Nth Gippsland Football League

Because instead of relying for information on these forums I talk to people who actually play...

Plus you can view team lists on the North Gippsland Football/Netball League website..

And I'll assume thats Rowan Bell the 'young fellow' you are talking about who would be a clear favorite to win Rookie of the Year.

Not sure how you work out that Rowan Bell is the clear favourite for the award? The award is given to the player who is one year out of 3rds (effectively under 19 age group level, if they qualify to still play 3rds they are ineligible, hence the reason Tom Hams won the "Rookie of the Year" in his 3rd year of senior football, and the only reason the Dowse boys haven't won it for the past 6 seasons since they started playing senior football aged 12) who features in the best the most times. From the points system that I saw, I assume that if you are best on, you receive 6 points, second best 5 points and so on. Bell would not even be leading at this stage, let along favourite to win it. Basically, it is a system that favours players in weak sides as they will feature in the best more often. It would take an outstanding player to win it in a Heyfield/Woodside/Boisdale/Churchill side. Outstanding, as in, say the Dowse boys, Shaun Humphreys or sexual Chocolate or whatever variety of chocolate he is being known as these days. Bell is a good player, however, looking at the results of the Heyfield Sale City clash, it would appear that Heyfield might have more of a say in who wins the Rookie of the Year that Sale City. Also, there is a bloke playing at Stratford who has featured in our best as often or more than Rowan Bell, and without knowing every 18-19 year old throughout the league, I would think there would be others at other clubs who would be in front of Bell.

I know how the award is given out, and by the sounds of that post you are making it seem like Rowan Bell is ineligible.

How can you say it only favours weaker sides. I can give you two players that could of won it last year, 1 being from Heyfield and 1 being from Gormandale that were miles ahead of whoever won it for TTU.

Possibilities for this year are
Jarryd Chlosey
Rowan Bell
Matthew Cogan
Darryl Maynam
Shaun Humphreys
Nick Channing
A kid from Bois-Briag who i've forgotten his name

I know how the award is given out, and by the sounds of that post you are making it seem like Rowan Bell is ineligible.
How can you say it only favours weaker sides. I can give you two players that could of won it last year, 1 being from Heyfield and 1 being from Gormandale that were miles ahead of whoever won it for TTU.

Jarryd Chlosey
Rowan Bell
Matthew Cogan
Darryl Maynam
Shaun Humphreys
Nick Channing

Bad boy humphreys is to young to will it..

Jarryd Chlosey
Rowan Bell
Matthew Cogan
Darryl Maynam
Shaun Humphreys
Nick Channing

well r u gonna say who it is or wat?
and yes, shaun "porno/joey" humphreys is too young 2 win it as he is still top age 3rds.

and mayhem, u wer close, mitch dowse played his first game of senior football at age 14 ;)

well r u gonna say who it is or wat?
and yes, shaun "porno/joey" humphreys is too young 2 win it as he is still top age 3rds.

and mayhem, u wer close, mitch dowse played his first game of senior football at age 14 ;)

The players I was talking about was Mitch Dowse and Chris Graham, who would of easily won the award if eligible

Jarryd Chlosey
Rowan Bell
Matthew Cogan
Darryl Maynam
Shaun Humphreys
Nick Channing

A few points to focus on here. Firstly, I never said at any stage that Rowan Bell is ineligible, I don't know the kid at all. No idea whether he is 7, 12, 19, 24 or 70 years of age. If, agewise, he should have played his final year of under 18 football last season, then, he is eligible.

Again, I never said, it only favours. I said, it favours. Of course it favours the weaker sides. It is easier to get in the sides best when you play for Cowwarr than what it is when you play for Heyfield. If you are Heyfield's 12th best player, you would probably be Cowwarr's 3rd best player. Hence, if the same player played at Cowwarr, they would probably win the award (because it is awarded on club best, not league B&F votes), whereas if they played for Heyfield and were Heyfield's 8 - 12 best player every week, they wouldn't win it. It isn't like the NAB rising star award where everyone actually gets to watch the players and then decide, it is purely dependant upon who the club put in their best each week. So, if you would think it is harder to get in the best for Heyfield or Woodside, than it is at Cowwarr or Stratford, then, obviously, it will be harder to win the award in those circumstances.

It is interesting that you claim to know how the award is awarded, yet, you seem to not be able to grasp the simplest concept in relation to it.

Here are the facts:
2008 winners - Tom Hams & Some guy from TTU, neither side played in the finals.
2007 winner - Hamish Black, Sale City, didn't play in the finals.
2006 winner - Shane Morgan, Cowwarr, exceptionally talented player.
2005 winner - Digga, Sale City, played in a Maffra senior premiership in the next season, exceptional talent, however, side didn't play finals.
2004 winner - Heywood, Sale City, exceptional talent, Sale City were not that good, didn't play finals.

I think it proves it is slanted towards sides that aren't that strong.

Oh, and the kid from Boisdale, I assume that his name would be Keithy George, or Neville Bartos.

A few points to focus on here. Firstly, I never said at any stage that Rowan Bell is ineligible, I don't know the kid at all. No idea whether he is 7, 12, 19, 24 or 70 years of age. If, agewise, he should have played his final year of under 18 football last season, then, he is eligible.
Again, I never said, it only favours. I said, it favours. Of course it favours the weaker sides. It is easier to get in the sides best when you play for Cowwarr than what it is when you play for Heyfield. If you are Heyfield's 12th best player, you would probably be Cowwarr's 3rd best player. Hence, if the same player played at Cowwarr, they would probably win the award (because it is awarded on club best, not league B&F votes), whereas if they played for Heyfield and were Heyfield's 8 - 12 best player every week, they wouldn't win it. It isn't like the NAB rising star award where everyone actually gets to watch the players and then decide, it is purely dependant upon who the club put in their best each week. So, if you would think it is harder to get in the best for Heyfield or Woodside, than it is at Cowwarr or Stratford, then, obviously, it will be harder to win the award in those circumstances.

It is interesting that you claim to know how the award is awarded, yet, you seem to not be able to grasp the simplest concept in relation to it.

Here are the facts:
2008 winners - Tom Hams & Some guy from TTU, neither side played in the finals.
2007 winner - Hamish Black, Sale City, didn't play in the finals.
2006 winner - Shane Morgan, Cowwarr, exceptionally talented player.
2005 winner - Digga, Sale City, played in a Maffra senior premiership in the next season, exceptional talent, however, side didn't play finals.
2004 winner - Heywood, Sale City, exceptional talent, Sale City were not that good, didn't play finals.

I think it proves it is slanted towards sides that aren't that strong.

Oh, and the kid from Boisdale, I assume that his name would be Keithy George, or Neville Bartos.

i'm pretty sure that the 03 winner was Tim George who was also exceptionally talented

The "some guy" from TTU you are referring to is Michael Hall. A big key position/Ruckman with great hands who basically took up the majority of the rucking duties all of last year for TTU and finished high up in their best and fairest. Definatly worthy of the award. Big effort for a kid straight out of thirds to take on the number one senior ruckman role.

Oh yeah Andrew Stevens only had 125 hit outs against him, last year.

Great effort to play, but the award is a bit stupid...because of the eligibility

Kodie woodland has to be a chance to play seniors this year after backing up his 50 pos game with another great game that would have amonted to at least 40 touches! he just knows how to find the footy!!

Yeah would have to be a chance not, his only kicks he gets are torpedos that go into space, mite get 40 or 50 touches but out of them 40 possesions manages to get in 35 barrels!!!!!!

Could turn half of those kicks that go into to space into something if his half fowards would actually move and create an option or 2 for him......he is so sick of this that he has decided he will only kick to a select group of players.....
trbovich
carolan
skeen x2
cullen-scholes
whelan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

...Or heyfield thirds over the past 5 seasons...

I assume you mean the win loss record of the Heyfield thirds. The real measuring stick of a 3rds side is how many of their kids go in to play senior football. I reckon if we were to take it a step further and say that the measuring stick was to see how many of the 3rds kids went on to play in a senior premiership for the club, then, Heyfield would probably actually have the best 3rds sides in recent history.

i wouldn't say that because over the past 5 seasons the heyfield seniors have been taking the 3rds best few players.. no exeption this year as i'm sure you know

Could turn half of those kicks that go into to space into something if his half fowards would actually move and create an option or 2 for him......he is so sick of this that he has decided he will only kick to a select group of players.....
trbovich
carolan
skeen x2
cullen-scholes
whelan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dunno if he'll be kicking to both skeen's Badgirl.. maybe one though

6 AFL players since 1992, 6 senior premierships from 1997. Dylza i dont think Heyfields Thirds or there junior programs are in any sort of trouble mate, or arent serving there purposes.

All Sale City have produced are underachieveing, over excited people who are selfish and short sighted.

I am referring to them as a weak structure which falls/fails creating rubble.

Which is currently what Sale City are...

6 AFL players since 1992, 6 senior premierships from 1997. Dylza i dont think Heyfields Thirds or there junior programs are in any sort of trouble mate, or arent serving there purposes.

All Sale City have produced are underachieveing, over excited people who are selfish and short sighted.

I am referring to them as a weak structure which falls/fails creating rubble.

Which is currently what Sale City are...

I'm aware of Heyfield being one of the strongest clubs around Gippsland, But WHAT have you DONE to contribute?

That bomb site correlates to your footy career...

I'm aware of Heyfield being one of the strongest clubs around Gippsland, But WHAT have you DONE to contribute?

That bomb site correlates to your footy career...

Speaking of bomb sites has anyone got any clues why Stratfords fuse has gone out twice in the last two weeks. I watched last saturdays game and there was one player with wet gunpowder he should not have been buggered as he had 1st quater stood in the goal square. The last quarter Straty played dumb footy? Seems they did the same last week.

By the way nice comment Dylza :)