OFFICIAL NMFC vs Port Adelaide gameday thread

+1. Definitely showed what I have been waiting for.

He probably should have had about 3-4 goals by the end of the night... is such a better forward than Hale... I'm struggling to find a list of those to be delisted. Obst was damn good tonight in the wet... contested like a maniac.

tbh I doubt u guys would lineup if we didn't lineup for Archer and Grant.

Of all the clubs with similar cultures and mindsets, I reckon Port and North would have to be close.

Sydney are front running AFL spoonfed flogs. No wonder they didn't line up for our boys.

Port, like us, are a real footy club and while we waited in freezing rain for your champs tonight, we know you'd do it for us.

Looking forward to beating yaz next season too!

tbh I doubt u guys would lineup if we didn't lineup for Archer and Grant.

Yet we lined up to see Richie Vandenberg off after our first finals win since 2000 so I reckon we would have.

Great win, bring on 2010

Gibson was great, but dont think he should be playing in the middle.

I thought Garlett played really well tonight 23 disposals with 5 tackles and last week he had 20 disposals and 8 tackles, I think he will be a gun.

Was Greenwood tagging anyone?

Josh Smith will be as useless as **** on a bull if it keeps raining.

2 goals ain't bad in a game like that.

Edwards fabulous mark and doesn't make the distance from 40.:rolleyes:

His biggest problem. Which is hard to explain as as you would expect he would be a booming kick, just with his body shape and all.

Obst has got some real mongrel about him. good to see

Yeah, wish he could actually use the ball when he finally gets it.

Too be fair on Azza that kick looked to be into a fairly stiff wind, but still poor.

Also that quote of me on Obst was regarding off the ball stuff :p not attempting to get the ball. If his opponent gives him crap he puts the boy down. Kind of friend you want with you at the pub on a rowdy night.

50 was there. Its a shitey rule, but if Krakeour hadn't have touched him, it wouldn't have been paid.

As I just whinged spectacularly on our board, the problem I had with it in general is, when we lost to you guys in a tight one over there the umpires famously swallowed the whistle and wouldn't pay a thing in the last 1:30 or so, ignoring a stack of in the back and incorrect disposal decisions and one spectacularly blatant deliberate where Swallow(?) scored a try Willie Carne would've been proud of.

With that in mind, to cop such a soft 50 under the conditions and circumstances was horrendously laughable.

Just another gamewrecking maggot determined to make a name for himself in front of Peter Schwab, Jeff Gieschen or whichever coaching failure is currently in charge of the AFL's 17th Team™.

Yeah, wish he could actually use the ball when he finally gets it.

I thought Obst used it quite well tonight. Two times (IIRC) he was responsible for the start of plays that resulted in scores on the board. His disposal wasn't that bad considering the conditions, last week it was fine, just needs to settle at AFL level and he won't panic in one on one situations as much.

As I just whinged spectacularly on our board, the problem I had with it in general is, when we lost to you guys in a tight one over there the umpires famously swallowed the whistle and wouldn't pay a thing in the last 1:30 or so, ignoring a stack of in the back and incorrect disposal decisions and one spectacularly blatant deliberate where Swallow(?) scored a try Willie Carne would've been proud of.

With that in mind, to cop such a soft 50 under the conditions and circumstances was horrendously laughable.

Just another gamewrecking maggot determined to make a name for himself in front of Peter Schwab, Jeff Gieschen or whichever coaching failure is currently in charge of the AFL's 17th Team™.

Huh? You guys got a great run with the umps in our earlier game tbqh.

I thought Obst used it quite well tonight. Two times (IIRC) he was responsible for the start of plays that resulted in scores on the board. His disposal wasn't that bad considering the conditions, last week it was fine, just needs to settle at AFL level and he won't panic in one on one situations as much.

Yeah, I thought his disposal was pretty good for a big man.

I don't disagree DT. I thought it was prob 50 in normal circumstances, but it wasn't worth deciding a game, so don't pay it. I reckon that's why they didn't pay all those ones at the end of the last game.

Add to that Petrie and Harvey missing from the goalsqaure in the last 10 mins and there's a million what ifs.

Good game, shit way to decide it. It's all about next year now for both clubs.

I don't like umpiring decisions or indecision deciding games, especially when the incidents are soft.

My only problem was in a low scoring game if they gave a number of 50s to the other side during the game into the 50m line then they need to be consistent with it.

It is why I prefer if they just don't pay those soft free kicks or 50s, especially in the wet where gifting a goal or two can be match deciding.

Good old DarwinRoo. Stirring last minute win in bloody Port to get one up for a club legend and Darwin is arguing we shouldn't have taken the points.

50 was there. Its a shitey rule, but if Krakeour hadn't have touched him, it wouldn't have been paid.

The one THEY got a goal from in the 1st quarter where Edwards allegedly ran over the mark was far worse.

Even that big gaylord Luke Darcy thought so.

Spot on.

No doubt Scotty M played for the 50 once Krakeour made contact - that's part of the game though.

The 50 SLF mentioned against Edwards was far more dubious. Krakouer did make contact with McMahon, all McMahon did was make sure the umpire was aware of it. Stupid move from Krakouer and it cost his side dearly.

What are you smoking? I have no problem with us taking the points but that was a soft and bullshit decision.

Can you imagine if we lost Archer's last game to a decision like that?
It was soft but the 50 was definatley there.... you cannot touch a player after he has marked it and every afl player knows this...however i think the 50mtrs should be reduced to 25 for all infringments, and in any case we were just getting one back that was owed to us from the edwards incident

3. Thompson - was huge again tonight, both defensively in in his ability to create run from the back 50. Has had a stellar season and should be in the top three for the B&F.

2. Petrie - I thought he was massive, all over the place and was in great form. Keep up the amazing work in 2010.

1. Garlett - I thought he provided quite a bit of carry and creativity around the ground and is improving with every week. Let's hope he can have a great pre-season and cement his spot in the best 22 next year. His defensive work with Campbell was great to watch.

Unlucky: Greenwood (great job on Burgoyne, some top scalps this year for the collection and has to be our no.1 tagger), McMahon & Campbell.

OFFICIAL NMFC vs Port Adelaide gameday thread