News OFFICIAL: Gary Ablett traded to Geelong

How many games will Ablett play for Geelong in his second stint

Of course.
Demand the highest possible catch, just in case we agree, but settle for a lesser player, like ?, ?, ?.
We only have a 2 year window, imho, so whatever it takes, within reason- if GAJ passes a stringent medical.

imo for what its worth ...all they are trying to do is move the public discussion point. They must know the rules of trading means that even if Geelong agreed to trading Duncan that he could say no..and then it would not happen. So they start out in a climate of Mitchell trades of P80ish... and by throwing in Duncan they then move what people mentally are expecting. It may backfire a bit in the local market I guess by setting unrealistic expectations but im sure if they get a player or two that they hope can become regular players for a couple of years they will able to spin it as "all part of the deal balloon" that they were trying to inflate.

I have not change my mind Id prefer to not see us trade for him but its going to happen so its really only about cost now ..and I suspect they will end up with players that will be PnP for them but disposable for us. If we really are bringing in Stringer , Smith , Ablett .then that three spots that our fringe players will not be able to gain.

So , yes , I can see the argument on 2 year window..Selwood time frame ..although Smith and Stringer would have to be considered longer prospects than that.

You would know better than most whether a stringent medical is worth it..seems we have recruited guys like Hmac after medicals .

If Duncan forms part of the trade, I will be genuinely angry.

We can’t be punished because Gold Coast front ended his contract.

We can’t sell the boat to get him, his injury concerns just drop his price.

Dangerfield
Selwood x2
Hawkins
Duncan
Taylor
Henderson
Tuohy
Smith
Cockatoo
Parfitt
are all untouchable

Wouldn't be against trading or losing the following whom have somewhat value however not more than 3
Stanley
Murdoch
C Guthrie
Blicavs
Menzel
Motlop
GHS

Rather keep Kolo, Lang and Thurlow whom are future 150+ gamers.

Relax mate they won't trade Duncan.

Why are people giving that article the time of day?

Dangerfield
Selwood x2
Hawkins
Duncan
Taylor
Henderson
Tuohy
Smith
Cockatoo
Parfitt
are all untouchable

Wouldn't be against trading or losing the following whom have somewhat value however not more than 3
Stanley
Murdoch
C Guthrie
Blicavs
Menzel
Motlop
GHS

Rather keep Kolo, Lang and Thurlow whom are future 150+ gamers.
What if u got Ablett & lynch? Would u consider throwing in Hawkins, finals performances r very poor. Then on top of that u have kol, Lang, thurlow for the deal to go through. Then u have stringer, lynch & buzza as the main stay for your fwd line.

Gosh it's hilarious

Does NO ONE unserstand what Liam Pickering is like? Here's the conversation between Liam and the Coch.

"Here's what's gonna happen Coch. You're gonna trade Gaz for a 3rd rounder and GHS. And I'll tell you why. If you don't, we start a PR campaign. The arguable GOAT - little Gaz. Will do a tell all with the footy show. About how he was promised the world. Facilities. Finals. Culture. Support. And he's gonna explain how instead he was given donuts. He'll go into the whole sordid take of how he went to management about the drug culture and was ignored. About how he was let down time and time again.

Trade him or the PR war begins.

That'd make a good scene in an episode for a TV show but player management is all about managing relationships, keep doing the above and you'd quickly find that no one wants to deal with you.

imo for what its worth ...all they are trying to do is move the public discussion point. They must know the rules of trading means that even if Geelong agreed to trading Duncan that he could say no..and then it would not happen. So they start out in a climate of Mitchell trades of P80ish... and by throwing in Duncan they then move what people mentally are expecting. It may backfire a bit in the local market I guess by setting unrealistic expectations but im sure if they get a player or two that they hope can become regular players for a couple of years they will able to spin it as "all part of the deal balloon" that they were trying to inflate.

I have not change my mind Id prefer to not see us trade for him but its going to happen so its really only about cost now ..and I suspect they will end up with players that will be PnP for them but disposable for us. If we really are bringing in Stringer , Smith , Ablett .then that three spots that our fringe players will not be able to gain.

So , yes , I can see the argument on 2 year window..Selwood time frame ..although Smith and Stringer would have to be considered longer prospects than that.

You would know better than most whether a stringent medical is worth it..seems we have recruited guys like Hmac after medicals .

Fair points but its not NBA trades players have to agree to go there and contracted best 18 players wont. They can public posture now and that's fine but if they are still demanding duncan etc when the trade period starts theres the real risk we just see the cost as too much and tell them to go elsewhere (as we did with Richmond and Deledio). We are not an essendon that argues for days and goes to mediation to deal at the last minute, we get deals done and i can't see us jeopardizing other deals to argue if they are acting crazy. Which is why i think the ablett deal will either be done really early in the trade period (if they are being reasonable) or not at all.

GC's Duncan offer is absurd, I don't doubt that. But truth is Ablett's trade value is very ambiguous. There's not a lot of discussion in here about that. Lets be honest, it could go either way...

He could be where Chapman was when the club decided (correctly) to let him go. If that's anything to go by, then Ablett will be limited by an ageing body, and will play no more than 30 games. Half a dozen of those games will be belters, half a dozen ordinary, the rest decent-good. In other words, his value isn't much. His time here will be just a romantic farewell. If so, then he's maybe worth GHS, certainly not Lang.

On the other hand, it's Ablett, who is among the very best footballers of the AFL era. He did poll 14 Brownlow vote this year from as many matches, and that was playing with a rabble. Speculation that he was 'saving himself' for next season at Geelong is quite possibly true. He could have two seasons with us and rack up 30 Brownlow votes and provide the forward/mid rotation we are sorely lacking. He might also mean we can play Dangerfield forward for longer periods without sacrificing as much. He himself won't be the difference between a PF and GF, but best case scenario he might be a contributing factor. In that case he is absolutely worth Lang and more.

My point is Ablett could go either way. That's what make his worth so difficult to pin down. Of course, no one can know, so its a roll of the dice.

I assume Geelong will err on the side of caution. It will pursue Stringer and Smith as priorities, and hope the Ablett deal gets through around that. But it's an interesting trade and I'm curious to see how it transpires.

From the GC's side, I think they are crazy if they strive to prevent it happening (and the Duncan offer is exactly that). Go down that road and they run the risk of Ablett leaving on bad terms, which will likely fracture future relations between he and the club. That is not a relationship the GC should cultivate with its only champion to date. It also sends a message to players and clubs alike that they are pig-headed and difficult to negotiate with.
ablett playing 30 games is incredibly optimisitic. my base case is about 15 plus or minus 7 for sensible scenarios around that base.

Fair points but its not NBA trades players have to agree to go there and contracted best 18 players wont. They can public posture now and that's fine but if they are still demanding duncan etc when the trade period starts theres the real risk we just see the cost as too much and tell them to go elsewhere (as we did with Richmond and Deledio). We are not an essendon that argues for days and goes to mediation to deal at the last minute, we get deals done and i can't see us jeopardizing other deals to argue if they are acting crazy. Which is why i think the ablett deal will either be done really early in the trade period (if they are being reasonable) or not at all.

This ^^^^^

Get it done quickly (and cheaply), or forget it and move on.

Tony Coch-un will then be able to GAGF.

Ablett deal will get done, like the jäger omeara deal Suns will get nothing.
This is the problem with Gold Coast. You got pick 10 and pick 20 for a guy that's barely played because he keeps breaking down. It's to early to tell, but unless O'Meara wins a norm smith, Gold Coast won that deal. It's certainly not "nothing"

The issue with this trade is that the names will be thrown around
If we lose anyone out of left field
Pickering can ggf
He stuffed this up through greed

i don't reckon Duncan will be part of the trade, I reckon they might want Selwood, Selwood and Dangerfield for Ablett......

Didn't gold coast offer Geelong 2 r1 picks for Duncan a few years back? I thought the cats askee him and he said no..

Like I said earlier, what decent footballer would want to go to GC.

The only talent they have now is due to huge draft concessions. As soon as those guys are FA they be out of there ASAP.

Ablett deal will get done, like the jäger omeara deal Suns will get nothing.
It's all good and well for the Suns to throw names like Duncan about but don't the player/s have to agree to come?
Maybe they could ask for jake kolo?
I'll send my limo down to pick him up.:D

News OFFICIAL: Gary Ablett traded to Geelong