Player Watch Pick #5 (2018) - Connor Rozee (AFL Captain)

Two games with meaningless high stats.

Good:
Impacts the scoreboard up forward.
Gets lots of disposals.
Provides excellent run.

Bad:
Ineffective tackler.
Turns it over way too much.
Tries to play the field too often - zigs and zags, jinks and jags, changes direction, tries to evade 6 blokes every time he gets the ball, team mates around him and up the ground get frustrated trying to lead and then have to lead elsewhere only for him to change direction again.
Gets caught HTB far too often (refer point previous to this).

Averaging 37 possessions per game so far. Probably only 10 are to the team's advantage.

If he just handballed to a team mate in space if he's trapped.
Or if he's on his own, just decide to go in one direction without changing and burn off the oppo, then deliver with precision to someone leading to a position they're confident he'll kick to, it would be soooo much better for the team.
why dont you write up a jhf good and bad.

He hasnt become a different player, hes just getting the handball recieves that would normally go to Butters.
Yep with Butters out he’s definitely going to get more ball.
I guess it’s what he does with it that counts.
The lad definitely has talent but for me lacks mentality.
Hopefully under a different system next year that side of him will improve.

Putting the Daddy stuff to the side, there's a few junk disposals creeping in to his game and I wish he would go by foot more often, but I suppose this is life without Butters. Hard to fault the effort.

If anyone needs to lift it's JHF.

I've got Rozee currently equal top with Zorko in my votes for the comp so far. Only early days but he is playing a lot better than he did last year.
He's on 10 for P.A for mine. 73 and 81/100

Are you doing club by club or bot teams on gameday. I don't understand. Hard for rozee to get votes against pies

Kicking goals, getting heaps of the ball. Disposal not bad, but not fantastic

Only real issue is that some of it is junk disposal.
I noticed he tends to overdo the little chip kicks which goes over his teammates heads but connects quite well when he has to kick it long. Out of JHF, Butters and him, Rozee has the biggest leg on him and can roast the ball from 60+ easily.

In saying that, he is most guilty of bombing the ball out of the three. So the next stage of his development is to lower the eyes and kick it to space where the forwards can lead up since that is what separates Rozee from JHF and Butters at the moment.

I believe Daniel Hoyne from Champion Data poised the question whether Rozee is in the same class as JHF and Butters.

He's on 10 for P.A for mine. 73 and 81/100

Are you doing club by club or bot teams on gameday. I don't understand. Hard for rozee to get votes against pies
I compose data from a series of places, and the data basically assigns the votes. There are always anomalies in the votes, but generally over a season they sort themselves out, as the cream always rises.

Cam see Rozeee really stepping it up this year and becoming one of the best captains

Iim in the process of doing this as arbitrary data was too hard to analyse.

You have your key metrics for defenders as such. My issue is an uncontested mark or disposal across half back is worthless if it's not switching the play to fwd advancement but how to measure?

For example the lace out kick sinn had to Georgie is worth gold.

What was Rozees values for each game.

Rozee got 1 vote and 3 votes.

My system simplifies it to a 3,2,1 or part thereof.

This is my leaderboard at the moment.
20250325_141622.jpg

Last year my system had 7/10 top 10 in the Brownlow (didn't predict Cripps to win it though). Made a cpl changes this year, so will see how I go... If I can beat 7/10 and tip the winner 🤣

Rozee got 1 vote and 3 votes.

My system simplifies it to a 3,2,1 or part thereof.

This is my leaderboard at the moment.
View attachment 2260866

Last year my system had 7/10 top 10 in the Brownlow (didn't predict Cripps to win it though). Made a cpl changes this year, so will see how I go... If I can beat 7/10 and tip the winner 🤣
I reckon in a 15 goal drubbing it will be Collingwood 123

In that game, 7 players received votes.

I probably didn't clarify it, but even though 3,2,1 or part thereof is given, any number of players can get votes.

I.e. in the Collingwood game, McStay got 1.33 votes, Membrey .33.

No player got a perfect 3 votes.

Well there ya go, hes back.

Thought we'd have to wait for the Hawks but it turns out even the bottom teams can muscle him out of the game.
Disgraceful half of captaincy. Defensively atrocious. Not even trying to look like he’s chasing or competing. At least Horne-Francis jogs to the vague area of his opponent. Rozee isn’t even walking there.

Player Watch Pick #5 (2018) - Connor Rozee (AFL Captain)