Jul 17, 2004
Hotlanta
UGA, KSU, Knox C.C
Premier all but kills hope for new stadium

7th November 2008, 6:00 WST

Colin Barnett has all but ruled out building a totally new stadium at Subiaco, saying yesterday that it would offer no improvement for football fans until 2016.

This is despite the previous government saying that under its proposal to build a new stadium, 40,000 new seats would have been available in time for the 2014 AFL season, equal to the number contained in the existing stadium.

getfile.aspx
HAVE YOUR SAY: Should the stadium plans be scrapped? Click here

The Premier told ABC radio that while a final decision had yet to be made, it was a “fair assumption” that the existing Subiaco Oval would be rebuilt progressively to a capacity of 55,000 seats rather than completely redeveloped as a 60,000-seat multi-purpose stadium capable of accommodating all football codes and cricket.

But stadium task force chairman John Langoulant warned that rebuilding the existing arena would subject sports fans to “death by a 1000 improvements” and would not offer a long-term solution to the State’s sporting needs.

He said refurbishing Subiaco Oval along the lines of the MCG would not necessarily provide improved facilities any faster than a new venue.

“We’re dealing with a stadium that is more than half the capacity of the MCG and we’re proposing to put a construction site into it (for a long time) and progressively upgrade it,” he said.

Mr Langoulant said if the current economic climate and constrained government finances meant a new stadium, designed to last at least 50 years, was not affordable, the project should be deferred.

“This is a long-term investment, not just out to 2016,” he said. “(It would be better to) put it off … stay with what we have and maybe when the next business cycle turns around in five years time we can revisit the whole question again,” he said.

Task force member Terry Budge said it was vital that a new stadium be built and it should be deferred if necessary.

Shadow sports minister Ken Travers said the Premier should recognise the efforts of the two-year, $1.7 million stadium task force, which had clearly identified a new stadium as the best option. “Mr Barnett needs to learn to take advice from experts and stop developing policy on the back of an envelope,” he said.

Sports Minister Terry Waldron said he was still seeking advice on both options and no decision had been made.

The Premier also reiterated that the WA Museum would probably be refurbished at its current location in the Northbridge cultural precinct rather than move to the old East Perth power station.

The Government is in the throes of reviewing all major projects. PETER KERR

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=77&ContentID=106784

There is something very wrong over there in WA if they are complaining about finances! The state should be loaded from mining exports over the years so where is it?
WA has a crap footy stadium and crap cricket stadium. About time they got serious about their sports stadiums by maybe combining the 2 like we do in Melbourne for the MCG?

There is something very wrong over there in WA if they are complaining about finances! The state should be loaded from mining exports over the years so where is it?
WA has a crap footy stadium and crap cricket stadium. About time they got serious about their sports stadiums by maybe combining the 2 like we do in Melbourne for the MCG?

You do of course realise that the vast majority of WA mining royalties are appropriated to Federal coffers either directly or indirectly (via redistribution dividends)? Perhaps like most financial illiterates you dont?

The reality remains that WA would be extraordinarily wealthy if it wasnt part of Australia. It is the constant propping up of you guys that stops us getting the things we want ....
;)

that's it, i'm moving to melbourne.

Change over from an In the Wings member to a Victorian Member...at least I'd be able to see the boys play 5 times a year :rolleyes:

The reason there's no money to build the stadium is that a massive chunk of the mining royalties are being redirected to the bush as part of Grylls' Royalties for Regions Scheme.

We could probably get the stadium built in record time if we were willing to have it in Mukinbudin or Kellerberrin.

You've got to love a premier who is willing to spend over $1bn while completely ignoring every shred of evidence available that says he is wrong. :eek:

Reason why is because the previous Carpenter Government left the state in real big debt. Something along the lines of $700m. Even the minor building developments are being put on hold while the Government can fix the issue.

That being said, i really dont want a redevelopement of Subiaco. That place is in a shocking state. Mouldy walls, broken seats, dodgy toilets.

You do of course realise that the vast majority of WA mining royalties are appropriated to Federal coffers either directly or indirectly (via redistribution dividends)? Perhaps like most financial illiterates you dont?

No i was unaware of that....but thanks for pointing it out in such a gracious manner:rolleyes: Seeing as you are such a know it all, maybe you could come over and fix a double faulted RAID 5 or uncorrectable partiy stripe for me sometime??

The reason there's no money to build the stadium is that a massive chunk of the mining royalties are being redirected to the bush as part of Grylls' Royalties for Regions Scheme.

We could probably get the stadium built in record time if we were willing to have it in Mukinbudin or Kellerberrin.

But Barnett is saying he will re-build Subi (which will actually cost more than a new stadium), so the money must be somewhere. The stadium v regions or stadium v hospitals/schools is all rubbish and just thrown in by people who don't want a decent stadium.

The reality remains that WA would be extraordinarily wealthy if it wasnt part of Australia. It is the constant propping up of you guys that stops us getting the things we want ....
;)

Are you in slightest bit aware of the history of 'fiscal equalisation' in this country. Victoria and NSW have been subsidising WA for generations pal so don't start bitching and moaning too much now you've got to give a bit back. :eek:;)

The WA governments are a joke, no daylight saving, no sunday trading and no new stadium. Are they just going to stay the same or move with the times?

I reckon it'd be a good idea to bulldoze the WACA and rebuild that up to a good size. Im not sure if they have the space there though as Im not very familiar with that area

The WA governments are a joke, no daylight saving, no sunday trading and no new stadium. Are they just going to stay the same or move with the times?

I reckon it'd be a good idea to bulldoze the WACA and rebuild that up to a good size. Im not sure if they have the space there though as Im not very familiar with that area

The WACA is in an ordinary spot. No parking, and poor public transport access. The whole area descends into chaos when 20,000 people show up.

ALl i hope for is that they don't do a rebuild.

Hopefully they just straight out can the idea - and relook at it in a couple of years when the world's finances look better.

Either that - or perhaps the AFL might want to pony up the money for a new stadium - which they seem happy to do in the gold coast.

That way - the AFL would retain all rights to the ground and could charge other sports a premium to use it

ALl i hope for is that they don't do a rebuild.

Hopefully they just straight out can the idea - and relook at it in a couple of years when the world's finances look better.

Either that - or perhaps the AFL might want to pony up the money for a new stadium - which they seem happy to do in the gold coast.

That way - the AFL would retain all rights to the ground and could charge other sports a premium to use it

The AFL have a spare $1bn?

;)

Then nothing would stop WA politicians doing as they pleased :eek:

You really want them in full control :eek: You would not be extraordinarily wealthy you would be broke.

Are in slightest bit aware of the history of 'fiscal equalisation' in this country. Victoria and NSW have been subsidising WA for generations pal so don't start bitching and moaning too much now you've got to give a bit back. :eek:;)

Another of the great lies.

Lets say Western Mining Company or BHP has its head office and reporting headquarters in Victoria...lets say... when they report their profits, and pay their taxes is that recorded as taxes collected by the Commonwealth from Victoria or from, say, WA where a massive percentage of their income is generated?

Just asking... ;)

They could be already building it at Burswood for next to nothing with Packers offer.

But nooooooooo, lets build it in Subiaco where all the same problems (parking, noise and lights with residents, traffic, shit public transport etc etc) will still be evident. Someone is on the take to keep it in Subiaco.

the whole thing is a ****ing shambles.

Then nothing would stop WA politicians doing as they pleased :eek:

You really want them in full control :eek: You would not be extraordinarily wealthy you would be broke.

This is a fair point.

That said, state politics in any location is hardly the place for the star performers is it?

If WA was a stand alone "country" one suspects it may attract a better quality of politician - I mean state governments are not much more than big local councils these days...

Its WA isolation from the rest and the general ignorance of what goes on here, that bugs West Australians, I mean anything that gets done in Adelaide or Hobart these days by the federal government is funded on the back of WA - we may as well be funding Kazakstan for the relevance of those events to people in WA.

I have often wondered what would happen if WA withdrew from the Commonwealth and joined in with Singapore - Commonwealth of those 2 states... Singapores financial centre and business drive with WA's resources - couple that with both places having 1950's social policy and no DLS in Sing and its a perfect match - although, someone would need to do something about those damn Singapore shopping hours - open all the bloody time ;);)

No i was unaware of that....but thanks for pointing it out in such a gracious manner:rolleyes: Seeing as you are such a know it all, maybe you could come over and fix a double faulted RAID 5 or uncorrectable partiy stripe for me sometime??

Apologies, in response to your warm and non-judgmental post, I was a little harsh ;)

Not sure I could assist you with your RAID 5 problem but then I also wouldnt go make strong statements about what sort of umm, individuals, create such problems without having any idea about the subject ....

They could be already building it at Burswood for next to nothing with Packers offer.

But nooooooooo, lets build it in Subiaco where all the same problems (parking, noise and lights with residents, traffic, shit public transport etc etc) will still be evident. Someone is on the take to keep it in Subiaco.

the whole thing is a ****ing shambles.

This is a very fair comment. The Packer proposal was contingent on a few things including the release of some land and approval for various developments and licences around the venue. It was also contingent on the granting of a largish number of additional pokies licences which the government vehemently opposed...

It seems to me that the development of that area, as proposed, together with the ongoing development of East Perth and the linking of the 2 with footbridges (as proposed) had the chance to create an all new entertainment/lifestyle precinct... but that was visonary and required the govt to think big and make some concessions...shit next you will be suggesting we extend trading hours and develop the foreshore - you heretic ;)

Perth Stadium on the verge of being canned