Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion

Why wouldn't he be?
He's contracted
Got them through to a prelim and coached them through one of their great semi final finals in years.
He'll see out his contract. At least for next year.

If he doesn’t win a flag this year and they begin the start of next season a bit shaky, Port would be stupid not to move on from him with Josh Carr waiting patiently in the wings.

Crapola indeed, Fat Jesus! You'll never see me near match day threads. I do go into the reserves' match day threads, and they're bad enough! Pointing out that I didn't like Nathan Buckley as a coach and wanted him replaced much sooner is hardly what I'd call abuse. I was never an anti-Malthouse type. I have likes and dislikes as far as our players are concerned, but you'll struggle to find negative posts from me on pretty much anything to do with the club.
Good to hear mate.
Stay positive we are well placed to do well next season.

Merrett has formed a bit of a splinter group apparently and the 2 mentioned players are in it. Sounds like essendon is a shit show

Interesting. Perhaps we should leave the Stringer Express at Windy Hill. Let them have the splinter group and let's get Durham and Caddy.

He looks good, but if only 1, I'd take Durham - I love watching him play - reminds me of Rowdy.
Jacob Edwards
Jai Newcombe
Ash Johnson
Patrick Parnell
Ned Moyle
Alex Mirkov (now delisted)
Max Heath
James Peatling

Were all taken before Durham in the 2021 MSD who went at pick 9

Dees took Daniel Turner with the last pick in the draft
Cooper Sharman at #21

Jacob Edwards
Jai Newcombe
Ash Johnson
Patrick Parnell
Ned Moyle
Alex Mirkov (now delisted)
Max Heath
James Peatling

Were all taken before Durham in the 2021 MSD who went at pick 9

Dees took Daniel Turner with the last pick in the draft
Cooper Sharman at #21
Does like the super draft of MSDs though - Newcombe, Durham, Peatling and Moyle should triple all the other MSDs combined.

Hinkley has had a very long run at Port, and despite having a decent team for much of that time, they've most of the time failed miserably when it really matters, come finals time. He's very lucky to still be there, and unless they can somehow defy the odds and go on and win the flag, they need to give someone else a go. Acting like a juvenile and embarrassing himself and his club only makes it look worse for him. I would think most Port supporters would want him gone, and doubt many would be taken in simply because they've just snuck in at home against a young, inexperienced opponent. I have a good friend who is a Power supporter, and though he did hope they won the other night, he added that if they were to lose again he wanted it to be by a big enough margin that Hinkley getting the boot would have seemed inevitable! Lose badly to Sydney and that might still happen!

I reckon there’s a bit of a “the natives are getting restless” going on.

We were well over Buckley by the time he left after 9 and a half seasons, getting to 4 finals, 1 GF and no Premierships …

… so we can understand how the proud Port people feel after 12 seasons, getting to 5 finals, no GF and no Premierships (yet).

Hinkley has had a very long run at Port, and despite having a decent team for much of that time, they've most of the time failed miserably when it really matters, come finals time. He's very lucky to still be there, and unless they can somehow defy the odds and go on and win the flag, they need to give someone else a go. Acting like a juvenile and embarrassing himself and his club only makes it look worse for him. I would think most Port supporters would want him gone, and doubt many would be taken in simply because they've just snuck in at home against a young, inexperienced opponent. I have a good friend who is a Power supporter, and though he did hope they won the other night, he added that if they were to lose again he wanted it to be by a big enough margin that Hinkley getting the boot would have seemed inevitable! Lose badly to Sydney and that might still happen!

Sicily was the juvenile. Opposition coaches ripping into players is a time-honoured tradition which needs to be preserved and protected.

That fine is a threat to democracy!

Sicily was the juvenile. Opposition coaches ripping into players is a time-honoured tradition which needs to be preserved and protected.

That fine is a threat to democracy!

The AFL have effectively equated Hinkley’s light hearted return serve at an opposition player …

… with Clarkson’s homophobic slur towards an opposition player. (Both charged under the “conduct unbecoming” clause and issued $20K fine)

There’s not a neutral footy supporter in the land who would have minded if the AFL had just left this alone.

Just plain dumb by the AFL.

The AFL have effectively equated Hinkley’s light hearted return serve at an opposition player …

… with Clarkson’s homophobic slur towards an opposition player. (Both charged under the “conduct unbecoming” clause and issued $20K fine)

There’s not a neutral footy supporter in the land who would have minded if the AFL had just left this alone.

I think ever since Chris Scott copped a $10k fine in 2021 - and the AFL stated something like "in the future there will be consequences" - $20k has been the minimum chips for coach fines?

Just so responsive to the media. And in this case they couldn't see that the media they were appeasing was a few ex-Hawk players finding something to sook about after their team lost.

I think ever since Chris Scott copped a $10k fine in 2021 - and the AFL stated something like "in the future there will be consequences" - $20k has been the minimum chips for coach fines?

Dunno, that may be true …

… I just don’t think it should have been classified as “conduct unbecoming” in the first place.

Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion