Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

Calm down boys.:rolleyes: Eltham and Lalor both have some very good young players who have the potential to keep you both in Div 1 for a few years and maybe even get you into the finals in a few years?
The fact is though is that you are 6th and 7th on the ladder at the moment and that is a pretty accurate assessment of where you both stand in the competition in 2009. You are both pretty evenly matched but both of you need to improve a fair bit . From what I have heard neither of you have the $$$$$ to recruit what you need or maybe even keep the players you have?

I am going to take this opportunity to say "I told you so" to the
Eltham and Lalor supporters on here who got a little bit carried away with their close game last week.
I hope both camps took note of yesterdays results?
I repeat "you are 6th and 7th on the ladder " and that is where you both stand in the competition. Neither of you are good enough to be higher up then you are and both of you need to improve a lot to go higher next year!

While the easy pleased Heidelberg supporters on here will no doubt disagree ,the thrashing Mont copped from Heidelberg yesterday is once again not good for the NFL's credibility as a competitive local competition.
Heidelberg are so far ahead of everybody else its embarrassing.
Mont are a very good side but were simply not in the same league as Heidelberg yesterday. The gap between Heidelberg and the rest has widened this year despite people like Boof trying to convince us and himself that it hasn't.:rolleyes:.
Lets hope North Heidelberg can make a decent game of it next week against Heidelberg because if they get flogged then this final series will be as predictable as the previous 3 finals series.

I agree, as a Mont supporter I was a little disappointed to see us get smashed.

I think most non heidelberg supporters are getting a little bored of the same thing each week.

Nothing agains heidelberg, they are a super strong outfit. I just think they need some competition at a higher level. I dont know if the Eastern League top teams would be competitive vs the bergers at their best.

... this final series will be as predictable as the previous 3 finals series.

Yeah right :thumbsdown:

Anyway, putting aside any future controversy, it was a great day of local footy yesterday. Aspects of Monts game was good. Perhaps I may be in a position this time next week (provided I get a chop-out and a feed) to give my 'expert opinion' on who's gunna take a shot at the title.

I agree, as a Mont supporter I was a little disappointed to see us get smashed.

I think most non heidelberg supporters are getting a little bored of the same thing each week.

Nothing agains heidelberg, they are a super strong outfit. I just think they need some competition at a higher level. I dont know if the Eastern League top teams would be competitive vs the bergers at their best.

Balwyn would be no pushover seen them a few times.Infact would be too quick for heidelberg!

While the easy pleased Heidelberg supporters on here will no doubt disagree ,the thrashing Mont copped from Heidelberg yesterday is once again not good for the NFL's credibility as a competitive local competition.
Heidelberg are so far ahead of everybody else its embarrassing.
Mont are a very good side but were simply not in the same league as Heidelberg yesterday. The gap between Heidelberg and the rest has widened this year despite people like Boof trying to convince us and himself that it hasn't.:rolleyes:.
Lets hope North Heidelberg can make a decent game of it next week against Heidelberg because if they get flogged then this final series will be as predictable as the previous 3 finals series.

In fairness to Heidelberg, all we are trying to do each year is field the best possible team we can with the resources at our disposal. In my opinion there is some onus on other clubs to lift their own standards rather than constantly whinge about a one sided competition. Though as for yesterday's game most of the tiger faithful were legitimately surprised by the result but when you compare the bottom six players of both clubs you can understand why Heidelberg are such a strong outfit.

In fairness to Heidelberg, all we are trying to do each year is field the best possible team we can with the resources at our disposal. In my opinion there is some onus on other clubs to lift their own standards rather than constantly whinge about a one sided competition.

:rolleyes:Put simply...Heidelberg DO field the best team with the huge $$$resources they DO have at their disposal.
The other clubs just DON'T have the $$$resources to match the STANDARD of Heidelberg.

If you leave out Thomastown who have not looked like winning a game and Heidelberg who have not looked like losing a game the rest of the competition has seen some very close games with a few upsets here and there which makes for a good and interesting competition.
Heidelberg really are in a class of their own and the rest are NOT going to catch up to them. :rolleyes:

In fairness to Heidelberg, all we are trying to do each year is field the best possible team we can with the resources at our disposal. In my opinion there is some onus on other clubs to lift their own standards rather than constantly whinge about a one sided competition. Though as for yesterday's game most of the tiger faithful were legitimately surprised by the result but when you compare the bottom six players of both clubs you can understand why Heidelberg are such a strong outfit.
That is the stupidest comment i have ever heard. How do u lift your standards if one clubs spends $100 grand more than any other club. its not resources its cash and not every club has a millionaire at there disposal. yeh heidelberg by far and away are the best team in the comp and most likely victoria. A club that pays 2's players is ridiculous!

heidelberg wil win this years premiership, no if's no buts no nothing. ill be happy to take bets on that. the only team that may beat heidelberg is if the nfl combined north, bundoora and mont in a grandfinal against heidelberg. forget the finals series, just 1 game takes all. its a win for all i reckon.

A quick observation of the last few weeks of posting has seen the following be proven over and over again.

1. Every time Heidelberg smash a contender, the subject of player payments is dragged to the surface yet again. Yet again I will state that if your club could, it would. So either do something about it or whinge whinge whinge until your tissues run out.

2. Eltham supporters seem to be quick to jump on here and be chirpy after a win, but not so after a loss. Pretty rich some of the stuff directed at the Lalor boys the week before RE: U/19s and talk of a return to Divison 2, considering Eltham were begging for money 12 months ago and have not had any considerable impact whatsoever on the competiton in the last 10 years. And when its all said and done, the boys from the Bloods still sit above them on the ladder. Never liked Eltham as they have far too much to say without having anything at all to be proud of themselves. Very quiet when they play us.

3. We are 2 weeks away from the best time of year, local footy wise. Let the games begin.

4. Bundoora may have alot of numbers, but their 2s dont have many who can step up to the big stage and perform. Will have no impact in 2009 finals.

Heard a big whisper that the doggies are going to put a stop to this embarrassing situation of the tiges belting everyone in the top four by doing what the doggies do best. This could be on for young and old.:rolleyes:

Maybe some decent suspensions could even up the comp :D

Yeah! You wish.

Made a long journey from Geelong to Heidleberg on saturday and saw a very very slick side in Heildeberg. Montmerency to moved the ball pretty well when they could get there hands on it.

I think its pretty pointless saying things like Heidleberg would smash Balwyn,Noble Park or whoever when in reality the top sides from the main country/metro leagues would be as good as each other.

Just a question for anyone to respond, if Heidleberg have so much money maybe they could buid some visitors change rooms that aren't 3kms from the ground:eek: Must be embarrasing for all the tigers supporters that the 3rd division side next door have better club rooms:D

Heard a big whisper that the doggies are going to put a stop to this embarrassing situation of the tiges belting everyone in the top four by doing what the doggies do best. This could be on for young and old.:rolleyes:

Maybe some decent suspensions could even up the comp :D

I think your source is the same bloke who has been giving me racing tips. very close links between the two clubs on and off the field.

Very well said mate, even though im a slime player that was good. Credit where its due....should there bother being a finals series lol

Some country leagues use a points system to encourage clubs to develop juniors rather than go on spending sprees which in regional Victoria generally leads to the club ending up on its knees begging for support. Such a scheme does not prevent a club from paying players any amount they wish but does limit the number and perhaps the quality of the players they can recruit. Maybe if Heidelberg were limited in this way some of the other clubs may get access to the players that Heidelberg currently does.

Mute point I am afraid Hillite, the bergers best players (and have been for some time) are not the former AFL ones, the 2 nolans, stinga harvey, the 2(3) williams, brad eaton, symes, haydock, gay, kennedy, hall, favrin, dobson...none of whom ever played AFL level, the likes of Sinclair, Murphy and Franchina are only top ups and if you were honest with yourselves you would know that. The bergers are going for 4 in a row with practically the same team year in, year out, with very few changes...I have posted on here that there is alot more to this club than the money they play their players and I can guarantee you that the vast majority of that team would play for nothing...not something that alot of the clubs in this league can say. Are we not getting tired of this arguement by now, there is only one way to compete with Heidelberg, get the best business men in your club and get them on your committee, the strength of Heidelberg is behind the scenes, the would blow most clubs away AFL/VFL included when it comes to professionalism...

... very close links between the two clubs on and off the field.

Very close indeed. That's why this weekend is going to be bigger and better than last. For those of you that would appreciate watching the hardest two teams in the NFL go at it over the entire four get to Heidelberg. Guaranteed.

My only reservation. Can North play hard disciplined footy. The crystal ball is a tad murky.

word on the street is if heidelberg get moved to eastern league next year none of the boys will want to play, so the statement about heidelberg being more than money is quite true