Ok. We had our sook. Now list your final three coaches prefs

Anyone watch On The Couch?

Right at the end, they were talking about the coaching situation and our options, and Gerard finished with "I think we all know what's going to happen at the Dogs .... there's going to be a long process and that process is somehow going to find Leon Cameron the best candidate".

Sheahan agreed with him completely.

Worried about posting this ... don't wanna be in any way resposible for tipping Fred Cook over the edge.

Anyone watch On The Couch?

Right at the end, they were talking about the coaching situation and our options, and Gerard finished with "I think we all know what's going to happen at the Dogs .... there's going to be a long process and that process is somehow going to find Leon Cameron the best candidate".

Sheahan agreed with him completely.

Worried about posting this ... don't wanna be in any way resposible for tipping Fred Cook over the edge.

I am telling yeah if Cameron gets the joib Gnome Murphy will return and so will the anger Know more cheap as chips

Leon will coach the Dogs...odds from Sportsbet.com.au this morning. Ken Hinkley at $34 would be the value bet

15:30 | Next Permanent Western Bulldogs Coach
Leon Cameron
Mick Malthouse
Paul Williams
Mark Neeld
Dean Laidley
Mark Williams
Peter German
Scott Burns
Scott West
Dean Wallis
Brenton Sanderson
Alan Richardson
Brett Montgomery
Ken Hinkley

...... they won a flag

Think the reference was to playing in a winning culture. Roos coached a premiership, never played in one. Played in the 96 gf but spent most of his career at the Roys, definitely not a winning culture

yep...........you can add Denis Pagan, Alistar Clarkson and Ross Lyon to that list of successful current coaches..... who never played in a flag.
These coaches create the culture themselves over time.

PS: winning a flag as a player does not automatically make you a great long term coach ie; Dean Bailey, Kevin Bartlett, Royce Hart, Dean Laidley etc...

yep...........you can add Denis Pagan, Alistar Clarkson and Ross Lyon to that list of successful current coaches..... who never played in a flag.
These coaches create the culture themselves over time.

PS: winning a flag as a player does not automatically make you a great long term coach ie; Dean Bailey, Kevin Bartlett, Royce Hart, Dean Laidley etc...

Gary Ayres, Michael Voss, Tony Shaw, Tim Watson etc etc etc

Want Neeld.

Then Cameron

Then hinkley or Sanderson

Neeld would be hard and smart after being under malthouse, apparently was a huge factor in the development of the pies press gameplan. Collingwood should have signed him up not bucks.

Wouldn't be unhappy with Cameron though because every player who talks about him always says how much he's helped with development both as a team and as an individual which would be ideal if were going into a rebuild/extended refresh

Gary Ayres, Michael Voss, Tony Shaw, Tim Watson etc etc etc

Yep. There are plenty of non-flag winning players that have gone on to coach flags and/or successful teams, and vice versa.
The point is Hinkley, Neeld and Cameron etc.. could still make great coaches despite them being unlucky in not winning flags as players.

After Malthouse's comments questioning compensation for Ward being equal that of what was given to Geelong for Ablett, any thoughts of Malthouse coming back to Whitten Oval can surely be shelved.

He is doing that for Collingwoods benefit not his own personal opinion.

A lot of people are making sense which is good to see

Ultimate Coach Preference Malthouse or Roos

Realistic Coach Preference Neeld, Cameron or Sanderson

Not 100% sure of all the assistant coaches out there but feel we need a real hard nut as a coach to teach some of our players how not to be soft e.g. higgins, giansiracusa, hill, roughead, hill, stack etc. cause we have a few of them :mad:

Thoughts??

He is doing that for Collingwoods benefit not his own personal opinion.

I reckon he's pissed because what are probable dual premiership players like Cloke, Wellingham, Toovey, O'Brien, Sidebottom, Dawes, Didak et al going think about earning 1/2 of what some guy who just happened to have his contract up at the right time.

Plyaer agents are going to have field day as a result of Demetriou's profligacy.

Quite a nice little shit-storm brewing over payer payments at the moment.

I reckon he's pissed because what are probable dual premiership players like Cloke, Wellingham, Toovey, O'Brien, Sidebottom, Dawes, Didak et al going think about earning 1/2 of what some guy who just happened to have his contract up at the right time.

Plyaer agents are going to have field day as a result of Demetriou's profligacy.

Quite a nice little shit-storm brewing over payer payments at the moment.

Yep, will make free agency interesting. Will enjoy a beetroot red faced Eddie going off when it's his teams turn.

A lot of people are making sense which is good to see

Ultimate Coach Preference Malthouse or Roos

Realistic Coach Preference Neeld, Cameron or Sanderson

Not 100% sure of all the assistant coaches out there but feel we need a real hard nut as a coach to teach some of our players how not to be soft e.g. higgins, giansiracusa, hill, roughead, hill, stack etc. cause we have a few of them :mad:

Thoughts??
I agree with that Jimbob, but are Neeld, Cameron and Sanderson all hard nuts? (Forget Malthouse and Roos).

The policy needs to be reflected at the selection table as well. Anyone shirking the contest needs to spend time at Willi thinking about what it takes to win AFL matches.

Liam Pickering on AFL Teams mentioned that Sanderson was seen heading to Radelaide tonight and thought it was strange to be heading interstate the day before the game.... The assumption was that he was putting his hat into the ring for the Crows gig.

Either way, Sanderson is in a good position. He has been promised a senior assistant job under his mate Nathan Buckley next year, possibly to replace Neeld.

If the Hawks go out in straight sets does that put a different perspective on Cameron getting the job ?????

By the way I am not a great fan of Clarkson he has won a Grand final but I think the Cats did more to lose that game then the Hawks did to win it

Since then really achieved nothing

Leon Cameron my choice for coach

Leon still seems to be the favorite to take our senior coaching spot

I like it

He served us well as a very young vice-captain in the 90's and a former Best and Fairest

I was left with impression he spent everything during his games much like Crossy (different skill set Crossy more of a ball finder Cameron less of a ball finder but nice foot disposal skills)

I always thought he was sharp when he was an assistant coach

Was our midfield coach for many years under Eade

Was responsible for reviewing the games, win loss or draw.

From what I have seen reported Leon ticks a lot of boxes and rightfully has to seek to tick those of the external voice on the coach selection panel, former Geelong Premiership Captain Tom Harley.

I'm also happy with the selection panel this time, Fantasia, Garlick, Grant, Harley and board member Walsh

I was a bit concerned last time when after interviewing candidate number "1" Eade that Robert Wall's as part of a 3 person panel (Scott Clayton and someone else) decided to get Smorgon to hire him there and then.

Urgency may have made that necessary but it sort of meant the process got thrown out the window.

Eade had a good run, but at the end of the day he did not get us as close to a premiership as Wallace did in 1997 as a Rookie coach with a team that included Leon Cameron in it.

And Wallace took our team from 2nd last to 3rd in 1 season, something the bitterness of his parting with the Dog's we often overlook.

I also have fond memories of when an unknown rookie ex Bulldog player coach Terry Wheeler gave our club a good ride during the early 1990's

I know some will disagree ..so be it

But I am comfortable with a highly ambitious less experienced Leon Cameron at the club he bled for rather than some other more experienced, more expensive possibly less ambitious journeymen superannuation type coaching aspirants.