News Port Adelaide have applied to join the VFL by 2025

A national reserves comp will be third tier footy at best. The AFL will tell you it’s second tier and the sheep will believe them but a colts comp has always been levels below men’s footy. AFL reserves are basically kids still learning. That doesn’t change calling it a national reserves comp. Good seasoned men footballers won’t leave the WAFL and SANFL to play for clubs who do t care about winning a flag unless you are paying them full time football salary’s.

But that's perfectly fine.

The clubs want full control over development. They will get that with the NRC (National Reserves Comp) even if it means topping up the list with kids and also rans.

I could see playing coaches becoming a thing.

Guys like Selwood, Betts & JRoo could be paid a coaches wage with a small match fee to get out on the park with the kids from time to time. Basically what North did for Lunch or Port with Goldsack.

That also saves a list spot.

And if you can get a couple of half decent kids playing games it ups the attraction.

Imagine the hype if you get Harley Reid playing a game for Port and Colby McKertcher for the Crows, in the reserves curtain raiser before the Showdown.

Come and see a couple of the best kids in the land and how they stack up to AFL level players.

I know that happens already but it adds to the marketing of these games as matinees before the AFL main event.

Honestly, the only worry I have is that it means we lose the NSW+Q+VFL/SANFL/WAFL from free to air.

If the AFL can work out that deal, help keep the genuine state leagues going as a pathway for talent and an advertisement for the sport, then a NRC makes all the sense in the world.

But that's perfectly fine.

The clubs want full control over development. They will get that with the NRC (National Reserves Comp) even if it means topping up the list with kids and also rans.

I could see playing coaches becoming a thing.

Guys like Selwood, Betts & JRoo could be paid a coaches wage with a small match fee to get out on the park with the kids from time to time. Basically what North did for Lunch or Port with Goldsack.

That also saves a list spot.

And if you can get a couple of half decent kids playing games it ups the attraction.

Imagine the hype if you get Harley Reid playing a game for Port and Colby McKertcher for the Crows, in the reserves curtain raiser before the Showdown.

Come and see a couple of the best kids in the land and how they stack up to AFL level players.

I know that happens already but it adds to the marketing of these games as matinees before the AFL main event.

Honestly, the only worry I have is that it means we lose the NSW+Q+VFL/SANFL/WAFL from free to air.

If the AFL can work out that deal, help keep the genuine state leagues going as a pathway for talent and an advertisement for the sport, then a NRC makes all the sense in the world.

Yep that’s all good, just don’t call something second tier when it won’t be.
As for FTA coverage for the WAFL well they will have no issue getting channel 9 or 10 doing it.

They have more tricks than an STH African scam to try for a hand out
As relevant as a handful of breadcrumbs those idiots are.

At least the AFC had the guts to start from scratch. Us Victorians mildly see that as head nods of approval that barely registerer but nevertheless mean more than PA’s fantasy entities..

Honestly what is the point of even having a main board when people like this Shane Heard ****wit just use it for the most blatant of uncreative Bay 13 level trolling anyway? This place has gone to shit.

I take issue with that statement as any member or supporter of a stand alone VFA club would.

You might not care about the VFL beyond the stats of your second stringers, but it means something to us.
Ok sorry

I meant any AFL reserves side don’t care about winning

Therefore Collingwood should not care that Port Adelaide enter the VFL as the Magpies and black and white prison bar jumpers.

Port Melbourne though might not be happy with another Port in town…. But na don’t think they be so petty aboutit, it’s just an Eddie thing…

This idea that Port somehow "lose" their SANFL history just because they move on from it is wierd.

Our SANFL record always be a proud part of our history. As will be the fact that we are the only club based side to elevate out of a non Vic league.

And now we can 100% focus on creating more history in the National league.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
You can never lose your history, but it can be forgotten or irrelevant in time. Just like the VFA Premierships won by AFL teams.

Without looking it up, how many Premierships did South Melbourne win in the VFA? I don’t know…

How are they disadvantaged?

The 2014 SANFL/AFL agreement is a complex arrangement but basically the SANFL has drawn up a set of rules that are supposed to guard against the prospect of the two AFL Clubs dominating the SANFL. There are a range of restrictions including the number of non AFL players the two AFL clubs can recruit to supplement their AFL lists in the SANFL, a qualification on players eligibility to play in the SANFL finals. The other eight SANFL clubs have few restrictions other than a salary cap. The AFL clubs are not permitted under age sides in the SANFL U19 competition and as a consequence they have lost the ability to bring juniors up through the ranks within the club. Father & son prospects such as Jackson Mead, Jase Burgoyne and several others play their junior football for opposition SANFL clubs prior to being drafted.

As posted the issue is complex and only someone supporting an AFL club in SA would appreciate the difficulty. I am sure that Port would love to establish and arrangement like Fremantle have with Peel Thunder in the WAFL but the SANFL rules will not allow it. I have no idea what the relationship between the WAFL and WCE and Freo is like but in South Australia there has always been resentment between Port Adelaide and the SANFL. A lot of this stems from Port's initial bid to join the AFL which was blocked by the other nine SANFL clubs. Prior to 2014 Port's AFL licence was owned by the SANFL and part of the deal for the SANFL to cede the Port Adelaide AFL licence to Port, where it should have always been, was for Port to agree to a range of conditions which inhibited the Club's ability to be competitive in the State league.

Port Adelaide and Adelaide joining the VFL may not be a panacea but at least all AFL clubs fielding sides in the VFL will do so on an equal footing.

One thing I loved about living in Adelaide was the port crows rivalry. It felt like you were living in a bubble. I actually enjoyed the talk back radio and hatred and the passion. Going to the pub pre game then catching a shuttle bus to dingy old west lakes. Get full, get abused by a port fan even though I was following them I think the SANFL has enough fans to survive and potentially flourish. And the SA team supporters will follow their respective reserves teams. But I could see crowds being average itll be like heaven to recruiter's though

The 2014 SANFL/AFL agreement is a complex arrangement but basically the SANFL has drawn up a set of rules that are supposed to guard against the prospect of the two AFL Clubs dominating the SANFL. There are a range of restrictions including the number of non AFL players the two AFL clubs can recruit to supplement their AFL lists in the SANFL, a qualification on players eligibility to play in the SANFL finals. The other eight SANFL clubs have few restrictions other than a salary cap.
SANFL clubs each have a metro and country zone that they manage, as they are responsible for the pathways - it's been this way forever. (Not the same model as used with the TAC in Vic). Boundaries are tweaked on a regular basis so that each SANFL club has an even pool of junior players to pick from, and have to pay transfer fees to get players from outside their zone. So, it's not just the salary cap restrictions that the SANFL club has, but also a restricted talent pool. Crows have never had a zone and Port gave up their zone when the Mapgies became the Power Reserves, as there would be no point having SANFL league players wating time in the SANFL reserves because their position was filled by an AFL player.

The AFL clubs are not permitted under age sides in the SANFL U19 competition and as a consequence they have lost the ability to bring juniors up through the ranks within the club. Father & son prospects such as Jackson Mead, Jase Burgoyne and several others play their junior football for opposition SANFL clubs prior to being drafted.
No AFL club anywhere can bring up juniors through the ranks. VIC clubs don't have underage sides either. Father/son and NGA players can now play with their Port/Crows club rather than their SANFL club, this was changed for the 2024 season.

Equal footing - that's exactly what the SANFL clubs want for their league, but it's impossible when you have two teams with a virtually unlimited salary cap and different recruitment rules.
Port Adelaide and Adelaide joining the VFL may not be a panacea but at least all AFL clubs fielding sides in the VFL will do so on an equal footing.
Equal footing - that's exactly what the SANFL clubs want for their league, but it's impossible when you have two teams with a virtually unlimited salary cap and different recruitment rules.

If Port Adelaide and Adelaide join the VFL then maybe Port Melbourne and Williamstown should join the SANFL?

Port Melbourne threatened to join the SANFL in 2009 if they were going to be "forced" into an alignment with an AFL club.

The silly suggestion (that every VFL standalone club be forced into an alignment) was dropped and Port have remained standalone since.

Honestly what is the point of even having a main board when people like this Shane Heard ****wit just use it for the most blatant of uncreative Bay 13 level trolling anyway? This place has gone to s**t.
I always picture those fentanyl junkies in America when ever he posts.

Port Melbourne threatened to join the SANFL in 2009 if they were going to be "forced" into an alignment with an AFL club.

The silly suggestion (the every VFL standalone club be forced into an alignment) was dropped and Port have remained standalone since.
I'm not sure we'll let them use the word Port if we join the VFL.

The 2014 SANFL/AFL agreement is a complex arrangement but basically the SANFL has drawn up a set of rules that are supposed to guard against the prospect of the two AFL Clubs dominating the SANFL. There are a range of restrictions including the number of non AFL players the two AFL clubs can recruit to supplement their AFL lists in the SANFL, a qualification on players eligibility to play in the SANFL finals. The other eight SANFL clubs have few restrictions other than a salary cap. The AFL clubs are not permitted under age sides in the SANFL U19 competition and as a consequence they have lost the ability to bring juniors up through the ranks within the club. Father & son prospects such as Jackson Mead, Jase Burgoyne and several others play their junior football for opposition SANFL clubs prior to being drafted.

As posted the issue is complex and only someone supporting an AFL club in SA would appreciate the difficulty. I am sure that Port would love to establish and arrangement like Fremantle have with Peel Thunder in the WAFL but the SANFL rules will not allow it. I have no idea what the relationship between the WAFL and WCE and Freo is like but in South Australia there has always been resentment between Port Adelaide and the SANFL. A lot of this stems from Port's initial bid to join the AFL which was blocked by the other nine SANFL clubs. Prior to 2014 Port's AFL licence was owned by the SANFL and part of the deal for the SANFL to cede the Port Adelaide AFL licence to Port, where it should have always been, was for Port to agree to a range of conditions which inhibited the Club's ability to be competitive in the State league.

None of the restrictions are unreasonable. The Eagles have the same issues here, they want to have AFL listed players, plus the same full salary cap that the WAFL clubs have. It's almost like their brain is not working when they think this. It is insanity to want that. And restrictions on who can play finals is another thing that they complain about. Can you imagine not having some rules, they could end up throwing in a Jeremy Mcgovern for a final as he needs a hit out.

This is why maybe it is best they all play in the same comp because they can stuff around without rules all they like and no one cares because it won't be a real comp with 18 sides dying to win it. It's just a place to do some match simulation for the kiddies.

Surely the SANFL (and WAFL too I guess) diehards would want the AFL teams out. They're always bleating about how it's unfair to play against a team packed with AFL listed players with different salary caps. SANFL would consist only of teams with the same recruitment/list/cap rules, achieving parity, and Port and Adelaide would be able to play in an equally uniform reserves comp. How this is a big deal is beyond me. It works best for everyone. The only explanation is that these types live and breathe victimhood and tall-poppy so much they can't imagine their league Adelaide and Port. Gotta have someone to moan about - either hating the presence of these teams or if they pack their bags hate them for some perceived 'betrayal'.

Port left the SANFL behind as its primary endeavor in the 90s. The continued existence of a Port team in the league, pre- or post-2014, has been a zombie existence compared to our full fledged participation pre-1996. It should never have happened.

Would it be equal?
Maybe evener but I doubt equal.
  • SA teams would heve to travel more given the uneven number of east coast teams.
  • Who would pay for the additional costs?
    • If the AFL the East Coast clubs may not like it.
    • If it was the clubs could Port afford it? (I only highlight them because they receive more AFL funding, ~$16M, than Adelaide, Fremantle and West Coast at ~11M).
  • Would club list sizes have to increase? Current maximum of 44 players allows for no injuries.
  • If not list size increase where would top up players come from and would the AFL or clubs pay?

None of the restrictions are unreasonable. The Eagles have the same issues here, they want to have AFL listed players, plus the same full salary cap that the WAFL clubs have. It's almost like their brain is not working when they think this. It is insanity to want that. And restrictions on who can play finals is another thing that they complain about. Can you imagine not having some rules, they could end up throwing in a Jeremy Mcgovern for a final as he needs a hit out.

This is why maybe it is best they all play in the same comp because they can stuff around without rules all they like and no one cares because it won't be a real comp with 18 sides dying to win it. It's just a place to do some match simulation for the kiddies.

Provided the rules are the same for everyone but the issue is they are not. There was a Port Adelaide SANFL game v North Adelaide in 2022 when Port fielded a side with just 6 AFL listed players in it and had only four players over 23 years of age. On that day the Port SANFL side consisted mainly of top up players from the Academy. Under the current arrangement Port and Adelaide are allowed one non AFL listed senior player. I would not object to the current rules if the same rules applied to all sides competing in the SANFL competition but they do not.

I would not under sell the VFL as a feeder league. This year Port traded in Jordan Sweet mainly on the basis of what he had done in the VFL. Last year it was Francis Evans and Quinton Narkle both from Geelong and I am pretty sure other clubs would have had similar pick ups.

In any case what I think has no bearing on the outcome, what is important is that Port Adelaide see value in changing to the VFL and obviously both the AFL and the VFL think the application is worth considering. We await developments but you can rest assured that if Port's application is successful both Adelaide and West Coast will not be far behind us. I reckon both these clubs will be looking on with interest.

Once Port are allowed into the VFL, Dillion and his mob will ratify a AFL reserve league with only the existing AFL clubs.

Can't see the current VFL being sustainable once the other AFL teams start wanting to join and it would make sense having the AFL reserve and Seniors using the same fixture to cut down the cost of travel expenses with the exception of a Tassie team before their entry to the AFL.

Where's it leave the VFL? Back to being a proper state league for Victoria without the conflicted interest of the AFL clubs...ditto SANFL and WAFL.

Southport? Back to the QFL.

Setup a yearly carnival to determine the best league akin to State of Origin as their fixtures don't revolve around AFL team needs.

State leagues needs to go back to being the second tier of football in this country and leave the AFL reserves as the development league for AFL teams.

Would it be equal?
Maybe evener but I doubt equal.
  • SA teams would heve to travel more given the uneven number of east coast teams.
  • Who would pay for the additional costs?
    • If the AFL the East Coast clubs may not like it.
    • If it was the clubs could Port afford it? (I only highlight them because they receive more AFL funding, ~$16M, than Adelaide, Fremantle and West Coast at ~11M).
  • Would club list sizes have to increase? Current maximum of 44 players allows for no injuries.
  • If not list size increase where would top up players come from and would the AFL or clubs pay?

Interesting questions as I think the point of the exercise may be to force the AFL's hand informing a national Reserves competition, something they have been hinting at for several years. Under such a format the AFL Reserves grade is played as a curtain raiser to the AFL with players flying interstate on the same charter flight. In a couple of years a Tasmania side will come in and that will result in 19 AFL clubs along with 6 stand alone VFL clubs. That is too many for a single competition so there will have to be some big decisions made. This is provided the Port Adelaide application is successful which is by no means a given.

Provided the rules are the same for everyone but the issue is they are not. There was a Port Adelaide SANFL game v North Adelaide in 2022 when Port fielded a side with just 6 AFL listed players in it and had only four players over 23 years of age. On that day the Port SANFL side consisted mainly of top up players from the Academy. Under the current arrangement Port and Adelaide are allowed one non AFL listed senior player. I would not object to the current rules if the same rules applied to all sides competing in the SANFL competition but they do not.

I would not under sell the VFL as a feeder league. This year Port traded in Jordan Sweet mainly on the basis of what he had done in the VFL. Last year it was Francis Evans and Quinton Narkle both from Geelong and I am pretty sure other clubs would have had similar pick ups.

In any case what I think has no bearing on the outcome, what is important is that Port Adelaide see value in changing to the VFL and obviously both the AFL and the VFL think the application is worth considering. We await developments but you can rest assured that if Port's application is successful both Adelaide and West Coast will not be far behind us. I reckon both these clubs will be looking on with interest.

The rules can't ever be the same for everyone as the WAFL and SDANFL clubs don't have access to play AFL listed players in their sides. Why is this difficult to understand?
The WAFL and SANFL had a couple of mature players traded in as well, so what? The reality is the VFL is a kiddies training centre and if the Power, Crows, Eagles and Dockers want to go play there then thats fine. It will still be a kiddies training centre.

News Port Adelaide have applied to join the VFL by 2025