Northern Football League Division 2 - Part II

Interesting reading of teams ins and outs this year. Good thing that there is no complaining, just fact stating.
Each year, a club needs to recruit. Each year a club has injuries (some season ending) and clearances out (some taking a year off for travel, job etc). This is without exception.
It's the clubs that recruit, that shall improve. It's only the clubs that recruit that shall succeed. Weather it be from their juniors, or outside of the club.
No coach can enter a season expecting his dream line-up to be available all season.
Wouldn't mind seeing a list of the recruits to counter the losses for the clubs this season. I'd suspect you could correlate this with teams success or lack of success for the year.
You have put this nicely (fact stating), the word used to be called excuses, and rightly so, if you get injuries it's harder to win games so why can't we say it ?

Countering the losses is the big Q. But somehow the same sides seem to remain at the top end regardless of injuries etc. This is where your u/19s or recruiting strategies come into play (as u have pointed out). From a 2nd div point of view, Sth Morang stands out, they have had a massive fall that they couldn't recover from, they lost 6 genuine seniors to Whittlesea, it exposed their depth.....BUT... that's no different to another club having 6 of their better players missing from the year before or injured as well, like have been posted on this thread, They must be replaced. Some can do it, some battle.
But basically the other teams remain the same, with possibly Mernda on the up as they have recruited well over the last 12 months and have a premiership u/19s side entering their senior ranks.
Sth Morang appear to be the Club to keep an eye on once the kids filter through the juniors again, as they (the juniors) are powerful. But they must recruit along the way as well. And when i say filter, i mean through the seniors not the clearance system.(which stinks by the way, but that's another story).

my tips

epping by 60
stars by 5 points
reservoir by 60
southmorang by 40
whitlesea by 100
macleod by 85
mernda by 3 points

good luck 2 all .... as we head to the buisness end of the season

Im pretty sure our team manager puts HIS best in and as he fills the water bottles, gets the drinks, gets the lollies, gets the oranges etc. He probably doesn't see the whole game, so sorry but its definately not a tactic of ours.

Yes the crowd was very angry, but full credit to them because our rooms were packed after the game with south morang people, so all is good.

Big game this week against the Saints. I think if we stop the pace of Curran, Harris, Richardson and Mcbrian we should get up:p:D
Hope your right mase and it is a good game. Not sure you will have to worry about the pace of richardson, harris or mcbrien because none of them are quick but, right about curren he has genuine speed! and sure he has a point to prove to the old club! good luck to both sides, lets hope its a good one.

i dont play up there i used 2 , i steal live up here but they r going well, they r very happy they made the move back yvmfl ....

Fitzy Is Playing 2mrw. Eagles Nest? Your Reply. Go Eagles.
No Turmoi At The Club. Our Ball Is 2mrw Night And Its Booked Out. You Going Eagles Nest. Come Have A Beer With Me.

there is still 8-9 teams in the mix for 6. and I would say that there is 4 teams in the mix for top 2 (double chance). with whitt (1st) vs macleod (3rd) next week and thomo (2nd) vs epping (4th) all playing next week. the top 2 picture will either be a bit clear or a lot more crowded.

But got watsy to get over first boof. good luck for your boys 2mrw mate but I think you will be right without it.

Any truth Reservoir are having talks with EDFL for next year ?
Dont want to play Div 3 in the NFL.

Wouldn't be surprised, their president rang on thursday night asking for our president. Wants him to go to a meeting on Wednesday night to discuss the actions of the NFL especially regarding divvy 3.

On a side note, every one seems to think that Kevin Crompton is the one making the desicions of the NFL. He is instructed by the board, Kevin Crompton is paid to deliver their decisions - hence his role General Manager. No point slagging him off or targeting him as the culprit if you have sour grapes about the leagues decisions. He can't change the desicions, simply advise.

I personally think it's time the board were a little more vocal to announce their decisions and the justification behind them. They seem to have alot of the NFL (especially Divvy 2) off side at the moment.

i dont think a 3rd division would work need more teams... is it defently going ahead

The NFL believe it is going ahead, however i think we are just about to go into a period of major protest by most clubs in divvy 2, especially those further down the ladder.

It will be interesting to see how it is handled by the NFL. Will they make a stand?? Or will they give into the backlash of divvy 2 teams to save some face and avoid any possible media exposure??

Fitzy Is Playing 2mrw. Eagles Nest? Your Reply. Go Eagles.
No Turmoi At The Club. Our Ball Is 2mrw Night And Its Booked Out. You Going Eagles Nest. Come Have A Beer With Me.
My reply you said fitzy hurt his knee and was going overseas and be back round 16 AND NOW HES PLAYING????????? . If you tell fibs make sure you keep to the same story you say in previous posts . VOTE1 P BUGDEN:thumbsu::thumbsu:

If you were any supporter you would know the goings on at the club, but you just talk dribble on here, shut up.

The NFL believe it is going ahead, however i think we are just about to go into a period of major protest by most clubs in divvy 2, especially those further down the ladder.

It will be interesting to see how it is handled by the NFL. Will they make a stand?? Or will they give into the backlash of divvy 2 teams to save some face and avoid any possible media exposure??

Snorta, what is your clubs feelings and thoughts of the proposed Div 3 ?

At this stage of the season, it seems as though your club shall be competing in the 3rd Division.

With some of your recruits rumoured for next year, you would be odds on to win it anyway.

LLMoose, Mernda have not changed have they ? You did play okay today, however P.Curran was lucky not to get reported as he nearly sent the Lower player into the middle of next week with a broken neck when he charged him in the 2nd half. Looked like the Mernda of old the way they went about things at times. However young Faralla seems to be continuing Mernda's style of play. Saw him throw a couple of cheapies today. Not surprised though.
LLMoose you would have to be looking like the slowest player in Div 2. Probably second behind Ace Curran, yet at least he can get a kick in the one's.
I like Lower, but with a team that have the bodies to compete against a 1st Div team, they look like Tarzan but play like Jane.
My thoughts are that it stems from the coach, who implores his players to do things his way, screams and yells to try to get his point across, and seems to treat the group with distain when he feels like it.
This seems to have frightened the Lower guys from using initiative, or playing on instict, because they are scared of being berated by the coach. When the Lower players are too afraid to use some initiative, they are then berated for not showing some initiative. Humourous circle that doesn't seem to be working.
Please elaborate or correct me if I am inaccurate Lower guys.

Good entertaining game today all the same.

Quick as a cat I am! Also #27 from lower can thank his lucky stars that Patty didn't send him into next week. The little snake hit patty from behind then ran off. No excuses today, we were beaten well by better opposition in both games. Its a good wakeup call for the two's because we havent been playing with the same intensity as the start of the year. The senior coach gave the players a decent spray about the last 10 minutes of the last quarter so believe me they have changed. If you think that we were the ones that started all the scaps then I think the swelling around my right eye might have something to say. I was hit from behind running at the footy. The lower players were just as rough as the mernda guys.

Very close game at Thomastown today. Started off looking like it was going to be a very average day Tomastown 47 to Stars 2 at 1/4 time. To the credit of the boys they came back and hit the lead half way into the last quarter. Disapointing to end up loosing by 9 points. Thomastown gave us a very warm welcome after the game, and i'd like to thank their vice president for the speech he gave.

Im pretty sure our team manager puts HIS best in and as he fills the water bottles, gets the drinks, gets the lollies, gets the oranges etc. He probably doesn't see the whole game, so sorry but its definately not a tactic of ours.

Yes the crowd was very angry, but full credit to them because our rooms were packed after the game with south morang people, so all is good.

Big game this week against the Saints. I think if we stop the pace of Curran, Harris, Richardson and Mcbrian we should get up:p:D

Mase just saw todays best players and l seriously think the guy that does it should consult the coach or someone today was the worst for the season stevens for the 4th week in a row was in but l reckon 4 possies and his man kicked goals or at least had kicks,Aquilina kicked the ball out of bounds on the full 4 times in a row in last qtr and l would not have thought that mason or gilchrist were there either although both were ok ,fair dinkum l reckon it is an embarrassment to the club

:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
Mase just saw todays best players and l seriously think the guy that does it should consult the coach or someone today was the worst for the season stevens for the 4th week in a row was in but l reckon 4 possies and his man kicked goals or at least had kicks,Aquilina kicked the ball out of bounds on the full 4 times in a row in last qtr and l would not have thought that mason or gilchrist were there either although both were ok ,fair dinkum l reckon it is an embarrassment to the club
well what can i say the club is up itself..... they better have a good hard look at themselves trav stevens is shit and as been on bugdens coat tails since he as been there just a seconds player if that,,,, bugden should play players that deserve a game and just not his mates .fitzy in the twos REALLY!!!!!!!!! look after the blokes that look after the club, get a grip heart and soul of footy gees embarassed to be part of a club :thumbsdown:

mase Just Saw Todays Best Players And L Seriously Think The Guy That Does It Should Consult The Coach Or Someone Today Was The Worst For The Season Stevens For The 4th Week In A Row Was In But L Reckon 4 Possies And His Man Kicked Goals Or At Least Had Kicks,aquilina Kicked The Ball Out Of Bounds On The Full 4 Times In A Row In Last Qtr And L Would Not Have Thought That Mason Or Gilchrist Were There Either Although Both Were Ok ,fair Dinkum L Reckon It Is An Embarrassment To The Club
Raav Or Trav Stevens To The TWOS Vote One Now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)

If you were any supporter you would know the goings on at the club, but you just talk dribble on here, shut up.
Listen i'll follow the club i live in whitt bet you dont !!!! just up here for the money... Its been almost 30 years following the eagles how about you????? you ring in.... VOTE 1 P BUGDEN!!!!!!!!!:thumbsdown:

Quick as a cat I am! Also #27 from lower can thank his lucky stars that Patty didn't send him into next week. The little snake hit patty from behind then ran off. No excuses today, we were beaten well by better opposition in both games. Its a good wakeup call for the two's because we havent been playing with the same intensity as the start of the year. The senior coach gave the players a decent spray about the last 10 minutes of the last quarter so believe me they have changed. If you think that we were the ones that started all the scaps then I think the swelling around my right eye might have something to say. I was hit from behind running at the footy. The lower players were just as rough as the mernda guys.

I have no sympathy for Patty Curran if he cops a whack from any opposition player, regardless of what direction it comes from. One thing is for certain if you don`t get in first with P.Curran then your asking for the inevitable. For the second year year in a row he has given Andy Knee a cheap one and for the second year in a row it has been to no avail. The bloke is a dinosaur and a thug and I have no doubt that people from Mernda will get on here and defend him as some sort of hero and legend, so be it but it will just show you as the bunch of neanderthals that you probably are. For the record with the season on the line, 9 goals to 3 points in the last quarter says enough about how we valued the game.

Call it quits Patty.