Norths Clash Jumber - How Bad?

Pies-Clash-Strip.jpg

An alternative Pies clash strip.

If anything, you would want it the opposite (or with a thinner white stripe). Collingwood's would have to be a darker jumper to wear against North & Geelong

How come all this trolling crap is allowed on the main board? This is getting like bay 13 but only when it's trolling North Melbourne. What's the deal?

Its not trolling! North deserve every bit of cr@p they get for selling their soul for a few $$:thumbsdown:

I thought that James Brayshaw was just a lilly livered, limp wristed president, but i now think that he is doing back door deals with his mate Eddie against the will of his own fans:thumbsdown:

Its not trolling! North deserve every bit of cr@p they get for selling their soul for a few $$:thumbsdown:

I thought that James Brayshaw was just a lilly livered, limp wristed president, but i now think that he is doing back door deals with his mate Eddie against the will of his own fans:thumbsdown:

yeah, too right.

cos,

hawthorn didnt sell their soul to tassie....
essendon didnt sell their soul to 3 or samsung....
collingwood didnt sell their soul to adidas, emirates, aussie, mcdonalds, lexus, [enter corporate sponsor here] :rolleyes:

this selling your soul comment thats thrown about by supporters of some clubs is the biggest load of shit on BF.

Why is Hawthorn playing matches in Tassie? Why is Carlton hosting Freo next week on the Gold Coast?

North needs the money by hosting Collingwood early in the season, and Collingwood want to wear their striped jumper, so both teams get what they want. Collingwood is hosting St.Kilda on their home ground next week. Where is the fairness in that? The jumper issue has been overblown.

Collingwood's jumper is black and white, North Melbourne's is Blue and white and there was no problem for 99 years.

The whole "clash" jumper issue is a pile of AFL crap.

If North Melbourne want to listen then that's their problem.
If you want to fall for it, promote it and/or whinge about it then that's your problem.

This is another of those "annual" dumb issue threads along with "the draw", "Anzac Day Games" etc. etc. etc.

Why is Hawthorn playing matches in Tassie? Why is Carlton hosting Freo next week on the Gold Coast?

North needs the money by hosting Collingwood early in the season, and Collingwood want to wear their striped jumper with subliminal Adidas branding on prime-time friday night, so both teams get what they want. Collingwood is hosting St.Kilda on their home ground next week. Where is the fairness in that? The jumper issue has been overblown.

edited.

Collingwood's jumper is black and white, North Melbourne's is Blue and white and there was no problem for 99 years.

The whole "clash" jumper issue is a pile of AFL crap.

If North Melbourne want to listen then that's their problem.
If you want to fall for it, promote it and/or whinge about it then that's your problem.

This is another of those "annual" dumb issue threads along with "the draw", "Anzac Day Games" etc. etc. etc.

So it was purely by choice that North wore those jumpers on Friday? If they had wanted to, they could have just worn their regular strip for their home game? I could have sworn the AFL was going to fine them if they did that, but I guess I was mistaken.

Re: Norths Clash Jumper - How Bad? Or Good?

Did anyone just see this on The Footy Show?

Could be the worst jumper I have seen in yonks. IMO

Do you think players are concious of what they are forced to where on the field? And could it effect their performance?
what else do you expect from a club with a staging receiver as captain and a chairman who barks alot but has no bite whatsoever.
No leadership no idea terrible jumper.

here you go genius

http://www.bomberblitz.com/~rmered/collingwoodhome.htm

our jumpers have had 3 stripes (either 3 white or 3 black) since day 1.

no shit sherlock.

but since the adoption of the '3 white stripes' in 2001, the thickness of these stripes increased in relation to the black and is intended to standout. nice work from the marketers at Adidas.

as suicidal tendancies would say........"they're ****ing with me, subliminally."

hawthorn also has 3 stripes..

oh but they're not sponsored by adidas so it doesnt count?

the North and Hawthorn guernsey is not designed in a way to make the 3 stripes standout like Collingwood's. North's guernsey is predominantly white front and back, Hawthorn's is predominantly gold front and back. Collingwood's is predominantly white at front, black at back.

subliminally...........

you're clutching at straws.
all 3 jumpers have 3 stripes on the front , and they all look pretty much the same. granted 2 of collingwoods stripes this year taper off at the bottom.

from 1988 our white stripes were thinner than the black ones. I don't think adidas was our sponsor back then.

in 2001 the colours were inverted and the black stripe thinned, but the black stripes have been made thicker again..

Magpies and adidas continue partnership

Collingwood Media Department 4:00 PM Mon 15 December, 2008

The Collingwood Football Club is delighted to announce that adidas Australia has extended its sponsorship for another four years and will remain one of the Club’s four Premier Partners and official team apparel manufacturer, on the same day the club announced its guernsey numbers for season 2009.

The partnership renewal sees the adidas-Collingwood alliance pass the 10-year milestone, having commenced in 1998 back when the Club was based at Victoria Park, Gavin Brown was the Captain, Nathan Buckley won his third of six Copeland Trophies and players such as Paul Licuria and Tarkyn Lockyer were drafted to pull on the black and white guernsey for the first time.

linkedy link link

best to be informed mate.

1998......thicker stripes.........coincidence? i think not.

so then in 2001, adidas finally get their way of reversing the colours.......it's better branding.........adidas branding.

now the front is more white than black, and back is more black than white. it's within the principles or rules, because the AFL havent got a ****ing clue.

but with North on their knees begging for the home game, and primetime on a friday night, you bet your arse Eddie used Collingwood's strength to get the best outcome for his club......and its sponsors.

Your players are walking Adidas logos, and there has definitely been changes to your guernsey to highlight the 3 stripes on the front, but the same can be said for the vast majority of sporting clubs in the world sponsored by Adidas. Look at Liverpool or Chelsea. Adidas saw an opportunity in your 3 stripes and took advantage of it. It's still clearly a Collingwood guernsey.

That said, IMO that has absolutely nothing to do with the clash guernsey issue. The clash guernsey issue is a weakness on the part of the AFL. They seem determined to be strict about it until they get to the big Victorian clubs.

Collingwood and Essendon see that they can capitalise big time and draw attention to their guernseys like no other club by being as stubborn as they can possibly be on the issue, and the AFL will sit on their hands and refuse to rock the boat. Good luck to Collingwood and Essendon, every other club wishes they could garner advantages like this, and every other club in their positions wouldn't budge an inch either.

North get a high drawing game in return for letting Collingwood wear their home guernsey. There is no reason why this shouldn't be out in the open and acknowledged.

linkedy link link

best to be informed mate.

1998......thicker stripes.........coincidence? i think not.

so then in 2001, adidas finally get their way of reversing the colours.......it's better branding.........adidas branding.

now the front is more white than black, and back is more black than white. it's within the principles or rules, because the AFL havent got a ****ing clue.

but with North on their knees begging for the home game, and primetime on a friday night, you bet your arse Eddie used Collingwood's strength to get the best outcome for his club......and its sponsors.

all you've posted is evidence that our sponsorship begin in 1998.
nothing to do with how or why the stripes changed in thickness.

and like i said. the black stripe got thinner in 2001 and then thicker again in 2003.

what that said, your opninon is really irrelevant. you don't support collingwood. and collingwood supporters as far as i'm aware dont have any issues with the thickness of the stripes.

Firstly i sypathise with all roos fans.About time someone stood up to collingwood and eddie,they think they are thr afl however they are nothing without the other 15 teams.North melbourne shuold have worn their home strip and stuff collingwood.About time adrian anderson started focusing on the good of the game instead of penaliding a traditional club.By the way roo fans that jumper was abit of a let down.

Norths Clash Jumber - How Bad?