Our zone team

Jan 4, 2008
Liverpool, PAOK
This what our side would look like if the AFL still used the old zone system.

B: Josh Hunt, Bret Thornton, Matthew Laidlaw
HB: Jordan Lisle, Joel Bowden, Robert Gray
C: Colin Sylvia, Andrew Carrazzo, Matthew Richardson
HF: Chris Tarrant, Brad Fisher, Corey Jones
F: Robbie Tarrant, Jack Riewoldt, Nick Gill
Ruck: Angus Graham, Richard Tambling, Ben McGlynn
Inter: Todd Goldstein

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=71153

I think its fair to say we would not have the best team going around, Richo brings it up a fair bit.

fair to say it prob would have been about the worst going around, further underlines the inequities in the ill concieved zoning system...who was the genius that could rationalise Mildura was on par with geelong for producing footballers...Fot a start there would be 4-5 registered players in GEE for every one in Mildura...Little wonder we were ****ed in the 80s:rolleyes:

dont knock Mildura BJ, if it werent for players we nabbed from that part of the world, we would have pretty well ****ed in the 80s...;)

Yeah but he's right about the size of the joint. Getting Flea and Lee was punching above weight. Compare it with Hawthorn, gifted the biggest growth corridor in the footy world. From Cranbourne to Berwick to Gippsland, they would have snared 20+ premiership players.

and then you can add to that the scrapping of the zone, to introduce the draft and you can understand why they dominated that era.
While others had to scrap and scrag for draft picks hoping they got it right, to build their list, the dawks had the list littered with stars, already in place.
No longer could a team spot a young talent and move him and/or the family into their zone. ;)

Yeah but he's right about the size of the joint. Getting Flea and Lee was punching above weight. Compare it with Hawthorn, gifted the biggest growth corridor in the footy world. From Cranbourne to Berwick to Gippsland, they would have snared 20+ premiership players.

We always get bloody shafted.

yeah thank god for the 4 or 5 decent players we snared over the journey...Flea, general, Raines and ghost...sheesh thats some haul cogg:rolleyes:

kind of thought there were more BJ. Didnt Freeza hail from that part of the world? Also reckon Craig Smith wasnt to shabby as a player, unfortunately for him he lairised abit to much, but skill wise he had it.
Some haul huh? well we would be flying if we could get that saem "some haul" in the same team right now, dont you think?. ;)

kind of thought there were more BJ. Didnt Freeza hail from that part of the world? Also reckon Craig Smith wasnt to shabby as a player, unfortunately for him he lairised abit to much, but skill wise he had it.
Some haul huh? well we would be flying if we could get that saem "some haul" in the same team right now, dont you think?. ;)

yep freezer was from wentworth area...still mate, it is well short of the riches that the likes of Geelong , Carlton and Hawthorn were able to yield from there district and in reality no suprise when comparing Geelong, Bendigo and Gippsland to ****en Mildura:confused:

at the end of the day, it wasnt the dearth in talent in our zones that ****ed us up dude.
It was Wilson's personal vendetta with the scum that got us into the shit hole.;)

at the end of the day, it wasnt the dearth in talent in our zones that ****ed us up dude.
It was Wilson's personal vendetta with the scum that got us into the shit hole.;)

I dont argue with that...we were grossly mismanaged right up until recent years that took us to the brink...I hasten to add though that there were plenty of other sides not managed to good that remained competitive due to the riches they could exploit from their zones

EXAMPLE..Hawthorn in 80s..spared from a merger in '93...Not exactly result of a period of stellar management:rolleyes:

Craig Smith was a fine player and wore the number 17 well.

Very impressive physique, as a result of being a hard working plasterer, where most of his work was above his head.

Learn something every day huh!

the Port team looks pretty damn good.

PORT ADELAIDE
B: Brian Lake, Ben Rutten, Graham Johncock
HB: Peter Burgoyne, Nathan Bock, Sam Fisher
C: Alan Didak, Scott Thompson, Tyson Edwards
HF: Daniel Motlop, Matthew Pavlich, Brett Burton
F: Jason Porplyzia, Warren Tredrea, Brett Ebert
Ruck: Cameron Wood, Shaun Burgoyne, Adam Cooney
Inter: Robert Shirley, Michael O’Loughlin, Stuart Dew, Bernie Vince

I suppose all of the two team state sides look good compared to what the chopped up Vic districts have to offer.

Didn't Hawthorn also have parts of the Mornington Peninsula? Leigh and Kelvin Matthews, Michael Moncrieff, Dermott Brereton and Chris Mew all came from around there.

Just think we could have also had Richie Vandenberg & Mark Alvey as well :eek:

From Mildura - Sholl brothers (Managatang) & Croft from Bulldogs

This what our side would look like if the AFL still used the old zone system.

B: Josh Hunt, Bret Thornton, Matthew Laidlaw
HB: Jordan Lisle, Joel Bowden, Robert Gray
C: Colin Sylvia, Andrew Carrazzo, Matthew Richardson
HF: Chris Tarrant, Brad Fisher, Corey Jones
F: Robbie Tarrant, Jack Riewoldt, Nick Gill
Ruck: Angus Graham, Richard Tambling, Ben McGlynn
Inter: Todd Goldstein

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=71153

I think its fair to say we would not have the best team going around, Richo brings it up a fair bit.

:)SAD thing being, we also had access to a metropolitan zone too. Assuming most of the better players in that zone would have wound up at the Oakleigh Chargers, we would also have access to Marc Murphy ... and that's about where it ends. Other notables (for want of a better word) are Daniel Jackson, Thomas Roach, Beau Dowler, Todd Goldstein, Robbie Gray and this year's crop...Jordan Lisle, Luke Shuey, James Strauss, Daniel Hanneberry, Zachary Clark and Casey Sibosado.

Our zone team