Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Doona2 said:
I hope this is the case inlimbo . . . didnt think the paperwork as such went through the same channels as normal clearances for match permits. If I made a blue Im sorry for reading the page wrong and consider myself and ill informed tool :eek:

Whilst i can neither deny or confirm if you are a tool doona, from further conversations with mick it was any easy mistake to make as he was infact cleared to nagas under "goodwill" he will be cleared back to seymour! I wouldnt think this would happen to often these days would it?

inlimbo said:
Whilst i can neither deny or confirm if you are a tool doona, from further conversations with mick it was any easy mistake to make as he was infact cleared to nagas under "goodwill" he will be cleared back to seymour! I wouldnt think this would happen to often these days would it?

Good effort by all parties involved I reckon :thumbsu:

Zippa said:
ok boys round 1 is fast approaching so who can give us a round 1 preview?
Shepp vs United
I think the travel will hurt United bigtime here.
The game will be decided In the middle, both sides have reasonable forward lines so whoever gets the ball inside 50 more times will win.
If United can stop the Shepp midfielders they will get home.
Both very young sides and have good running games.
Fory's will be the difference.
My tip, United by 28 points.

Should be a ripper of a game at memorial oval this saturday. Not to sure if both teams will be at full strength and going on results from practice matches, seymour look to be ahead of euroa at this stage. It is only round 1 though and anything can happen. Both teams will have new players lining up and it will be good to see how they perform. I did notice that game has been advertised in the whittlesea post and should see a few extra heads travel up the hume. Looking forward to watching it on the hill while throwing down a few cans. My tip is seymour in a close one.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Should be a ripper of a game at memorial oval this saturday. Not to sure if both teams will be at full strength and going on results from practice matches, seymour look to be ahead of euroa at this stage. It is only round 1 though and anything can happen. Both teams will have new players lining up and it will be good to see how they perform. I did notice that game has been advertised in the whittlesea post and should see a few extra heads travel up the hume. Looking forward to watching it on the hill while throwing down a few cans. My tip is seymour in a close one.

Forget Euroa and Seymour boys and girls get to Victoria Park for Echuca Vs Rochy. No doubt Echuca will turn on the weather, and beverages will be a plenty. Looking forward to a hard hitting game, unlike the Euroa and Seymour softc*cks......;)

Can't wait to see the crap written on here after the weekend, should make for interesting reading

Doona if you could possibly paste the teams for the weekend on here that would be awesome. Do they get released on the Friday before matches in the Shepp news?? would give people an idea of the names for different sides coming into round 1.

Seymour vs Euroa

Seymour to out gun Euroa up forward with Saad,Gordon and Schottner becoming to much to handle for Euroas backline. Does anyone know if Sage is playing?? is the petrol in the motor for Euroa out out of the middle. Saad to kick 6 and the Lions by 12 points.

Echuca vs Rochy

Echuca at home i think will be to much for Rochester, going on some info i got i heard that Rochy are not gonna be to flash this season. Echuca have a very good midfield and i would think being at home round 1 will be to much to handle for Rochy. Bombers by 23 points

United vs Shepp

My preview has Bears finishing last, however from recent reports they seem to be alot stronger than i first thought. Obrien,King and Mellington are guns and will be to much to handle for United. Bears by 18 points

Mooroopna vs Tatura

Alot closer than many think, if Tatura have Steven Sparry signed and ready to play on the weekend then i think the Bulldogs have the backline to handle the Cats. Both midfields are so so, i believe it will be won up forward. Which forward line is better??? Hall,Campbell,Singh or Mcgrath,Ryan,Roberts??
Cats by 10 points

Mansfield vs Benalla

Porter and Van Sheik make there much talked about debuts and with the big losses the Eagles have suffered especially in the tall man department i think this match is gonna be hard for them to be competetive in. Under lights in Benalla, what a start to the season, the atmosphere should be electric.
Saints by 60 points

Kyabram vs Shepp Swans

A heaps of new faces for the Swans and more to come from Darwin, where as over at Kyabram there has been little movement. Nunn is a massive get for the Ky boys and will be a very good player all year for them. There is always optimism about the Swans but there like the Dockers, they never pull through with the goods.
Kyabram by 15 points

Anyone care to have a crack?

Does anyone know how Sam Dawes is going at United? He has just moved down from Mt Gravatt (Qld).

Doona, defiantely not a den support... I was not saying inness was not a good player just a bit out of his league when given a run with role on a player that will play mostly in the middle of the ground...

theres two way to play a player like hilton, either put a guy who will blanket him to the affect where he has under 10possy which in the gv is hard to do or play some one on him that will be as damaging as hilton could be, and inness is nether of those players

if douglas is out id expect him to take up a backman spot but will be hard to fit in to a back line such as king anderson j.anderson hopper pilling okeefe with the likes of penn,colbert,brockway,thompson,vanreit, also available...

who at euroa would you have inness lining up on...maybe a hyett

BYSTANDER said:
Doona, defiantely not a den support... I was not saying inness was not a good player just a bit out of his league when given a run with role on a player that will play mostly in the middle of the ground...

theres two way to play a player like hilton, either put a guy who will blanket him to the affect where he has under 10possy which in the gv is hard to do or play some one on him that will be as damaging as hilton could be, and inness is nether of those players

if douglas is out id expect him to take up a backman spot but will be hard to fit in to a back line such as king anderson j.anderson hopper pilling okeefe with the likes of penn,colbert,brockway,thompson,vanreit, also available...

who at euroa would you have inness lining up on...maybe a hyett

You seem to know ya Seymour stuff fairly closely for a non Lion fan . . . maybe Bamford he'll be playing wont he? Will you be at the game mate?

FOOTYBOSS said:

I agree Footyboss, it will be a great contest . Have heard some of the players that could be missing the big game are - Euroa , A Thomson, H Lamaro
and S Gibson Seymour - R Douglas , P Ratray , and M Thomson. If anyone else knows anything would love to hear your thoughts.

Duff Man said:
I agree Footyboss, it will be a great contest . Have heard some of the players that could be missing the big game are - Euroa , A Thomson, H Lamaro
and S Gibson Seymour - R Douglas , P Ratray , and M Thomson. If anyone else knows anything would love to hear your thoughts.

Cant get any word out of Euroa about Lamaro. I had heard that until recently he hadnt set foot on the track, dunno if thats changed in the past 2-3 weeks coz the Magpies faithful haven't said what he's up to.

Will he be playing Saturday, and if not how come?

ECHUCABOY said:
Forget Euroa and Seymour boys and girls get to Victoria Park for Echuca Vs Rochy. No doubt Echuca will turn on the weather, and beverages will be a plenty. Looking forward to a hard hitting game, unlike the Euroa and Seymour softc*cks......;)

Can't wait to see the crap written on here after the weekend, should make for interesting reading

Yeah should be fantastic ECHUCABOY, can hardly wait. Let's hope we don't see a blowout scoreline such as the one at vic park last year. I doubt we will with both sides looking fairly even on paper. Also lets hope we don't see another Rochy V Echuca Clash without atleast one all in brawl, it's just not the same. :)

See you there!! Go Tiges!!

I reckon some of you boys should make some predictions for all matches, cookie is the only one to do so thus far.

Echuca
Benalla
Bears
Seymour
Swans
Tatura

Rochy to beat Echuca by 2 goals - there half back line of Pappin, Bowen and Schmidt looks very formidable..

Tat to beat Mooroopna by 4 goals - big call, but I reckon it will take a while for the cats to gel as a team, and tat seem to have good match ups for most of their stars, while the cats might struggle to match up Kirbs and McGrath.

Benalla to beat Mansfield by 5 goals - all their recruits have played praccy matches together, and all have starred..

Seymour to beat Euroa by 3 goals - the maggies have some potential match winners, but Seymour look too strong up forward and also have included Colbert, Scanlon and Bailey into their on-ball brigade. my mail also suggests Gibson and Sage won't play..

United to beat Shepp by 5 goals - Sidebottom to go well in his first hitout, Forys to be the difference up forward.

Swans to beat Ky by 1 goal - Ky have been playing good in their praccy matches so far, but I reckon the swans might be the surprise packet of the season..

Doona2 said:
Cant get any word out of Euroa about Lamaro. I had heard that until recently he hadnt set foot on the track, dunno if thats changed in the past 2-3 weeks coz the Magpies faithful haven't said what he's up to.

Will he be playing Saturday, and if not how come?
Sorry Doona but you will have to wait until Saturday to find this one out. The line up is still unsure at the moment. Have to wait til after training tonight. Will be good to catch up with a few of the boys tonight at training.

My tips for this weekend are: Seymour, Echuca, Mooroopna, Shep Utd., Shep Swans and Benalla.

my tips for round 1:

Euroa by 2 goals
Echuca by 5 goals
Mooroopna by 4goals
United by 8 goals
Swans by 4 goals
Benalla by 8goals

speaking to robbie douglas today about his trip to the docters today and he reckons he might be out for the whole year because he might have to get a total knee reconstruction. that wont be good news for seymour when they hear it.

there is no reco needed for robbie. he has a slight medial strain and at most will miss six weeks. but even that many is a massive loss for the lions. him not playing puts alot of pressure on joffa anderson and mark pilling.

the game was a one off for a three way sheilds reunion. and it must be said that he didnt set anything alight. the only good thing he brought to the game was his massive f150 truck.

gta3 said:
speaking to robbie douglas today about his trip to the docters today and he reckons he might be out for the whole year because he might have to get a total knee reconstruction. that wont be good news for seymour when they hear it.

gta3 you are full of s#*t for that knee reco i saw robbie today at work and he said it's just a strained medial ligement and he is out for 5-6 weeks.

Seeking Glory said:
gta3 you are full of s#*t for that knee reco i saw robbie today at work and he said it's just a strained medial ligement and he is out for 5-6 weeks.

Easy easy Glory seeker, you Seymour blokes must stick fat and not get rattled by these outsiders waiting for a stumble.

Chippa will be a big loss no doubt about it, but the beauty of the Den is the quality of the depth at the minute . . . just means someone else gets an opportunity to hopefully prove themselves and consolidate a place in the team.

At a guess Jackson, Shaw, Collins, Thomson & Rattray would also missing from the 2005 premieship side, but throw Joey Amad, Simon Gordon, Big Bailey, Brent Colbert, Paul Scanlon, Jake Anderson, inness#15, Simon Boruch & Dave Brockway into the mix and she'll still be a ripper side that runs out tomorrow no questions asked.

Doona did your mate inness get a gig...

should be a cracker of a game, both teams missing players..

maybe t.perry could add abit more to his earlier mail about sgae and gibson not playing...