Players you thought were going to be guns but ended up being duds...

Ryan Murphy is one of the mosted gifted forwards in the game. He kicked 51 goals in his first WAFL season and looked great whenever he had a shot at the top but just doesn't have the intensity or work rate required to be a consistent AFL performer

One of the most gifted forwards in the comp? c'mon mate i know your a shockers fan but thats just plain crap, i could name 3 or 4 forwards from EACH team who are more talented and have shown more than that clown. IMO guys like him are the reason why your team has done nothing for years, any other team in the comp and he woulda been delisted at the end of last year, possibly earlier. big differance between WAFL and AFL standard aswell

I have a Demon supporting mate (yes they do exist!) who used to put money on Travis Johnstone to win the Brownlow every year without fail.

Trav has cost him a fortune over the years:p:D

Cupido, at pick number 3 or whatever he was, was a huge waste for us.

Danny Roach from the pies comes to mind as well.

One for the doggies fans
Christian Macri - back in like 97/98, awesome at reserve standard, couldn't wait for him to get into the said but never quite made it.

Cortney Johns, believe it or not he had all the attributes....trouble was he just had no footy brain, coupled with chronic hip injuries.

I thought Matthew Banks from Essendon was going to be a gun :D didn't he dominate a game against Collingwood IIRC

Can any bomber supporters remember Julian Kirzner? Was an absoloute freakish mark but only played 1 game and disappeared.

I thought he was going to be great!!!

Not sure but i reckon he would have been one of the only jew's to play senior AFL football? AJAX boy, hugely talented.

anyone remember anthony tranquilli who played for collingwood?

i think his first name was anthony. he cut us up in one game in 1994 and thats all i remember

honourable mentions for WCE

Travis Gaspar- injury prone though
andrew McDougall as someone mentioned b4
Shane bond
Micheal Gardiner- after 2003 it looked like he was going to be a champion...until he...well do i really have to explain
Ian Downsbourah

Cant recall his name but the Collingwood player who won the ANZAC medal in his first few games then ended up at St. Kilda. He is/was a wet weather specialist.

The guy who suggests that Hawkins and Leuengberger have ended and are duds is utterly clueless.

A guy who does somewhat fit the description is Fiona. I know he's still playing but I remember about 7 years ago, Gary Lyon said that he was a future star, he still plays, but nowhere near his potential he had. Plus he was a number three draft pick, you expect goods from that. :(

Thought Chris Hall was gonna be a gun. I remember the first time I saw him at Port training when he was rookied, I thought it was the second coming of Roger James. Big well built body, could hoof the ball 55+, great inside ability and was a regular 20+ disposal a game midfielder in the SANFL for South Adelaide as a 19 year old. Whilst he stayed that consistent 20+ disposal SANFL player, he never really got much of a go in a super Port midfield that was in the top couple in the AFL at the time. Only played 3 games with minimal impact and suffered some injury issues. Now playing for Subi I think.

Another vote for Bowen as well. I was sold when I saw him pull down a contested mark in the goalsquare against 3 opponents in the first ever Power game at Alberton against Richmond. Was my favourite player. Kicked 4 goals in his 2nd AFL game. Played some great games but suffered some injuries and couldnt get a regular run of games going. Then he ****ed his back and it was pretty much career over. Still managed 40 goals for Centrals in 01 after his back injury. As has been mentioned, he cant sit down for any length of time without being in pain. I remember seeing an interview with him and he said when he goes to the movies he has to bring a pillow and lay on the floor in the front row because he cant sit down for that long.

The guy who suggests that Hawkins and Leuengberger have ended and are duds is utterly clueless.

A guy who does somewhat fit the description is Fiona. I know he's still playing but I remember about 7 years ago, Gary Lyon said that he was a future star, he still plays, but nowhere near his potential he had. Plus he was a number three draft pick, you expect goods from that. :(

Fiona has been delisted

Players you thought were going to be guns but ended up being duds...