- Dec 6, 2020
- AFL Club
- Fremantle
Retired last year didn’t he?Good win.
Has Blair Bell gone somewhere else?
Retired last year didn’t he?Good win.
Has Blair Bell gone somewhere else?
Retired last year didn’t he?
Same same36* thank you very much. Really want him to get a proper run at AFL level.
Clearly the class act out there today.36* thank you very much. Really want him to get a proper run at AFL level.
You could say the same about the whipping boys-Put it this way, how many other clubs would Hughes get a game for? (besides WC).
A lot of people don’t see what Hughes does that are not recordable stats - he does whatever his coach tells him to do.You could say the same about the whipping boys-
Banfield
Sharp
Switkowski.
But teams have players that suit the team. That’s the whole point. They probably won’t go to another team and play 100% to that team’s tactics/chemistry.
Erasmus worked his butt off today. Was ok in the first half and Murdoch was playing close attention to him. As game wore on Erasmus kept going. Problem is he is a similar mid in the mould to Fyfe as an inside mid. Might have to bide his time as sub and next in line. Toss of the coin between Ras and JOM as coming into the 22 for Emmett. one in and the other the sub.Same same
Erasmus should be in based off match fitness.Erasmus worked his butt off today. Was ok in the first half and Murdoch was playing close attention to him. As game wore on Erasmus kept going. Problem is he is a similar mid in the mould to Fyfe as an inside mid. Might have to bide his time as sub and next in line. Toss of the coin between Ras and JOM as coming into the 22 for Emmett. one in and the other the sub.
Liked Hugh Davies. Delearn has some tricks. Cooper Simpson after the hand/thumb injury wasn’t quite the same. He did some nice things early.
Allan (no. 15) in defence is a real talent.
Brodie depth only at this stage. Well below likes of Fyfe, Erasmus, MJ, JOM.
Voss was better in the second half.
Williams needs to put on size - very easily pushed aside at senior level and was a bit unsure of himself with decision making today.
I’m prob a bit harsh on Reidy. He is in the mould of O’Brien as a ruck. Quite strong in the ruck wrestling contest but I prefer the more mobile ruck who was Teakle today. Big Reidy is very slow and that for mine will be an issue at Senior AFL. I’d actually prefer Teakle on the list in front of Reidy.
No current season stats available
He will be back in the WAFL the moment Heath Chapman is availableA lot of people don’t see what Hughes does that are not recordable stats - he does whatever his coach tells him to do.
Not a chance. Chapman has so much work to do to prove he’s fit for AFL level again. It’s been 12 months since he last played.He will be back in the WAFL the moment Heath Chapman is available
Once he plays one or two full games he will be in the AFL team.Not a chance. Chapman has so much work to do to prove he’s fit for AFL level again. It’s been 12 months since he last played.
I’d make him play 4. Needs a serious long term match fitness. He’s been out of the game for far too longOnce he plays one or two full games he will be in the AFL team.
I partially agree. As soon as he has shown he is fit and good to go then he is in and the likely replacement is Hughes. He will need to show he is fit to go with a sustained form in the WAFL. With no PS games, having missed a lot of footy and also sustaining injury from his most recent WAFL games (ie not being able to get through a full game) I think it will probably be a managed mins reserves game followed by 3- 4 WAFL league games. The injury list says 1 week so he may be a test for managed reserves game next weekend. If not the week after. So we’d be looking around AFL round 8 or 9. That would be pending sustained solid form in the WAFL.Not a chance. Chapman has so much work to do to prove he’s fit for AFL level again. It’s been 12 months since he last played.
Erasmus with 36 disposals.
He’s a worry. West Coast can easily offer 5 years and 400-500k and he ll take it. There’s spot there for him.
I’d rather he be sub/off the bench then JOM. What is the obsession with OMeara?
JOM shows great leadership when he is out there, and he is a bull.I’m guessing Erasmus is well aware Fyfe is in his last or second last year. Also staying at a team that is challenging as opposed to a team that is going to be rebuilding must be a factor.
I think we need to try him in Emmett's spot, Erasmus needs AFL experience and we need more forwards. Tell him to pressure, harass and snag a goal when he can.Is the feeling that Raz would benefit more from having a role at AFL level (like eg fwd-mid) or from being a main guy at WAFL level in the guts and honing his craft there? I really want Raz to get a game and he probably "deserves" it over a couple, but I fear if he gets in this week it will be as sub with Jaeger getting the starting spot and someone like Emmett getting the boot.
Tbh Wilson appeared to have lost a bit of conditioning, but still played well. He's happy at WAFL level now I reckon haha.Can we get Wilson back and give Son Son a rest?
Have to respect Erasmus not sooking in the WAFL and pushing to get back into Freo.
It’s nice having a functional and competitive WAFL side.
I was at the game and concur with your summary BOG was Ras (brillant third quater but tired a little bit in the last probably lack of match fitness) and looking to the future would rather get games into him than JOM (but please not as a sub, needs to be settled in the side and told he will get say four games in a row)My take on the players versus East Freo:
- Erasmus - was tracking "as expected" in the first half but then really took hold of the game in the second half with everything from kicks that setup goals and tackles that saved them. Most likely the BOG.
- Brodie - had some really good clearances and a good kick inside 50, and not much else. Not a bad game but not an outstanding one.
- Delean - Apart from Wilson was probably the most dangerous goal kicking forward on the ground. Kicked 2 but could have kicked 5 by my count. Started as I expected he would. On the defensive side, has a bit to improve and that will keep him out for a while.
- Simpson - Playing as a half forward for most of the game (I think he went into the centre in the Third), kicked a lovely goal in the first quarter whilst getting dumped into the ground and received heaps of attention from the opposition for the rest of the game as if they wanted to send him home injured. Setup a nice Voss goal and could have kicked two more himself. Has a lovely long kick (resulting in 5 inside 50s) but I am sure the coaches would prefer him to lower the eyes a few more times.
- Reidy - was pretty good all game in the ruck with 47 hitouts that setup Erasmus and Brodie a heap.
- Williams - still not a level where he would put himself in contention to be picked but really provided a lot more overlap then last year and got stuck into contests.
- Murphy - first game but he certainly looked comfortable at this level, and was part of an awesome backline effort.
- Davies - Was the WAFL equivalent of Alex Pearce taking good marks in contested situations, reading the ball very well and taking the game on. Disposal is still on the sloppy side, so that is one area to tidy up but he is ready to go if we need another lockdown defender.
- Voss - Good first game as a tall forward and kicked a goal (should have had three) and was handy around the ground. Tried to chest mark a lot and the defenders got their hands to it; needs to use his arms a bit more.
Yuck. Wash your mouth out.Jack Delean is our own Cody weightmen