List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

ok sweet, so very doubtful it would cost us our potential second rounder.

I know absolutely nothing about him.
Yeah he's a hard one to judge, as he's only played 12 games at the top level. But his player profile on the GWS site does sound appealing.

I think we still need a back up key forward. Crameri and Gumbleton gone, surely we need to draft or trade for another cheaply?

Any of the following appeal?
- With the arrival of Pods and the imminet return of Tex, what about Lewis Johnstone or Tom Lynch?
- Mitch Thorp?
- Kepler Bradley? (ducks) - if we got him almost for free, would consider it.
- Jackson Paine? (Heard he had a good season? ... but have little idea.)
Any state league forw
- Levi Casboult?

God I wish we still had Jenkins, ideal back up.

Okay, now somebody with more idea than me, what options are there out there for cheap?

Better option just keep Gumby...

What we'll do...trade Gumby for an ordinary pick and bring in a worse forward...

Net loss...

Correct as it is classified as a compensation pick so cannot use on f/son was my understanding.

i thought the idea was that we would just take him as a regular draft selection, so in theory he could be taken earlier.

I reckon there's a fair chance Jake will play very little footy next year in an attempt to hide him.

Ahhh the List manger on trade radio saying that we only have 1 player from a rookie list still playing for us now, says we don't develop our players enough.... just off the top of my head I can name 3, howlett, hocking, baguley.

Such a Flog

Ahhh the List manger on trade radio saying that we only have 1 player from a rookie list still playing for us now, says we don't develop our players enough.... just off the top of my head I can name 3, howlett, hocking, baguley.

Such a Flog

What about also crameri, delollio and dalgliesh.

delollio was the only one he said we had. He just has no idea

Buddha, Bags, Howlett, Crameri, NLM and Jenkins currently in the system that have come off our rookie list.

Dalgleish soon to make it 7

So apparently we are interested in Shaun Edwards and are vying with Adelaide for him?

I'll be straight and admit I know nothing about him, beyond being indigenous and, apparently, a midfielder/defender.
I think it's like the Billy Longer situation. We are linked but never in contention

yeah that's it, was saying on our list now, Jenkins has left, crammers about to, nlm retired, but still good 3 or 4

Yeah but the general assertion was about us development and drafting with late selections wasn't it?

add all that to PSD selections in Hibberd, Bellchambers and Hardingham, and late ND selections like Kommer, Hooker and Davey and it just becomes utter nonsense

Correct as it is classified as a compensation pick so cannot use on f/son was my understanding.

I reckon the wording was at the end of round 1 "prior to any compensation pick". It being distinguished from the compensation picks for that very reason. That way it still gets downgraded based on any first round compo awarded in 2014.

Edit: official wording of penalty:

EFC will, in 2014, be granted a selection at the end of Round 1 of the National Draft prior to any compensation selections otherwise awarded under the Rules.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-08-27/list-of-charges-against-essendon-and-its-officials

It's quite ambiguous. The way I read it is that if they wanted to call it a compensation selection it would read: "...granted a compensation selection at the end of round 1 and after all compensation selections have been granted..."

Such a Flog

Don't develop our players enough? We don't trade for anyone...something has to give.

Buddha, Bags, Howlett, Crameri, NLM and Jenkins currently in the system that have come off our rookie list.

Dalgleish soon to make it 7
Add to that the talent on other lists developed through our program who couldn't make it onto our list like Jenkins, Campbell and Dickson.

Thing is if you don't mess up draft picks and don't lose alot of players through retirement, then you aren't going to promote a heap of rookies.

He's so silly it's irrelevant what he says.

Am I the only one freaking out a little about Chappy? What's going on....when will paperwork be signed and his an official essendon player?

I may be wrong but wasn't it deemed we weren't allowed to use that pick on father sons?
I thought that if we were outbid this year (for example someone bid their first rounder on Jydon Neagle) then no, we couldnt match it. But if we bid on a F/S player and no other club matched it then all was ok. Given that we were given a first round pick next year, that is all it would take to get a F/S pick, and even than, that's only if another club nominates Long.

Am I the only one freaking out a little about Chappy? What's going on....when will paperwork be signed and his an official essendon player?

Yes

If paperwork wasn't in by the UFA deadline of 2pm last friday, we now have to way until the DFA window opens, which I'm pretty sure is next friday (1/11)

Despite widespread reports, Geelong forward Paul Chapman has not signed with Essendon. Mainstream media outlets are reporting that he has signed a two-year deal to move to the Bombers, but Essendon can confirm that at this stage, this is not the case.

So it's pretty certain he will sign or ... not? I wish it would happen already, so impatient.

I thought that if we were outbid this year (for example someone bid their first rounder on Jydon Neagle) then no, we couldnt match it. But if we bid on a F/S player and no other club matched it then all was ok. Given that we were given a first round pick next year, that is all it would take to get a F/S pick, and even than, that's only if another club nominates Long.

Yeah after reading what Bruno stated above I'd say we are ok next year using it. I just recall at the time there was even a journalist that tweeted Someone we couldn't use it and people on here were a bit worried we would miss out on players.

So apparently Terry Wallet has come out today and said that we don't have the depth or players to make top 8 next year and we'll go backwards significantly. To anyone that actually listened, is there any truth to this?

List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread