List Mgmt. Our List 2014 - Trade, De-list and Draft - (keep it all in here)

I'd say we've done fairly well during this trade period, and certainly when in comparison to the last couple of years.
Acquiring three former first round draft picks in one trade period has a pretty nice ring to it I reckon.
Welcome to the three blokes to the princes park, hope they have a great future at our footy club.

Boy am I glad trade period is over, no more silly suggestions. :rolleyes::D
although here comes the negative buggers that will complain about everything.

What a fantastic trade period. Were some clear winners of the period:

Collingwood, St Kilda, GWS, us.

Everitt brings a lot of versatility to our team. He will plug a lot of holes. If we can nail our first draft pick, we will look back at this draft with a lot of success.

Awesome work Blues :thumbsu:

I suppose we also lost a 2nd round compo pick for Eddie by getting Thomas in.

I suppose you have to treat it like poker though...... take what you had at the start of trade week and compare to what you are left with at the end of the game.

Hampson, Betts, Pick 33
Thomas, Docherty, Everitt, Pick 39

Everitt brings a lot of versatility to our team. He will plug a lot of holes. If we can nail our first draft pick, we will look back at this draft with a lot of success.

Well that sure comes across as being mighty suggestive.

Which hopefully means Gibbs is no longer Mr Fixit and can get some continuity in the midfield where he plays his best footy and is very damaging.

#justaskthetigers

Wait, but but all the Pies supporters tell me that with Mick in charge, you'll never get the men you want in Trade Period :confused:

#inMickandMcKaywetrust

The one thing that Everitt can do is give Henderson a chop out should we need to mix it up a bit.

We'll never know but I can only hope we still get the guy we wanted at #32 at #39.

Mick Malthouse's new evolution is complete versatility. Watching him coach in the 2nd half and listening to him speak made this clear. The opposition will not know from quarter to quarter how we will line up. A few Clubs are embracing this method. Top gameday coaches are more valuable than ever. We have one.

Jamo as KPD and Warnock as Ruck....besides that, complete versatility from week to week and quarter to quarter.

I'll be honest, I was quietly quite keen on getting this Everitt bloke the first time he supposedly nominated us, a few years back. Didn't eventuate, but in the end it has happened.

I'm no fanboy: if it was just him for 32 I wouldnt have been impressed, but I'm quite cheery at the actual result.

I have a feeling the Blues might take a tall (fwd) with pick 13, maybe. The way recent drafts have gone, clubs tend to pick the best midfielders in the first round, esp in the top ten. As a result, quite often the 2nd or 3rd best KPP drops to the early teens. Think Talia, Tape, T.Lynch, L.Johnston, M.Brown, Jaksch – all taken between 11-15 IIRC.

Thomas and Docherty provide immediate run and carry to the side. Goes a fair way to addressing the lack of run Mick complained about post season. Maybe it is time to bite the bullet and use a relatively high pick on a tall. After all, apart from Kreuzer and Kennedy, we have never used a pick under 20 on a tall, not inc Luke Livingstone. Watson was pick 20. Pick 13 is better than the picks used to get Mitchell, McCarthy, Harlett, Hampson, Edwards and Bower who were all busts. Maybe the club think it is time to stop using later picks on shit talls, and roll the dice with an earlier pick and in turn give ourselves a better chance of striking gold?

Geez I think we have done well this past 3 weeks. The other thing to consider is we have for the most part used our picks to bring in experienced players. Docherty and Everitt mightn’t be stars, but at least we know they won’t be total busts as they have proven they can play to a certain degree already. Trading later picks for established players is not a bad move esp in a supposedly shallow draft. Assuming pick 13 ends up at worst a reasonably good player, we would have brought in 4 players who we know can all play at least reasonably well. Better than getting just 1 (or 2) out of 4 on the target.

McKay’s thoughts on Everitt were interesting. He said he will be a 3rd tall down back. McKay’s is not stupid, he knows Andrejs is not a KPP, a gorilla. 3rd tall, who can switch ends, who has 79 games to his name, and is quick for his size, it is a nice addition to the list. Not every pick/trade = a superstar.

Wonder if we have any interest in Thorp. I doubt the club will be stupid enough to let any interest be known outside of the inner circle at the club, if there is an interest that is. If there is interest, they’ll want to keep it secret, so that Thorp is not taken from under our noses by another club earlier in the draft. Could we get him at 39? How good would it be to get a quality midfield prospect at 13 then Thorp at 39?

Geez we now have a ridiculous amount of players taken in the top 20 of the draft. We have 14 of the ****ers …

1 Kreuzer

1 Gibbs

1 Murphy

2 Walker

2 Thomas

3 Judd

5 Mclean

6 Yarran

8 Henderson

11 Menzel

11 Everitt

12 Lucas

12 Docherty

20 Watson

Reckon we paid a bit much for Everitt, but In Mick We Trust.

How are Brisbane, getting screwed again by this deal. We could have given them #32 instead of #33 and it would have made absolutely no difference to us.

Rapt that Lucas, Yarran and Bootsma are staying.
This is part A of a terrific outcome. Only bummer was losing Betts for nothing but that's the folly of the AFL.

All 3 are good pick ups. Everitt may be viewed with narrowed eyes by some posters but I wanted us to get him when he left the Doggies because he had showed potential and had some great physical attributes. Of course the Swans got their man, they always do. But now they will have to get used to losing them as well.

As for the slight downgrade in second rounders, it will be a chook raffle by then anyway and the recruiters will have a bunch of names jotted down for that pick. Best available.

Daisy for nothing, Everitt for next to nothing, and Docherty a deadset steal at the price of a Hammer. Yee hah!

Well played by the recruiting staff, think we have definitely improved our list in the trade period which is the most important thing. I'd love to see Matt Crouch come to Carlton with our first round pick and if Cameron McCarthy is available at pick #13 that makes it a tough choice in my opinion as he'd be very hard to overlook. If we could land Crouch and get Mitch Thorp and Kane Lambert onto the senior list I would be very pleased with our off season going into 2014. Alongside the on going development of last years draftees: Menzel, Temay and Graham who I hope make an even greater impact on the senior team. Things are certainly taking shape for us and an exciting year is ahead for sure.