as they wouldn't have to play against their former club.

No, mate i know for a fact that quiet a large number of 1's players would be looking to move, and why would northern league players want to join heidelberg if some players left, whats playing against former clubs got to do with anything here? im simply raising the fact of all the talk about heidelberg moving leagues...i was more then satisfied with your first paragraph but your second has got me raising eyebrows and a bit lost

hahaha as bruce mccavaney would say...thats speccccccccccccccial

Well, I think it is about time that we stopped all the Heidelberg bashing, they have only done what most other clubs also do, but on a more professional basis and for an extended period of time. Fan back thru the records of the DVFL/NFL and other local leagues and you will definately see periods of domination by a particular club. If BigFooty was operating at this level back at the start of the 2000s you could easily replace Heidelberg with Northcote Park and then further back to Lalor and so on.
Well done to Heidelberg for taking organisation and professionalism to a new level in teh DVFL/NFL and they will only be matched by clubs who take up the challeneg.

So. Enough of my high-horse, on to tomorrow's matches which feature two interesting clashed.
The Bundoora vs Northcote Park clash probably has bigger ramifications than the Heidelberg vs North Heidleberg match for the loser. Both teams just have to keep winning with Northcote Park in teh worse position. Because I selected Bundoora pre-season to play off in the Grand Final and because the match is at Yulong I am selecting the home side to win by 27 points.
Obviously Heidelberg have continued to be the benchmark for the League while North Heidelberg have probably surprised a few people this season with their performances. As has been mentioned many times on here, it is the second and third tier of players that Heidelberg have on the paddock that gets them across the line on many occassions. The Heidelberg lesser-known players are certainly better than North Heidelberg's and for that reason the home side should win by 30 points.
Unfortunately, at this time of the season the other matches are really only for pride, so:
Local rivals Thomastown and Lalor should have an interesting match with the visitors getting the chocolates by 60 points.
West Preston will welcome Eltham with open arms and are looking at a late season win. The lakeside team by 15 points.
Another local rivalry match between Montmorency and Greensborough should keep the hillside people interested for a while but in the end it'll be Montmorency by 45 points.

Well, I think it is about time that we stopped all the Heidelberg bashing, they have only done what most other clubs also do, but on a more professional basis and for an extended period of time...

Well said, its is getting tired and you are corect, its smels like jelousey most the time.

If BigFooty was operating at this level back at the start of the 2000s you could easily replace Heidelberg with Northcote Park and then further back to Lalor and so on..

Very True, however it does look like this one will out do them all.

Panther by a point

Assuming North beat Thomastown and Heidelberg beat Northcote;
If Bundoora beats West then Northcote Park will miss the 4
If West beat Bundoora then Bundoora will miss the 4

Monty need to beat either Greensy or Eltham to finish 2nd

Assuming North beat Thomastown and Heidelberg beat Northcote;
If Bundoora beats West then Northcote Park will miss the 4
If West beat Bundoora then Bundoora will miss the 4

Monty need to beat either Greensy or Eltham to finish 2nd

great game today at yulong, bundoora up by 40 at quarter time.... it would be fair to say bunnies out coached.....

... And no hope for any reinforcement form the Heidelberg Twos. ... the bunch of pea-hearted pea-brains in the Magoos would be lucky to win in Div.3. . .. All that cr@p about Heidelberg Twos players been able to walk into any other team ...

They are second or third rate players at best, but then maybe thats all Heidelberg are capable of developing.

And as for the Twos coach maybe a genuine speech at 3/4 time instead of a gobfull of cliches one after the other may be more useful.:thumbsdown:

Yeah! good one :D 157 to 45.

... I would be intersted to see who the badboy ... (cue the violins for Monty as the most picked on :D)

Nah not MOnt ... I reckon North H would be up there ... From memory we've only had the one (no prize for guessing who) ... I refer to it as "elbowgate" - (not trivialising the injury KA)

Not sure about the stats. However, I'm confident J & B would know who gets the votes regarding the worst so far this season :thumbsdown: