Game Day Opening Round vs. GWS, Giants Stadium, 7:30pm Sat 09/03

Keep Greene to 2 goals or less and we will win.

With the form of the giants this is up there with playing bris at the Gabba.

Tough game.

Given the Giants are my tip for the flag this year, this is arguably the perfect first up game in the context of a long season

I will say that if we do manage to win this, we’re clearly making a bit of a statement about our intentions this year

Given the Giants are my tip foe the flag this year, this is arguably the perfect first up game in the context of a long season

I will say that if we do manage to win this, we’re clearly making a bit of a statement about our intentions this year
Win or lose we intend to go back to back.

Given the Giants are my tip foe the flag this year, this is arguably the perfect first up game in the context of a long season

That deserves a kick in the plums.

COD you really are a piece sometimes.

This is going to be a very hard game for us.The Giants game in the Preliminary final last year was by the far the hardest of the three finals we played.You could argue that we should have won the Melbourne and Lions games by quite a bit more than we did,but you couldn’t argue that for the Giants game.

It was a genuine arm wrestle and easily could have gone either way..We actually went into our shells in that game and didn’t kick a goal for about an hour,from the middle point of the first quarter to the middle point of the third quarter,Because it was an exciting one point win in the end,people have forgotten how badly we played for long stretches of that game.

We’re going to have to improve quite a bit on that game to win tonight,especially since we’re playing on that cattle field of theirs in Sydney.

That deserves a kick in the plums.

COD you really are a piece sometimes.

Is there a law that says I have to tip Collingwood for the flag?

Back to Back is incredibly difficult. Let alone as the oldest list in the comp.

Just ask Geelong

We are the underdogs. GWS talking up that they should have beat us in the preliminary and seeking revenge.

Good to see them giving us ammunition.

Let's just show them whose the real top dog.

I'm sure we're expecting them to go after Coxy at the start of the game. That could just fire up big Coxy, and he could produce a big game for us.....

In terms of the game, l still feel like this is a community cup preseason match. Maybe it's the venue, and a crowd of only 25 to 30k expected.
The excitement will really build up next week with our unfurling of the flag against Sydney, and back at the "G" in front of at least 70k to 80k....
Looking forward though to see how we perform in our first regular game back of a new season. Excited for Deano, hope he plays a ripper, and is a stepping stone to stamping his place as a regular of the back six....
Schultz as well, looking forward to watching "The Sergeant" team up with Bobby and McCreery to cause havoc inside F50 particularly the defensive pressure they can put on the opposition defenders.
Obviously hoping we get the win, but if we don't then it's looked upon as preparation for round 1 next week, by blowing out the cobwebs and getting some real match run into the legs.

Go Pies!!!!

Just ask Geelong

I think we'll finish top 4, as for winning the flag, it will be difficult with sides like GWS, Sydney and even Carlscum really wanting to taste premiership success now.
We will have to lift our performances at least 10 to 15% on top of last year, in which we played break neck footy. With the older players a year older that could be a little more difficult so we really want to see some young guns coming in and making an impact.
We have Dean tonight, but we need Macrae, McInnes, Allan and maybe even a Begg to come on this year, and be really playing consecutive senior games of footy.
If we can reinvent our side sufficiently then we can definitely go back to back. The boys are definitely keen and willing, it's just a matter of the mind.....

Just ask Geelong
Agree with that. Winning back to back would take a mighty effort.

I also had the Giants as my flag tip.

I still have us finishing top 4 or at worst just outside of it.

I think we'll finish top 4, as for winning the flag, it will be difficult with sides like GWS, Sydney and even Carlscum really wanting to taste premiership success now.
We will have to lift our performances at least 10 to 15% on top of last year, in which we played break neck footy. With the older players a year older that could be a little more difficult so we really want to see some young guns coming in and making an impact.
We have Dean tonight, but we need Macrae, McInnes, Allan and maybe even a Begg to come on this year, and be really playing consecutive senior games of footy.
If we can reinvent our side sufficiently then we can definitely go back to back. The boys are definitely keen and willing, it's just a matter of the mind.....
And bodies.

Bit anticlimactic that our first game after the Premiership starts away from home, but I guess it makes the excitement of unfurling the flag next week all that more sweeter.

Changes compared to last year's GF team:

IN: Noble, Johnson, Dean, Schultz
OUT: Howe, Murphy, Frampton, Ginnivan

A big congratulations to Charlie Dean who makes his AFL debut, and Schultz will be making his first official appearance for the club. Hoping for big games from the both of them.

I hope we get a strong start. Not too worried about the margin. Winning at Giants stadium or at Manuka against them has proven tough, but those have been practice games under Bucks. This will be the litmus test, which I think was the point with round zero. Hopefully we can show what Brisbane is not, capable of getting a run on and burying our opponent. Don't need GWS gloating as much as Carlton would be this morning :rolleyes:

Hope Charlie Dean and Schultzy have blinders. Like Titch and Bobby did round 1 last year!

Collingwood got very adept last year at winning close games, and seeing off challenges as other teams threw them at them. That will stand them in good stead for tonight against GWS.

If they had those sorts of reservations I doubt they’d have been talking him up they way they did over the offseason. I agree he’s unlikely to suddenly turn in to a star, but from what I’ve seen he should be able to become a solid footsoldier at AFL level. Certainly the idea that he’s “Callum Brown lite” that someone else suggested is pretty unfair. He showed enough in his preseason games to make me confident enough that he’s got much more potential than that.

Yes, that’s fair.
It will sort itself out pretty quickly, I reckon. Someone in our midfield group will get injured or we’ll rest Pendles, Sidey or Titch against one of the weaker teams. It’s then up to Fin to grab his chance. Similar story for Reef too.

I’m in Sydney for family reasons, and not going to the game.

But unbelievably we seem to have landed in the same hotel as the Pies. Cameron (in white crocs), Pendles, Lippa and Cox (did you know he’s very tall🫣) were just now in the foyer.

Despite my heart rate going up, I left them alone and got in the lift with two young women. They were wondering if they’d just seen some ‘basketball players’. I set them right.

Haven’t you heard? Apparently Pendles has a basketball background.

Agree with that. Winning back to back would take a mighty effort.

I also had the Giants as my flag tip.

I still have us finishing top 4 or at worst just outside of it.

The Giants are even following our exact path

• Long time coach fails to succeed
  • Loses his job after a poor year
  • Richmond ex-assistant appointed
  • They struggle a bit in the first half of their first season
  • Come home in the second half like a steam train
  • lose the prelim by 1 point

Literally our exact path

The Giants are even following our exact path

• Long time coach fails to succeed
  • Loses his job after a poor year
  • Richmond ex-assistant appointed
  • They struggle a bit in the first half of their first season
  • Come home in the second half like a steam train
  • lose the prelim by 1 point

Literally our exact path
Who cares?

Going tonight with family

Lot of '23 premiership merch adorning us

GAME

Johnny F*cking Noble to tear-it-up at the Toy Ground (will be slathered in SPF90 so he doesn't burn under the floodlights)

Bobby Hill to kick 4 goals and draw gnashing from the 9 GWS fans who notice that he left

JDG 3 votes

1 in a row

Collingwood by 64 points

Collingwood got very adept last year at winning close games, and seeing off challenges as other teams threw them at them. That will stand them in good stead for tonight against GWS.

I’m still expecting a GWS win given our outs and I just think GWS might be that little bit more desperate than us

Hopefully they’re a bit distracted by their thirst for revenge

I’m still expecting a GWS win given our outs and I just think GWS might be that little bit more desperate than us

Hopefully they’re a bit distracted by their thirst for revenge
It's going to be fascinating to see how it pans out. I can't remember the last time I was this excited to watch a game of football.

The player I was hopeful of taking a step up to be more consistently impacting games this year was Beau. I haven't seen signs of that over the preseason matches. But I'm hoping tonight he can have a game that points to him taking his game to a new level in 2024.

Obviously 2023 level Beau is still a fantastic asset. It's just that I would love to see him become a weapon for us

Bit anticlimactic that our first game after the Premiership starts away from home, but I guess it makes the excitement of unfurling the flag next week all that more sweeter.

Changes compared to last year's GF team:

IN: Noble, Johnson, Dean, Schultz
OUT: Howe, Murphy, Frampton, Ginnivan

A big congratulations to Charlie Dean who makes his AFL debut, and Schultz will be making his first official appearance for the club. Hoping for big games from the both of them.

We're trying to appease the northern states growth and interest in AFL, yet tonight there will more than likely be more Collingwood supporters than GWS.
Unfortunately l couldn't make the trip up, and probably wouldn't have really wanted to, to be honest. I'm saving my travel for Gather round, as l had FOMO last season, but considering it's a long weekend in Victoria, l'm sure alot of our fellow Collingwood brothers and sisters made the trip up. So l'm expecting us to outnumber them tonight in the crowd.
Which probably goes against the purpose of this whole concept.....