Pagan - "We can win"....who the hell is he kidding?

blues76

Sep 3, 2004
Oakleigh
Fair dinkum, he is a dead set toss...playing duds when he knows they wont get us anywhere...always says what we want to hear...im sick of his crap.

blues76 said:
Fair dinkum, he is a dead set toss...playing duds when he knows they wont get us anywhere...always says what we want to hear...im sick of his crap.

What the hell is he meant to say?

"Nah I don't think we have any chance, probably no point going over, the players aren't confident, I'm not confident, what's the point of playing?"

Is that what you would prefer him to say?

Good stuff Pagan, his comments give you a bit of a lift.

Just for the record, his theory on not playing the kids is absolutely correct... I'd like to see one of Kennedy, Blackwell or Russel this week, but leave the rest playing good footy for the reserves.

Will be good to see them all in the VFL Grand Final later in the year too.

very happy with the comments from Dennis. Some truth in his comments. We supporters can get a bit emotional (a passion for us, a JOB/Career) for player's and coach). Gives a good feeling.
We do need though to reward (some of) the Kids and Jordan R is a classic - put him in the Seniors now, he has earn't his spot. Roll on rest of the season.

Well everyone knows that we have very little chance of winning this match. I think these will be the biggest odds against any team winning all season.

But having said that, i hope we try our best even if we do get flogged. These are character building matches, and we cant roll over and accept defeat at any point, otherwise no one will benefit from the loss.

But of course pagan will have to say we are a chance, otherwise he'd be fired on the spot.

I dont know if you have realised that theres a few golden rules that coaches ALWAYS follow. They are:

1. After a victory, no matter by how much you win by, must always say that the boys played well, but theres always room for improvement.

2. After a loss coaches have to act upset with the teams performance, even if they were only narrowly beaten by a team that is on top of the ladder. They never conceed that they were happy with the teams efforts, and the only way they would be happy is to get the 4 points

3. In the build-up to a match, a team will never admit that they have no chance of winning. Its called promotion of the game!

So you would rather him say there is no way we can win and for supporters not to bother watching?! What kind of message does that send if even the coach has given up hope?

in 1995, the super team lost only two games to two very ordinary sides. On any given day any team can win...it's a two horse race! Looking forward to the game at Subi this week, will be there with bells on. Of course, I can only hope we win but in today's climate - we're stuffed. By the way, Ken Judge lost his job as weagles coach by telling the truth, his team was very ordinary (they were re-building) and he had this habit of telling the media in many press conferences that they were struggling. He was absolutely spot on, but the precious people of WA don't want to hear anyone bagging their beloved weagles.:cool:

AaronM said:
If yo ulot hate the way your club is playing then go to http://www.sackpagan.com.au and sign the petition.

you can talk the talk but can you lot walk the walk ?
Go away!

Those petitions don't do anything but embarass the club you love.

Good positive comments from Pagan and you didn't hear Sheedy come out and say they had no chance against the Eagles when they lost by 21 points with Judd. ;)

AaronM said:
If yo ulot hate the way your club is playing then go to http://www.sackpagan.com.au and sign the petition.

you can talk the talk but can you lot walk the walk ?
We won't be sacking Pagan, just as Essendon won't be sacking Sheedy. The last thing clubs that are struggling need is to go down the coach sacking road, demonstrating instability and creating doubt in the mind of sponsors, members and players alike. Also the AFL will not be looking at Carlton favourably if they are paying for Pagan if he is no longer coaching. They would rightfully refuse to hand over any money towards solving our cash flow problems because if would be a demonstration of poor financial management at the club,

FWIW, I thought it was a bad move on the part of the Bombers to re-sign Sheedy when his last contract finished because the cracks were already appearing in the Essendon list and it was fairly obvious the club was on the way down. Should have cleaned out the playing and coaching lists at that time.

blues76 said:
You know, I think we can win this week, too. Am I stupid? No. Am I overly optimistic? No. I am a passionate Carlton supporter who watches the game every week expecting to win. I was no less or more confident going into the Melbourne and Essendon games as I was going into the St Kilda or Adelaide games. I wouldn't be following Carlton if I didn't think they could win every week. In fact any supporter that watches a game with the mindset that their team can't win, is not a true supporter.

mediumsizered said:
You know, I think we can win this week, too. Am I stupid? No. Am I overly optimistic? No. I am a passionate Carlton supporter who watches the game every week expecting to win. I was no less or more confident going into the Melbourne and Essendon games as I was going into the St Kilda or Adelaide games. I wouldn't be following Carlton if I didn't think they could win every week. In fact any supporter that watches a game with the mindset that their team can't win, is not a true supporter.
mate im as passionate as the next blues supporter and i see em every week too but after you watch some of the stuff they dish up lately, why would i think we'd beat them at subi? geez we're talkin about fundamentals of the game...kicking and hittin a man 15m away...actually laying a tackle...and i repeat, playing duds who will get us nowhere...i want to win but im also realistic...

blues76 said:
mate im as passionate as the next blues supporter and i see em every week too but after you watch some of the stuff they dish up lately, why would i think we'd beat them at subi? geez we're talkin about fundamentals of the game...kicking and hittin a man 15m away...actually laying a tackle...and i repeat, playing duds who will get us nowhere...i want to win but im also realistic...
Did you think Richmond would beat Adelaide? If you go out with a game plan and stick to it, anything could happen. Who thought St Kilda would beat Carlton in Round 9, 1995? Possibly the best ever Carlton side getting beaten by a mediocre St Kilda side. How did that happen?

blues76 said:
i think we are better than what we have shown and I think the players know that they are better than what they have shown. It could all come together at any moment. the boys going out there each week have skill, they have passion (except Stevens) and they have a belief that they can achieve something. just need those football gods to smile on us and things can change very quickly.

stokesy said:
What the hell is he meant to say?

"Nah I don't think we have any chance, probably no point going over, the players aren't confident, I'm not confident, what's the point of playing?"

Is that what you would prefer him to say?

Good stuff Pagan, his comments give you a bit of a lift.

Just for the record, his theory on not playing the kids is absolutely correct... I'd like to see one of Kennedy, Blackwell or Russel this week, but leave the rest playing good footy for the reserves.

Will be good to see them all in the VFL Grand Final later in the year too.
I totally agree, well said.

mediumsizered said:
We won't be sacking Pagan, just as Essendon won't be sacking Sheedy. The last thing clubs that are struggling need is to go down the coach sacking road, demonstrating instability and creating doubt in the mind of sponsors, members and players alike. Also the AFL will not be looking at Carlton favourably if they are paying for Pagan if he is no longer coaching. They would rightfully refuse to hand over any money towards solving our cash flow problems because if would be a demonstration of poor financial management at the club,

FWIW, I thought it was a bad move on the part of the Bombers to re-sign Sheedy when his last contract finished because the cracks were already appearing in the Essendon list and it was fairly obvious the club was on the way down. Should have cleaned out the playing and coaching lists at that time.
It is great when you direct logical and reasoned arguments back at trolls, they have no idea how to handle it. :thumbsu:

blues76 said:

What the hell do you expect him to say publicly?

Get your hand off it...........

yes be positive everyone we'll win for sure

Predagast vs Kerr and perhaps Sporn on Cousins.
Oh we'll definitely win.

Its fine to all be positive but some people r absolutely categorically dillusional.

We will be 200 points down at half time!:mad:

bluey blue said:
I totally agree, well said.

Good news is Josh Kennedy is playing, and he will be stay in Perth for a few days after the match. Lets hope Pagan gives him some time on the ground to show us some of what he has.

bluesinsider said:
Good news is Josh Kennedy is playing, and he will be stay in Perth for a few days after the match. Lets hope Pagan gives him some time on the ground to show us some of what he has.

In front of family and friends it could be a great thing for him to produce a few big parks marks and hopefully 3 - 4 goals.

Denis, don't put him on the bench.

stokesy said:
In front of family and friends it could be a great thing for him to produce a few big parks marks and hopefully 3 - 4 goals.

Denis, don't put him on the bench.

Fingers crossed he plays most of the game. I will be there and urging them on.

bluesinsider said:
he and muprh are two of the very few reasons why i watch carlton...it just kills me that JK and Blackwell get dropped after a hiding and 1 qtr of game time each. wheres carlos? play him! sporn livo teague prenda should never play seniors again

Pagan - "We can win"....who the hell is he kidding?