• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Northern Football League Division 1 - Part VI

Heading off to The Block on Satdy to see the Bulls confirm The Tiggers status as the biggest sliders since they closed the toboggan run at Mt Donna Buang. Pretty sure the last time we won there was in the pouring rain a few years back and that was by the narrowest of margins. What a day, I think the boys had to get changed in an old tiolet block and then walk 200 metres to the ground, ha ha oh well surely that has been fixed up by now!

why fix something that aint broke.Save the talk for your offspring. there is more to football than what rooms you change in . harden up pheonix at least at Mt Donna Buang the tobagganist have a go.

ah makes it interesting.you can only poke a tiger so many times.the bunnies were great yesterday we played fair and managed to struggle over the line. makes it very interesting now.now onto unchartered territory at whittlesea.for those who are interested contact the club for a mini bus leaving early saturday morning. only 20 seats available and plenty already taken. also all remember the ANNUAL BANQUET AUCTION . look on the website for all info about it. its our biiggest night of the year . www.heidelbergfc.com.au
while i'm on it well done stinga and andy martin.

Not a great match report to give from Panther Place yesterday. What could have been a great shoot out and excellent match was ruined by some of the worst umpiring I have seen in a while, sorry to say this and I know I will get slagged off for bagging them but really they need to get back and learn the ****ing rules, really it was pathetic, I know they are hard to gain and maintain but he get paid and need to be accountable.

Not really interested actually,:( Monty big blokes played really well but most impressive was little No 35 (sorry dunno name) Few good players for the Panther as well, but, well the pathetic decisions really sucked the life out of my interest.

Mont celebrated like they needed that win, its been a while since I have seen tears and players and fans running on the ground after the siren to hug the players and jump and sing (other than a Grand Final or Final) this win must have really released some tension getting the 4 points and well done to them.........I just wonder why no one hugged and cheered the blokes in yellow:p:p:p

Any way, other than the increadibly weird decisions it probably was a good game, real shoot out with **** all behinds. Match winning part of the game for Monty was late in the 3rd where they managed to put on 7 straight goals, was an impressive 8 to 10 minutes.

Next week the Panther travel to Preston to take on the top of the table Roosters, massive challenge for them with their season nearly over taking on the Chooks will show if they have anything left. Monty take on traditional rivals in the Slime, massive game for both and usually one not to miss, if Mont win watch out for ticker tape parades and fire works....:D

cracking game today, between the tigers and the steers!!!:D
Not sure about toboggan runs but when the sun came out the snow bunnies melted.
An arm wrestle for most of the day and as good a game of football as you will ever see.
All kudos to C/C Stinga - meticulous planning and perfect execution.
Obviously gets his talent from his uncles:p

The goal that the Monty bloke kicked to win the game must be candidate for goal of the year. 2 minutes to go, 55 out, on the boundary and bang - straight through. Broke my heart. I bet he didn't pay for a drink all night.

and on his left. Ben Haynes - been a slow start due to injury - but that one was worth the wait!

(Denny to the precieved over zealous celebration... just so good to beat the Panther)

So what of the boys from Bill Lawry Oval ? 21 scoring shots to 12 after half time on saturday, it seems as though they let a huge opportunity slip through their fingers to really bust the top 5 wide open !:thumbsu: Are they really right up there with the top couple or did they play above themselves abit? Not trying to be a smart-ass, asking a genuine question, anybody ?

Not a great match report to give from Panther Place yesterday. What could have been a great shoot out and excellent match was ruined by some of the worst umpiring I have seen in a while, sorry to say this and I know I will get slagged off for bagging them but really they need to get back and learn the ****ing rules, really it was pathetic, I know they are hard to gain and maintain but he get paid and need to be accountable.

Watched the game, no support for either side, the umpires for most of the game where not noticed. Last qtr the umpires got Eltham back in the game.
D... C... if you could do better get off your soap box and pretend to umpire.
After the final siren maybe it was you who shouted Yellow magg...s to the umpires. What a legend.
If it was not you I appologise but for the idiot who did do better.
Rather than complain be involved and help improve the overall standard of umpires with your wisdom.
That is if you can afford to part with some of your wisdom. I doubt that!
You must have got the reserves and seniors game mixed upTJ. How could you not have noticed the umpires with all the 50 metre penalities they handed out. It seemed that a player only had to cough in the umpires direction to get penalised.

You mention that the umps helped Eltham in the last qrtr, but I thought thay gave Montmorency a good go in the 3rd qrtr.

My view is that the umps were not consistent with their decisions and somewhat took the shine of was a good game of football.

Was a good goal :thumbsu:

and on his left. Ben Haynes - been a slow start due to injury - but that one was worth the wait!

(Denny to the precieved over zealous celebration... just so good to beat the Panther)

Yeah I suppose, if we had of help on I reckon there would have possibly been similar ones.....:)

Apparently a few fireworks at Bundoora training on Thursday night, did this have anything to do with thew loss on Saturday?

fireworks indeed, apparently the 19's coach was left battered and bruised
after a disagreement with a parent. also may have been sporting a nike symbol on his forehead. not good.

Excellent start to the day for DC as he collected a healthy percentage of the Friday AFL 1/4 quad whilst dropping a few pots and some excellent Bangers and Mash at the Excelsior.

On arrival at Moore Park there was a very healthy crowd (and quite surprisingly NO marshal on the gate and heaps of locals with eskies...:confused:) With a healthy breeze the Panther started running well and kicked off to a 4 goal lead, the Roosters playing very smart and controlled know exactly what they need to do on their ground, especially against the wind and would not have at all been upset being 4 down at the 1/4. This was proven in the second when they started a with the breeze run and kicked away kicking 7 for the 1/4. Eltham where still in touch at the 1/2 but would need a big third. This did not really eventuate with some fundamental mistakes by the Panther coupled with some good plays by the Chooks saw the 3/4 lead to WPL at 6 points and with the breeze in the last. The final quarter was mostly enthralling, about half way through the Panther hit the lead and some thought what could be but the ever reliable Morrison proved the difference up forward and grabbed a few to take it beyond the visitors.

All in all a good game, umpires where great and there was some really good passages of play. Overall the Panther will rue some silly errors and some poor kicking into 50 but take nothing away from the Roosters who, whilst I reckon not at their 100% best will be happy with the win.

So where to from here, the Panther head back home to take on Macleod in what will no doubt be a tight contest. The Roosters will host the Slime in a game that will definitely shape the make up of the finals.

Macleod no match for Bundoora, very disappointing against a classy Bundoora outfit today. The Bulls were too big, too tall and showed we have some way to peg the gap. Ladies lunch was a ripper looking at the state of those girls post 5pm!

thanks for loggin in bruce almighty........you too big footy....stop talking in the third person..........................................................................its spiked ...................the milk again.................................................

hey GWH on the right track.Macleod 8 yrs away but what you do now will seal the deal.your commitment makes a club.Right time right place but you have to make it right time right place every year.Bundoora the team to beat ,every player is strong and big and play for the club to win.
there coach has the humming.

Macleod must accept that to compete as a finals side at division one you have to do a bit of recruiting with a focus on taller stronger players. It will be interesting to see if they have a real crack at post season.

It never ceases to amaze me at the "experts" who tell clubs like Macleod what they need to do in regards to recruiting.:rolleyes:
Of course Macleod "ACCEPT" and understand they need to recruit "taller & stronger" players but they don't have a blank cheque book to just go out and "RECRUIT" what AND who they would like !:rolleyes:

This reminds me of the idiot who got on here a few seasons ago and gave his "EXPERT" report on why Thomastown failed in Division 1 because they "failed to recruit" the type of players needed to succeed in Div 1..:rolleyes:...EVERY club would love to recruit a player like Cameron Cloke but not all the clubs in the NFL have the type of coin that Bundoora seem to have or what Heidelberg used to have.:mad:
Good luck to Macleod who are doing pretty bloody good with what they have and have established themselves quite well as a Div 1 club after all their years in Div 2.:thumbsu: