Possible betting scandal

Damn it Lachie, you extraordinarily dumb little boy. Everyone knows not to bet on AFL games, let alone against your own damn team. I really like him as a player too and have high hopes for him. What's the expected punishment for this kind of thing? Big fine and 2 months suspension? 3 months? A year?

Counseling and a kick up the arse. That'll do. Should we have torn up Libbas contract ?
Disagree.
Having an encounter (or a problem) with recreational drugs is very, very different to betting on your team to lose, even in NAB matches.

I am happy to see whoever is alleged to be involved given every chance to clear their name/s but if they can't I don't want them on our list.
It will be incredibly bad PR for the club for a starter... A St Kilda smartarse troll has already started in another thread but that would be the least of our concerns. Will we lose major sponsors? How many prospective members will say "aww ... stuff it"? It will be open slather for blokes like Crackers or Dunstall. We're still sticking the boot into Carlton and Melbourne for tanking, cheating etc and that's years after the event.

Sorry but I want us to have zero tolerance of such behaviour. I'm still hoping it's a beat-up but it's not sounding good.

You'd think the fact they self reported making the bet(s) would count in their favour, but jeez you'd have to be pretty dim to make the bet(s) in the first place.

Its a subscriber article so clicking on this wont work. Copy and paste it into a goole search and click the link from google and it works.
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...ting-on-football/story-fnca0u4y-1227270100024

I am livid.
I am sick and tired of AFL Players.

I am convinced they have far too much time on their hands and with so much money they piss it up a wall, bet with it, or buy drugs with it.
I mean come on !! How f-in stupid must any player be.
Id be happy if he got the season to send a bloody message to all the player group.

Disagree.
Having an encounter (or a problem) with recreational drugs is very, very different to betting on your team to lose, even in NAB matches.

I am happy to see whoever is alleged to be involved given every chance to clear their name/s but if they can't I don't want them on our list.
It will be incredibly bad PR for the club for a starter... A St Kilda smartarse troll has already started in another thread but that would be the least of our concerns. Will we lose major sponsors? How many prospective members will say "aww ... stuff it"? It will be open slather for blokes like Crackers or Dunstall. We're still sticking the boot into Carlton and Melbourne for tanking, cheating etc and that's years after the event.

Sorry but I want us to have zero tolerance of such behaviour. I'm still hoping it's a beat-up but it's not sounding good.
100% agree. If it's true and he's proven to be involved/behind it .. whatever. Pack your bags...gone.

This was the Shaw incident in a nutshell

The sting was launched following a Herald Sun report on May 25 outlining how a leading betting agency had been approached by punters wanting to back Maxwell to kick the first goal in the match against Adelaide in Round 9.

Shaw was banned for 14 games, with six suspended, and fined $20,000, for a $10 bet at odds of $101.

Maxwell was fined $10,000, with half that suspended, after his family placed bets on him.

A contrite Shaw apologised to his teammates and fans.

Shaw said he was "stupid" to give his friend money to bet on a Collingwood game.

"At the time I thought it was something sort of minor and that nothing would come of it. Looking back, it was a stupid thing to do. I didn't really think of the consequences," he said.

Lachie may be looking at a similar punishment but betting on your team to lose is much worse.

My memory must have been a bit hazy knew of the 20K fine but thought he was out for 8 weeks not 14 oh well Lachie is going to probably get something similar for that piece of idiocy. Wonder who the VFL player was?

I'm not usually the "tough on crime" sort of thing, but before we jump to conclusions, if things are as bad as they look, people are right, pack your backs.

Absolutely woeful and shameful aren't words enough to describe it.

Hopefully as more information comes out it isn't as bad. Hopefully. But it isn't looking good.

For ****s sake, anything that can happen that's bad in football has happened to us over the last 6 months. **** this shit!!!!

No James Hird and Steven Dank haven't happened to us....thank Christ for the Bombers - but we are neck and neck with them for being farked at the moment....and that is a big statement.

Disagree.

How is it different from drugs if its (gambling) a once off or an addiction?

Hope it's not too much of a long bow, but soon the club will be lining it's coffers with the rent and dinner money of Western suburbs families from the Edgewater pokies. Lets not take the moral high ground to heavily in one aspect, and turn a blind eye to the other.

I'm not usually the "tough on crime" sort of thing, but before we jump to conclusions, if things are as bad as they look, people are right, pack your backs.

Absolutely woeful and shameful aren't words enough to describe it.

Hopefully as more information comes out it isn't as bad. Hopefully. But it isn't looking good.

It was a practice game that means nothing, if it was regular season I'd agree. But I agree with JJStringer that he should get a year off - club imposed if not AFL (if true, sounds like it is as we have confirmed the self reporting).

Any active player who bets on their team to lose should be suspended for life.

That is tantamount to match fixing.

But this was a practice match, and we were massive underdogs....just doesn't make sense.
It would be different if we were short priced favourites and lost in a massive upset.

Hope it's not too much of a long bow, but soon the club will be lining it's coffers with the rent and dinner money of Western suburbs families from the Edgewater pokies. Lets not take the moral high ground to heavily in one aspect, and turn a blind eye to the other.
The suggestion of orchestration for material gain has very different ring to it. Corruption versus personal addiction.

So disappointed. Even worse that it's a father son. These are guys that should love our club even more and cherish it. After everything we've been through this summer, to do this is just awful.

Potentially a long philosophical discussion there. I'm not comfortable with pokies but at least everyone knows the deal when you walk into pokie-licensed premises.
As for the difference between betting against your own team and having an encounter with drugs (not footy related) you only need to read some of the other posts here:
Any active player who bets on their team to lose should be suspended for life.

That is tantamount to match fixing.

But this was a practice match, and we were massive underdogs....just doesn't make sense.
It would be different if we were short priced favourites and lost in a massive upset.
If you put money on us to lose, you are a flog
support your mates and put money on them to win
And that's before you consider the aspect of putting your club's good community and ethical reputation in jeopardy. Probably a much bigger long-term cost.

Possible betting scandal