Injury Ottens' injury

This is the current list on the GFC site

Player Injury Timeline (as at 16 June 2009)
Josh Hunt knee season
Matthew Egan navicular season
Mitch Brown
broken leg season
Ranga Ediriwickrama hamstring 2-3 weeks
Steven Motlop shoulder 4 weeks
Brad Ottens knee 2-3 weeks
Scott Simpson
ankle 6 weeks
Adam Varcoe
hamstring test
Tom Harley
hamstring test

You would think the club would realise the supporters want more news on his injury. Perhaps something like-

His knee has not responded well and we have difficulty determining when he can start running

He is out for the year

He is due back this week

We have NO idea

Whatever, just make a statement so we know besides what is on the injury list as there is plenty of interest. Geelong is a much better side with him playing and Blake and Mummy need a rest. Dont be surprised if West gets a go
Blake & Mummy have just had a rest. Westy CHB a possibility?

Just heard some bad bad news from a very credible source within the club, that ottens probably wont make it back at all this season including finals and that an infection in his knee has stuffed it right up again :(

Ottens missed the first 9 in 2008 - Geelong lost one match.

Played the rest of the year - Geelong lost one match - the Grand Final.

Ottens plays 1 full game and a handful of minutes so far in 2009, misses the next 9 - Geelong still undefeated.

Geelong is capable of winning matches without Ottens.

Geelong is capable of winning games in September without Ottens.

Geelong is capable of winning the Grand Final without Ottens.

Sure, it would be better with him there but if he isn't, he isn't.

It isn't like Geelong loses heaps of matches when he misses games.

Just heard some bad bad news from a very credible source within the club, that ottens probably wont make it back at all this season including finals and that an infection in his knee has stuffed it right up again :(

How credible? Any updates here....this would be a ****ing major major blow.

Any medical reasoning other than simple infection? I can't believe that an infection is incurable within a 12 week time-frame - surely we can get him up for at least 6 end of year games, surely!

How credible? Any updates here....this would be a ****ing major major blow.

Any medical reasoning other than simple infection? I can't believe that an infection is incurable within a 12 week time-frame - surely we can get him up for at least 6 end of year games, surely!

Medical staff credible....the infection has caused further bad swelling which will take atleast 2 weeks to go down and in which no ligament healing will take place, that healing would take atleast another 6 weeks, probably 8-9 after the swelling has gone down, he will only be able to run after all that and will be majorly lacking in match fitness. He wont be played this year for further logevity of his career sake.

We will believe it when we see it. My dads best friend is a teacher at herne hill primary who happened to be at a clinic yesterday at skilled stadium. When his class were getting a talk from a couple of players the whole squad was walking across the footy ground from some sort of meeting and he said that ottens had a slight limp with a little bit of bandage on his knee so i wouldn't believe that information for a second until i saw it, this was only yesterday.

He also said Harley was walking fine as was Ranga

Medical staff credible....the infection has caused further bad swelling which will take atleast 2 weeks to go down and in which no ligament healing will take place, that healing would take atleast another 6 weeks, probably 8-9 after the swelling has gone down, he will only be able to run after all that and will be majorly lacking in match fitness. He wont be played this year for further logevity of his career sake.

sorry mate but this sounds like crap i wouldn't mind knowing who your source is because he only has 1 or 2 years left in him so i dont understand why we wouldn't try and get him up even if this was true. I hope im right and your wrong this is very worrying but as i said my dads friend said he looked fine

s&b.
Why would you post that someone is talking crap?

Your info has lots less credibility to be honest.

The way our club goes with keeping info out there about how Otto is going, any of these stories (or a million others) could be true. Frankly, I don't know why the media bother to ask about Otto anymore; they must know they're not going to get a straight answer...

Ottens missed the first 9 in 2008 - Geelong lost one match.

Played the rest of the year - Geelong lost one match - the Grand Final.

Ottens plays 1 full game and a handful of minutes so far in 2009, misses the next 9 - Geelong still undefeated.

Geelong is capable of winning matches without Ottens.

Geelong is capable of winning games in September without Ottens.

Geelong is capable of winning the Grand Final without Ottens.

Sure, it would be better with him there but if he isn't, he isn't.

It isn't like Geelong loses heaps of matches when he misses games.

I completely agree. We are a better side with Ottens, but some people make us out to be horrible without Ottens about. We could still win the Flag without Ottens playing.

We will believe it when we see it. My dads best friend is a teacher at herne hill primary who happened to be at a clinic yesterday at skilled stadium. When his class were getting a talk from a couple of players the whole squad was walking across the footy ground from some sort of meeting and he said that ottens had a slight limp with a little bit of bandage on his knee so i wouldn't believe that information for a second until i saw it, this was only yesterday.

He also said Harley was walking fine as was Ranga

It's true - all doctors like to diagnose by watching their patients from a distance. Works even better for laymen.

Remember seeing a report that Ottens already had one setback due to infection, so its plausible IMO. If he's had a further setback then given the healing timeframe (4-6 weeks) he would certainly be struggling to get back for the finals.

Yeah completely plausible...but i think the club would make a statement about it considering it may alleviate some expectation from both Otto and being unbeatable.

Hopefully we have the medical powers to heal this magnificent creature, or else i maybe forced to contact a faith healer. Need the big man i think, he is too valuable come finals time!

name your source!

Not going to hapen :cool:

Yeah completely plausible...but i think the club would make a statement about it considering it may alleviate some expectation from both Otto and being unbeatable.

Hopefully we have the medical powers to heal this magnificent creature, or else i maybe forced to contact a faith healer. Need the big man i think, he is too valuable come finals time!

Imo Thommo will release the info this weekend after the freo game unless forced to earlier, he definatly wont play the H&A season and I would put my house on his knee not being 100% (and it needs to be for him to play) until late september

Maybe surgery isn't always the best answer! What a shock! If this is true, perhaps all of those who have taken the piss out of my opinions regarding both Otto and Matty Egan will stop thinking irrationally. Who would have thought an infection could result from surgery! Blows me away. Impatient choices to opt for surgery can have severe consequences. Wouldn't surprise me if this was true at all.

s&b.
Why would you post that someone is talking crap?

Your info has lots less credibility to be honest.

i didnt say that i just said it sounded like that because we hear of these stories all the time about our club and others about various stories. Maybe he isn't fine but all im saying is that he had a slight limp and a little bit of tape around his knee when he was seen walking.

Not going to hapen :cool:

Imo Thommo will release the info this weekend after the freo game unless forced to earlier, he definatly wont play the H&A season and I would put my house on his knee not being 100% (and it needs to be for him to play) until late september

You would want to be right cats81. I always seem to be wrong so im going to back you in but it better be right

Maybe surgery isn't always the best answer! What a shock! If this is true, perhaps all of those who have taken the piss out of my opinions regarding both Otto and Matty Egan will stop thinking irrationally. Who would have thought an infection could result from surgery! Blows me away. Impatient choices to opt for surgery can have severe consequences. Wouldn't surprise me if this was true at all.

Are you a doctor?

Injury Ottens' injury