Review Nowaynowaynowaynoway

Especially satisfying that it was Essendon and, in my case, being there to see it in person with my daughter, as we attended our first game for 4 years.

I'm sure there are some good people who support Essendon but in my years of living in Melbourne and going to games I've always found them to be the worst of all fan bases, effectively the Victorian equivalent of Adelaide and West Coast fans.
From my time in Melbourne (2000-2007), Collingwood fans were the one's I worried most about starting something for no reason (the game we just beat them it was head down and head out quickly without making eye contact with any), but Essendon were certainly the most arrogant. At the time I was there they were a successful club at the start of that period, having arguably the best VFL/AFL season ever in 2000. The arrogance didn't diminish over the years as they went to losing finals, then not making them. Though ironically the only attempt at starting a fight I did see was a fat Hawks fans after our match in 2004 at the MCG, trying to provoke people into a fight. Obviously hoping someone in a hawks top won something that day (no one was sucked in).

I'd love for someone to actually highlight exactly what Bonner does or doesn't do that attracts the persistent criticism which he receives. Often its just 'I think he's soft' with zero evidence or reasoning to back that claim up.

He is an unremarkable but otherwise reliable depth player. He will go out once there is a better option but for now he's the best we have got in that position.
He is solely an outside player with massive limitations to his game but the naysayers want him to be an elite kick and be in and under like Wines.

Just let the kid do what he does best.

I'd love for someone to actually highlight exactly what Bonner does or doesn't do that attracts the persistent criticism which he receives. Often its just 'I think he's soft' with zero evidence or reasoning to back that claim up.

He is an unremarkable but otherwise reliable depth player. He will go out once there is a better option but for now he's the best we have got in that position.

Zero upper body strength, which means minimal physicality. Can't lay a tackle or break free from one. He is a lovely kick though.

I like him so long as he's not in a dangerous position on the ground to get caught.

Todd's work on the line there...
Stick Around Bob Ross GIF by Originals

Not while Duursma is playing SANFL he isn't.

So that was a bit of a whirlwind.

Wasn't watching the game, was out having dinner with some friends in town. Thought I would avoid scores and watch the replay.

From where we were, we heard a massive crowd cheering, so my mate decided to pull out his phone and check the score, I couldn't resist and looked.

The AFL app, evidently slow to update, said it was Full Time and the score was Essendon 74 to Port 72. Figured the cheers has came from the big contingent of Crows supporters floating around the city hoping we would lose. Got a text from a couple of people saying what a finish it was, I still assumed we had lost, it was only through a couple of back and forth messages that it dawned on me that we must've won it. Watched the last 2 minutes and couldn't believe it. What a kick by Dan.

Anyway my heart was still pumping watching the replay knowing the result this morning, don't know how it would've been had I watched it live.

So yeah.

Anyway I'm done with this home and away business, let's just flash forward to September now.

The thing I hate the most about the holding the ball rule is it penalises players who actually try to make the play. A classic example was Aliir on the back flank late in the match. He takes the ball, is immediately tackled and tries to push off and fend off the tackler. He gets holding the ball paid against him because he's taken it on. If he instead just accepts the tackle and pretends to make an effort to get rid of it by punching the ball against his chest, it's probably a ball up.
There was an absolute rat crap non holding the ball decision in a game I watched very briefly whilst flicking channels yesterday, where a player grabbed the ball in the centre of the ground then tried to break away from the tackler by throwing his right arm back a number of times while his left was in control of the ball and making no genuine attempt to dispose of it, and the ump called for a ball up. o_O

It was the 57th goal after the siren in AFL/VFL history- the 4th by a Port player: Burgoyne, Poulton, Gray, Houston.

Far more common in recent times, maybe because of the time clock.

We have had at least two misses also- Daniel Motlop, Westhoff.

I can’t remember Port ever having a kick after the siren in the sanfl- can anyone?

I remember Cain Ackland having a shot from 40 out in front after the siren against Norwood at Adelaide Oval somewhere around 2002-3 and missing.

That's the only one I can remember off the top of my head

If we want to dwell on the negative about a game that will be fondly remembered for years because of the happy ending, I thought our small forwards last night were terrible.

We got 2 goals and 3 tackles cumulatively between DBJ, Sparkle Narkle and Mac & Cheese. That is just not good enough and to the eye Essendon seemed to be able to move the ball at the back with no pressure applied for long periods of the game.

For me all I want to see statistically from a small forward is 1 goal and 3 tackles each and a whole load of pressure acts. And if all 3 meet that performance standard we will win a lot of games assuming we win a lot of ball from the midfield.

It looks like teams coming off the bye against non bye teams losing is definitely a thing.

Good to get one against that grain against a finals contender on their own deck.

I reckon we win comfortably with Lycett and at Docklands though.

Your obsession with Bonner is unhealthy dude. He wasn't even close to worst on ground last night.

For someone getting sand in his 'gina about people getting emotional in game day threads, it's also a tad hypocritical.

Bonner is the softest player in our 22.
Softness loses finals.

Thanks for the feedback though

Houston always had the distance covered, but a heavy, soggy ball, unfamiliar territory, the pressure of the moment and the slightly casual start to the run up…

…never in doubt was it? ;)

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app
How soggy? Maybe Mckenzie pulled a dry footy out of the bag when Parish kicked a point 3 or 4 minutes earlier. Its not like the old days where you only used 2 footys, 1 at the start of the game and then its changed at half time.

I was surprised only 57 games have been decided after the siren across VFL/AFL history, yet we have four of them. Given the number of games, statistically we’d be doing well to have 2.
I suspect quite a few pre WWII have been missed, but geez there has been a lot since 2000 in the full time era.

What a game!!
I think that is the best kick of the footy ever in the Power guernsey. What a kick by Houston.
A bit of a bipolar effort with some good things and some bad things to talk about.

I thought we played well in the 1st, got reamed by the umpires in the 2nd, struggled to get it out of our half in the 3rd and decided to go hard in the last.
We didn't really have the contested ball needed and didn't work as hard as we normally do. Maybe an issue with the week off but you can't do that even with a side like Essendon.
A lot of fumbly hands this game. Dunno why.
I felt like we wanted to win on skill but upped the pressure and effort later in the game to ice it very, very late.
We have a fair amount of passengers in this game and we will really see how that pans out.

Essendon have a really good backline and a hard working midfield. It was quite hard for us to penetrate into the forward line.

Great to win a game at the MCG.
Great to win a game after the siren.
Great to win a game we didn't play well in.

Once again, the ruck issue reared its ugly head again. We just need to break even for our midfield but when it is not so good, the opposition ruck usually smells blood in the water and it can get pretty ugly. If Lycett or a decent ruck plays, I think we win this one by a good margin.

And what of this horrible predicament we are in. Lycett is old and injured and hanging on for dear life. Teakle is injured and green. Visentini is young and green. The back up rucks are Dixon who is old and injured and we need his contested marking forward. Finlayson can drop in there but we need him creating up forward. Sam Hayes, come on down. There is a possibility that there will have to be a talk between Smokin' Sammy Hayes and the coaching panel to smooth it all out because we might just need him as he is the last man standing and he wrecked the SANFL this weekend.

A question - is our backline better than our mids?

Rozee - BOG until the last kick of the game. He kicked 3 goals and set up numerous forward thrusts. Fantastic game.
Butters - a bit down on form but still working hard and into the game. Seems to be in love with bouncing the ball in the last month or so. Dunno if he is showboating just a tad.
Horne-Francis - didn't have his best game but still works for 4 quarters. Seems to be set upon by the opposition in clearances really hard.
Drew - very good game by Drew. Keeping it real as usual with some nice kicking into the F50 in the first half. Mr Consistency.
Wines - 13 possies has to be a low for a good few years.
Boak - 8 possies has to be a low for a good few years.
Bonner - just doesn't attack the game. Too passive. A bow without arrows.
Visentini - too young to ruck - DK reference

Houston - game on the line, outside 50, on a strong angle, in the rain. So much confidence it is the first time I thought he could be captain. He took responsibility and nailed it. The greatest kick in a Port jumper. Fantastic all round game. 13 interceptions.
Farrell - fantastic game. What a great mark in the last quarter. 13 interceptions. 10 scoring involvements. Doing it on both ends.
Aliir - unbelievable brick wall down back. The Rock of Gibraltar.
Williams - another outstanding game down back. So cool and calm. Marking, kicking, all good.
McKenzie - another stalwart in defence. Great game by the vet.
Houston - pretty good down back. Did some things up the ground.
Narkle - solid second game. Bit fumbly.
Bergman - quiet but so was his opponent. Didn't quite have the usual marking night.
Burgoyne - limited time with limited impact.

Dixon - hurts me to watch him when he winces in pain. Hanging on by a thread. Needs more rest with Lycett. But still a force up forward, still clunking contested marks. Kicking pretty well from set shots.
Finlayson - the after the siren kick was amazing but Finlayson also did the exact same thing for the first goal of the last quarter. Marked on 50m, relaxed, went back and kicked it. Great goal. He was also rucking and had a major role in our energy to come home with the win.
Byrne-Jones - same game as usual.
McEntee - a bit down on form. Good kick for goal. More pressure please.
Marshall - was well held in the wet but continued to work hard.
Powell-Pepper - did his best to get us over the line in the last quarter.

Onto the Suns. We have some questions to be answered in the coming weeks with our roster. Should be interesting to see how it pans out.

And how about the creepy Hinkley smile. Creepy as.

It was the 57th goal after the siren in AFL/VFL history- the 4th by a Port player: Burgoyne, Poulton, Gray, Houston.

Far more common in recent times, maybe because of the time clock.

We have had at least two misses also- Daniel Motlop, Westhoff.

I can’t remember Port ever having a kick after the siren in the sanfl- can anyone?
We never needed them in the sanfl

He pulled out of a contest in the square that looked ordinary, but on a night where we had a heap of players down he was okay I thought.

Review Nowaynowaynowaynoway