Port Adelaide is a failed concept.

Also, when Port fold, will they keep their team board on BigFooty, like Fitzroy do. Which I dont quite understand because there was very little internet use when they folded.

• Fitzroy Football Club still exist in their own right and field five teams in 2010
  • Fitzroy Football Club had 100 years of competition in the VFL-AFL
  • Fitzroy supporters and members both now and from their time in the AFL support a variety of other teams both in and out of the AFL.
  • Fitzroy Football Club still make national news...such as the legal stoush with the Brisbane Lions over their logo. Examples here, here and here

Fitzroy also didn't have a parasitic licence owner taking money from the club in order to run a state competition. Port makes plenty of money, but unfortunately for the club the SANFL takes millions before they can get their hands on it. It's a bad set-up for us because it means that we have less money for coaches/facilities/admin etc,
What a load of crap,your daddy Whicker keeps giving you money,old man scott built your admin and training facilities hand out after hand out but then you are the social security capital of the world

You knew what it was going to be like yet you still wanted in cause you were and still are jealous of the mighty Crows,Adelaides original AFL side.

Another reason Port Adelaide is a failed concept is they thrive on excuses. We're shit in the AFL because of our team in the SANFL, we're shit in the SANFL because of our team in the AFL, we were shit against Richmond because the ground was wet, it's the same song Port supporters have been singing long before Port Power existed and it's the same song they're singing today. I love the excuse "we don't have money for the AFL because it was being siphoned to the SANFL". It's time to grow a pair PAFC. Either move on and focus on the AFL by shutting down your SANFL establishment, or if you can't handle the AFL heat, get the f*** out of the AFL kitchen.

I don't think you actually understand the situation. We don't give our AFL revenue to "our team in the SANFL"....the SANFL (who owns the AFL licences for the Crows and Port) takes millions of dollars generated by both AFL clubs and use it to fund the SANFL competition. So we aren't giving our money to the Port Magpies, the SANFL take it and then give it to the 9 SANFL clubs.

The equivalent would be the VFL taking millions from Collingwood and then giving it to Werribee, Frankston, Sandringham, Box Hill etc.

And we were shit against Richmond because we were shit! No excuses for that one! :thumbsu:

What a load of crap,your daddy Whicker keeps giving you money,old man scott built your admin and training facilities hand out after hand out but then you are the social security capital of the world

You knew what it was going to be like yet you still wanted in cause you were and still are jealous of the mighty Crows,Adelaides original AFL side.

Money that was originally earned by Port Adelaide in the first place!

You're special aren't you.

I don't think you actually understand the situation. We don't give our AFL revenue to "our team in the SANFL"....the SANFL (who owns the AFL licences for the Crows and Port) takes millions of dollars generated by both AFL clubs and use it to fund the SANFL competition. So we aren't giving our money to the Port Magpies, the SANFL take it and then give it to the 9 SANFL clubs.

The equivalent would be the VFL taking millions from Collingwood and then giving it to Werribee, Frankston, Sandringham, Box Hill etc.

And we were shit against Richmond because we were shit! No excuses for that one! :thumbsu:

They do but it goes to the struggling sides of the AFL and thats why some sides have survived.Yet these same sides moan and groan cause their daddy [Collingwood] keeps getting all the blockbusters.

Almost as funny as port power supporters complaining about their daddy the SANFL

No, but we did have an effective war being waged against us by the AFL, and Ross Oakley, Graeme Samuel & Ian Collins in particular, for over a decade before we finally succumbed. Apart from there being far less money redistributed to clubs by the League at that time of course - nowhere near the level of funding clubs take for granted now.

It seems like Port have a fair amount of adversity to contend with right now as far as ability to generate revenue goes, but consider yourselves lucky that you don't have to deal with the sort of stuff we had to overcome all the time during that period.

Here's a catalogue of the many atrocities by the AFL against the Roys over this time (thanks to the excellent work of Roylion in compiling this information).

I wasn't having a go at Fitzroy, I was just pointing out that the situations are completely different. That list was very interesting reading by the way, I didn't know half of that!

You are quite correct in saying that the AFL doesn't (and probably never will) have Port Adelaide in it's sights the way it did with Fitzroy. Shame really considering that you guys were reasonably successful and one of the original VFL clubs.

• Fitzroy Football Club still exist in their own right and field five teams in 2010
  • Fitzroy Football Club had 100 years of competition in the VFL-AFL
  • Fitzroy supporters and members both now and from their time in the AFL support a variety of other teams both in and out of the AFL.
  • Fitzroy Football Club still make national news...such as the legal stoush with the Brisbane Lions over their logo. Examples here, here and here

Timely post there Comrade! :thumbsu:

And yes, we most certainly never "folded", nor ever will. Although sadly, myths to the contrary continue to propagate.

Fitzroy FC continue to play at our traditional home of Brunswick Oval, and the club organisation is exactly the same as it always has been. We're progressing well both on and off the field. Our membership is well and truly growing again - from 1800 up to over 2000, and continuing to rise.

And as far as the logo issue goes, hopefully the moral right of our position in this battle will be reflected in the legal outcome, as it should be, since the legal basis of our stance is clear and without room for ambiguity. We're confident we will prevail there.

The overall point is that Fitzroy FC is alive and thriving!

http://www.fitzroyfc.com.au

They do but it goes to the struggling sides of the AFL and thats why some sides have survived.Yet these same sides moan and groan cause their daddy [Collingwood] keeps getting all the blockbusters.

Almost as funny as port power supporters complaining about their daddy the SANFL

What part of "money that was originally earned by Port Adelaide in the first place" don't you understand?

If we didn't generate millions of dollars a year for the SANFL they wouldn't have it to give back to us!

Special.

I wasn't having a go at Fitzroy, I was just pointing out that the situations are completely different. That list was very interesting reading by the way, I didn't know half of that!

You are quite correct in saying that the AFL doesn't (and probably never will) have Port Adelaide in it's sights the way it did with Fitzroy. Shame really considering that you guys were reasonably successful and one of the original VFL clubs.

Yeah, I thought you'd be interested to hear about this story mate. The full depth of what was done to us and the real circumstances of our downfall in the AFL aren't known or understood anywhere near widely enough - nor are the facts of our continued operation as a club - so myself, Roylion and others often take the opportunity to circulate the info around when it's reasonably relevant and appropriate to do that.

Hopefully no other club will ever again be cynically whiteanted the way we were...

Yeah, I thought you'd be interested to hear about this story mate. The full depth of what was done to us and the real circumstances of our downfall in the AFL aren't known or understood anywhere near widely enough - nor are the facts of our continued operation as a club - so myself, Roylion and others often take the opportunity to circulate the info around when it's reasonably relevant and appropriate to do that.

Hopefully no other club will ever again be cynically whiteanted the way we were...

Not the first I've read that list but seriously makes me sick everytime I do - absolutely disgusting to see how the AFL treated Fitzroy.

You would hope not but I think the AFL masterplan would still require one more Vic team to bite the dust. If Tassie is ever going to get a team it will be at the expense of another, either through relocation, merger or just outright closure. I reckon the AFL likes the idea of a balanced competition with 9 Vic clubs and 9 Interstate clubs.

The AFL will not run a 19 team competition long term, so it's happening whether people like it or not. Unfortunately I think the Kangaroos are an endangered species...

What part of "money that was originally earned by Port Adelaide in the first place" don't you understand?

If we didn't generate millions of dollars a year for the SANFL they wouldn't have it to give back to us!

Special.

Whats special is your high opinion of yourselves.How could you generate Millions of Dollars every time you play you and your daddy run at a loss.

So i would say that you get more back from your daddy than what you put in so not only are the mighty Adelaide Crows pumping up 9 SANFL clubs we are pumping you flogs

NOW THATS SPECIAL

ugh this thread has been derailed into a crows-port shitfight..

Great work though Dennis, the OP makes too much sense for the bay, could just about give it a run on the main board :thumbsu:

Let me take you on a journey.

It is a story that begins with a humble state football league deciding to go national.

In 1982, this league moved a club from Melbourne to Sydney and created a successful franchise. It not only had existing Melbourne based supporters, but Australia's largest city all felt they could embrace the club. No matter if you are from Asquith or Cabramatta...Sydney would be their club

The league, excited by this successful new market moved into WA and QLD in 1987 with the West Coast Eagles and the Brisbane Lions. Again, the beauty of the names were that anyone could feel associated with these clubs if you lived basically anywhere in WA or in Brisbane.

Adelaide and Fremantle also joined, with the same new supporter bases as the above, based on the same premis that the new club must have the pargest possible reach for supporters and corporate support.

Then the league screwed up.

Rather than building a new club, and branding it with a name that all from the region could potentially follow, it chose to allow the nations biggest bogan brand into its competition.

So tell me Sherlock, what name 'for all from the region could potentially follow' should have been chosen given that Adelaide pretty much covers the entire state?

Yes, Port had a following and a history with another league. Surely they could pick all that up and replicate it in the national League

Absolutetely correct asumption and the only logical choice

First they stripped the club of their traditional colours, logo and theme song. Then they made them play on the other side of town from its supporter base where public transport can't ferry the dole bludgers to. then they came up with the soleless name of the Power and game them the blandest colours in the game.

WRONG!!!

To try and get some spirit into the club, they even loaned them the Big V guernsey in 2010 to see if Mr Football could get themup and about.

Pathetic cheap shot

What does it all now mean, since that fateful first season in 1997 for the Power?

FAIL

1 Premiership, 2 Grand Final Appearances, 3 Minor Premierships. If that is a FAIL then how the f**k do you describe what Carlton, Richmond, Melbourne ect have done since we joined?

No growth prospects unless they sign up every new person who moves into the Port Adelaide municipality. no one even wants them for their second club as they represent filthy people in a filthy area

We dont want people wanting us for their second club. If you do not support Port Adelaide then hate us. We are happy to be hated because it probably means we are doing better than the club the person who hates us barracks for. Answer this question, since day 1 we have had people (especially Crows supporters) trying to tell us we are not the real Port Adelaide but for some reason they still harboured a deep hatred for us. Why did they hate us so much? Its because they knew deep down inside we did simply move into the AFL and was the same club that on a regullar basis crushed their foolish dreams in the SANFL. But I digress

To make matters worse, the club heading for a $4m trading loss, the clubs major sponsor doesnt want the coach, the coach doesnt want the captain, the club hires a failed assistant coach, wastes draft picks on Shultz and tolerates the behaviour of Motlop

Unless you have read the information regarding the totally life sapping, dollar stealing stadium deal we have to endure, then please dont comment on the trading losses. Give us the same deal as say Brisbane and we would be very comfortable. I agree with the Motlop comment.

It's time to kill off this cancer in the league

Just a cheap insult from a person that supports one of the filthiest dealing clubs in the league

GC17 will work as the whole region will feel part of it. GWS will also work.

GC17 will work because the AFL will guarantee it works. The only reason the GC17 and West Sydney are coming in is to win more of the rugby and soccer market. You know it and everybody else knows is so dont use this as part of your pathetic Troll on my football club

Port Adelaide is a failed concept. Back to your state league...filth

Port Adelaide has had onfield success that alot of other clubs could only dream of. I am not afraid to admit though, when we lose, we lose badly alot.

In terms of the financial turmoil we face, that can be fixed by getting a better stadium deal, a change of coach and natural improvement in the playing group leading to more onfield success.

Whats special is your high opinion of yourselves.How could you generate Millions of Dollars every time you play you and your daddy run at a loss.

So i would say that you get more back from your daddy than what you put in so not only are the mighty Adelaide Crows pumping up 9 SANFL clubs we are pumping you flogs

NOW THATS SPECIAL

What is unbelievable about your special position is that the Crows are in the exact same situation as Port Adelaide. Despite having the 2nd highest membership figures in the league, the Crows are ranked 15th in terms of stadium yield. Where does all this money go? That's right, the SANFL. You are $8 million behind the AFL average for stadium yield. And Port Adelaide are in the same f***ed up boat.

I never said that we make millions of dollars each game, but over the course of last season we generated $31.85 million in revenue. From memory we gave around $11 million to the SANFL last year through the sub-licence fee and the stadium deal. We ended up getting $3.5 million of our own money back.

See how it works?

So stop blindly throwing s*** at Port Adelaide and actually look at the facts. The Crows will be in the red this year despite having more members than anyone except for Hawthorn and their pet memberships. Every time you think this is strange remember that Port Adelaide has the exact same deal as you. :thumbsu:

you port fans are so stupid, Dennis never said you weren't successful on the field. Its the off-field stuff that is becoming unsustainable.

Even after a flag and a grand final appearance along with 3 minor premierships, the port fan base did not expand. You were 5-2 early this year, and still failed to draw a respectable crowd.

Port on field = successful
Port off field = disaster

you port fans are so stupid, Dennis never said you weren't successful on the field. Its the off-field stuff that is becoming unsustainable.

Even after a flag and a grand final appearance along with 3 minor premierships, the port fan base did not expand. You were 5-2 early this year, and still failed to draw a respectable crowd.

Port on field = successful
Port off field = disaster

Still upset about 2004 I see! ;)

thats probably the 367th deflection from a port fan on this thread. You guys have no rebuttal to the fact you are an embarrassment to the league and will fold within 10 years.

Remember your recruiting officer last year in trade week stating that he couldnt get any trades done because "no-one wants to play for Port Adelaide"?

Port Adelaide has had onfield success that alot of other clubs could only dream of. I am not afraid to admit though, when we lose, we lose badly alot.

In terms of the financial turmoil we face, that can be fixed by getting a better stadium deal, a change of coach and natural improvement in the playing group leading to more onfield success.

You can't afford a new coach that's why w***er willy is still there cause the price was right

thats probably the 367th deflection from a port fan on this thread. You guys have no rebuttal to the fact you are an embarrassment to the league and will fold within 10 years.

Remember your recruiting officer last year in trade week stating that he couldnt get any trades done because "no-one wants to play for Port Adelaide"?

What's with a saints supporter giving shit Jesus you are just as bad as them

How's Luke Ball and Andy Lovett going you have more Crims than port horrible club should have been made to fold years ago

What is unbelievable about your special position is that the Crows are in the exact same situation as Port Adelaide. Despite having the 2nd highest membership figures in the league, the Crows are ranked 15th in terms of stadium yield. Where does all this money go? That's right, the SANFL. You are $8 million behind the AFL average for stadium yield. And Port Adelaide are in the same f***ed up boat.

So stop blindly throwing s*** at Port Adelaide and actually look at the facts. The Crows will be in the red this year :

So what you are saying is we will be in the red because you are a $$$ drain on the system

Sounds fair

What's with a saints supporter giving shit Jesus you are just as bad as them

How's Luke Ball and Andy Lovett going you have more Crims than port horrible club should have been made to fold years ago

are you a port alias in disguise. Jesus, people from Adelaide in general are so dumb, what does this have to do with criminals? the bottom line is Port can NOT provide a fan base that is able to sustain an AFL club. Their attendances are poor, no one wants to play for them, and no one wants to support them.

Someone said earlier it would be like collingwood joining a national league without the other victorian teams, and expecting us all to support them. They were the collingwood of the SANFL, and getting "new" supporters is near impossible for them. Kick them out of the league and let the Gold Coast take their place.

Everyone needs to calm down and stop being so alarmist. We have over 30,000 members and whilst our average crowds are currently in the 20's, they will shoot up to the 30's as soon as we stop dishing up rubbish football. We got over 30,000 to the Carlton game in round 8 when it looked like the club had finally turned the corner but unfortunately it's all gone 2009 on us. We are currently in the worst phase of our AFL history in terms of on-field performance, so that is obviously going to translate into lower crowds. Anyone that thinks they're club is immune to crowd drop-offs when their team is going crap is just simply deluded. Even the mighty camry crows...who claim to have more followers than jesus...only got 31,000 to the richmand and brisbane games. Was St. Kilda attracting the crowds it is now when it was busy winning 26 spoons?

And no-one from the PAFC said "no-one wants to play for Port Adelaide", it was player manager Paul Connors. And if he actually meant "no-one wants to play for Mark Williams" then he's probably not that far off the mark. But that's a whole different issue!

Everyone needs to calm down and stop being so alarmist. We have over 30,000 members and whilst our average crowds are currently in the 20's, they will shoot up to the 30's as soon as we stop dishing up rubbish football. We got over 30,000 to the Carlton game in round 8 when it looked like the club had finally turned the corner but unfortunately it's all gone 2009 on us. We are currently in the worst phase of our AFL history in terms of on-field performance, so that is obviously going to translate into lower crowds. Anyone that thinks they're club is immune to crowd drop-offs when their team is going crap is just simply deluded. Even the mighty camry crows...who claim to have more followers than jesus...only got 31,000 to the richmand and brisbane games. Was St. Kilda attracting the crowds it is now when it was busy winning 26 spoons?

And no-one from the PAFC said "no-one wants to play for Port Adelaide", it was player manager Paul Connors. And if he actually meant "no-one wants to play for Mark Williams" then he's probably not that far off the mark. But that's a whole different issue!

Considering 25 of them were won before the AFL was formed, its quite irrelevant. When we won the spoon in 2000 we got 26,000 through the gates on average. Port are mid-table this year and are getting 24,000.

I don't really see how spoons are relevant at all anyway, port aren't doing terribly this year, they've been mediocre yes, but how can that be used as an excuse for such poor support?

Port Adelaide is a failed concept.