Coach Our next coach - Training Wheels included

Who do you want to see as our next senior coach?

• Buckley

Votes: 42 7.1%
  • Choco

Votes: 37 6.3%
  • Clarkson

Votes: 213 36.2%
  • Leppitsch

Votes: 6 1.0%
  • Lyon

Votes: 203 34.5%
  • Pyke

Votes: 55 9.3%
  • Roos

Votes: 19 3.2%
  • Scott

Votes: 46 7.8%
  • Voss

Votes: 61 10.4%
  • Worsfold

Votes: 12 2.0%
  • Rookie/Training Wheels MK III

Votes: 25 4.2%
  • Burns

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Caracella

Votes: 4 0.7%
  • Graham

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Harvey

Votes: 1 0.2%
  • Kingsley

Votes: 17 2.9%
  • Schofield

Votes: 1 0.2%
  • Yze

Votes: 5 0.8%
  • Giansiracusa

Votes: 6 1.0%

We all know Teague will be done after tonight but it feels like Teague cops all the blame and very little blame gets put on the players. The game plan worked well for the first part of the game and then the players get comfortable and drop the effort.

Teagues job as a coach is not just tactical

It's to get the best out of the players. So if it's the players fault then it's still teagues fault.

Sent from my CPH2145 using Tapatalk

Indeed. The task facing a new coach would be to identify and either (a) develop or (b) replace the many players on our list for whom near enough is good enough, or worse, give the perception of buy-in and effort more so than genuinely delivering upon it. It appears that mediocrity is so ingrained that 'satisfactory' is laudable, and standards and expectations are set too low to push continual improvement.

I don't know who among the poll options is best placed to deal with this issue, but one can't help but feel the new coach is going to have to deliver some harsh truths - so perhaps someone comfortable with not being everyone's best mate initially.

I really feel for Teague. Like I did Bolton before him. Teague was the saviour a few years ago. Everyone was thrilled. Now look at how he’s treated. Would love to know what goes on behind closed doors at our club.

I think we should have persisted with Bolton, especially for what he did for the culture of our entire club. I remember when he took the draftees on a bonding camp and he was so big on manners and respect and gratitude. That kind of thing needs to be explicitly taught to some people unfortunately. Bolton used to bring the entire club together, try to unite CFC on and off the field. Maybe Teague became too friendly with the players, who knows.

This is two good people (if Teague goes) that the club has promised the earth too but when the going gets tough, they’re shown the door.

I really feel for Teague. Like I did Bolton before him. Teague was the saviour a few years ago. Everyone was thrilled. Now look at how he’s treated. Would love to know what goes on behind closed doors at our club.

I think we should have persisted with Bolton, especially for what he did for the culture of our entire club. I remember when he took the draftees on a bonding camp and he was so big on manners and respect and gratitude. That kind of thing needs to be explicitly taught to some people unfortunately. Bolton used to bring the entire club together, try to unite CFC on and off the field. Maybe Teague became too friendly with the players, who knows.

This is two good people (if Teague goes) that the club has promised the earth too but when the going gets tough, they’re shown the door.

Overall the club at a board level is stuffed, until that is rectified you will see mediocre to bad results on field regardless of who is coach.

Champion hard working player.
Premiership winning assistant coach.
Oversaw the rebuild of Collingwood's list and culture as a rookie coach.
Took them from a bottom side to being one kick away from a premiership without any decent key forwards.
Became a victim of an aging list and terrible list management.

I rate him, senior coach? Maybe not but as an assistant, midfield coach would be a terrific get. We would be insane not to ask.
I thought he was handed a premiership team that was quite young as a rookie coach and ****ed it,

Teagues job as a coach is not just tactical

It's to get the best out of the players. So if it's the players fault then it's still teagues fault.

Sent from my CPH2145 using Tapatalk
I don’t disagree but if the players are up at the start of the game which clearly they were surely he doesn’t need to motivate them at every break to keep them going surely the coaches are allowed to try and coach to make decisions instead of having to make sure they are mentally willing to contribute every qtr.

Best fit for where we are at.
(His game plan v our list)
Experience to take us forward without costing too much soft cap, so room to round out the team.
Won't come in expecting the whole club to revolve around him - I'm not keen to have all eggs in one basket.

While I believe our next coach will be either Clarkson or Lyon, I wouldn’t raise any objections to Pyke.

Forgive the intrusion - I come in peace.

I just don't know how relevant the coach is at your club anymore. You've had some bloody good coaches over the journey but the result of each has been like watching a bad movie on repeat. Take any AFL coach and bring them into Carlton and I doubt things would change.

Something is deeply wrong at Carlton at the most senior level, and I hope that gets uncovered soon. The way the players capitulated last night was really damning - it looked like an exasperated playing group out there. There was no effort for the milestone game, the coach who's probably going out the door, it just looked like a group of players with no passion, no drive, no anything. They look exhausted, as if they genuinely believe they have no options.

I've seen similar things at Adelaide. That club is so clearly rotten to the core. The whole place needs to be nuked and start again with no past people in charge.

I fear Carlton might need to meet the same fate before things improve. You don't stay in this position for 25 years for nothing. There are clearly some leaders at the club that need to be turfed out before things can improve.

I have family who are Blues supporters and it sucks that they never get to share in the typical footy banter and excitement that the rest of my family does. To them, footy has become just one big sad joke. I feel for them for this, they deserve better. Decades of memberships should net you more than this.

I hope someone takes out the trash and brings Carlton back to the fray again. If Richmond can do it, Carlton should be able to as well.

Clarko has WAY too many Malthouse vibes for me

I wish Buckleys history was at any other club than Collingwood because he is the clear and obvious best choice for us imo. But with the recent Malthouse/Daisy experience still fresh in peoples minds the club may be too scared to go back to the Collingwood well

Clarko has "my way or the highway, I know it all about senior coaching" vibes much like Malthouse, where as Buckley has the experience of head coach but is as hungry for success as any and will be willing to grow and learn with the group.

Some speculation there from me but that's how I see it

I wish Buckleys history was at any other club than Collingwood because he is the clear and obvious best choice for us imo. But with the recent Malthouse/Daisy experience still fresh in peoples minds the club may be too scared to go back to the Collingwood well

Clarko has "my way or the highway, I know it all about senior coaching" vibes much like Malthouse, where as Buckley has the experience of head coach but is as hungry for success as any and will be willing to grow and learn with the group.

I tend to agree although it would be a wild ride so I'd be interested to see it play out.

My concern with the Clarko/Lyon types is they might come in with the promise to implement their systems and get us back on track, but if it's not working out they say we need a rebuild and we're too invested in them to push back.

Buckley broke apart a side that won and got to a grand final because of his ego. Fell down the ladder, didn't get to finals between 2014 and 2017. Finished in the bottom six got the easiest draw ever 17 home games (including finals) and made top 4, getting 3 home finals. He blew up salary cap and the team relationships to try and get to another.

Won nothing and left Pies in a worse position than when he started.

We do not want him it would be the worst possible choice for coach. FIGJAM

Interestingly enough, I think that is exactly what we do need. It's the attitude he took to Hawthorn and it's the attitude that, reportedly, encouraged Melbourne to take a pass. It's not just the players who need to cop it, it's the entire club. We need football people making football decisions. People are so easily won over by corporate hotshots - first and foremost, we're a football club... it should be run like one.

I know someone extremely closely connected to Hawthorn board/footy dept and Clarko does come with a mad and demanding streak - it doesn't work for everyone but it does work. I reckon we need that. It also means he clashes with other strong personalities, which is bound to happen at Carlton - be great if it leads to the end of the Pratt/Mathieson association.

I also don't think Clarko's exit is as similar to MM's as people are making out. Clarko was willing to partake in the transition and suggested they hold onto Mitchell - he approached the board. It got messy (and may end up screwing the Hawks) but I don't see the bitterness that was attached to MM's exit.

My dream team all along has been Clarko and Hodge.. I thought it was a pipe dream, but I'm hopeful there is some truth to these rumours.

..I'd also be ok with Bucks, Pyke etc.

If Teague was to be removed and paid out his 2022 contract - you’d think he’d be snapped up pretty quick by another club (especially as a forwards coach).

Would that lessen the soft-cap blow?