Picola & District North West 2011 Thread

Well, so far it's been the year we thought we happen. Is it a 4-5 horse race? Can Jerilderie be defeated?

As predicted it looks like the battle for fifth position is on with Yarroweyah, Blighty and even Strathmerton in the race. Not surprised to see Strathmerton finding some form come this time of year as they beat Mathoura and took it up to Jerilderie. What's happening at Blighty? Have they had their best side on the park at all this year? Yarroweyah could be a smoky.

Also what do people think about jerilderie hosting the 2nd semi when they are going to play in it? Doesn;t seem right.

Which players stand out so far for the Pearce? may, bode, marshall, parker, gorman, saunders, sparey, alingham, pearce, oliver, carter.

Well, so far it's been the year we thought we happen. Is it a 4-5 horse race? Can Jerilderie be defeated?

Also what do people think about jerilderie hosting the 2nd semi when they are going to play in it? Doesn;t seem right.

PDFL has not made attempts to change finals venues once announced. I know the KDFL let clubs know they will be hosting a final, but actual venues are juggled to reduce home ground advantage for finals.

This topic comes up every year. We played a home final and had to play finals at our opponents home in the past. I personally would like to see home ground advantage avoided where possible for all Senior games.

As predicted it looks like the battle for fifth position is on with Yarroweyah, Blighty and even Strathmerton in the race. Not surprised to see Strathmerton finding some form come this time of year as they beat Mathoura and took it up to Jerilderie. What's happening at Blighty? Have they had their best side on the park at all this year? Yarroweyah could be a smoky.

Which players stand out so far for the Pearce? may, bode, marshall, parker, gorman, saunders, sparey, alingham, pearce, oliver, carter.

My guess is L.Carter for the Win with M.Sparey & M.Gorman R/UP!! Just think players from jerilderie like Marshell & Sanderson will have votes taken from them & spread across the team as their side is very consistent! But theres a fair chance i could be wrong..........

Totally agree with you regarding Jerilderie... Williams, Marshall, Sanderson etc. are going to all get votes, no clear stand out each week.

With regards to Luke though, I don't reckon your mob has won enough games for him to get the 3's & 2's needed.

I'm tipping Matt Gorman and Andrew May to be the top 2 and it could go either way. Both have won it and had consistent years and clearly poll well.

Totally agree with you regarding Jerilderie... Williams, Marshall, Sanderson etc. are going to all get votes, no clear stand out each week.

With regards to Luke though, I don't reckon your mob has won enough games for him to get the 3's & 2's needed.

I'm tipping Matt Gorman and Andrew May to be the top 2 and it could go either way. Both have won it and had consistent years and clearly poll well.

Yeah true but i think he has been best on ground in all their wins so if he picks up the 3's from those games (12 votes atm) & some 2's & 1's here & there he could be a show! I think 20 odd votes will see the winner home with all sides having atleast 2-3 who could have a look in!!

I like backing the underdog thats why i'm tipping a roughie, anyway goodluck to who ever wins it, it'll be deserved:thumbsu:

I Dont really know Grant that well he kinda started playing when i stopped, but as i understand he's happy playing Magoo's

Magic frog, hows Berrigans injury list. Have they got or getting closer to a full playing list as the next 2 games are tough ones and will shape where they finish, as well as the results of the other games that Mathoura and deni rovers participate in.

I think it's more the unavailability with a couple gone overseas for a while, hopefully have a Big in this week:rolleyes:

It may have already been mentioned & i know that berrigan have the grand final but what are the venues the other finals??

The final venues & Dates
North West
20th Aug Blighty
21st Aug Strathmerton
27th Aug Jerilderie
28th Aug Yarroweyah
SUNDAY 4th Sept Mathoura
SUNDAY 11th Sept BERRIGAN

PICOLA & DISTRICT FOOTBALL NETBALL LEAGUE

PLAYING TIMES FOR FINALS (excepting Grand Final)

Under 14’s
To be on the ground by 9.15am Start 9.20am
Quarters 15 minutes
Time between quarters 3 minutes
Half time 5 minutes
** Time on allowed for stretcher/ambulance

Under 17’s
On the ground as soon as the U14 siren has gone at the completion of the game.
Start 10.45am
Quarters 18 minutes
In between quarters 3 minutes
Half time 5 minutes
** Time on allowed for stretcher/ambulance
** TIME ON & OFF IN THE SECOND HALF ONLY (finals only)

Reserves
On the ground as soon as the U17 siren has gone at the completion of the game.
Start 12.15am
Quarters 18 minutes
In between quarters 3 minutes
Half time 5 minutes
** Time on ONLY allowed for stretcher/ambulance
** TIME ON & OFF IN THE SECOND HALF ONLY (finals only)

Seniors
On ground as soon as Res. end.
Start 2.00pm
20 Min. Qtrs. + Time-on.
¼ time – Up to 3 mins.
½ time – Off ground for 15 mins. only.
¾ time – Up to 5 mins.

would like to hear some info on jerilderie /berrigan match from weekend. looks like jerildrie kicked themselves out of it. any scores kicked close to siren? saints must know how to play jerilderie as theyve beeen close the last couple of meetings

I was told that the scoreboard showed Berrigan had won once the siren went, the boys even sang the song only to be told afterwards that the game was actually a draw! Very stiff, but I’m sure Berrigan will take a fair bit of confidence out of the game regardless. In saying that, I still think Jerilderie are the side to beat and it may not be the worst thing for them to have a close one. I wouldn’t like to be playing them this week…

any truth that the berrigan boys sang the song on the ground?

Well what an interesting last round it will be! 4 of the sides in the top 5 are safe but the fight for 5th is still up for grabs between Blighty & Yarroweyah & both teams are playing sides above them that they haven't beaten this year!

So as we see it Jerilderie will definately have the 1st week of the finals off, Mathoura & Berrigan will definately play in the saturday Qualifying final & Sundays Elimination final will be between Deni & Blighty/Yarroweyah!

Been abit bored so here are some other little notables, 2nd & 3rd can still change positions but only with each other so wont effect any finals game, but the more interesting 1 for mine is that if Deni lose to Yarroweyah & Blighty lose to Berrigan then Deni & Yarroweyah will back it up again the following week at Strathmerton which is basically a home game travel wise for Yarroweyah, But if Deni Lose & Blighty beats Berrigan than unless they are both 1 goal margins Blighty can take 4th & Deni can drop to 5th! Just an interesting thought as 5weeks ago Deni was sitting comfortably in 3rd with a 2 game buffer on 4th!! Will be an interesting final round!

With all that said whats peoples thoughts on who will make it Blighty or Yarroweyah??

Hey Herb or Charles Mac I was talking 2 a deni person 2day & they said that the rovers will be resting a few this week 4 the following weeks final?? If true what's ur opinion? Do u guys think that's the best idea if u lose this week & Yarroweyah get in the 5 u'll have 2 play them again next week at strathy & they'll have their tails up from making it in & could give them some extra confidence running into the finals!!
I personally think out of all the sides that deni is in the hardest position, yes it certainly is a good idea to rest some players this week (if true) & head into the finals fresh but on the other hand sometimes being fresh doesn't mean a thing in the finals if the players cant mentally (& i'm not saying that is the case) take themslves 2 the next level for finals footy?? What are ur boys thoughts on this week & the following?? Cheers

Hey Herb or Charles Mac I was talking 2 a deni person 2day & they said that the rovers will be resting a few this week 4 the following weeks final?? If true what's ur opinion? Do u guys think that's the best idea if u lose this week & Yarroweyah get in the 5 u'll have 2 play them again next week at strathy & they'll have their tails up from making it in & could give them some extra confidence running into the finals!!
I personally think out of all the sides that deni is in the hardest position, yes it certainly is a good idea to rest some players this week (if true) & head into the finals fresh but on the other hand sometimes being fresh doesn't mean a thing in the finals if the players cant mentally (& i'm not saying that is the case) take themslves 2 the next level for finals footy?? What are ur boys thoughts on this week & the following?? Cheers

smooth mover.My opinion is to play your strongest side at this time of the season regarding the circumstances.If well ahead late into the 3rd quarter, then give those selected players rest time for the rest of the match.The next week training should be of ball skill exercises and set plays. No hard running.Their not going to get any fitter at this stage of the season.

That is good to hear Pace, so what is the format or structure? Are they joining the ranking system or will they just be playing against a random opposition league??
Part of the VCFL championship, with the added benefit of playing against 3 neighboroughing leagues for the next 3 years, meaning reduced travel for the first 3 years.
Not sure how the ranking would work, but assume if all 4 leagues enter, then they would occupy the bottom 4 spots on the ranking system, however wouldn't drop in that rank over the 3 year time frame and the ranking of the 4 sides involved confirmed , should other leagues enter the championships ?
eg. if the 20-24 sides to enter the championships, the 4 sides would maintain at worst those rankings. Once the 3 years have past all 4 sides would be ranked on their performances over those 3 years and would be ranked 20 to 24 and would then travel, to move up or maintain rankings as others within the championships do ?
I assume that should leagues currently involved fall out then the ranking would raise ?
This is very much an assumption .:thumbsu:

Part of the VCFL championship, with the added benefit of playing against 3 neighboroughing leagues for the next 3 years, meaning reduced travel for the first 3 years.
Not sure how the ranking would work, but assume if all 4 leagues enter, then they would occupy the bottom 4 spots on the ranking system, however wouldn't drop in that rank over the 3 year time frame and the ranking of the 4 sides involved confirmed , should other leagues enter the championships ?
eg. if the 20-24 sides to enter the championships, the 4 sides would maintain at worst those rankings. Once the 3 years have past all 4 sides would be ranked on their performances over those 3 years and would be ranked 20 to 24 and would then travel, to move up or maintain rankings as others within the championships do ?
I assume that should leagues currently involved fall out then the ranking would raise ?
This is very much an assumption .:thumbsu:

Yeah Pace either way i think its a very good move/push by the PDFL to get involved as from a long layoff from the league having representitive football 1 would think that all of the best players in the comp would want 2 be involved which inturn would bring some very competetive results meaning good publicity for the PDFL as a whole! Bout time & moving in the right direction!! Cheers:thumbsu:

smooth mover.My opinion is to play your strongest side at this time of the season regarding the circumstances.If well ahead late into the 3rd quarter, then give those selected players rest time for the rest of the match.The next week training should be of ball skill exercises and set plays. No hard running.Their not going to get any fitter at this stage of the season.

Yeah my thoughts exactly Stuyd1! There is 2 much 2 lose from this point on & really who wants 2 flirt with form? 1 may think they are doin right by resting players but then u are risking players not being ready to step up 4 finals! Yes u would think that if u were 2 rest players at this time of the year u would just give them the week off training, maybe light pool work as there is no fitness gain! But it was just something i was told 2day & thought it was a very interesting decision 2 be made at this time of the year if true?? Cheers mate:thumbsu:

Another thought Smooth mover, if its true they will rest players for this weeks game, are they overconfident they will account for their opposition this weekend. dangerous stuff....

Can honestly tell you we won’t be ‘resting’ players. We have got a couple of guys with slight niggles and they may not play this week – we are in the finals so why take the risk with those guys? It’s not a case of them just being sore, if they play they may risk further injury. We’ll be fielding our best side from players available and will be looking to win the game. We have lost our last 3 games so we need to have a win going into finals, our last game against Yarroweyah was close so there is no way we will take them lightly. Losing 4 on the trot isn’t good going into the business end of the season!