Review Post Match Thread Versus Fremantle

Posted this elsewhere but, have to get it off my chest.

TERRIBLE 2nd half. Fits and starts. Littered with turnovers. Not due to the weather, just poor decisions and players not working hard enough.

Bulldogs or Collingwood, if we have a 2nd half like that again next week. We will get beaten. Easily. :thumbsdown:

Stokes, Gamble & Blake were crap not suprisingly. Blake might be a good tap ruckmen, but he's way too slow for this game, and turns it over alot.

Ottens was excellent considering he hasn't played AFL for the last 20 Weeks.

Kelly was also great today & is vital to our defensive structure.

Byrnes & Hogan will keep the small forward spots, while Stokes & Gamble are gone when Chapman (and/if) Varcoe, Johnson can get back from injury.

Hawkins will be a huge factor going into the finals.

Freo are weak dogs. They act tough by taking players down behind play, but won't put there heads over the footy.

Posted this elsewhere but, have to get it off my chest.

TERRIBLE 2nd half. Fits and starts. Littered with turnovers. Not due to the weather, just poor decisions and players not working hard enough.

Bulldogs or Collingwood, if we have a 2nd half like that again next week. We will get beaten. Easily. :thumbsdown:

Glass half full?????
Great to get thru with no injuries and the team starting to gell.
Otto will be better for the run, love to see Mummy as 2nd ruck
Kelly was unreal so long out, backline was so much better
Moondog and Tomahawk had a fair dinkum dip.
Hogan looks like he belongs
Stokes and Gamble not to sure what is going on there

Bring on September

We were much better today than the last few weeks, so the main positive from today's game would be that our form may be on the up. (keeping in mind we played freo).

like another poster said, our 2nd half wasnt strong n we wouldve been beatn by some of the good sides. BUT you play who you play and we killed the game early. If the game was on the line im pretty confident we wouldve sustained our intensity for longer.

Moving on, Hawkings was a major positive for mine. Together with Moons our fwd line actually looked well structured. Our midfield was once again dominant... although Selwood spent a lot of time on the bench, hopefully just to rest him up a bit before next week.

Worst was deff Blake, he had some good taps but his costs outweigh his benefits by a significant amount. Surely big mumf will be called in.... well I can only hope.

Does anyone know what role Rooke was playing today? Don't know if he was doing similar down the Ford Stand end, but when Geelong were kicking to the Wade Stand end, he was standing adjacent to the behind post, and would not move from that position, unless it was to move to the opposite post. Seemed rather strange.

To me it looked like we just really didn't care in the 2nd half, and we had no reason to.

There were a few promising signs to come out of that game:

Ottens and Kelly have come back and played really well considering the amount of time they have missed. The few weeks in the VFL for Ottens has done him alot of good.

Our forwardline was looking dangerous, Mooney and Hawkins each slotted some through and Hawkins looks to be hitting some career-high form coming into finals.

Our backline was very sturdy but I don't know how much we can take away from it because Fremantle were so shit at attacking. We can't expect the same easy ride from a top 4 side.

No injuries is a big plus too. It's been rare for us to escape without any this year. Possibly why we eased off a bit in the 2nd too. No need straining yourself for the finals against a team who you've already beaten, in a game which has no bearing on anything.

Major negative is Blake. Tap work is fine but I almost slammed my head into a wall when I saw him handball the ball straight back to the opposition twice within a minute.

Wow i never thought i would say this but Blake played decently. Many mistakes from his as usual and not as many tap outs but a lot better decision making.

Hogan's 2 goals really made me hopeful of his chances to play finals. Ottens return was magic and the crowd exploded with his first few touches. Glad they took the time with him in the Vfl instead of rushing him back as the time obviously didn't hurt him.

Kelly silenced all the people saying he would come back with no form after such a long break. He played extremely well early but did slip off i think.

Hawkins just keeps improving and it makes me extremely happy. Without a doubt the highlight of the 2nd half was Ling's mark. Wow he flew...

Really disappointed but not surprised by Freo targetting the players again. Stokes copping 2 punches to the face directly in front of me when the half time siren sent me over the edge. I had said i wouldn't swear until the 4th quarter but i couldn't help myself. Was worried when Hogan ran over in support that Hogan would do something that would land him a report.

I was worried at one stage as i hadn't seen Taylor in ages so was worried he was injured but he came back so not to sure what happened.

For those who have said Wojo was lacking form i think he made it up today. His hand passes were finding targets no problem as were his kicks. He didn't seem to have a problem using his speed a little even in the wet conditions. That goal of his topped it off. No injuries that i saw which is extremely good.

Harley did very well in defense which hopefully silenced all of those critics of his recently. Still not sure how that midget managed to push him our of the contest so that he could take a mark in the goal square. Harley got pushed out a bit to easy by someone so small it was funny.

Gazza left me feeling a bit disappointed again. He sat in the backline a lot just collecting possessions. (not sure how many he finished with) Yes he did do a lot of work and i really don't mean to sound so harsh but he seems to be getting a bit lazy. so small it was funny.

Some great positives in that game. Nice to see a bit of mongrel in the team finally. Looked like Harley's last game
At Skilled. Some great gets let down by poor choices.

Hawkins was great. Blake needs to realise he is rubbish!

Mackie was pretty poor again wouldn't take the game on...which seemed to be Rooke's problem.

He had no real iterest. But I hear he got injured..why was he still on then? But a lot of good in that game!

Some great positives in that game. Nice to see a bit of mongrel in the team finally. Looked like Harley's last game
At Skilled. Some great gets let down by poor choices.

Hawkins was great. Blake needs to realise he is rubbish!

Mackie was pretty poor again wouldn't take the game on...which seemed to be Rooke's problem.

He had no real iterest. But I hear he got injured..why was he still on then? But a lot of good in that game!

Rooke might have been a bit sore. In the 3rd quarter he sat in the forward pocket for a long time not really moving anywhere and when the ball was down there he didn't have his usual courage going extremely hard at the ball.

INJURIES
Geelong: David Wojcinski (ankle), Max Rooke (quad)

Didn't know we had injuries but it explains Rooke not playing at 100%. Not to sure when he injured it though.

At half time I knew they would come out and play with less intensity. Why would you bother putting it all on the line against Freo when you are so far in front.

That was a cool mark from Ling as well.

Some good signs, but they need to reproduce that 1st half game against the better teams if we are to be a chance in the Finals

18/4...a pretty good season I reckon except for all the injuries & form issues recently

Playing freo in the wet ... well I guess we got some game time into our less fit guys. Absolutely not much else to take out of playing those hacks.

According to the official AFL site, injuries for Geelong: Wojcinski with an ankle and Rooke with a quad...

Is it possible for us to complete an entire game without injuries? :confused:

Gazza left me feeling a bit disappointed again. He sat in the backline a lot just collecting possessions. (not sure how many he finished with) Yes he did do a lot of work and i really don't mean to sound so harsh but he seems to be getting a bit lazy. so small it was funny.

You do sound harsh! :D Had 35 possessions, 15 of them contested! That doesn't sound lazy to me, nearly half his possessions were contested ones.

Does anyone know what role Rooke was playing today? Don't know if he was doing similar down the Ford Stand end, but when Geelong were kicking to the Wade Stand end, he was standing adjacent to the behind post, and would not move from that position, unless it was to move to the opposite post. Seemed rather strange.

Tomahawk mentioned after the game that Rooke got an injury early and played the game out sore.

Really excellent first half, Kelly was everywhere and looked like he hadn't missed a game. Hawk and Mooney chalked up another good week up front. Otto was encouraging, and Wojo was OK. Really like what I see in Hogan - he will fit in nicely! Shannon's goal of the year was a treat. Scarlett and his brothers-in-arms were first class.

Would have liked to see them merciless in the second half, but I'll trust Bomber's strategic mind in preserving the boys for next week.

This is the same guy who wanted to dress up and be the mascot one week when he was suspended. Who knows!

Tomahawk mentioned after the game that Rooke got an injury early and played the game out sore.

Makes you wonder why they didn't sit him on the pine then and play 18 fit guys on the ground.

Just watched Ten news before, and they said Scarlo might be in trouble with the MRP, then showed the footage and it looked like a stock standard spoil on Pavlich, albeit a fraction late. If he goes for that, it's a joke.

You do sound harsh! :D Had 35 possessions, 15 of them contested! That doesn't sound lazy to me, nearly half his possessions were contested ones.

Well maybe i have simply started to take him for granted but he really didn't appear to do much. This is based on my eyes not the stats as i haven't even seen them and probably won't until there is a replay of the game on.

Just watched Ten news before, and they said Scarlo might be in trouble with the MRP, then showed the footage and it looked like a stock standard spoil on Pavlich, albeit a fraction late. If he goes for that, it's a joke.

Scarlo went up for a spoil (successful!) and led with his knee (to protect himself) and collected Pavlich in the buttock. Major corkie for Pav, but I think Channel 10 are just trying to make sensational news.

Hiding behind the posts?

Review Post Match Thread Versus Fremantle