Port and Free Agency (2012)

To match or not to match our RFAs

Collingwood is interested in russell....

So a team that has match winners on every line wants russell, yet we dont want him.???? :rolleyes:
Their administration has changed.

Collingwood is interested in russell....

So a team that has match winners on every line wants russell, yet we dont want him.???? :rolleyes:

Don't worry, Port are surely keen on Russell. If we keep to form, Collingwood will beat us to the punch.

I heard rumours some time ago that Rohde had been openly deriding our players [I'm sure I'm on record saying that some time ago] and that during this process Cripps and Rohde haven't been able to remain impartial and are merely removing the players who have stood up to their Draconian and improper running of our club. Their actions during this trade/delist/free agency period tends to support the people who told me of these

Also, the four year contract thing, as far as I am aware is true. Rohde is a cancer and is killing the club from the inside. The footy ops manager should be working with the players not pulling against them

Don't get me wrong, change is needed and necessary but not from the current idiots who have instigated it

What a crock. There's no truth in this at all and it's defamatory. None of that stuff could be any further from the truth.

Ooo do tell...

I speak to players regularly and I've never heard a bad word about Rohde. I've spoken to Rohde and I've never heard him bag one of our players. I've seen Rohde work with the players, they seem to like him and his dealings are always professional. If there was any truth in some of the garbage stated above we would not have resigned the players we have over the last 6 years.

So much rumour and innuendo about Rohde... I really don't know what to believe.

But I DO know that we have been largely terrible for 8 years.

The case against Rohde doesn't need to be reduced to a character assassination, the facts and results of his tenure speak for themselves.

I speak to players regularly and I've never heard a bad word about Rohde. I've spoken to Rohde and I've never heard him bag one of our players. I've seen Rohde work with the players, they seem to like him and his dealings are always professional. If there was any truth in some of the garbage stated above we would not have resigned the players we have over the last 6 years.

Hmmm interesting

As much as I haven't met Rohde, I definitely have trouble reconciling what I know about him with being a dickhead to players.

I blame Rhode for not being King Kong when he was needed

2854271851_c4979891e1.jpg

I'm pleased enough with the compensation picks. Not as good as I hoped, but not as bad as I expected.
Yes On the main board everyone is saying how well we done etc and how the AFL is trying to make up for the lack of good draft postions with GWS and GC getting them all etc etc but on this thread we are doomed ..go figure

My take is :
we got fair compensation for those 2 players compared to what else was dished out
Probably the same posters whining about 'soft' Pearce 'always going missing' and 'useless slow inconsistent' Chappy are now complaining about inadequate compensation

Don't want any one that doesn't wish to be here including Jacobs

The only concern for me was SurJ but there must be something else going on and has been for awhile (wasn't played much last year either possibly relating to team morale or injury concerns

What a crock. There's no truth in this at all and it's defamatory. None of that stuff could be any further from the truth.
I would agree with you had it not come from multiple sources of varying degrees of employ. I'm prepared to back every single one of my sources over you

I'd love him too if I wouldn't be able to get a game anywhere else and kept being awarded 2-3 year contracts.

Good bloke Rohdey, great bloke.

I'd love him too if I wouldn't be able to get a game anywhere else and kept being awarded 2-3 year contracts.

Good bloke Rohdey, great bloke.
Do you know Rohde, you seem to hold him accountable for anything bad?

Maybe you are right but maybe you are wrong or maybe it's your shtick to maintain the abuse to not look like you don't really know who to blame?

I will wait now for your usual barrage of abuse reading the past history of your posts

Let me guess, accuse me of being Rohde or his mum or dad

..........ooh

For the record, don't know the guy but if he is gone not sure who has the AFL experience in managing all the things we have to do to get back to winning again.

I like the new coach appointments though it might even be a reason to be positive?

Let me guess, accuse me of being Rohde or his mum or dad

..........ooh

You're telling the story.

For the record, don't know the guy but if he is gone not sure who has the AFL experience in managing all the things we have to do to get back to winning again.

You're claiming that after 10+ years in the AFL system where he has coached a wooden spoon and was sacked at the Western Bulldogs to overseeing Port Adelaide's football department - coming fresh off a Premiership - for 8 years for 2 finals appearances (that both ended in record defeats) the last of which came over 5 seasons ago, he has the 'experience in managing all the things we have to do to get back to winning again'?

Enjoy your stay here, you're off to a flier.

I would agree with you had it not come from multiple sources of varying degrees of employ. I'm prepared to back every single one of my sources over you
OPO, you have been dealing the domesday card lately. Also you have been largely critisized but held your ground. I respect that. RIGHT/WRONG i think you are posting the frustating truth of the problems deep rooted in our club. I speak to players to. We are already ten plus players down and yet other posters have already ear marked others to go. So much more i would like to say, but OPO cheers on putting it out there.

Not necessarily, he may be his own worst enemy, but I do think Ross Lyon will be more likely to turn him around than Primus would have been. Hinkley is still an unknown.

Yeah I guess that Pearce will be in for a shock coming into a Ross Lyon system. He may change (I really doubt it) But good on him if he does.

But what makes me a bit meh about us keeping Pearce is having seen him repeat the same cycle of effort that he has over the last 3 years especially. I reckon that if we had kept him, especially on a 4 year deal, we would be bemoaning his crap performance again next year. Hell Kinkley might even try and re-invent him as a hbf to help him deal with not coping with a hard tag.......oh wait.

Pearce has undoubted talent. He doesn't have the work ethic and heart to develop into a really good player. He has been tainted by the Choco system of self over team and Primus wasn't 'bastard' enough to get it out of him.

Lyon might but if he stayed here I reckon Kinkley would have a tuff time.

How I wish we had that young enthusiastic kid that we saw in Pearcey's first year or two......that's the Pearce I would want on our list now, not the 2011-12 version which is what I reckon we would get if we signed him on his preferred 4 year deal.

How jaded and joyless did he become? Seriously.

In the space of 5 years he went from an explosive, bouncing kid who always had a smile on his face with seemingly limitless potential to go with his infectious enthusiasm to a grizzled, snarling, pessimist as if he'd been worn down by decades of loveless marriage.

Port and Free Agency (2012)